Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Debi Jones

    What an experience!!!!

    I hoped for a lot, but expected nothing (especially in the Amazon) but we saw more wildlife than I knew there was! And as for the Galapagos.....Sensational. Holiday of a lifetime and would recommend to anyone. Truly brilliant. Am delighted to have managed to have whittled my photos down to about 650 (and 35 videos!). The Napo Lodge was stunning with fabulous staff but the Cachalotte was possibly even better (though cabin much smaller and less glamorous than lodge). The memories will be something I treasure forever. The organisation from beginning to end made everything so easy and I will definitely be travelling with Exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snorkeling with sealions, a turtle and penguin (never having snorkeled before!) And the animals and birds just being truly fearless and natural I could go on....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very pleasant and efficient

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try snorkeling at home first! I panicked the first 2 times in the water (although it was a deep water snorkel) but after an hour's practice in the shallows I took to it like a penguin to water. And take lots of SD cards!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just GO!!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Andrea Minney

    Two wonderful cities

    I loved the trip, just the right length for me, very busy with lots of walking but that was what I was expecting. Nice balance of free time and group excursions. Minimal additional payments required. Not too many early mornings. I was very impressed with the standard of accomodation. We ate as a group most nights and I enjoyed all of the restaurants selected, although we did not have to eat with the group I found it easier than researching my own places. The only part I would do without would be the overnight train, having done many overnight train journeys, I find they just make people tired, it is not an experience I ever enjoy. I would recommend staying longer in both cities before and after the tour, something I wasn't able to do, there is simply so much to see and do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved St Basils Cathedral, well worth going inside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I liked Eugene, he was very organised and tried his best to keep our group together which was difficult at times. It was easy to say that you were going to do something alone rather than with the group and Eugene was helpful with suggestions of where to go. I liked this as we did not always want to go with the group. He was one of the best tour leaders I have had. He managed to get us around the majority of the sights despite the public holiday and road closures making it very difficult for him to arrange our schedule. The local guides were good but I found it very difficult to hear what they were saying as well as taking photos, it was impossible to do both, so I found I missed a lot of information. We used ear pieces in The Hermitage, which was much easier.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lot of walking, there is a lot to see in a short space of time and walking is the best way to see most of it. Avoid booking around the Russian public holiday on May 9th, there are many road closures around the centre of Moscow on three days for practicing military parades, then for the actual parade on May 9th. Red Square is also closed at these times, it means that some attractions are not accessible making planning of the tour very difficult. St Petersburg also has road closures over this holiday, meaning we took a different route into the city missing some key sights and activities had to be crammed into a shorter time period. I would have avoided these dates had I known.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alan Gelson

    Unspoilt high mountains and verdant valleys in one of the most beautiful regions of Europe.

    The Sierra Nevada is the highest mountain range in mainland Spain. They remain snow covered well into the Summer and these walks take place in the wooded valleys in their foothills. The sound of running water seems always to be in the background. The bird life is rich and varied and we heard the cuckoo on our first day. Nightingales and golden orioles and eagles and falcons were viewed with awe and delight. The walks are pretty challenging but rewarding. Conditions under foot are variable but generally reasonable.The Hotel art Los Berchules is a place of repose and delight. The food is first rate and the owners and staff delightful dedicated and friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking over a wide valley and listening to bird song and seeing a golden oriole whilst a Bonelli's eagle was being mobbed by a Peregrine falcon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was completely excellent. Reliable knowledgable humorous and dedicated to our safety and enjoyment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are quite challenging but there were opt out points on most days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have been fortunate to have been on many walking holidays mainly with Exodus and nearly all have been highly enjoyable and the Sierra Nevada walk was up with the best we have been on.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Brigitte Schneeloch

    Cycling in Sicily

    An excellent cycling trip, for me in a less well known area of southern Sicily. The cycling was good, and the hills were more than manageable with my very dependable ebike. Our leader made sure that we also packed in as much sight seeing as possible, so we learned a lot of cultural background to the places we visited. All were very interesting, but ending up in Syracuse and having plenty of time for eating wonderful food, and sight seeing, was a surprising bonus. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip and would recommend it to anybody!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As above: visiting Syracuse, and seeing the Baroque town of Noto Two very beautiful places

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was just wonderful! Full of knowledge, helpful, guiding us safely through traffic, And up the hills. And down again!!! Lots of fun, always on the lookout to avoid any potential problems. He and the very patient van driver guided us safely on the road sections And they excelled at making us wonderful picnic lunches on 3 occasions!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to see Sicily, then go for this trip! Depending on the season, it can be chilly . Be prepared to cycle some significant hills!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Gill Denyer

