Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Pete McLeod

    Away from it all

    The snow conditions for the week I was there were not conducive to great cross-country skiing - deep powder and rising temperatures, which made for arduous progress. Even so, we were taken on full-day tours on every day and the visibility was usually excellent, so we got some wonderful views of the area. I hope to be able to return in the near future to ski up and explore the beautiful mountains surrounding the lake. I have to make some mention of the catering at Mosstrond: it was quite simply wonderful and despite the daily exertion I am pretty sure I have lost no weight!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the quiet location and the informality of the set-up at Mosstrond. A truly unique place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Neil and Philip have a great love for the place and considerable knowledge of the area, which they are happy to share. They both gave freely of their time to those of us there and went out of their way to make sure we were both well looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a wine box or a few beers! There is no other way to get a drink at Mosstrond.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having come from a background of hut-to-hut ski touring in Norway and Sweden (over many years), some of which have been self-organised and others with hut-to-hut tour providers, I was surprised not to be asked by Exodus about my previous ski experience when I booked this trip. The grades provided do give some idea as to what skills are expected, but this self-vetting appears to be the only check on suitability. I can appreciate that client choice is important, but groups need to have a fairly similar range of skills and stamina for group day tours to be a success for all.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Helaine Selin

    Interesting

    I was happy to go to a place that is pretty much free of tourists, certainly in February. The hotel was lovely, the food was good and the walks were scenic if not too varied. At least one was really a bit more than moderate. The guide, Gizer, was fantastic, filling us with more than enough information about everything. North Cyprus has an interesting and pretty sad history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think I liked Salamis, on our day off!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was knowledgeable and careful with all of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would say it's not leisurely but quite moderate as a rating. Nothing difficult though.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worth a visit. Also, in February, it's the start of Spring, and we saw tons of beautiful flowers.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Michael McDonald

    Winter walking in Aosta

    A generally good trip with a nice rustic hotel, a good leader, a very nice town and good restaraunts but the walking was a little tame and limited, although just about OK for a Grade 2 trip, and the hotel rooms/beds were not conducive to two strangers sharing (see below).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fresh air and great position/views. Excellent food. Fantastic weather.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent (Mr. Mien Barrel).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lot of free time (too much, see below?) so take a good book, artistic or photographic equipment etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    1. Arrived in Cogne at lunchtime on the saturday so lots of time to spare in the pm so, as with other exodus trips, perhaps we should have been taken on an orientation walk around the town, to stretch the legs etc.? 2. On the return we had of all saturday morning to kill so not much to do so an activity then would have been nice, or maybe leave Cogne mid-morning and stop off in Aosta town for lunch and a look around (even though some people went there on their day off there is still lots more to see in Aosta). 3. All walks ended rather early at c.2pm so perhaps there should have been some sort of extra pm activity on a few of the days, such as our leader taking us on to a snow field and teaching us about snow, avalanches, snow holes, snow craft etc.? 4. The area has limited walking in winter, especially if there is heavy snow, with just four valleys to explore. Two of the valleys are very nice but the other two had too much road walking and too many houses etc. In sparse snow conditions, like on our trip, we should have gone further and higher, perfectly possible to do this and still stay within a Grade 2 trip. 5. The hotel rooms were not conducive to sharing with a stranger. The two single beds are very close together and almost amount to a double bed so a little awkward for two people who had just met at the airport, especially if one of them snores very loudly and who had a bad cold (as in my case). On two nights I had to find peace and quiet by going up to the spa at 0100 in the morning and sleeping on the massage table! The beds in the room could not be moved as they were part of a fixed headboard. 6. A very early flight out so most of us had to stay in a hotel at or near Gatwick on the Friday night so increasing the cost of the trip by £100 or so. A later flight would have been better of course, if possible and if there is one (maybe limited flights to Turin?).
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Frances Burman-Mueller

    What does this mean?

    Varied itinerary, unusual overnights. Food quality very mixed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The game drives

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. Pleasant, helpful, everything went to plan

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You definitely need a torch: no electricity in some places. Be prepared for very infrequent Wi-fi Some laundry opportunities are in fact self service launderettes.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Hazel Strudwick

    Well organised trip to see many of the iconic places

    This tour will take you to the main ‘must see’ places in Sri Lanka. However - if you want to go off the beaten track then this isn’t the trip for you. There is free time where you can explore on your own but obviously limited as to where you can go. The standard of the hotels vary - but mostly are ‘tourist’ class with other tour groups staying. Opportunity to eat locally is limited - pressure from guide to eat the hotel buffet. We ordered off the menu - much cheaper - and more than enough food. Breakfasts varied from very good to poor. Be prepared to see lots of rubbish in the towns and along the side of the road.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not one particular thing. The weather was very foggy when we were due to trek Worlds End. So guide asked group to vote on whether we did it. Group voted not to. No one did Adam’s Peak. Cycling was fun. Places to explore on your own in Kandy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was very well organised. We never had any problems. He has done the trip many times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mosquito repellent necessary. We were in Colombo for a few days before the trip started - those that arrived on the group flight were tired for first few days. Cycling is fun and easy. Group size of 16 but coach size could take more so fairly comfortable. Driver very good in the crazy traffic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus offer different tours to Sri Lanka. Make sure this is the right one for you. This trip was right for us - but - maybe Exodus could tweak to provide more local experiences. Exodus staff in London we’re very good with the booking and pre-tour information. Trip notes accurate. Will continue to travel with Exodus.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Karen Carrington

