Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

959 Reviews

  • Reviewed January 2020
    Katie Szkornik

    A wonderful , relaxed week of walking on the Almalfi Coast

    I really loved this trip to the Amalfi Coast, and it was just what I was looking for in terms of a relaxing, but active, New Year break. A nice mix of walking and culture, with no early starts or late finishes and plenty of time for a relaxing coffee or two after walks had finished. The Hotel Due Torri where you stay for the whole week is a family run hotel with a nice atmosphere, delicious food, and a fabulous range of cocktails (the limoncello spritz was the 'drink of the holiday'!). Enjoyed the opportunity to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum, as well as a trip to the crater of Vesuvius. Thanks also to our tour leader Teresa for helping to make this a fabulous week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to Pompeii. Fascinating guided tour and Pompeii really exceed my expectations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresea was great. I especailly enjoyed all the local food treats she shared with us during our walks! It was also nice that she sat and ate dinner with the group every evening, and made an effort to really get to know everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is not always warm in southern Italy! I wore four layers the day we went to Pompeii and was just about warm enough. If you go over Christmas and/or New Year make sure you pack some warm clothes, and hats and gloves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be great if Exodus could offer a greater range of trips over New Year. I've met many poeople who want to spend Christams with family, but then like to get away shortly after for a week or so. Most companies only offer a limited range of trips at this time of year.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Stephen Sinnhuber

    Just amazing, and tough!

    My wife and I had long wanted to do this trek and when the 45th anniversary deal came up we booked last Feb. We then had months of worrying if we would make it, training, more training, buying gear, more gear etc etc! We needn't have worried. Our whole group made it thanks to Bikash and his team who were incredible throughout. Bikash ensured we ate enough (lots!), drank enough water (lots!), kept our hats on (haha) and made sure we did everything possible to avoid altitude sickness and make it. Whatever he did worked! We saw people in other groups dropping like flies and being helivac'd out. But we (11of us) were all fine! I have been on many Exodus trips but on this one the group dynamic was exceptional. The teamwork and camaraderie were second to none. I guess because the trek is very challenging. Don't underestimate this trek, it is very tough!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to base camp itself after all the self-doubt we had about making it. Sitting quietly on my own looking at the vastness of the mountains around me. It's spectacular. But everywhere you trek is spectacular. Base camp is simply a highlight among many.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptional. Bikash was a fantastic leader along with his team of Kami, Lakpar and Yak man (haha). We would not have made it without these guys!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate this hike. it is tough. Make sure you are fit! It's not a race. Go as slow as you can. The guides set the pace. Follow it. Its cold so bring some good layers and rent the sleeping bag at least. The bag was very good quality. A Steripen was very useful. A thick fleece and or lightweight down/thermoball gilet (or better still jacket) is very useful inside the tea houses. Only the main room is heated and then usually only for the evening. Only eat veggie food and dont drink alcohol while on the trek. We avoided any illness as a result. Try and sit on the left of the plane going to Lukla. Luggage is advised at 5kg carry on and 10kg check in. As a result I ditched some stuff at the start hotel but it turned out we could definitely take more. One of our guys had over 14kg check-in and its very cheap to pay the extra. Handwarmers were useful but only on EBC day really. We didnt need the many we brought! The recommended money to take on the trek was spot on.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one of the very best Exodus trips we have ever done. Amazing views, great trekking and fab company of the other clients and guides.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    David Southall

    The most amazing trip I have ever taken with memories never forgotten.

    If you wish to challenge yourself and witness some of the most amazing views on the face of this planet then this is the trek for you. Yes, you need to train, Yes you need to have a positive mind set, Yes, you will get cold, Yes you will NOT be staying in 5star hotels along your trek. YES, you will find things out about yourself, YES you will do things that you never though possible. YES YES YES you will have the greatest time. Go ahead. Book it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Everest Base Camp as a compete team and seeing the Nepalese culture of how little they have and yet they smile every day are grateful for everything.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ha Ha Tenzing Sherpa was the most positive and inspirational leader anyone could ask for. His knowledge and character and laughter was simply infectious. I would request him again to guide any trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont overpack Take enough underwear and socks Limit to a 2/3. base layers/ Mid layers and let the down jacket do the rest. Drink enough water even if you feel you are not thirsty. Avoid meat on the trek.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Dougie Gray

    Stunning views

    What more can we say,,, fabulous walks, great hotel with great staff. Our guide Vania is fantastic making everyone feel welcome right from the beginning! Her bright breezy funny chat was great and very informative. She always had an answer for all our dumb questions!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views along the coast from the higher view points on our walks!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania couldn't have been better! Very knowledgeable, welcoming, great English,, I could go on and on!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Edward Cooper

    Trip of a lifetime!

