Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Jon richards

    cycling through Rajestan

    This was a good trip, seeing the classic UNESCO sites of Jaipur, Agra & Taj Mahal, wildlife reserves, train rides, moderate cycling as well as some really off the beat village life. The hotels were mainly of a good standard with pools & the staff were excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the sites at Agra & Taj Mahal which were amazing. Some really fond memories of village life, visiting local schools, houses etc - Exodus really excel at this. The safari was ok, probably enjoyed the bird sactuary more

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tapesh & the whole team were brilliant - well organised, considerate, communicative etc

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's hot so take good screen, hat etc. Hardly any mossies, so didn't bother with Deet. Take alcohol hand wash to avoid the bugs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are lots of visits to palaces & forts which get better as the trip goes on to the well know UNESCO sites, some of these early ones are optional. There are some quite long bus transfers to the cities where these sites are - I believe changes are being made to the schedule to reduce the amount of these. The cycling scenery is fairly dry, and in my opinion much lusher with less urban centres to get to, on the Kerala or Sri Lanka trips. So if you want to see the UNESCO sites and have good (rather than excellent cycling), this would be a good trip. For a more relaxing trip, with lusher scenery & v few bus transfers, the Kerala trip might appeal more
  • Reviewed November 2017
    DAVID STEEL

    MY COMPLACENT BUCKET LIST TICK TO EVEREST BASE CAMP!!

    Gotta say, this was an absolutely brilliant trip! The group, 14 of us in all, was a very eclectic mix with Canadians, Icelandic, Dutch, Irish, a couple of very entertaining "Cor Blimey" guys, and the rest of us were Northerners, but fortunately none of the others seemed to hold that against us! Me and the 2 Cor Blimeys were mates who had embarked upon this jaunt in virtually complete ignorance of quite what was in store for us, so we thought our preparations of a couple of leisurely jaunts up Snowdon followed by a couple of pints of Guinness in the same PYG pub frequented by Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay 65 years earlier would stand us in good stead. I confess that the complete ignorance I referred to above was mainly down to me not having read any of the reviews, but to be honest, I am glad I didn't read them because it would probably have put me off going and I would have missed a truly great experience. The other 11 people were all seasoned trekkers, who were rather surprised by our inexperience (and stupidity?) in embarking upon this full-on 18 consecutive days High Passes Trek which is widely regarded as one of the toughest available. However, despite me picking up a dose of food poisoning in the UK even before we flew to Delhi, we ALL made it across ALL of the High Passes, due in no small part to the expertise and skill of the Trek Leader, Pasang Lama, who I have to say was brilliant at coaxing, encouraging and looking after us - not surprising really, given his 21 years' experience in the role! The scenery of course is second to none, and on a few practical points, supplies like toilet paper, snacks, drinks, sun cream etc. are readily available throughout the trek, plus the food available in the Tea Houses was far better than I had anticipated, which is more than can be said for the general standard of ablutions, but hey, even they were manageable. I am 70, but reasonably fit I suppose, so my advice would simply be get fit, shed a few spare pounds, do a bit of aerobic exercise like jogging or riding a bike, make sure your boots are comfortable and go for it! The Altitude thing is a bit of a lottery so no point in worrying about it, although it may be prudent to have a try-out at altitude somewhere before you go to see if you may be susceptible to it? Some of us took Diamox, some didn't, but nobody had any significant symptoms of AMS apart from the odd headache, a bit of nausea, and a little bit of water retention. Loss of appetite is quite common at altitude, and the only thing which bothered me was the inability to sleep when we were above 5,000m - which we were for 10 days in a row - so actually quite debilitating!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sense of satisfaction in overcoming the challenges and hardships of oxygen deficit and lack of sleep for days on end. Oh, and yes, OK, I suppose the magical sight of such a legendary panacea of scenery was pretty cool too . . . . yes . . . . that too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant. He inspired confidence, was amusing, direct in his manner when it was needed, and conciliatory when it was appropriate. Full marks Pasang!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just Do It - but get fit!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Gillian McFall

    Ms

    A fantastic first experience of Nepal ... and hopefully not my last

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The emotions that came out at Base Camp showed how much the trek meant to some people and I'm happy to have shared that experience with them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shailesh was very informative about what each day would involve ensuring that we were well prepared. He looked after the group well and was careful to check for any health/altitude issues which was reassuring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Eat plenty apple pie!! :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Getting off the main Everest Trail for a few days was lovely, much quieter and a welcome escape into the beautiful goyko area. I would recommend this route.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Lindsay Van Jager