    Sri Lanka Walking Tour

    This was an amazing tour. It was very well organised. The walking was good. The countryside and people were fantastic and the guide himself was very personable and knowledgeable. It was totally enjoyable. I would recommend going up Adam's peak on a Monday-Thursday evening to avoid the crowds, but that is the only thing I would have changed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything was good

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was born for a job of this type - friendly, funny and knowledgeable
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Stella Thompson

    Off track cross country skiing at it's best

    This is some of the best off track cross country skiing you will ever find. A wonderful wild environment, with varied terrain and a variety of challenge, the best leaders you can ever meet and a great place to stay with a lovely friendly atmosphere. It is very special. I would have given up years ago if I hadn't come here and have been coached to steady improvement over the years. I have been on other holidays with other leaders, but no-one has ever come up to the standard of Ilse and Mary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting high up on a bright day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you get the grade right for you!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Vickie Lush

    Everything and more

    If Antarctica has been on your ‘ to do list’ GO!,, Amazing time had by all, my only negative would be that I did not book to go onto South Georgia and The Falklands due to the time factor. I now have to select photos for my album going to be a long process.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is very hard to pinpoint one part of the expedition but I particularly enjoyed the kayaking you have a chance to get up close and personal with the whales, seals and penguins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Solan was inspirational as were most of his associates on the ship each having their own personality and knowledge to share.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To prepare well, plenty of layers there is absolutely no need to be cold if you take layers. Crossing The Drake requires medication in my opinion but if yours fails the Doctor is on hand and is extremely supportive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food was amazing with plenty of variety and if there was nothing you liked you could order almost anything the kitchen and excellent service too.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Diana Howard

    Classic 4WD Safari - Captivating Kenya

    This holiday met every expectation - brilliant safari, comfortable accommodations and knowledgeable, efficient tour operators. I had a fantastic time. There were 2 long drives, but to end up in the Masai Mara was well worth the effort of sitting in the back of the safari vehicle for several hours chatting to my fellow travellers and taking in the Kenyan countryside, villages and villagers. We visited 2 lakeside safaris and stayed in a lovely lodge with a beautiful view, but once in the Mara, the real trip began in earnest. We had ample opportunity to see an enormous variety of animals and birds. Peter and Hassan took us to all the best spots to see lions by the side of the road, a leopard with its prey up a tree, hippos, cheetah, giraffes, elephants, baboons and all the wonderful impala, Thompson's giselle, topi and many many more species all grazing in beautiful herds or hiding out in the bushes and water holes waiting to pounce. There were a lot of babies and young animals in Feb. and not too many other vehicles to contend with while viewing them. The Ilkeliani Camp was magical: spacious comfortable tents with very effecient bathrooms. A Masai warrior escorted you after sunset safely to or from the dining tent or the sitting/bar tent or the tree top lookout. Elijah and Joseph cooked up wonderful dinners with excellent vegetarian selections included. The food was really top notch, especially considering the remoteness of our location. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and took great care to spoil everyone. Our trip included a visit to the Masai village, with a welcoming dance and a fantastic jumping display. It would have been nice to have brought some gifts to the villagers. Perhaps Exodus could include a link with suggestions. There was also a balloon ride which I didn't do. The weather was kind and it didn't rain, wasn't too hot and although I took my malaria pills, there didn't seem to be many mosquitos if any. The tents were all perfectly netted and protected as were the rooms at Sunbird Lodge. If you're travelling alone, I do recommend paying the single supplement for a little peace and quiet and privacy at the end of the busy days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was inspiring to see the numbers of lions and cheetah and all the various big game, and how healthy they all looked. This conservation seems very well managed and I am happy to think that my grandchildren will be able to enjoy seeing these magnificient animals in the wild. I was also inspired to learn that the Masai women receive education and no longer have to marry at 13.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought a lot of our group leader - Peter. He was very organised, very charming and efficient with his evening briefings. I had to change room at the Sunbird Lodge and he took care of arranging this even though they were very busy and it was inconvenient. I could not manage the steep steps down to my room due to some medical issues. On the safari drives Peter found all the good spots to view the animals and was very patient with all the group's individual wishes. He was very knowledgeable about the area, the animals and able to answer all the various questions we threw at him. I had complete confidence in his driving on the long and rather perilous drives to and from the Mara.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need to bring towels, mosquito nets. Pay the single supplement. Read the notes thoroughly for all the good money tips. Bring pencils, books, second hand clothes to gift the Masai villagers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Hugh Price

    First Class Trip

    Excellent opportunities to see not just Tigers but many other mammals and birds as well. Helpful staff and good lodges and time just flies by. Others have rated this trip highly and deservedly so.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Viewing a tiger fairly closely over a period of about 90 minutes

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vijay was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and his knowledge and experience was invaluable, even to the extent of finding a suitable battery charger in rural India.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes warn you it can be cold early am and late pm but it can also be cold during the day in February. Take layers, take a buff for the dust, possibly a bag to keep the dust off cameras. A head torch is quite useful too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Most enjoyable trip
Call us on 056 631 86 64