Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

628 Reviews

  • Reviewed January 2020
    Amanda Johnson

    Beautiful. Fascinating. Enjoyable.

    Excellent trip that covered the major sites in a short amount of time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra was always going to be the highlight for obvious reasons and it is everything I thought it would be and more but I was surprised at how big a site Jerash was and how little I knew about it. It was really surprising and fascinating. The mosaics in the churches dotted throughout Jordan are just breathtakingly beautiful. Wadi Rum was always going to be special too and the stars at night are amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a true gentleman. He was funny, passionate about his country, caring and patient. He was always concerned that everyone was ok and enjoying the experience. He tried to ensure everyone's needs were catered for in quite a diverse group. He was always available to listen and help and ensured that any problems were resolved quickly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To be honest the trip notes cover it and other travellers comments too help ensure you are prepared. I wouldn't be put off by others experiences of optional trips - I decided I was only here once (I would go back but too many other countries I need to visit) so did the camel ride at sunset at Wadi Rum and also the Petra at night and thoroughly enjoyed both. Basically you get out of them what you put into them - enjoy it! Also did the hike up the monastery at Petra and the hike behind the tombs to look down on the Treasury from above - both were worth it and a good workout!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is a beautiful country with beautiful, friendly people. The landscape can be starkly beautiful and the historical sites are amazing. The first few days are a bit full on but if you are of an average fitness they are not hard going at all and you can take it at your own pace. It is nice to relax at the end and do a bit of snorkelling or floating the dead sea.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Sandra Taylor

    fine

    This was an excellent holiday - well organised, a good mixed variety of activities and sights, not overly much travelling, good hotels and the leader took us to nice restaurants. And in particular I liked the 'free time' element given at the actual sights not provided as these lame ' a free afternoon in your hotel' business when it's difficult to access the places you want to see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and Wadi Rum

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding group leader. Ibrahim had that prefect combination of being highly organised but appearing laid back and relaxed. I recommend him to any group. He dealt with any issues that arose from group members well so they never became 'issues'. He was a so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Jordan but never 'over- informed'. We didn't have to listen to lengthy lectures standing looking at endless Roman and other remains - instead he gave us the outlines and left us to explore or ask questions as we wanted. And above he was fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Heed well the advice given in the comprehensive notes

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks Exodus - I'll be back! BUT please Exodus get your act together regards feedback - it took you a week to send me the feedback email by which time I'd lost interest in feedback.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Stephanie Scollard

    Jordan loves you!

    This was a fantastic trip. I loved Jordan. Ibrahim, the Guide, was excellent and had everything perfectly organised. The food was amazing, and hotels were nice. Petra was unforgettable. Hiking boots are a good idea. The weather was hot in the middle of the day and quite cold at the beginning and end of the day. (T-shirts, with lots of layers, and a coat required, for December trips.) I have done several trips with Exodus and would thoroughly recommend this one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim is lovely.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take hiking boots.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Fiona Savage

    Best holiday!

    This was my first trip out of Europe and really glad I picked Exodus to do it with. The trip was well organised, plenty of places to visit and things to do, a great range of included and optional activities (which are all well worth doing!). Our group leader was Phuong Le - she was amazing, gave us a lot of information about each place we visited, plus teaching us about the history and some of the language. 100% recommend this trip if you want to visit Vietnam!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the local families and restaurants for lunch/dinner, and seeing Halong Bay in real life!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing! Phuong Le was great, couldn't have asked for a better group leader. She gave us so much information about each place we went, taught us some of the language and took us to some amazing local restaurants.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Douglas Robertson

    A week in Jordan ........ if Carlsberg made a week anywhere ..this would be it!

    I knew all about Petra before travelling but Jordan is about so much more than that as I discovered. A fantastic week with history, culture, food and experiences that I will never forget. People queried how safe Jordan was before I left for the trip and I can honestly say I haven't felt safer on any trip I've been on before. The people were the kindest, friendliest and most open people you could hope to meet. The trip can be as active as you want with plenty of free time in Petra to trek around or just take it easy. Our guide Ibrahim was a brilliant leader who typified the hospitality of Jordan and spoke knowledgeably about history and culture. I would happily return again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Petra up close was amazing but spending a night in the desert was a surprising highlight for me - the stars and the peace and tranquillity were amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was brilliant!!!! He was knowledgeable, kind, attentive and fun. He shared Jordan past and present with us opening up about history and culture - past and present. He was always there for us and made sure we knew where to be and when and what to make sure we saw or tried. A true ambassador for both his country and Exodus

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont think twice just go there!!! if you go later in the year it is cooler at night so do bring layers ..... and dont forget water shoes for the beaches!
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Martin & Margaret W

    Vietnam Adventure

    A good start with the best coffee i've ever had by the lake nr Hanoi Hotel The holiday was extremely varied, showing so many aspects of Vietnam - chaotic cities with 'formation dancing' motorbikes ignoring most traffic lights but managing never to collide - the peace and quiet of Halong Bay and the Mekong Delta. The hotels and their buffet breakfasts were all top class, the 'homestay' was more like a basic 'eco hotel' , was in a peaceful spot and had bikes you could borrow. The original itinerary bike trip in Hue was discontinued, but made up for in Hoi An, with a ride plus a coracle and boat trip and the bonus that bikes could be kept for the rest of the day. I took advantage of this whilst Margaret went for the best massage she has ever had! The Reunification Express was very comfortable and could only be improved on if you were allowed to hang out of the doors or ride on the roof.! I could have done without the CuChi tunnels and would have preferred a 2/3 hr walk in quiet, scenic countryside as an option. All in all - A great holiday with a great group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bits of every day really