    Great Walking Tour for those seeking easy walking

    This is a very good tour for those who don't wish to walk a long way everyday. Very well organised, different experiences daily in a most interesting part of Italy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Matera, Alberobello. Ostuni and Lecce are all marvellous places to visit. We loved the wine and food tasting at Paco Wines in Alberobello and the wonderful dinner in Ostuni.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This was a self guided trip. Due to the distances we were picked up and taken to various towns. All the drivers were on time or early and the cars were good quality and very clean.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go in summer it would be too hot. Spring and autumn are the best times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The last day of the tour we were to make a trip from Lecce to Otranto by public transport. This is not a good idea for a day trip. The train times there and back were not convenient and there was a requirement to change trains. In the end we decided not to do this.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Peter Baylis

    Cycling Three Countries

    The whole holiday was a great adventure and turned out to be even better than we hoped it would be! So much to see and do, we packed so much in it felt like we had been away for a month! Cycling allowed you to get to see bits of the countries that you would never normally get close too on other types of holidays -Brilliant!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Depends what you call inspirational but the thing that sticks in my mind , is coming around a corner in Vietnam to be faced by hundreds of children, who all turn and look at you and start screaming "hello" and waving at you -made you feel like some sort of Rock Star!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chai was excellent and looked after us all the way. His knowledge allowed us to stop and try local things as we cycled through the countryside, something you would think twice about if he wasn't with us. Learnt a lot about the local culture from him.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    NICHOLA CARTER

    Absolutely Fabulous Holiday.

    Well where do I start? This holiday was one big adventure from the start, right to the end. I saw and learnt so much.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many inspirational moments but I think meeting so many Cambodian people who so friendly and happy, even though their country went through such a terrifying ordeal. They always had a big smile on their faces.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Chai was always so professional and calm and so knowledgeable. He always greeted us with a big smile and always did his absolute best to look after us. I just hope Exodus realise what an asset he is to their company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bother taking Cambodian and Vietnamese currencies. Just take Thai Baht and US Dollars. Baggy shorts over your cycling shorts was enough to get you into most temples. Take your own saddle or saddle gel cover. I took the saddle I did all my training in and I didn't have a sore bottom all holiday. Try as much of the different food you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am already looking at booking another Exodus holiday for next year. Everything was looked after and prepared for us and the whole holiday ran on rails (or should I say ran on bicycles?).
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Vittoria Doyle

    Wonderful easy walking trip in beautiful surroundings!!

    Walking was lovely and easy with enough challenges to enjoy. Group was nice. Food was amazing. Thano our leader was brilliant. So knowledgeable and helpful. He knew his history, culture, flora, fauna and all the people we met around and about!! He cared for the environment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going on to the caldera in Santorini. As a geography student of old, i found the landscape and history fascinating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thano was amazing. So knowledgeable and helpful. Kept us trying his foods. We learnt so much history through him. He answered all questions. Really good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy walking, its a beautiful place to do it. Take walking poles!!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Stephanie Valentine

    Lovely Holiday

    A really enjoyable holiday. Sardinia is a beautiful island and very unspoilt - no high rise buildings, good roads and in October, hardly any traffic. Our two guides were excellent and as usual take you to places off the beaten track that you would never visit if you were on your own. The coastline which we mostly followed was full of little bays , coves and gorgeous beaches. It was the last trip of the season, but apart from the Mistral wind for 2 days, was a very pleasant temperature and several of the group went swimming. Highlights were the trip to the island, the Agro Tourism stays and the fabulous food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day Five I think it was, when we had the most challenging cycling in terms of "undulatings", but with spectacular views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent and particularly so as it was the last trip of the season, so you half expect him to be a bit jaded and uninterested, but this wasn't the case at all. He put 110% into our holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect to lose weight ! The cheese is amazing !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our guide arranged a wine tasting tour, I think we were the first group that had done this, and it was really enjoyable - we bought some of the wine at the Duty Free on the way home !
  • Reviewed November 2017
    LYNNE HORNE

    MAGNIFICENT COASTLINE

    Cycling the Dalmation Coast has to be one of the best cycling holidays so far. A really well run trip, with a tour guide that definitely went the extra mile and scenery that was out of this world. Well worth a try!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    THE MAGNIFICANT VIEWS

    What did you think of your group leader?

    TOP CLASS

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    THIS TRIP INCLUDED THE SUPPLY OF A BIKE BAG, SO ONLY TAKE YOUR GEL SEAT AND WATER BOTTLE
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Katja Lanz

    Go for it!

    This was the first group travel experience for my husband and me. A test run of sorts to see if we are compatible with this form of travel. Our choice of exodus for the experience was carefully researched and, as it turns out, the perfect choice. We wanted to experience Peru and Bolivia in a limited time frame but did not care to deal with the logistics of planning such a trip (plane, boat, bus, entry tickets, Machu Picchu...). The trip seemed and turned out to be tailormade for us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being surrounded by Inca culture. Life on Isla del Sol on the gorgeous Lake Titikaka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!