    What a truly amazing trip! The trip of a lifetime in fact. Stunning views, amazing camaraderie, almost to too many fantastic memories to process. Everything from the spectacular flight into Lukla, to crossing the stunning bridges felt like such an adventure, straight out of an Indiana Jones movie. Special mention to our amazing tour leader Bikash Tamang and his amazing team (Kami Sherpa and Lakpa Cerpa) - these guys absolutely made the trip. So hard working, great sense of humour, super encouraging, super caring for the whole group, total professionals. When we return we want exactly the same team, we miss you guys!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to count - seeing Everest for the first time, visiting the Tengboche monastery, making it to basecamp and experiencing the amazing camaraderie of the whole group including Bikash Tamang and his amazing Exodus Nepal team (Kami Sherpa and Lakpa Cerpa)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash Tamang was the reason we all had one of the greatest trips of our lives. A true professional who was constantly encouraging the group and looking out for us all at every step of the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you train before the trip. Don't rush. Listen to everything your tour leader says and do it. They are extremely experienced.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can't wait to go back to Nepal and have another adventure with Bikash Tamang and his team
  • Reviewed November 2019

    EBC is a sensational but tough trek

    In common with other reviewers' comments, it should be noted that the landscape between Lukla and Dingboche is like an alpine paradise, unexpectedly beautiful valleys and rivers, criss-crossed with suspension bridges and dotted with Buddha stupas. While mostly undulating, the trail is especially difficult on days where the ascent can be two hours straight up. But the leaders are cogniscent of this and allow many water stops in between scheduled breaks. Our leader, Bikash Tamang (TNT191102), was an especially experienced and supportive leader and provided confidence to those who needed it as well as providing cultural and geographical narrative from start to finish. The only reason I am giving 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the sanitary condition of many of the lodges high up in the Khumbu region and the abysmally cold bedrooms which are not insulated or well built. Do not underestimate how cold it gets at night.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A visit to a hospital in Phakding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See comments above; Bikash Tamang (TNT191102), was an especially experienced and supportive leader and provided confidence to those who needed it as well as providing cultural and geographical narrative from start to finish.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider grouping together and buying a helicopter flight from Ramechaap to Kathmandu on the return leg, to avoid a 6 hour horror bus journey and instead enjoy an incredible 25 minute flight over the hilltops. Amazing. Do not pay more than USD 1600 (5 people)
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Nigel Glenister

    First Taste of Italy

    This can only be described as the best way to see the Amalfi Coast. What a beautiful place.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view offered from the walks of the Amalfi coast and beyond were amazing. Many of the walks end with a boat trip back along the coast, this allowed you to look back along the route of your walk, giving you a different perspective of the walk. Amazing and relaxing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio is a highly experienced tour leader, with excellent knowledge of the area and history of Italy. We were extremely well looked after.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel was great, the owners make you feel at home all week.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Vishakha Phatak

    Trip and group leader review

    Absolutely wonderful trek with stunning scenery each day. The whole trek was very well organised. The accommodation was good and the staff were really amazing, always ready to help with a smile on their face. The food that Jim, Pilar and the team served was delicious! Had not expected to be served 4 course dinner everyday ! Saw plenty of vultures, mountain goats,horses and of course the cows with cowbells! Would definitely recommend the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Nacho was the best group leader amongst all the treks I have done with Exodus. Nacho had excellent knowledge of the local area, and had fantastic organisational skills. I would definitely vote for him for the star Leader award !
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Benjamin Vassallo

    Excellent and professional experience.

    To whom it may concern, I am incredibly thankful for the experience I had while I was away on my trip. Zohi and Ben were nothing but professional meanwhile keeping a light hearted friendly attitude throughout the time away. Their food was exceptional. I was expecting something alot less and what was delivered was nothing short of an incredible dining experience. If I knew I was getting them again I would not hesitate for a second booking another holiday with Exodus. To second on that Shaun the hiking guide was professional and made hiking incredible and informative. We learnt so much from him as a group from the surrounding area. The staff is by far your best asset and will encourage people to come back again and again im sure. Regards

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking through the dense forest on a new track as the normal route was closed. The forest and views were absolute breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shaun the treking guide as mentioned in the summary was amazing and look forward to seeing him again on another trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stay open minded and maybe do a little walking before heading on over
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Eriza San Miguel

    Perfect!

    This trip was just perfect. The daily walks were sublime and breathtaking. Zohi and Ben really looked after us well. They are a magnificent duo that are not only great at what they do, they also enjoy it. The chalet was clean and had everything we needed. The food is gourmet and uses fresh ingredients. Both Zohi and Ben are super friendly. Not only do you get to eat delicious food, the conversations were also fun and genuine. Our guide John is a master at his profession. He plans what’s best for the group and monitors our walking pace regularly. He is very knowledgeable on not only the hills and mountains surrounding the Chamonix valley but also all the popular hikes around the world. John provides training on the best way to walk (slow and steady) and he’ll also throw in lessons on different types of coniferous trees for free. The walks and Chamonix itself is already a sublime combination. Throwing Zohi, Ben and John into the mix is certainly what made our trip perfect. My friends and I already agreed we’d do this trip again in a few years time. Here’s hoping the trio will still be there (fingers and toes crossed).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The alpine scenery is incredibly magical

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John is a great leader - he is masterful at his trade. He looks after the group and is very easy to get along with. He is incredibly knowledgeable. In the many tours I’ve done, he is a stand out group leader - a rare find.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some challenging parts, so train harder than you think. The rating scale of moderate translates to a rating of 4-5 in Australia. Bring waterproof shoes in case it rains/snows.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Zohi, Ben and John - thank you for giving us a wonderful experience. As a group we felt extremely lucky to have been led and looked after by yourselves. It’s definitely what made the trip perfect! Thank you 😊