Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mark Mills

    Cycling across Cambodia and Vietnam

    The trip took us through some rural scenery in the Far East. It was a treat to see the real country as well as the big cities. I was pleasantly surprised by the level of back up from the support team. They seemed to have thought of everything.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It had been a bucket list thing for me to visit Angkor Wat. It was a serene moment when we first set eyes on the temples and even more so when a buddhist monk blessed our cycling team.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Seen was outstanding. His professionalism, helpful nature and positive attitude was inspirational. Does this man ever have a bad day?!? He handled the situations presented by our group with discretion and efficiency. I give him top marks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My best advice is to pack only the basics. The bikes are suited to normal street shoes/trainers and there’s only a need for one water bottle on the bike as there are plenty of refreshment stops along the way from our snacks kitty. They even supplied electrolyte powder for the water. I took a tumble in Vietnam and destroyed my crash helmet in the process. Thankfully, my skull survived.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I’m glad that the Exodus philosophy to responsible travel extends to home stays and stopping for lunch with local families. It’s great to support these communities with our custom. As a bonus, the food was delicious and authentic. I hope that you enjoy the experience as much as I did.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jane Hall

    A wonderful holiday

    Sri Lanka is a beautiful country with very friendly people. We experienced so many different things and visited so many places that gave us an insight into life in Sri Lanka. It was very well organised and it would be hard to see as much as we did without such a tour

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many inspirational moments it is hard to decide. Probably seeing blue whales and dolphins on a boat trip from Mirissa. Seeing the wildlife in Yala National Park including a leopard.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dileepa was a brilliant tour leader, very knowledgeable and approachable with a great sense of humour. There were personal touches that made the holiday extra special including playing traditional games in a village and watching Dileepa and some of the young men in the village play cricket. The driver and assistant were also extremely helpful.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Graham Williams

    A good trip

    An interesting and enjoyable walking tour of Madeira.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dramatic cliff walks and beautiful levadas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was excellent. We were all glad that he rearranged the walk on day 5 because of bad weather in the mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I went in March, when the climate was nice for walking but few flowers were out. Apparently late April, May or early June would be better for flowers but not too hot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The local tap water is good to drink and most of us had refillable water bottles to save unnecessary plastic waste, but both the hotels who supplied packed lunches included TWO plastic bottles per day, with no option to just have the food. The receptionists were not interested in my comments on this but it might help if Exodus had a word with the hotel managers.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Alison Hawkins

    A fascinating tour

    This trip provides an excellent chance to see the main highlights of Jordan. Our guide Jihad was excellent, knowledgeable, organised, approachable with a good sense of humour. He gave the whole group confidence. I particularly thought camping at Wahi Rum and optional camel ride the best experience. It was well run, more comfortable than anticipated and the food was delicious. Petra too is amazing but does need a reasonable level of fitness. It is good to pace it over the two days, especially if tackling the climbs. Little Petra was an unexpected treat too. Most hotels were good though the one at Petra missed the mark on several levels. I believe there is an issue with Petra hotels, which could be referred to in advance. The trip notes were very helpful and helped considerably with what to expect and what to pack. Jordan is full of history and the whole trip was fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wadi Rum, Petra, Little Petra, Jerash

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jihad was excellent. He was the major reason the trip ran so smoothly and devoted his timewith us calmly and efficiently.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully and make sure you have good walking shoes, especially for Petra. Go for the camel ride at Wadi Rum, it's well worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel at Petra was not good enough. The food varied hugely and the rooms had many faults/ problems. It did not have the swimming pool working which was very disappointing, especially after a long dusty day at Petra. It was a pity the hotel we spent the most nights at let the trip down
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Glenys Gibbs

    Walk of the gods and more

    Very well organised, lovely friendly hotel. Our representative, Vania, was a a delight and nothing was too much trouble.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walk of the gods was one of the highlights plus the walk on our free day from Anacapri.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was a very hard working, caring leader. Nothing was too much trouble. Lots of fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    March may be a bit early to see the area at its prettiest, but it was relatively quiet so I think maybe that was a bonus.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Barbara Dean

    A Volcanic Undertaking

    Once again Exodus delivered. Our guides were fantastic, the bikes were well maintained, and the accommodation was for the most part great. The food was also better than some previous trips and only somewhat challenging for a gluten free/vegetarian. Power bars go a long way! Finally, the scenery was picturesque and breathtaking. Lots of lakes and Volanoes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 4 of the tour. We completed a 20km cycle on some serious gravel and then my husband and I opted to walk the 7.5km climb over 700 metre ascent versus cycling it. We passed a few people who ended up frustratingly walking their bikes but getting to the top felt like quite an achievement especially with blisters on both feet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tai was a very impressive young man who did a fantastic job. His brother Yal was a great support and eventually their dad, Marcello joined us making the group complete. Their obvious bond as a family just made our experience that much better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A gel saddle wouldn’t go amiss as the gravel was sometimes more like boulders.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip notes need to be updated. For anyone interested in seeing southern Chile and western Argentina, I would highly recommend this tour.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Andrew McGregor

