Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Hughes

    Everest Base Camp - a journey to heaven!

    This trip met and exceeded my expectations by miles! I have never seen scenery so beautiful in my life , it was truly wow! It was the hardest thing (trek wise ) I have ever done and breathing at times in the higher parts was tough but it was more than compensated by the experience. A big shout out to Bikash T ( TNT190427) who was a brilliant leader and encouraged us a long the way and ensured we paced ourselves the result of which we all made it to Base Camp! His team were all brilliant too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Base Camp after such a long journey to get there. I never thought in my lifetime I would see this and it literally took my breath away and was very emotional when I arrived!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As stated above Bikash was a great leader and was certainly always reassuring me whenever I had any nervous moments and was easy to talk to and great sense of humour too !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate how tough this trip is. The more preparation you put into this , the more you will enjoy it. It is worth it! Also , it gets expensive to buy snacks the further you go up, I would recommend bringing energy bars etc from home it save you money. And, finally , when the leader says pace yourself , take notice, as walking too fast is not a good idea at that altitude!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful trip and life changing experience!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Hayley Kennedy

    Fabulous! Holiday of a lifetime!

    Fabulous trip. Great Guide (Bikash T, TNT190427) great staff. Great adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching base camp as I’d been doing the trip for charity so felt such a sense of achievement

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Legend! Fab guy! Had a great team around him as well!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more money than you need, electricity, wifi etc are expensive Train hard and get fit, you will enjoy it more! Work as a team to Ensure you all get there and achieve together.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent adventure.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sophie Daubeney

    An experience you’ll never forget...

    Overall an amazing experience. Beautiful views. A unique, friendly group of fun people! There was a real team spirit, and I was never in doubt that anyone wouldn’t make it to Base Camp. The guides were fabulous, and enhanced a really special experience! Would definitely recommend this trek!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waking up in Kyanjumar lodge and seeing Ama Dablam towering overhead. A real pinch me moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was amazing! Such a kind, patient and fun leader! Felt very supported and encouraged throughout the trip, particularly on the tougher days. He was also incredibly knowledgeable about local culture and history. Can’t recommend him enough. It must be said that all the guides and the yak man were awesome too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare, prepare, prepare! Be of a good level of physical fitness- this trek is no walk in the park! Don’t forget the essentials; loo roll, hand sanitisers, lip balm and sun cream (don’t underestimate the importance of these small luxuries)!! And enjoy!! This trip will be once in a lifetime!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Laura Grealish

    An extraordinary trip to Everest Base Camp

    This is a fantastic trek to Everest Base Camp, made even more extraordinary by the two nights spent in EBC, taking in the unique atmosphere as climbing season gets underway. Valerie and the rest of the Exodus team were fantastic, and looked after us so well, ensuring an unforgettable adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many amazing moments. The first view of Everest and the other Himalayan giants at sunrise was certainly very special. Our acclimatisation walks where we reached altitudes of 5100m and 5545m left me with a real sense of achievement, and confidence ahead of going to stay in Base Camp. It was also very interesting to meet some of the different mountaineering groups along the way who were aiming for the summit of Everest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Valerie's knowledge and experience of the Himalayas is second to none, and it was fantastic to hear of her adventures and to learn about trekking and mountaineering in the area from her. Her leadership ensured that everybody achieved our objective of safely reaching EBC and back. I would definitely travel on one of her trips again in the future.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to trek to Everest Base Camp, do this trip, it is so special to spend time in the camp itself, while it is a privilege to travel with such a knowledgeable and enthusiastic team. Bring an open mind, drink lots of water on trek and embrace the adventure.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    jacqueline walton

    Excellent trek

    As expected, an excellent trek. Fantastic scenery; lovely insight in to Nepali villages and epic mountains!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to get our select group of ’Trevor’s Angels’ to the top of Kala Patar!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. He was extremely personable and knowledgable but also very aware of how we were all doing. At the slightest sign of anyone not being 100% , he would check how they were doing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely get your visa beforehand - we did the online bit but still had a huge wait. The only way to avoid the wait is to send passport off for visa in UK. Sadly, if others in the group don’t you will still have to wait but outside! Stock up on anything that will help counteract the Khumbu cough - lemsips, throat sweets ...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although not an easy trip, taking it slowly and mental determination will see you through!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jimmy Werner

    EVEREST BASE CAMP..... GO FOR IT !!