    Turkey review

    We visited all the places that we booked the trip to see and our excellent guide Ali also took us to a number of smaller less well known places. Although some of the coach journeys were long, they were split up as best as possible. A few times lunch and dinner were much later than expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the candy mountains at Pamekalle and paddling in the warm spring water.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ali was very informative amd knowledgeable about the history of all the places we visited. He was always considerate towards all the members of the group and treated us all equally.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear long sleeves and long trousers for the Lycian way walk in Kas and be prepared for a spot of mountain climbing!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Deborah Longland

    A wonderful week walking in Northern Cyprus

    This was my first trip with Exodus having traveled many times with some of the competitor companies, and I was not disappointed. From start to finish the trip was wonderfully organised, problems which cropped up handled very well and everyone on the trip was well considered by our tour leader. A great base in Kyrenia from which to explore the island with some simply lovely walks high up in the mountains. The optional excursions were well planned and interesting and I took full advantage of these too. I would highly recommend the trip and hope to return to undertake another excursion with Exodus in the not too distant future.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The longest day walking was on the Thursday where we did a 600 step up walk to see the island from 3000 feet up, 600 steps down followed by a fairly challenging 4.5 hour walk. Beautiful scenery, interesting plants, wonderful views and a slightly faster paced walk than on other days. The optional trip to Famagusta was super as we stopped along the way to see old roman ruins, a monastry and then our tour of the old city. Well paced, interesting and lots of fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gizer is a lovely man, very knowledgable in respect of history, plants, nature, the environment and the island which is his home. A considerate person as we were of mixed ages and abilities. He certainly made the trip fun and enjoyable for all. A great ambassador for Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If people have knee, hip or joint problems then they will most likely struggle as some on our trip did. Not sure why some came along as it clearly was difficult for them and then this is tiring for others who have to wait, often in the heat. The days we went out in smaller groups, as some opted not to go, for me were better as we were all of the same ability.
  • Reviewed May 2019

    Not Leisurely

    We chose to arrive in Lima a few days early which were glad about because there is a very early start on day after the scheduled arrival day. Also some people had connecting flight problems which meant they were late joining the group. I honestly it is misleading of Exodus to indicate that this holiday is leisurely. It may not be physically demanding, but long travelling days, early starts and a packed itinerary make this a full on tour. Don't be put off because great rewards await but do be aware of what is entailed. The same holiday over 3 weeks would be leisurely but 2 weeks is pretty crammed. We were a little concerned about the altitude before we went but only one person on the trip had any (minor) problems. So rest assured most people cope well and those that don't are usually put right with a little oxygen, which is carried on the tour bus and available in most hotels. Peru has a lot to offer and this trip gets to much of it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The peace of Machu Picchu after the crowds had gone.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hardworking, well organised, very caring. You will be in good hands with Edwind.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read a little about elongated skulls, Nazca lines and Inca stonework before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We did the flight over the Nazca lines in the afternoon and the flight was fairly bumpy. The main downside was trying to hold the camera steady to get any decent shots.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Chinthika Piyasena

    Exceeded expectations

    Well organised, brilliant guide and unbelievable porterage team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The work of the porters was humbling and I liked the effort made by the guides for us to get to know them better.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly. Very knowledgeable. Diligent. Caring - went out of his way to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walk is more strenuous than the rating on the website of 3/10.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like the website to highlight better the options to extend the trip. It is tucked away in the middle of the trip notes and missed when making booking and planning the trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rebecca Horsley

    Volcano to Venice

    Cycling straight forward. Some wonderful places. Interesting hotels. Weather was not great though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the culture art and churches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    NA

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Weather unpredictable. Have an extra day at end for Venice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More time needed for visiting art and culture. Check all notes each day or you may miss something. Eg. Vouchers for places. Ensure you check where to get off the boat on lake Cards as not clear for all hotels.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kirsten Andersson

    Met and exceeded expectations

    Great trip first to Napo then to Galapagos. We were delighted with the quality of service, organization and attention to details.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many moments to choose from. Highlights were swimming with sea lions, watching wave albatrosses mate and watching land iguanas battle for territory. A difficult but natural moment occurred when we watched a boa attack and absorb a parrot

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader in Napo was great. Knowledgeable and highly skilled communicator. Group leader in Galapagos was a nice young man but we could tell he was on one of his last trips.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready to wake up early and go to bed early. Eat everything they feed you; you’ll either work it off in activities or sweat it out in the heat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were flummoxed and frustrated with the tipping of staff. We found the suggested tip rates to be far too high and we’re concerned that the tips are being used to supplement wages which is not the purpose of a tip. Exodus needs to find a better system. That was the only thing we were very dissatisfied about
Call us on 056 631 86 64