Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    sarah strachan

    fine

    Excellent week. Really well organised interesting sites.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was exceptional as a guide. Really friendly, knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He worked really hard to make our trip run really smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for Ibrahim as a group leader

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was such a good mix of ages in the group everyone got on really well. Thank you
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Louise Mattison

    A wonder of the world, sun, sea and sand - this trip has it all!

    Having just returned from Jordan and reflecting back on my week away, I feel it has been one of the best trips of my life so far. The tour has been created to have a very varied, yet well balanced itinerary consisting of the capital, Petra - a new wonder of the world, the desert, the Red Sea and the Dead Sea. It cannot be argued that this is a relaxing holiday, there is a lot of travelling and a couple of long bus days (though nothing too overbearing and always well broken up with plenty of stops and sites along the way) and the number of included activities means you will fill like you've seen the whole country in a week! But it's brilliant fun, and the opportunity to see all the main sites and the stunning scenery will mean you'll be happy to rest once you get home! Jordan is a fabulously and I feel underrated country. Despite being situated in an area of the world which has had some problems, Jordan is forunate to be a safe and easy to travel country. As a solo female traveller I didn't have a single moment of my trip where I felt uncomfortable or unsafe. The people were welcoming, the weather was perfect (not too hot but sunny every day) and the sights far surpassed my expectations. If you are considering visiting Jordan, you can't beat this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two days to explore and hike Petra. It's such a fantastic and fascinating site, and far, far larger than I expected. I'm glad the itinerary permitted two full days here as one day would have felt rushed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a brilliant leader. Clearly very experienced, he was enthusiastic, knowledgable and most importantly looked after us and made us feel very comfortable. I've done many similar group tours over the years, but never with Exodus before, and I think he was one of the best leaders I've had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a solo female traveller some of my friends and family were surprised when I told them of my decision to visit Jordan. But I couldn't have felt more comfortable. Exodus take care of you right from the moment you step off the plane, and the people I met and travelled with couldn't have been lovelier. I was in a group of 20, a mix of ages, both couples and single travellers and we are got along brilliantly, having group dinners every night and staying in touch post trip. Ibrahim, our leader, was fantastic and took brilliant care of us. I can honestly say I have no issues and the trip couldn't have gone better.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Carol Nolan

    Amazing and hot!

    Vietnam is everything you think it may be and everything you can never imagine! So opposite to your life in the western world, the country is a beautiful, absolutely chaotic, in your face and also serene at times. This is an extremely well organised trip and you will definitely get a flavour of Asia. Food is beyond amazing and our tour guide was unbelievable and a wonderful human!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On a boat travelling down the Mekong river wearing traditional hat and savouring the quiet!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joilee was beyond wonderful and professional and was also pretty funny! She cared for us in the group like her own and she was the most wonderful representative for her country of Vietnam

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring lots of loose clothing, laundry wash as you will be changing your clothes a lot! Don’t bother with any make up or stuff for hair, within a day that all goes out of the window! Enjoy your rest afternoons relaxing, the tour is pretty full on and will get tired otherwise. And close your eyes at times, savour what you are experiencing

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it! The price is very cheap for everything you get to see and experience and spending money is even hard to spend as everything is so cheap. I loved this country and it has set off my new love of adventure!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Peter Woodward

    Would I go again? Yes I would.

    From tropical beaches, through steaming jungles to Scottish moorlands Sri Lanka has it all. Where else can you grow where they grow pineapples, coconuts and cashew nuts a few miles down the road from tea, potatoes and leeks? Fantastic scenery, great food and wonderful people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a 5ft water lizard at our first road side stop after leaving the airport. Just a taste of what was to come.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader had a great sense of humour and loved his country. Standard answer to any question was usually "90 minutes" and he wasn't far wrong.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow. Sri Lankans don't like to hurry and preparing fresh food takes time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not quite paradise but not far from it. If you have been you will know what I mean, if not then what are you waiting for?
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Katherine Lucarotti