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Phuong Le (pronounced 'Ful') was lovely - excellent English, always there and approachable, great sense of humour. Her organisational skills were outstanding - Bus, boats, train, bikes,restaurant tables, takeaways, always appeared as if by magic. She even managed to time the odd heavy downpour for when we were under cover. She gave us in-depth talks too, on subjects like driving, marriage etc

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Our group used many different airlines, so check the options. We used Thai Airlines via Bangkok which looked considerably quicker than others.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go for it !
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Raji Rajasingham

    An informative week

    The trip was packed full of activities, which was great, but it could benefit from the odd afternoon of downtime here and there to take a breather and reflect on the activities and places seen. It is a comprehensive tour of the ket sights of Jordan - loved the the inclusion of both the Red Sea and the Dead Sea. Petra was, of course, without a doubt the highlight of the trip, but little Petra was lovely too and the night in Wadi Rum viewing sunset by four wheel drive and sunrise by camel (optional) was great fun. All in all a good trip, which I would recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up past the monastery to sit on the rock's edge and take in the view plus having tea and enjoying the view at the High Place - both at Petra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Organisationally competent, but extremely and unacceptably rude and unprofessional in his behaviour - he stood up in a restaurant and shouted at me all because a few of us wanted to clarify what the facilities at Wadi Rum and at the Red Sea beach were going to be like. He was incapable of providing simple answers to simple questions and saw any request for information or question as an opportunity to attempt at being comedic, which frustrated many amongst the tour group, and led to others just not asking anything.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had a room with barely any natural light at the hotel in Petra, which was quite unpleasant given we were there for 3 days and nights during which we had to constantly have the lights on whenever we were in the room. Still despite this the room was very dim and a tight fit for two adults with a suitcase each. Following this we found oursleves in an inside room with no natural light at all at the very next hotel at the Red Sea, although at least that room was larger and brightly lit.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Kevin Adrian Fingleton

    An amazing, enthralling, full-on trip.

    This trip is not for the faint-hearted. Despite various lengths being quoted, the traveler is effectively on the road in India for 8 days, and flies home on day 9. But in the 8 days you pack in an incredible number of beautiful, memorable sights. You will (hopefully, like we did) meet a smallish group of nice, decent, funny people that you are happy to travel, eat and drink with, and who look out for one another. Transport is effective and comfortable. You'll struggle to take in the volume of sights, sounds and smells that India will provide. The food is wonderful, hotels are comfortable and all in all, it's hard to avoid the 'trip of a lifetime' cliche.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Varanasi - both the night-time 'blessing of the Ganges' ceremony, and about 7 hours later, the dawn boat ride on the Ganges to see the sun rise thru the mists and float past the cremation ghats (at a distance). And in between, the chaotic tuk tuk ride. There were many other highlights, but that one just took my breath away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay was truly excellent. Easy company, informed, patient at explaining the culture, history, politics and so on. He was very organised, because this trip is a mini-military-operation. It has to be, to see that many amazing things in 8 days. And he added little touches to enhance the trip (eg flowers to scatter on the Ganges). I wanted to see a step well (If I could) so I asked early on, and we got to see one in Jaipur that was not a tourist sight, by making a short detour. That was another highlight for me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to get tired. But you can sleep on the bus, the hotel beds are comfortable. And you have the post-trip period back home to look forward to, looking at your (way too many) photographs. It really is full-on, but in a great way. And it seems to match the pace of the places you are seeing - it's not a place to dawdle. Finally, if you are into photography, you'll probably never be somewhere with so many photos 'waiting to be taken'. Bring less clothes - this is not a dressing up holiday - and more camera gear. Last thing, as I think of it. Pollution in Delhi is quite bad - it's just a fact of life. But you are only there for about 48 hours, and even if you get a short term sore throat you recover quickly once you exit the city. It's worth it, I think.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first ever trip to India. I utterly loved it, from beginning to end. If you want a chill out holiday, look elsewhere. If you want a safe, well-organised, short sharp trip around some of the key parts of India, this is the one for you. Enjoy
  • Reviewed December 2019

    Team Jordon 23 Nov-1 Dec

    An amazing week with a fabulous group of people and great guide. The trip is planned to take you through that gentle build up of activity on the first and second day to the much more strenuous exertion of days 4,5 & to a lesser degree day 6, before bringing you back down to the more restful experience of swimming/snorkelling in the Red Sea then floating and mud bathing at the Dead Sea.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra came high up on the list but there was something everywhere (don't do a trip with only one day at Petra if you can avoid you will miss so much). The most fun was had with the mud at the Dead Sea (an experience never to forget)!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nidal is full of knowledge about his country that he is more than happy to share with all to enhance our understanding and help appreciate what we were seeing. He took care when needed and I am sure did more behind the scenes to keep the trip flowing smoothly but also gave us that bit of space. I am sure he knows everyone in Jordon personally and knows all of us in the group too after our week!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In late November it goes from comfortably warm during the day to quite cold at night, because of the sudden drop in temperature when the sun goes down (still warmer than UK!), so don't forget to bring warm clothes, for those who feel the cold, gloves, hat, maybe even a hot water bottle for Wadi Rum Camp (plus Jeep and camel ride).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For those thinking of this trip the walking in Petra can be a little tricky for those with a fear of heights or steep drops to the side of you. Be prepared to have to put in some serious strenuous effort to the climbs in Petra if you want to see some of the most spectacular views down on the hidden city. My thanks to all those who were on this trip for being great company.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Sharon Caton

    Excellent

    Great trip, only went to see Petra but Jordan is so much more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wadi rum, the people are amazing. Sleeping under the stars and the sunrise and sunset are spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He made the whole week exciting, his enthusiasm and sence of humour made the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No need, guide took care of everything Thank you Ibrahim Isbitani.