    My 2nd trekking excursion to Nepal, the first was Annapurna Base Camp,(ABC) 10 days round trip, up to 4130 meters (13,550 ft) That was enough to energize my batteries to go higher, for I've been near or at 14,000 ft on 3 occasions without any AMS symptoms. I was anticipating Everest Base Camp (EBC) to be the trek that let me experience some AMS symptoms, however my pre-trip training (indoors at sea level) had my legs in shape and genetics most likely had a lot to the NO AMS, along with the gradual acclimatization in the trek was very well planned and organized. The research I have read says no one can predict who will get AMS, and genetics has a lot to do with it per some mountain guide I knew in Alaska. AS for the conditions in Nepal, well..... I am used to "ROUGHING" it in the bush of Alaska on fly out hunting trips for over 25 years,(tents, sleeping bags on cold ground, grizzly bears).... so the TEA HOUSES are luxurious compared to the bush of ALASKA, Hot tea at your door every morning. SO, if you are a pampered city slicker and not used to roughing it, YES, it will be a shock as Michelle M stated in the review before me. REMEMBER your training, and expect the worst, and hope (and Pray) for the Best. SUKMAN and the assistant guides were beyond fabulous, we all owe a debt of gratitude to them for getting us up that 5545 meters the last day for a SPECTACULAR view of the "TOP of the WORLD" CHEERS and BEERS from JW in ALASKA. THANKS SUKMAN.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    SEEING the TOP OF THE WORLD from 5545 meters (18,200 ft)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    FANTASTIC !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    READ my review above and TRAIN your legs for up, down and ENDURANCE.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    JUST DO IT, ...Life is an adventure waiting for you. He or She who has never tried has never failed, Let'er snap!!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jimmy Werner

    EVEREST BASE CAMP..... GO FOR IT !!

    My 2nd trekking excursion to Nepal, the first was Annapurna Base Camp,(ABC) 10 days round trip, up to 4130 meters (13,550 ft) That was enough to energize my batteries to go higher, for I've been near or at 14,000 ft on 3 occasions without any AMS symptoms. I was anticipating Everest Base Camp (EBC) to be the trek that let me experience some AMS symptoms, however my pre-trip training (indoors at sea level) had my legs in shape and genetics most likely had a lot to the NO AMS, along with the gradual acclimatization in the trek was very well planned and organized. The research I have read says no one can predict who will get AMS, and genetics has a lot to do with it per some mountain guide I knew in Alaska. AS for the conditions in Nepal, well..... I am used to "ROUGHING" it in the bush of Alaska for over 25 years, so the TEA HOUSES are luxurious compared to the bush of ALASKA. SO if you are a pampered city slicker and not used to roughing it, YES, it will be a shock as Michelle M stated in the review before me. REMEMBER your training, and expect the worst, and hope (and Pray) for the Best. SUKMAN and the assistant guides were beyond fabulous, we all owe a debt of gratitude to them for getting us up that 5545 meters the last day for a SPECTACULAR view of the "TOP of the WORLD" CHEERS and BEERS from JW in ALASKA. THANKS SUKMAN.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    SEEING the TOP OF THE WORLD from 5545 meters (18,200 ft)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    FANTASTIC !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    READ my review above and TRAIN your legs for up, down and ENDURANCE.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    JUST DO IT, ...Life is an adventure waiting for you. He or She who has never tried has never failed, Let'er snap!!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Karen Reed

    Mera

    I had an excellent trip and was aware issues could affect the summit attempt and so made sure I enjoyed the journey. There was an unusual amount of snow and we were the first to go over the first pass, but the challenging walk to the start of the peak meant I was well acclimatised and practiced at walking in snow. Compared to other companies we had extra rest days and easy days which I feel helped me.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up the highest mountain I've ever been up with even bigger mountains looming up even higher behind me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jangbu was excellent. He's extremely experienced having summited Everest several times, but he's also easy going and approachable. Another group commented that they were getting more information from his daily briefing to us than from their own leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Respect altitude. Do as advised, take it slowly, eat plenty, drink plenty and rest when possible. Also kitbag weight matters. The bags are carried by porters and another group had such heavy bags they had to wait up to 2 hours in cold, damp, clammy clothes while their porters struggled to carry their bags over a difficult pass.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a tough trek. You don't need to be super fit but day after day of walking takes it toll. Experience of long days of walking in snow can be gained from winter walking in Scotland, and I attended a mountaineering week at Glenmore Lodge, Cairngorms to get the mountaineering skills required.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    STEPHANIE SWAIN

    Awesome trip to Everest Base Camp

    Great trek with fantastic leaders & an amazing group of people

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All reaching Everest Base camp & staying 2 night. The whole trip was amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader was great & we all felt very safe re altitude trekking

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just keep putting 1 foot in front of the other 😊
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Paul Dent

    Best Experience Every ...

    Brilliant, just brilliant experience and led by professional and competent people. I do admire Val, her experience, communication and leadership of the team and ourselves was impeccable. You will experience much more than you expect, in terms of terrain, views, people and accommodation too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise over Everest was thrilling and not to be missed. The Khumbu glacier was inspirational too, especiLly from its base point.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As above, you will struggle to find a better leader for this. She knows what to do and also is brilliant if required for non- standard situations. In addition to her Leadership skills, It should be added that Val is also a very very nice person indeed and will always have your best interests in mind and she misses little.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a moped mind with you and do enjoy the journey, as well as the destination, as Virginia would say.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Val has some very competent guides and future leaders in her group. Do watch and listen to these guys ... they’re also very humorous people too.
Call us on 056 631 86 64