    A marvellous trip crammed into a week

    A wonderful trip with a fabulous guide and great travel companions. I wasn't sure about doing a tour as I usually travel independently. This time, I didn't have time to plan logistics, learn Arabic (though most do speak some English), or manage/research all the destinations, and I only had a week of time off, so I decided to try a pre-organised trip with Exodus to a place I've always wanted to visit. So glad I did. I learnt about Roman cities by walking amongst the pillars, I marvelled at mosaics away from the distractions of the 9-5, I climbed up rocky out-crops formed of incredible reds and oranges, I learned about the Nabateans and the Mamlucs and the Bedouin and the history or a tumultous region steeped in history for thousands of years. Not only do you get to explore Petra and Wadi Rum, float in the Dead Sea, snorkel in the Red Sea, admire Jerash and Madaba and Karak Castle and the flowers in the desert (in April) (thanks to our guide for hunting out the end of season black irises), but you get to taste local food (delicious Shawarma and Falafel) sip delicious mint concoctions, and hear about day-to-day life in world full of refugees, intense politics, history and conflict on all sides. Things come to life when you are in the landscape. Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting on a sand dune in the desert of Wadi Rum watching the light change.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous group leader - highly recommend Jihad.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really look at the weather forecast before you go. It can be cold and wet in Jordan (North and Middle) in Spring, even though it will also be hot in Aqaba, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Recommended for people who want to cover a lot of ground in a short time. It is quite an intense itinerary so not the right trip if you just need to relax or potter about. It's great for people interested in civilisations, nature and the Middle East. Even if you don't know a lot about history, this place brings it to life. It is spectacular.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Andy Sealy

    Tailormade a week in Jordan

    A week in Jordan fly into Amman and transferred to a hotel for the night then travel along the kings highway towards Petra via Mt Nebo , Madaba and Kerak. Two full days to explore the sights of Petra visit little Petra quick visit to Aquaba (for supplies ) Wadi Rum desert, four wheel drive and two nights in Bedouin camp along with one day hiking through the desert. visit and swim in the dead sea staying at a 4 star (5 star I think ) hotel

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I cant single one inspirational moment as they all were but if I really had to then it would be the sunset in the desert Wadi Rum

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was fantastic from the moment he picked us up at the airport till the moment he dropped us off there he looked after us really well. Anything we wanted he was there for us. he gave us all the information and more that we needed to complete our trip. He made sure every guide we had was the best and helped us understand the countries customs and language. I would absolutely recommend him to any of my friends that are planning to visit Jordan

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes please do not think of Jordan as a country in the middle east or in an area of trouble as it is so much more than that. It has a very western European outlook and the people are so friendly and they actually believe they are half English and have Jordanian. Our trip has open all of our eyes to a completely different view of the middle east. go and see for yourselves I promise you , you will be blown away with how friendly and open this country really is.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to take this opportunity to thank your team for a brilliantly organised trip in Jordan, it was everything we expected and more. From the plane flight , transportation , hotel accommodation , dessert camp , guides all facilities it was the best organised trip we had been involved with. Our Guide Ibrahim delivered us the perfect package even showing us more than was planned on the ternary without effecting timings. He sorted us out with the best guides in Petra , Dessert, and all through out our trip. We would thoroughly recommend Exodus Travels for Jordan trips and as we have also been on a trip before climbing Mt Toubkal 2018 would recommend this as well. We will be looking to book another challenging trip soon on the back of these two excellently organised ones. Again thank you for a great trip please pass this on to all involved.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Christine Ralph

    AXW 130419

    An excellent trip. Well organised and operated.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down on Petra and realising the extent of the site and the awesome achievements of the inhabitants over the ages.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jihad Abu-Zahra was amazing - knowledgeable, entertaining, helpful, patient - everything you would want in a guide. In addition he helped me when I had a medical problem - sorting out medical help, to which he accompanied me, translating and explaining as necessary - a real support. Nothing was too much trouble for him - he is to be highly commended. Thank you Jihad for a wonderful trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    tom jestico

