Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Grant Sykes

    The full Vietnam Experience

    This was a great trip, taking in a multitude of sights across the length of Vietnam, right from Hanoi in the north down to the Mekong Delta in the south. The guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly, helpful and funny. The food was amazing, the hotels all comfortable. The sleeper train is quite an experience. Don't expect luxury - just a hard mattress and a bumpy ride. My group were well looked after the entire time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just walking around the cities and seeing how people live a totally different lifestyle half a world away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very knowledgeable, friendly. Helpful, always ready to give recommendations on food options, restaurant choices or optional sights to go and see.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't book unless you can cope with high heat and humidity, and don't expect comfort and modernity from the sleeper train. Be prepared to go for some periods of time without access to a shower and for long walks. But it's all worth it to see the sights.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Carol-Ann Connellan

    Cinque Terra

    What an amazing time - from the lovely Moneglia (Piccola Hotel) to the amazing walks so expertly guided by Michela Wicks. It was really everything and more than we wished for. Would never have chosen to do it differently. No time was lost or wasted pondering. Our time there was precious.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was super special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent and more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it with a guide. Your time there is precious. Go with those who know the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Definitely a must do.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Roger Picknett

    Amazing trip !

    Well, what a trip that was ! An amazing experience made all the better by excellent organisation by Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching our goal of Machupicchu was my highlight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Carlos Enrique, our guide & leader was phenomenal, he was not only very knowledgable about Peru’s history & the Incas but also very passionate about them too which made me even more interested. He is a true credit to the Exodus team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book & go ! You will not be disappointed
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sandy Hartley

    Walking tour

    Loved every step. Our super fit guide, Michela Wicks, did an excellent job keeping us all together, providing us with heaps of information and many laughs. Thank you Michela. You are wonderful.♡

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views, the degree of difficulty of crop growing in the area, the history, the buildings. So much more. I am in awe of this part of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michela was awesome. Thorough, organised, knowledgeable, interesting and lovely to chat too. I was sad to say goodbye.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's a must. You wont be sorry.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Matthew Butcher

    Food was excellent

    Food was well above the standard I expect. Well presented and varied menu. Lovely views and good company. Shame we had rain on the gorge walk

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking over the snow drifts

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Managed the various speeds of the walker well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking sticks. First time i used them but made life much easier
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Heather Quinn

    A exceptional trip to Assam!

    This trip to Assam was truly exceptional! It fulfilled all it promised in the travel notes ....... and then more. It was India for those that wanted another view of this beautiful country, an alternative to Mumbai, Goa, the Kerela back waters, Delhi, The Taj and the Golden Triangle; when you have been there, come on this trip for a delightfully different, certainly a less tourist-visited part of this amazing country of contrasts. The scenery, the explorations and the experiences our small group of eight clients had, made the trip an absolute delight. We had an amazing guide Nivan Gurang whose knowledge and hard work on our behalf made sure the trip was what we had all hoped for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many inspirational, exciting experiences such as our safari with lots of elephants, the promised rhinos and even a distant but huge tiger by the lake. Our hike down to see the ancient amazing, tree root bridges was not as formidable for our group as we were warned, tough yes but satisfying; we saw beautiful landscapes, memorable sunsets over rivers and hills and met some warm, accepting villagers who still saw non-Indian tour groups as a novelty. We were promised ‘Head Hunters (retired) ‘ and we did drive up into the mountains to share a ‘nice cuppa’ with them as they sat round their fire on a cool mountain afternoon! What we heard from our super guide, what saw and experienced gave us an insight to many different ways of life for all the wonderful people who actually seemed pleased to see us as we travelled along; No there was not the continual hard sell that we have come to expect in India and other tourist-dependent countries, this was not inspirational but it was marvellous.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nivan Gurang Exodus could not have asked for a better guide for our small group of 8 clients. Nivan was exceptional in both his industry on our behalf and his knowledge. Without his leadership our trip could have been so much less fascinating, even mystifying. Hie knowledge of the many and varied facets of his country brought a greater understanding of what we were seeing, experiencing, why our route was thus, how and why this 21st Indian century worked in this area and always with introductions, discussions and sharing a glimpse of the lives of local people. All around us as we walked, hiked and travelled he found the evidence for what he was telling us from Government notices, ancient sites to babies vaccination cards of village mothers. His friendliness, his courtesy to local people we met, the great relationship he had developed with our hosts/ hoteliers and his hard work on our behalf meant we experienced and hugely enjoyed Assam and Nagaland. He made sure the trip lived up-to all Exodus had promised. I valued that he took care of the daily tipping on our behalf. We all appreciated his care, his sense of fun and warmth. Thank you Nivan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the ‘Trip Notes’ before you book, they accurately reflect what the experience will be. ..... then follow the advice given. Don’t take huge packs, you may have to carry them short distances. This is a very different trip to the luxury hotel of the big cities ...... that is its appeal and delight. This is not an area to visit as an individual and see the best of without a good, Indian speaking guide and your own tough 4 wheel drive vehicle due to the undeveloped roads. Our driver, Dinesh was great, he avoided all the many, many road wandering cows, crazy drivers and was patient and considerate helping with our packs and our comfort.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to all ‘background’ Exodus staff who put together such a fascinating trip that ran so smoothly. Good staff training helps but hard work and good organisation makes it work.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jen S

