Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

130 Reviews

  • Reviewed March 2016
    Robert Tiller

    Authentic Andalucia

    This was an excellent opportunity to see Spanish Culture at first hand, we were lucky with the weather and the tour leader was very good and knowledgeable. Extra trip to Cordoba has to be done. The whole break was well organised and I would recommend to anyone wanting to see Andalucía. Only downside there is a lot of minibus travel at least 1.5/2hours away from base each day and the Conjita Farmhouse is a bit tired, otherwise, with this in mind I recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Easter visit to Seville and Olvera were my highlights as the Easter Parades were in full swing. The extra visit to Cordoba we paid extra for was well worth it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader arranged visits to citys around the Easter Parades and had full details available of routes and times. Full marks to him for his knowledge and time spent ensuring everyone was catered for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure the waters warm in the (small) swim pool before you get in. Be careful where you eat out.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall I recommend this holiday to anyone requiring a quick overview of Spanish Andalucía culture.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Janet Aries

    Walking in Andalucia

    This was a relaxed, no-fuss trip. As a first-time Exodus tripper, I was impressed with the organisation and delivery from the very start to the finish. For solo travellers, peace of mind and feeling safe is paramount. Even in our farmhouse where we stayed for the entire trip. there was no need to even lock the doors to our rooms, keys simply were not required. Amazing!! The trip leader absolutely made it for all the group , I am sure. Knowledgable, charming and so considerate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too difficult to identify just one experience. Overall, it was just so very relaxing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is super-relaxing. If you are looking for bars, theatre ,lots of night-life, this may not be the holiday for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Spanish home-cooked menu was delicious and as a veggie, I was very well catered for. However, if I am honest, the desserts were a bit disappointing, for what it is worth, everything else was perfect. Fresh fruit salad and/or a Spanish cheese board would have been more than adequate after such ample and tasty main courses.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Gillian Lowe

    Walking in Andalucia

    A lovely peaceful holiday. Good walks and I loved the accomodation. Our leader Alex is a perfect leader. definitely one of the best I have ever had.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk in the National Park

    What did you think of your group leader?

    perfect.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking poles and waterproof trousers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No. Every comment is positive. A lovely group. The cook Maria is excellent. It was good being able to help ourselves to coffee and tea.
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Catherine Coleclough

    Discover Andalucia

    A great trip to see some lesser visited areas of Spain. You get culture, walking, great food and also some down time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably a bit obvious but The Alhambra was my personal highlight. We had plenty of time to look around and then in the evening we were taken to a view point and then to a restaurant just below the view point where we were able to watch the Alhambra change colour with the setting sun - beautiful sight. In addition to this the Mezquita and the Patio/Courtyard gardens in Cordoba were also rather special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emily was great - she was hugely knowledgeable about the area and the culture. She was good company and very organised, ensuring we all knew what was the plan for each day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go in the height of summer! We experienced a heat wave when were there (end June/early July) and the temperatures were regularly around 40 degrees. The farmhouse (cortijo) is lovely but it doesn't have air conditioning so if you are there in 40 deg temperatures, it does not make for pleasant sleeping! That said, it is a beautiful place, clean, great staff, great food and a great location - the views are beautiful. Don't let the lack of air con put you off, just be aware of it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go - it is a great trip - nice to have one with a bit of relaxation time - I think we had 2 afternoons by the pool. You get to see the highlights of the area. I took the optional trip to Cordoba, as did most of the group and loved it. A few went to Ronda and they loved it there too.
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Rachel Alston

    Walking in southern Spain

    A really enjoyable holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is a beautiful part of Spain

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis is a wonderful group leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed June 2015
    June Egglestone

    A very enjoyable holiday

    The accommodation is set in spectacular scenery, you eat outside with that view every day (weather permitting). Walks are enjoyable and varied, and often end with a nice cool drink in a local bar. Pool at the accommodation is very nice and refreshing at the end of the day (pool towels are provided). Food served is also excellent. Drinks are very reasonably priced in the Cortijo.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I cant really pick out one thing, the whole holiday was excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was a first class group leader - the right attitude, good planning, easy to get on with, always looking out for everyone in the group, making changes as required (it was very hot when were were there).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip (well, if you like walking anyway ...).
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Beverly Eastwood

