Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Chinthika Piyasena

    Exceeded expectations

    Well organised, brilliant guide and unbelievable porterage team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The work of the porters was humbling and I liked the effort made by the guides for us to get to know them better.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly. Very knowledgeable. Diligent. Caring - went out of his way to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walk is more strenuous than the rating on the website of 3/10.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like the website to highlight better the options to extend the trip. It is tucked away in the middle of the trip notes and missed when making booking and planning the trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rebecca Horsley

    Volcano to Venice

    Cycling straight forward. Some wonderful places. Interesting hotels. Weather was not great though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the culture art and churches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    NA

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Weather unpredictable. Have an extra day at end for Venice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More time needed for visiting art and culture. Check all notes each day or you may miss something. Eg. Vouchers for places. Ensure you check where to get off the boat on lake Cards as not clear for all hotels.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kirsten Andersson

    Met and exceeded expectations

    Great trip first to Napo then to Galapagos. We were delighted with the quality of service, organization and attention to details.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many moments to choose from. Highlights were swimming with sea lions, watching wave albatrosses mate and watching land iguanas battle for territory. A difficult but natural moment occurred when we watched a boa attack and absorb a parrot

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader in Napo was great. Knowledgeable and highly skilled communicator. Group leader in Galapagos was a nice young man but we could tell he was on one of his last trips.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready to wake up early and go to bed early. Eat everything they feed you; you’ll either work it off in activities or sweat it out in the heat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were flummoxed and frustrated with the tipping of staff. We found the suggested tip rates to be far too high and we’re concerned that the tips are being used to supplement wages which is not the purpose of a tip. Exodus needs to find a better system. That was the only thing we were very dissatisfied about
  • Capo Verde Discovered

    Until this Exodus trip appeared, I did not know where Cabo Verde was. We took a chance to go to a country emerging from the 3rd world, and I'm glad we did. Great hikes, interesting vistas, great guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was inspired by the people of Cabo Verde. They have struggled from poverty at independence in 1975, out in the Atlantic, without rain and with only the sun and seas around them, to build a liberal democratic country. The people are kind and seem to treat others with respect.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alveno was great. He made all the arrangements work like 'clockwork'. He always made sure we had lots of Exodus-provided bottled water to drink. He also arranged for and joined us for meals outside of the Exodus programme. On each of the 3 islands, we were joined by a local island guide who led the hikes and walks around the sites. Alveno and local guides acted in tandem providing information and answering our questions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In January 2019 Cabo Verde changed entry requirements and taxes. Members of EU-like countries do not need a visa, but pay CVE 3400 (currently euro 31) Airport Security Tax (TSA) on entry. In addition to the TSA, other non-Cabo Verde and non-EU-like nationals must also get a visa for euro 25. Many people who require a visa get one from their local embassy or consulate before arrival at the airport, but Canada has neither. There are 3 lines at Praia airport: International, one for nationals and Visa. We were directed by immigration staff to International, which was wrong, and then went to near the end of the Visa line. We were at least 30 minutes later than everybody else getting through. This was not because there was a problem with our entry but because, while we were getting processed, the rest of the staff appeared to be trying to balance and close up with the head who was on the Visa booth. The group leader along with the other Exodus travelers waited for us. Then the group leader sent us to currency exchange at the airport to buy CVE for the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    (1) This was the second time this trip was offered, the first time being in March. The group flight arrived at ~11PM for both trips, so there was no walk around Praia on day 1 as the trip notes state, which we knew. However, the group didn't know that there were lots of other trip note errors, and these errors helped create some less than pleasant discussions. Unexpected changes, e.g. from a ferry cancellation, are understandable. Exodus should correct the trip notes to reflect the trip that the local company is providing. (2) This trip is rated as moderate. Having done easy-moderate, moderate and more than moderate Exodus trips, I think moderate is the correct assessment. Poles are useful on some sections of some walks; boots are required most days. People can become sore or sick and miss a day or more (I have had both in past Exodus trips). But please don't expect guides and the rest of the group to cater to people who don't want to hike on a hiking trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Mary Tebb

    Great trip.

    We were a large group of 16 but all got on well. I would say this is a great trekking trip with a serious mountain to climb. Morocco is an interesting country with a very different culture to ours.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing a different culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lhasan was really patient with us and made us feel very looked after and safe. He clearly wanted us all to experience the summit and enjoy his country. Despite being on Ramadan, we had no concerns about his ability as our guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please do prepare physically for this trip as it is frustrating to be held back by slower group members who didn’t appreciate the leg work needed. We had a 12 hour walking day on the mountain so you should be prepared for that on mountainous terrain. Temperature ranges were huge on the trip from the high 30s in Marrakesh up to just above freezing overnight at Toubkal refuge.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It’s Morocco. Accommodation is basic and toilets are usually the squatting type. Strengthen those thighs before you go!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    katherine ruch

    a lovely trip

    I travelled with my husband and we have both enjoyed our trip. our guide Titsiana was excellent, being informative, friendly, accommodating and anxious to ensure we all enjoyed our trip. Timings of all pick ups and activities was perfect. Activities including wine tasting, cheese making, cookery and olive oil tastings were all enjoyable and very well organised.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    trip to mount Etna was fabulous although quite expensive at 130 euros for a couple. Also the cookery and cheese making were excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    group leader w as excellent. very friendly and welcoming. enthusiastic, courteous and anxious to ensure our trip ran to plan and was enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    two of the hotels were of a poorer quality. The hotel Poste in Palmero was a bit shabby but not too bad. The worst hotel was the Jolly ... Palace Hotel for the last night. This was very shabby with stained and chipped furnishing, rusting air vent in bathroom, dirty walls and no air conditioning. This hotel should not be used as it spoils the quality of the trip as a whole. no need to bring a thick coat for Mount Etna as you can hire a thick coat for 4 euros at the ticket office. If you don't want to do four flights just to get to Sicily and back, book your own flights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please take the last hotel off your list. It is anything but a Palace Hotel! very enjoyable trip. If I had known that this trip involved changing at Rome on the outward journey and Milan on the return I would not have booked it. It took 10 and a half hours to reach Palmero due to waiting for flights, delayed flights and having to change gates.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Judy ONeill