    A taste of a lesser known region of Italy

    This trip gave a flavour of the region of Puglia in more ways than one... Staying in four different locations across the week, we learned about the importance of olives and wine in the region with visits to a an olive grove for olive oil tasting and a factory for wine tasting, and were encouraged to try local specialities by our leader who at group meals ordered a range of typical dishes so that we could try a variety. Although not specifically a food tour, food has to be a major part of any trip to Italy...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Exploring the alleyways of white-walled hill-town Ostuni as the sun was going down.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks (I can't speak for the one from Otranto, which we were unable to do due to bad weather) were fairly flat and easy. The guided town tours are if anything more strenuous as they are longer! (Note, the one around beautiful Matera does involve a few steps and sloping paths, the only way of seeing this town built into the sides of a gorge). Walking trainers or even walking sandals are appropriate for all walks on this trip. My personal advice - take your coffee the way the Italians do, stood at the counter with an espresso cup and a glass of water. It's quick, nice, local, gives you a caffeine boost, gives free access to a toilet, and usually there's cake available too! To nut allergy sufferers - be aware that in this area hazelnut is commonly mixed with chocolate in pastries and desserts. There is a great love of Nutella! Always check before ordering!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Cowan

    Enjoyed but could be better

    Didn't get off to a good start because exodus didn't inform us and several others of an itinerary change, although some others in the party did hear about it. Although the reverse order for the visits is better we ended up with a 1/2 day on Paros with not much to do and no useful suggestion from the tour leader. He was generally a very good guide but occasionally not as flexible as one might wish. The walks were generally good and not hard apart from the odd steep climb. Just wish there had been more of them (see above). We were recommended to go to the buried town of akrotiri, which was well worth the trip together with the museum in Thira. Can't understand why Exodus don't make this part of the trip if time permits. If we hadn't gone we would have had another wasted morning on Santorini, to add to that on Paros. Hotel beds generally rock hard and in 2 out of the 4, some of the smallest shower cubicles we have ever experienced. I think we would have preferred to pay a bit more for a better hotel on Santorini & Paros Ferry journeys were always longer than anticipated but luckily weather was OK so we could go on deck apart from Naxos to Rafina on the catamaran where you have aircraft type seats

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    walk on naxos

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above but generally good but did tend to lecture us a bit. Extremely knowledgeable and very pleasant. Could do with a bit more understanding on the needs of a diabetic in the group but soon caught on when we pointed out it wasn't a "gippy tummy" but low blood sugar. Probably helps that we are familiar with this condition due to previous job. Some small kindnesses to the group were also appreciated and he did try hard. But having him deal with other groups that exodus has in the region while guiding us was not optimal. Exodus need sto emply more staff to cover their local needs

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have plenty to read for ferry trips, be prepared for hard beds. Good walking shoes a must but boots probably optional
  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Byers

    Full on every fay

    A full on safari/trip through Botswana and Zimbabwe - not for you if you need 10 hours sleep every night. The highlight without doubt is the trip via Mokorro canoe and camping trip into the Otovango delta. Some long days travelling in the mini bus but all very worthwhile.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Otovango delta

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely one of the best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Liz Hesnan

    Good Varied hiking, but need to be fit for the scrambling involved

    Excellent , Confident and friendly leader who coped well with a wide variety of fitness levels Good food served by the hotel, I personally found the beds very hard! Shame about the weather, but not much anyone can do about that!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to the cave was spectacular

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent friendly leader, felt very safe, and he coped well with a wide variety of fitness levels / and experience of the other hikers

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for all weathers, and assess your level of fitness to cope with the scrambling and uneven rocky hiking, and Some steepish climbs/descents
Call us on 056 631 86 64