    Walking in Andalusia

    One of the best holidays ever. It was a wonderful mixture of walking - where the scenery was different on every hike and incredibly unspoilt, eating beautiful authentic Spanish food , experiencing Andalusian culture and still having time to relax by the pool surrounded by magnificent views. The Cortijo Rosaria was a wonderful place to stay - the staff did everything to make our holiday special, with a surprise Flamenco event at the end of the week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is difficult as so many of the walks were memorable - but maybe the last two walks were the most outstanding - to Sierra de Grazalema National Park and the El Chorro gorge. The views were stunning. Seville was also a beautiful city to visit especially with all the Jacaranda trees in blossom , and although we only had a day, there was time to see the palace , cathedral and to have a ride in a horse drawn carriage.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was a brilliant group leader. He was extremely knowledgeable and made all the walks interesting and fun. He was caring and courteous and always checked how the itinerary could be improved to ensure everyone had the best time. Nothing was ever too much trouble - he is a great asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although it's very touristy do take the horse drawn carriage - it's good fun and if time is short it provides an opportunity to see other attractions. The weather was a surprise - unseasonally hot so if going do pack a range of clothes , may have to be prepared for the unexpected.
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Paul Pritchard

    Walk awhile in Andalucia

    A very good opportunity to walk in an unspoilt part of Andalucia from a converted farmhouse base where the staff will look after you very well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Unexpectedly walking the first section of the Caminito del Rey while in El Chorro Gorge and then having lunch over looking the Gorge while watching the vultures.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was an excellent group leader, he gave the appropriate amount of information about each day's walk at the evening briefings. He was always discreetly attentive to the whole group and provided lots of interesting information about the area as we walked.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cortijo Rosario has wifi in the bar area. Some of the trails are rough so walking boots are advised or well soled walking shoes. The evening meal on the first night is a cold buffet at 8 pm so have some snacks with you or eat a good lunch if possible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bird enthusiasts might like to try the River Walk if you have 3 hours to spare, Golden Orioles and much more to see [late April]
  • Reviewed May 2015
    John Morton

    From the olives to the mountains

    A fairly gentle week's walking though I'd imagine it would be a lot harder in the heat of summer. We had torrential rain on the first day's walk (unusual) but the weather after that was a very pleasant at 25 to 30 degrees C. The atmosphere at the farmhouse was very relaxed, and it was lovely not to have to worry about room keys (you're in the countryside, a long way from crime and annoyances). It's worth noting that the days are relatively short, so there is fair amount of time spent back at the farmhouse in the afternoon waiting for dinner at 8pm - fine if you like relaxing, not so good if you like to be active.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The morning walk towards Caños Santos monastery took us through farmland with beautiful spring flowers - lush green scenery that you wouldn't normally associate with this part of Spain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was a very relaxed but professional leader, and speaks at least four languages including Spanish. He did an excellent job at charming the officials at El Chorro Gorge to let us walk down part of the gorge, despite the fact we hadn't booked and that tour groups are not usually allowed through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's worth noting that the wine included in dinner is only red wine - if you prefer white you'll need to buy it. Be aware that if you walk uphill from the farmhouse the dogs will follow you for a walk - there's no avoiding it! If going in spring make sure to take an umbrella and have a rucksack cover (unlike me). Also watch out for cowpats!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The day in Seville is quite short, so if you'll intending to see all the sights of Seville you'll need to go back another time. There enough time to see the cathedral and the Real Alcazar, though.
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Paul Paul

    A look at Andalucia

    An interesting look at Andalucia while based in an area rarely visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Alhambra during the day and viewing it from the Mirador San Nicolas area over a beer or two as the sun set.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was an excellent group leader, he has a friendly manner, takes great care of members of the group and has a lot of interesting information to share but never over does this role. Each day was clearly laid out during the previous night's briefing and on the day it was clear where we were to meet and when.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The first meal at the Cortijo Rosario is a cold buffet served at 8 pm so make sure you have plenty of snacks with you or have a good lunch.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel used in Seville [Hotel Baco] is rather basic, breakfast is put out on one floor with a tiny area one floor up to eat it, alternatively it can be taken to the roof terrace or ones room. The Cortijo Rosario minibus is expertly driven by Juan but shakes, rattles and rolls so much it is very tiring being in it. The bar area of Cortijo Rosario has wifi.