Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

133 Reviews

  • Reviewed June 2015
    Fiona Galazin

    A wonderful week in the Picos de Europa

    It was a great week which far exceeded our expectations. Good food, comfortable hotel, magnificent views, and a really informed, enthusiastic and attentive guide who had the knack of making us all feel as if we had his undivided attention. The hotel owners, Jim and Pilar, went out of their way to satisfy our diverse dietary requirements and provided a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the early morning sunlight on the mountain range from our bedroom window and knowing that we would soon be in amongst them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro is a great group leader. Every day he told us at breakfast what to expect from the day and what to take. Throughout the walk he was encouraging, informative and great company. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He organised the week's walks to suit the weather and on his day off was busy checking out the snow conditions for a walk later in the week. I can't speak highly enough of him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Poles were useful. I needed more than 2 litres of water on the longer days but Alvaro carried extra water for the group as he was concerned about the heat. What a hero! The wild life was great - black redstarts, Egyptian and gryphon vultures, chamois, wild boar. For those interested in wild flowers, the first week of June was a good time to be in the mountains.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take your binoculars and a good camera.
  • Reviewed June 2015
    Ron Powell

    A Marvellous Week

    We enjoyed every element of this trip, from the walking in beautiful countryside, to the hotel and the food. A marvellous week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the walks were inspirational, with exceptional views, plus flowers and wildlife aplenty.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro was a very cheerful, knowledgeable and competent guide whose enthusiasm was infectious. He cleverly changed the programme to fit the weather, so we did a gorge walk when the cloud could have hampered higher walks, and we walked above the cloud on the final day. We enjoyed his company and leadership very much.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The moderate rating seems entirely accurate. We finished each day tired but fulfilled.
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Michael Carr

    Picos de Europa - Recommended

    Friends had recommended the Picos de Europa as a good place for a walking holiday. They weren't wrong. In places the conditions underfoot are similar to the limestone of the White Peak in Derbyshire or the Yorkshire Dales. However, the scenery is much more spectacular and varied as were the flowers and wildlife. Good hotel with friendly, knowledgeable and sociable staff , great food - provided that you have decent weather it would be hard to go wrong.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The panorama of the Naranjo de Bulnes from the La Mesa peak in the Main range of mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro is someone special. He obviously loves the area and was able to find and identify plants, animals and birdlife for us as well as providing information on local history and customs. Where someone in the group had a particular interest he would pick up on this and point things out to them accordingly. He did an excellent job of looking after a group of people with different abilities, taking good care of the less capable/experienced walkers without frustrating those who wished to go at a faster pace

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were fortunate enough to have good weather, but it was obvious from the condition of some of the paths that it could get very muddy in places. Depending on the time of year it would be best to be prepared for this as you might not be so lucky as we were

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first trip with Exodus. I very much liked the approach of using a leader with local knowledge of the area being visited
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Rebecca Cain

    Loved every minute of the Picos

    Great walks and scenery, lovely guide and support staff, great accommodation and catering - there's no reason not to book right now!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the walks were quite challenging and if felt very rewarding to complete them. Alvaro the guide knows the Picos so well that he takes the group on walks that aren't marked which means that the group has the Picos all to themselves.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro is amazing. He is very knowledgeable about the area and the environment and its history, and very passionate about walking and making sure that everyone has a great time. It was a pleasure to spend a week with him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    All you really need are good hiking shoes, a waterproof jacket and a fleece. Probably waterproof pants would be good too. If you have more specialised clothing and equipment like walking poles then that's great, but don't feel like you need to buy a whole lot of gear to be prepared. We were really lucky with weather and I walked in pants and a tshirt, with a light jumper for the mornings and when we stopped for lunch. There are some really well priced hiking stores in Arenas de Cabrales where you can buy any clothing or equipment that you need. There's time on the afternoon that you arrive to shop, and the stores are open in the evening.
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Virginia Virginia

    Fantastic week

    This was a fantastic week from start to finish. A comfortable hotel, fabulous food, stunning scenery and amazing walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks were all quite challenging, so we had a real sense of achievement and we saw some amazing scenery. Steep gorges, evidence of how people used to farm in the area, canals cut through rocks, snow, sun and beautiful green landscapes. The wildlife was fantastic - several types of vultures, a yellow and black salamander, orchids, hellebores and gnarled holm oaks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro is the best! He managed to meet all our needs, allowing those who wanted to walk faster clear directions of where to go and where to wait, while subtly supporting the slower members so that we all enjoyed the walks. His knowledge of the local area and its people, customs, wildlife, geology and history was exceptional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The terrain is quite challenging at times (rocks, snow and mud) so walking poles can be helpful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a beautiful part of the world, highly recommended!
  • Reviewed April 2015
    David Hammersley

    Walking the Picos de Europa

    Great trip. Walks, views, guide, hotel, village, the lot!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all good. Amazed how lovely and green it was.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro Saiz. Excellent in every way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's a great trip - one of the best. I found buying a local map and Alvaro marking it up for me with the walks at the end, a wonderful summary and souvenir of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to Jim, Pilar, Isabella and the rest of the hotel staff as well.
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Louise Kelly

    Perfect holiday

    This was a great week from start to finish. Each walk was different and always through a stunning landscape and the walks were challenging enough to feel a sense of achievement at the end of the day. Jim and Pilar and the rest of the team at the hotel were great; welcoming, friendly and experts about the local area. Nothing was too much trouble for them. It was the best holiday I've been on in ages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it was pretty inspirational. I especially loved the ascent we made to La Mesa peak through bushes and across snowy patches and the sense of joy when the mist cleared and we got a view of Urriellu.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro,our guide, was fabulous. He was a real font of knowledge, passionate about the area and engaged with the whole group. He was utterly professional and caring and always kept a subtle eye on everyone to make sure no-one was struggling. To top it all he even made a post-walk evening trip to to a col from earlier that day to look for my "lost" phone - and found it!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy being led through these beautiful walks. On a practical note, there were several rocky and some muddy areas on parts of the walk so poles may be useful for some people, although there were some with and some without in our group.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A perfect holiday with great service from both the hotel and the guide. Wonderful.
  • Reviewed November 2014
    Anonymous

    Hiking the Picos de Europa - a great week!

    A fabulous trip - beautiful scenery, great hikes, delicious food and good accommodation. What really made this trip for me - was the super fabulous hiking guide - Alvaro! He was awesome. The team at the hotel were pretty great too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Alvaro's enthusiasm and support.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro was brilliant. He knows the area and the hikes like the back of his hand, he is confidant and sure footed - like a mountain goat! He is a great guy, and super knowledgeable. Ask him what a flower or a plant was called and he would be able to tell us! He was inspiring!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The only shortcoming of the trip for me was that you don't end up with alot of time to yourself each day. It's long days of hiking. Then the hotel lays on a 5 course meal every evening, which was delicious but... but would take 2 - 2.5 hours. So by the time you get back to the hotel, get cleaned up and go to dinner - it can be a little tiring. Doing it every day anyway. I mean it was lovely, but ...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have to commend the hotel for going out of their way to accommodate my dietary needs. I can't eat certain things for health reasons - and they were so friendly and understanding and always made sure I had something I could eat that wouldn't make me unwell! Thanks again team!
  • Reviewed November 2014
    Anonymous

    Picos de Europa

    This turned out as a perfect holiday for me, the location, walks, guide, food and the harmony within the group were all excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being close to the vultures as they soared around the mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro was brilliant. He lived locally and was very knowledgeable about the area, the culture, flora, fauna and wild life. His love and passion for the area shone through. He combined all that with a genuinely caring nature, a sense of humour and was a "good sport".

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just be aware that the definition of "moderate" in Exodus world appears to be more gruelling than in Explore world.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The icing on the cake was that the holiday didn't involve flying from Gatwick, although a Midlands airport would have been even better. I did have a problem with my room, which was resolved by changing the room very quickly. Jim and Pilas (?) the hoteliers and their team in the background made all of the domestic issues and transport run in a friendly and efficient manner.
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Laurene and Andrew Tubb

    Walking Picos de Europa

    One of our best walking weeks ever. We were blessed with excellent weather and all the walks were able to be done as per the itinerary. Really enjoyed meeting all the other lovely people we shared the week with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on one of the very high peaks and feeling on top of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro was excellent. His heart and soul belongs to the mountains and he is an inspiration. His attention to detail and his very caring attitude is second to none. A truly lovely young man.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Before going check what is currently available in your room at the hotel. For instance.......during our week......there were no hairdryers in the rooms (although Pilar did provide some for those guests who did not bring one). Also there is lovely shampoo, soap and shower gel provided in the bathroom............so no need to use your weight allowance for these items.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A perfect week from start to finish.