    Amazing Patagonia

    An amazing trip. We were blessed with excellent weather which made it all the more special. The hikes were incredible with stunning scenery. The food and wine weren’t bad either!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The three hikes: Torres del Paine Laguna de los Tres Lomo del Pliegue Seeing the Milky Way from the hotel in Torres del Paine. The glacier boat trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Xavier was great. Dependable and knowledgable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some long driving days as per trip notes. Also the hikes are not gentle. Most are uphill most of the way and moderately difficult in areas. If you’re keen on ice climbing on the glacier book we’ll in advance. Currency: a mix of US dollars and pesos is best as not all places accept dollars. Get pesos out of cash machine but there is a charge. A few of us did a scenic flight in Ushuaia as the weather was so good. Reasonably priced and worthwhile. Book ahead. Suggest having a few days in Buenos Aires at the end to unwind and see the city in a relaxed pace. Even better - Xavier can organise kayaking trips in the Tigre delta which is a great way to get away from the hussle and bustle. When you arrive in Pueto Natales you’ll be wiped out and won’t want a fancy meal... ask about the pizza bar/restaurant along the road. Pizzas were amazing - and big. The beer is good too. Left overs served a great mid-morning snack the next day.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Gill Lambie

    Walking in Andalucia

    This was a lovely (grade 4 ) holiday in a rural, unspoilt part of Andalucia. The cortijo is very comfortable with fantastic views over the surrounding countryside. The laid back approach made it feel like a house party and Cartouche & Joke must be congratulated on this. Tea & coffee available all day and a bar with amazing measures. There were 12 of us in the group and we all got on well with lots of laughs. We were fortunate to have perfect weather all week with blue skies, no clouds and temps in the mid 20’s. The walks were varied and the day off in Seville was well worth doing. We all went to the Flamenco dancing in the evening and one of the group was so inspired by this that the next morning she gave us her personal interpretation by the pool before we set off on the walk.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk in the Grazalema National Park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael Newcombe was our leader and was one of the best we’ve ever had . His knowledge of the area was impressive and he was able to impart this in an intelligent & interesting way. His people skills are excellent and I wonder if he’d even organised the lovely weather....What an ambassador he is for Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Robert Dredge

    SOME GREAT, SOME NOT SO

    First the good. One leader was beyond outstanding and really showed empathy, knowledge and understanding and really took everyone to a higher level. The food and staff at the accommodation were exceptional. The accommodation itself a bit cramped but adequate. Overall accommodation was very good and not. problem. The ski hire equipment was very old and dated, but worked OK. Transfers were efficient and pretty timely. Now the not so good. As excellent as one leader was the other was beyond poor. No empathy, limited apparent knowledge of technique and minimal interest in teaching beyond follow me and catch up sometime, even if you fall and are struggling-you were left on your own which affected confidence of some less confident people.. Annoying that I was told in answer to specific request to fly from other than Gatwick that it was not possible( as were at least 2 other couples) on arrival in Oslo we waited for others to fly in from Manchester and Edinburgh. Petty but annoying-expectation that all may be required to buy own wax throughout the week . Surely at £1500 it could cover £50 a season for leaders to have this-in the event the good leader did wax skis when out if she saw it was needed. Quite. bit of pressure put on to attend the evening lectures etc-which were variable in relevance and quality.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing with Ilse Alt

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ilse -as above beyond exceptional in all she did, attitude, patience, knowledge and ability to improve me, as well s enthusiasm for country and magnificent guiding. Other leader was simply indifferent at best and seemed uninterested and not up to the job.( a view shared by others). She showed no interest in teaching or looking at individuals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check who is leading the group.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This really was a holiday of 2 halves. Early part really frustrating and unsatisfactory. Change of leader meant 2nd half was outstanding. Staff and food at resort should be commended.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tony White

    Disappointing

    This tour has all the makings of something special, but fails to deliver. Amritsar and Golden Temple fantastic, Partition Museum shut and if you want to visit the Wagah Border ceremony, then it will need arranging and cost extra ( why is it not included?). Rushed visit to Mcleodganj, staying in Citrus Hotel which needs a thorough deep clean ( dirty, unchanged sheets and filthy pillows). Andretta homestay pleasant although very wet and cold, pottery shut. So what is there to do there? Long day travel to Mandi; didn't see anything of the town and it's "80 temples". Group ate in Raj Mahal Palace; 50% I'll following day. Rooms dirty and bathrooms filthy. Drop this hotel from the itinerary! Shimla is highlight of the mountains and was as good as expected, although the weather was very cold and wet. Unfortunately Silverine Hotel is not heated, so wet clothes need drying out in front of 2 bar electric fire supplied on request. Shimla Toy Train a great experience. Overall, the poor hotels and some long uncomfortable days on the road dragged down the overall ambience of the tour. Finally, the constant noise, dirt, poverty and litter take over one's senses. India will sink under its own litter problem, which is piled everywhere. I have done extensive tours around the world, most of them a wonderful cultural experience. This, alas, is not one of them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Golden Temple, Dalai Lama Temple, Himalayan views, Shimla.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not the inspirational leader that other tours have had. Arranged transport and meals ok, but limited information and descriptions in many locations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This tour is overpriced for the standard of hotels offered and content. Entry fees to the 50% of museums that weren't shut are cheap in India. This is mid-priced tour that provides some very sub-standard accomodation. Advice; try another tour.
Call us on 056 631 86 64