    We scratched the surface

    We were a mixed bunch of travellers from mainly the UK, aged from 24 to 76, single and partnered. Roshan was our tour guide - he'd been doing it for over 10 years, so there was a certain repetition in his recommendations. Sometimes we were simply let loose to explore without guidance. We enjoyed his descriptions about social life in Sri Lanka and his take on politics but he was reticent about the current situation and we learned little about his private life. He was very helpful at all times. Some days were full of activity and others were more relaxed. Sigirya was my favourite hotel. We were there over the New Year's holiday so some activities such as the Tea factory visit, were not as illuminating as they would otherwise be. The buffet food was excellent and the hotels left little to complain about. Unfortunately our trip ended on Easter Sunday, when over 250 people were killed in Colombo. Exodus were very good at organising transport to the airport despite the curfew.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to the Tsunami house.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As above. Roshan is, I felt, naturally reserved. Apart from learning our names, he seemed disinterested in who we were and where we had come from. He delivered his messages as required but I felt he was sometimes bored. He rarely asked us how we were and did not fully engage with us. (I went on an Exodus Rajasthan trip last year and had an excellent guide, Ayjay, so I had high expectations). Occasionally, towards the end of the trip, he spent more time with us at our evening meal. I foolishly left my camera behind at the Tea factory and he was very good at recovering it. I wish him well for the future.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax. Sri Lanka is not Europe. Go with the flow. Service can sometimes be slow and unresponsive. This was my third trip to Sri Lanka. The people you will meet are kind and helpful. Health and safety warnings can be excessive. I had no insect bites and was never exposed to danger. Lions Rock, Adams Peak and the walk to Worlds End can be hot and challenging.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lesley G

    Vietnam Adventure

    I had high expectations for this trip and I was not disappointed. The trip was perfectly described in the brochure and offers an unforgettable experience of this fascinating country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were lots from watching in disbelief as mopeds carrying everything weave between each other in Hanoi, to the mysterious Halong Bay, to the beautiful lanterns in Hoi An to the vibrancy of Saigon. I particularly enjoyed being part of a group to share the whole experience with. And of course having a Vietnamese guide who gave us such an in depth insight into this country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Tan Nguyen, made the trip. He gave us such an insight into the life and culture, as well as share some wonderful stories with us. His knowledge of Vietnam and his spoken English was excellent and everything was always done with a smile. We were never disappointed with his restaurant recommendations. On numerous occasions he guided us safely across the busy roads. Anyone who has been to Vietnam will know that this is no mean feat!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a hectic schedule with some early starts and a lot of travelling including the overnight reunification train. There is also plenty of walking in hot humid conditions. But if you want to see and really experience this country, I cannot think of a better way of doing it. Taking a silk sleeping bag liner for the train is very useful and a pack of cards to pass the time away with fellow travellers! Also, when changing cash in Hanoi, they much preferred new notes. They weren’t keen on my crumpled £20 notes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was impressed with how well organised the trip was from the moment I made an initial enquiry, to the wealth of information before the trip (the trip notes are invaluable) to the picking up at the airport and the organised excursions.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lynda Hoar

    Amazing tour

    A tour to be thoroughly recommended, covering all aspects of Sri Lanka and it’s lovely people. Busy, lots of early starts and some long journeys but so worth it. The trip notes were accurate and we were also able to see sights at their most opportune moments, I.e. climbing Lion Rock before breakfast and before the crowds, Temple of the Tooth while a ceremony with drumming was on, Horton Plains early before the heat and the mists descended. Having lunches cooked by villagers and our guide stopping and buying us bananas, watching curd (yogurt) making and tasting it, eating freshly sliced Jack fruit at the roadside. We enjoyed every minute.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing elephants and leopards (and other animals) close up from a jeep in Yala and Minneriya. The ceremony at The Temple of the Tooth. Climbing Lion Rock. On the cycling day we enjoyed seeing the countryside, wildlife, and the local people, also having an amazing collection of curries cooked on a farm for lunch. Paul and I don’t cycle but tuc tucs were hired for the non cyclists so that we could still enjoy the day to the full.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruwan was an amazing tour leader. There are some long journeys on this trip but they didn’t seem long as he made them very interesting with his informative talks on the history and culture of Sri Lanka and by regular stops for treats like bananas and Jack fruit, view points and waterfalls. He was very calm and well organised, warm and friendly and a good sense of humour. We were always well informed on where we were going, timings and what to take etc. Nothing was too much trouble for Ruwan and it was a pleasure to have him as our tour guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light, the hotel laundry service was excellent, good value, and in most cases same day service. Leave some room in your suitcase for purchases, I.e. tea. It was very hot and humid during our stay (March) so you’ll need loose cool casual clothing. It’s probably best if you like curry, there’s the most amazing selection at the buffets, and a lot are vegetarian. However, it’s usually possible to order a la carte, just remember to do so at least half an hour in advance! Binoculars were useful, especially in the game parks. Walking trainers best for Horton Plains. We changed some money at the airport on arrival but all the hotels took credit cards.
Call us on 056 631 86 64