    Amazing adventure even though the weather was unusually cold with a mixture of rain, sleet, and snow

    Excellent trip with Exodus. This was my second adventure with Exodus and this one was all that the reviews say. Sara was excellent ! She was very patient, even taught some of us new hiking skills. She kept us all motivated throughout the days despite the weather. Sara was brilliant with her switching up the routes to accommodate the unusual weather keeping us all safe and comfortable as possible. It was fun , challenging, and I would like to do it again with sunny weather. The group was awesome and were fun as everyone kept each other motivated and laughing. The food was wonderful and plentiful. Sara does such a great job of handling all the details and making it a true holiday! I loved not having to plan "where and what to trek and what & where to eat"...a real treat not to be "in charge". My daughter a mother of two young children and I her mother really appreciated the true challenging "holiday" from our many responsibilities back at home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sara helped me as I was ready to give up the first day. But she dropped back with me and taught me how to go at my pace not the pace of the group. I was struggling with "breathing" when I was trying to rush to be with the pack when going straight up hill. We live on a flat island so not many opportunities to train for uphill climbs. I found the upward climbs a little tough but the downhill grades were a breeze. . With her patience and guidance I was able to do all the hikes and enjoyed the feeling of accomplishment. "Elvis" helped me not go down the wrong path so if in doubt follow the dog Elvis!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Has an amazing spirit and wonderful leadership skills. She is the best guide I've encountered to date. Hope to do more trips with Exodus in the future.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack the rain gear as you may need it! Also the gloves and hat were a blessing for this unexpected chilly and snowy weather.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Glenda Beale

    Great Wildlife in their natural habitat

    Beautiful Costa Rica tour with an amazing and passionate guide who expertly led us through the different geographical landscapes and wildlife. We saw so much in 2 weeks, very active, and understood what we saw. Great group of people sharing the experiences with. Highly recommend the tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up at 5 am to go Quetzal watching and 2 hour later actually clearly seeing the resplendent bird.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Johnny Villalobos was a beautiful person who was passionate about Costa Rica and the wildlife. He was extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife and both what we both heard and saw.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring Binoculars and a good zoom camera. My small compact umbrella was very useful. Waterproof boots a must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    14 people on the tour was enough to all see the wildlife in walks. Do the optional Monteverde Sky Walk through the Cloud Forest canopy and suspension bridges.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    SANDRA MATLACK

    Lovely experience

    This trip was an excellent experience blending history and tourist sites with food experiences. The itinerary is well done. We were a small group of 7, and got along well, and our guide Tiziano was energetic and good natured, and attentive to everyone's needs. He was very organized and everything went off as planned. He was also personally helpful to me on 2 occasions, with forgotten eyeglasses and arranging individual transport to the airport. I really enjoyed all the tasting/eating experiences, including olive oil, cheese farm, wine tastings, cooking class, street food tour in Palermo, and group dinners. We moved a lot, staying one night in most places, but that was enough to see everything, and get a feel for the towns. The travelling distances were not very long between towns, so we had plenty of walk around time. My only criticism would be of the choice of the Siracusa hotel, which could be greatly improved, even if it meant charging a bit more for the trip. The rest of the hotels ranged from decent to lovely. Would definitely travel with Exodus again. Great value.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The church in Monreale with the breathtaking mosaics. Also the Greek temples in Agrigento.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    our guide Tiziano was energetic and good natured, and attentive to everyone's needs. He was very organized and everything went off as planned. He was also personally helpful to me on 2 occasions, with forgotten eyeglasses and arranging individual transport to the airport.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go a day earlier- but not on a Sunday like I did- and try to see the mosaics in the Palatine chapel in Palermo. Also taxis are very expensive in Sicily to/ from the airports, so if you do your own transport, be aware of this. You need to be pretty fit to do the Mt Etna excursion to the top, as air is thin and walking is precarious on the lava. Our guide did an easy walk at the bottom for those who did not want to go up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip is an excellent value, and well planned for 8 days. Includes all the highlights of Sicily and very nice food experiences. Also enough free time to walk around and eat extra food! Have been all over Italy and the food here is some of the best.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Janel Hannis

    Epic trip in Epic Country!

    Having done about 10 trips with Exodus now, this one excelled.. It is challenging, rewarding, interesting, fun, exciting, all mixed in with a heady charm offense that India is.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the climb up the Jalori Pass, (3200m); one minute in the snow-line, 56 downhill kms later, in the soaring heat - 38degrees I'm guessing! Extra-ordinary contrast in one day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. Difficult to manage a small group of 4, but did a good job nonetheless. Interesting information about the country and always jolly and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not really... If you pick this tour you are obviously quite fit, so just stay hill fit.. A range of suitable clothing and wet weather gear is useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just an awesome trip, I would eagerly do again!
Call us on 056 631 86 64