Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

130 Reviews

  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Emsley

    Excellent Walking

    A very pleasant week's walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Caminito del Rey

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael Newcomb helped to make the holiday most enjoyable. As well as being very knowledgeable about Spanish history, culture, and the routes along which he directed us, he had a great sense of humour and worked hard to ensure that all members of the group enjoyed the walking.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Eve Parker

    Wonderful Andalusia

    A peaceful, relaxed walk amongst olive groves, outstanding scenery and quiet, white villages. Based in a cortijo which served superb food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the griffon vultures soaring and enjoying the numerous wild flowers. pleased to see Ibex too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was great for giving us information about the area and what we could expect.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go if you want to discover a peaceful Spain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip to Seville was good, especially visiting the Alcazar, and we had a bonus trip to Ronda on our way back as our flight wasn't until late. Again, we had lots of useful tips for the best places to visit and where we'd find the most interesting food.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    James Moodie

    Walk and learn

    An excellent walking holiday in Andalucia with a first class guide who was vey competent. Vast knowledge about the geography and the history of the area and a superb knowledge of the plant / wild life of the area all with a very engaging manner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Enjoyed the different walks in the area.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Engaging, knowledgeable and just the person to make one aware of what is around you, be it wild life, plant life or historical .
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Mary Symes

    andalucian odessey

    As a single traveller I was a bit apprehensive about joining a group for a week's walking. I needn't have worried. My fellow travellers were charming, good company and great walking companions. The accommodation was comfortable and clean. The double rooms with balconies had views - but not mine sadly. The food at the cortijo was plentiful and tasty, the breakfast coffee could be improved though. The walks were the highlight: disturbing dozens of griffin vultures feeding on carrion and watching them take flight; being in the natural landscape beyond the ubiquitous olive groves and not least Miguel, our guide who was just superb the whole time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having a quiet lunch stop perched on a limestone outcrop.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miguel was very well informed and knowledgeable. He had a good sense of humour and very likeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    March is a good time to go as its not too hot

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I paid a single person supplement but got a single room which was only big enough for a single bed. I wasn't occupying a double room. It had limited view and no balcony. I don't understand therefore, what the single supplement is paying for.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Gill Lambie

    Walking in Andalucia

    This was a lovely (grade 4 ) holiday in a rural, unspoilt part of Andalucia. The cortijo is very comfortable with fantastic views over the surrounding countryside. The laid back approach made it feel like a house party and Cartouche & Joke must be congratulated on this. Tea & coffee available all day and a bar with amazing measures. There were 12 of us in the group and we all got on well with lots of laughs. We were fortunate to have perfect weather all week with blue skies, no clouds and temps in the mid 20’s. The walks were varied and the day off in Seville was well worth doing. We all went to the Flamenco dancing in the evening and one of the group was so inspired by this that the next morning she gave us her personal interpretation by the pool before we set off on the walk.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk in the Grazalema National Park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael Newcombe was our leader and was one of the best we’ve ever had . His knowledge of the area was impressive and he was able to impart this in an intelligent & interesting way. His people skills are excellent and I wonder if he’d even organised the lovely weather....What an ambassador he is for Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Ben Brown

    A Great Time

    I really enjoyed everything about this group hike. This was the challenging version in March 2019...which was a great time to visit with temperatures in the Low 70's F. Everything went off without any problems but that was most likely due to the guide, Michael Newcomb. He is probably the best guide I have ever encountered. Not only is he very personable, he has taken the time to learn a LOT about the area and wildlife. He took the time to interact with all of the members of the group and he paid close attention to the pace to make sure those at the back didn't fall behind too far. He was simply outstanding. The Cortijo (farmhouse) was a really great place to stay. I had the single room and it was clean and comfortable. Note that there were dogs barking during the night but they are on nearby farms so the owners cannot help this. The owners, Joke and Cartouche, were very friendly and helpful as were their staff. I was able to pack lighter because they offered a laundry service that I took advantage of halfway through the trip. The food for the evening meals was fine (not bad) but I had hoped for a bit more Spanish cuisine. Breakfast was fairly light but sufficient. As a side note, Cartouche is also a talented tattooist and he has a small shop on the premises.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip for me was the view from the hike on the first day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was outstanding. The best I have had.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Beelin Baxter

    Unforgettable holiday

    This was a fantastic holiday in many ways. From booking till the day we left to go home, it was all done with great professionalism. The pace was just right and the group size was perfect. Well done Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our highlight was the caminito del Rey.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We couldn't have had a better leader than Michael. He offered us plenty of knowledge, and we had lots of laughs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy 😊

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cortisol Rosario was lovely. Simple but homely.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Alan Gelson

    A most enjoyable trip

    I would unreservedly recommend this trip. Michael Newcomb our guide was brilliant- enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about the land and the landscape and the flora and fauna and especially the trees and birds of the region. Our Hotel was comfortable with a terrace and panoramic views and an inviting well maintained swimming pool and Cartouche and Joke were warm welcoming and friendly. The food was excellent and Doug provided back up and the two resident dogs were a delight. The bed rooms were well sound proofed and very comfortable and the residents' sitting room comfortable and cosy with a log fire in the evenings. The walks were varied and gave us a great feel for the local landscape. Our day in Seville -one of the great European cities was fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the National Park

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was inspirational. His background fitting him ideally for this responsible and educational role. Michael's parents are Spanish but he was brought up in England where he excelled as a sportsman and went on to London University to read History. He possesses a detailed knowledge of the flora and fauna and history of this beautiful country He possesses excellent people skills and throughout did his utmost to insure our safety and enjoyment of this trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Harry Gracey

    You will love this trip

    Our first guided walking holiday (but not our first trip with Exodus) , and our first visit to this part of Spain. A really enjoyable week in rural Andalucia with a good mix of walks in spectacular scenery, great food, company etc. Particular thanks to our outstanding, most knowledgeable and helpful guide Michael, and all the staff at Cortijo Rosario.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots to choose from - plump for completing the Caminito del Rey. Don’t have a great head for heights ! El Chorro Gorge is truly spectular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely superb in every way - a sincere thank you Michael. Eleanor and Harry.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was our first guided walking holiday and the walks are not particularly demanding. Lots of stops for views, things of interest etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Lynne Hopkins

    Authentic Andalucia

    Just back from a fantastic trip. Was great to be based in the Spanish countryside. The Cortijo is such a lovely, relaxing, chilled place. Good mix of places visited on the itinerary. To bring in the New Year in Seville was a special experience. There wasn’t a place visited that I wouldn’t want to return to. Indeed I’d happily do the whole trip again. We were fortunate to have a week of blue skies and sunshine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The chilled location of the Cortijo in the Spanish countryside, among the olive groves and everyday life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was very informative and enthusiastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy!