Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    geoff woods

    Sardininian walking holiday

    The bast holiday we have had with Explore or Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boat trip and then walk back along the cliffs of Bay of Orosei and the bue/green Mediteranean

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wonderfully italian, great organisers, created a friendly environment, not good on Geography but that didnt matter

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its a great trip/ Maybe on the day off, walk to Casa Gonome by retracing the Sunday walk, and turning left out of the tunnel, going across the two scarp faces ahead of you and slowly down into the town (for a late lunch), get the bus back.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel really good. Food excellent. All walks/days full of activity
  • Reviewed May 2019
    CATHERINE LAMB

    Sardinia on foot

    A well planed and well lead interesting trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We enjoyed the archaeology and caves as a balance to the lovely walks. The mountain flowers were just as I hoped to see in the wild,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable and experienced, communicated well and demonstrated flexibility to account for changing weather.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take full bad weather gear this is hill country
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Diane Humphreys

    Walking in Sardinia

    We saw many historical and cultural aspects of Sardinia that were a complete surprise to us and these were a bonus. The planned walks were stunning in their scope and very ably led by Albert, our tour leader. The weather was variable and greatly impacted on the activities so re scheduling was necessary; having said that, we missed nothing in the end. Being flexible is part of travel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the gorge and the cave after much scrambling over huge rocks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was trustworthy, physically very capable and knowledgeable and patient with a diverse group of walkers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack for all weathers and be prepared to work with the weather.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Liz Hesnan

    Good Varied hiking, but need to be fit for the scrambling involved

    Excellent , Confident and friendly leader who coped well with a wide variety of fitness levels Good food served by the hotel, I personally found the beds very hard! Shame about the weather, but not much anyone can do about that!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to the cave was spectacular

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent friendly leader, felt very safe, and he coped well with a wide variety of fitness levels / and experience of the other hikers

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for all weathers, and assess your level of fitness to cope with the scrambling and uneven rocky hiking, and Some steepish climbs/descents
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Pippa C

    Walking in Sardinia

    The walk on the first day was cold and very windy and I was unsure what to expect - but after that we were lucky with perfect sunny weather. Every day was very different with some challenging walks and very interesting archaeology. The countryside was very green with colourful flowers and the sea very blue. The sea was pretty cold in early May but a brief swim was very refreshing in the clear water. The hotel was family run and very friendly with hot showers and homely food. Our leader Albert was great - although it would have been nice to have learned a bit more about Sardinian culture. Our group spanned 30 years in our ages - which made for a really good mix of people. I really enjoyed Sardinia and this holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say. I loved Serra Orrios in its setting of olive trees - and also seeing a bee orchid!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was excellent. It was nice to have some local guides at some sites too. And having wine and local cheeses at the small family vineyard of our minivan drivers was very welcome.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles were good with some steep ups and downs on coastal paths.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Derek Clarke

    A great holiday

    Sardinia proved to be a surprisingly beautiful island with good walks and a fabulous coast. The hotel is very good with excellent food and very friendly staff. We were blessed with great weather which I'm sure influenced my enjoyment. The group was also lovely but that's my experience almost every time with Exodus. If you happen to have Albert as your guide you will indeed be fortunate - a more caring, competent and sociable leader would be hard to find. Personally I would drop the 'tourist day', hence only four stars.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perhaps the boat ride!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Laura Keely

    Varied walking and friendly people

    Sardinia offers good, varied walking and activities on a beautiful island. We stayed at a very welcoming family-run hotel, as so often with Exodus. The town of Dorgali is a centre for crafts - traditional and modern jewellery, leatherwork and pottery, mostly - and the locals are friendly and helpful. The walking group included people with many different talents, backgrounds & interests. As usual I had many great conversations on a range of subjects, made some new friends, and learnt much.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the spring flowers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was great, very helpful - especially when my luggage was delayed, as he lent me his down gilet for extra warmth! He put a lot of effort into making sure that everyone had the best possible holiday, and was always cheerful and flexible

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather was very variable on our late April trip - expect a range of temperatures and weather, sometimes in the same day

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There was a member of the group who was quite difficult to relate to, because she was slightly un-neurotypical. She also had problems and got upset as she found it hard to deal with us as well. It was a shame as no-one really knew or could arrive at a good way to get on with each other better. Alexis did his best to understand her, and our, problems. Unfortunately, people often have high expectations of their week off from work - and this made some of the reactions to her behaviour a bit intolerant. It gave us all lots to talk about though!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Andrea Stewart

    First trip with Exodus

    First day of walking was straight up. Not a very interesting route. I suggest you rethink this option. Sight-seeing day was fun, informative and well paced. Tiscali was a fabulous day. An alternative hotel would be a significant improvement. The accommodation was simple, but with 4 hours post walk before dinner, the ‘lounge’ was minimal. Meals were simple and far from expectations- dining in Italy should be a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great day going to Tiscali

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous! Energetic and personable. Alexi worked hard to ensure participants were happy and doing well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A different location for the base of this trip should be considered. Why not reside in the seaside town 20 minutes away? How sad to have 4 hours after walking but to be no where near a beach? There are beautiful areas of Sardinia, but I don’t feel this trip includes them. I feel this itinerary needs a serious over haul.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Lesley Waud

    Great trip

    One of the best trip leaders I’ve seen in almost 20 holidays with Exodus; lovely family run hotel; amazing gelato and great walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The lunch on the beach - great barbecue food and awesome views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was knowledgable, caring, considerate and good fun to be with. He was one of the best trip leaders I have come across.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Margaret Edwards

    Walking in Sardinia

    We had a super time on this holiday. Sardinia is a beautiful island, the walking was very enjoyable and the hotel used was perfect for this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving in Dorgali to find a 2 day festival taking place. It was a joy to behold. Also, walking to Tiscali high in the mountains and discovering this ancient place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis is an excellent leader. He guided us with great care, fun, expertise and consideration for all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking poles as they can be very useful on the stony paths. Be prepared for all weathers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd highly recommend this holiday to those who enjoy walking, good food and drink and the opportunity to explore local village life.
Call us on 056 631 86 64