Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2019
    Justina Mclaughlin

    A magical trip

    A comprehensive cultural tour that also incorporated the different landcapes of Peru. The Inti Raymi Festival was spectacular and whilst the trip notes don't specify, we were seated in premium seats with great views at Sacsayhuaman. Its worth the extra cost to experience Inti Raymi!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Its difficult to choose just one as each day revealed some new place or aspect of Peruvian culture. Machu Pichu really is stunning and as magical as it looks in the photos. I personally found travelling through the Andes very inspirational. I hate long journeys by road (I suffer from motion sickness) and I was dreading the road journey but the scenery of the Andes really is breathtaking. So glad we traveled overland instead of flying straight to Cusco. Its inspired me to consider further overland journeys.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giuliano was an excellent tour leader. He ensured all our transfers, arrivals, hotel check ins and local guided tours were well co-ordinated. He was knowledgeable on local places and history, he was also very responsive to requests from members of the group to do additional activities, vary the itinerary. As a tour leader who has previous experience of gourmet food tours he also gave us some great recommendations for eateries.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The pace of the trip is full on and everybody suffered a little with altitude. Some were very tired, others developed sinus problems, others had upset stomachs or felt nauseous. Only one encountered breathing problems and was immediately put on oxygen and handled expertly by our tour leader. I personally opted to take Diamox for altitude and had no problems breathing at altitude but I did still experience slow digestion and on occasion had an upset stomach. Fortunately I had a big bag of medical remedies from home and my advice would be to bring these with you. I recommend bringing hydration salts and over the counter remedies for an upset tummy/indigestion. I bought a ticket to hike Montana Machu Pichu 3 months in advance, for the morning of the 2nd day in Machu Pichu, . Since there are only 400 available a day, mountain hiking tickets sell out months in advance, if this is something you want to do email Exodus and they will advise you the date you need to purchase the ticket and details of timing. Be aware you have to be very fit and get up early (5am) and be back at the hotel by 2pm. Practical suggestions of things you should bring for the trip - A stash of tissues, antibacterial wipes (essential), small overnight bag/daypack and a good supply of cash. Opportunities to use credit cards are limited to the more expensive shops and restaurants. Also whilst ATMS are available, they are not always on the doorstep as you often stay in remoter locations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The age demographic of the group took me by surprise. I was the only person there under 50, everyone else was at least over 60 and there were 17 of us. Whilst my travel companions were all good fun and young at heart I did, at times, feel like an outsider. Useful info to have: Luggage allowance on the internal flight to Lima is 23kg and you are permitted an 8kg bag in the cabin. Tipping Kitty was $83, it would have been good to know if Exodus had advised us of this in advance. It is worth having the tipping kitty as there are a lot of places where carrying our own bags could become a chore. Fortunately the bell boys and drivers did this for us and were tipped from the kitty. Shopping for artisan items is better when travelling in the Andes. If you see it and like it, grab it as you go, I found less unique items available and those that were ended up more expensive in Lima.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    george tarbuck

    Adventure of a lifetime

    The trip is excellent, coach journeys over the Andes, moonscapes and volcanoes with snow on the peaks. Machu Picchu is stunning. The condors were happy to come out and play. The hotels were good. The homestay on the island was charming and the people genuinely hospitable without being pushy. The food served to us on the homestay was the best meal I ate in Peru, simple and tasty.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the condors.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guiliano was the best tour leader. Always on hand to help, sorted every situation flawlessly and with a sense of calm, even when assisting one of the group with oxygen when they were unwell at altitude. What stood out was the forward planning and anticipation that Guiliano showed. We could get on with enjoying the holiday whilst knowing that everything was under control.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take American Dollars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go on this trip.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Christine Burnell

    Authentic Andalucia ADH190615

    Overall a fabulous experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Rhonda. This should be part of the itinerary not just an optional extra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Micheal Newcomb was an outstanding group leader / guide. His passion for the region and his knowledge was outstanding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is quite a bit of walking involved. So a reasonable level of fitness is recommended.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Everything was perfect. Thank you.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Leslie Polidoro

    Love Sri Lanka!

    Hotels, meals all very good. You can tell the country is still developing their tourism business, but they are doing a great job. Unfortunately the bombings will have put a stop on travel there, however I have fallen in love with this country and will be quick to recommend it. Excursions and tours were excellent, I felt like I had a good overall visit to Sri Lanka, yet not enough so I am keen to return.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lion Rock Fortress

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very knowledgeable, however I found that he tended to poke "fun" at certain people a little more than was necessary. I felt a bit more history and explanations of sites could have been provided "on-site". Most tours were a bit rushed, fine for those in excellent physical condition, difficult for those who were not. I would have rather it was a bit more leisurely when out on site.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a battery pack/charger -- you will want to take alot of pictures and sometimes your camera/phone will not make it through the day. Tip well to all those that help with your journey.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Janet C

    Temples and Tigers

    A very interesting trip covering the highlights of Rajasthan. Some very long travel days and a lot of time on the bus, but the sites were worth it. There were a lot of temples including the Taj Mahal and we were incredibly lucky to see 7 tigers at Ranthambore; including a mum and her cubs very close by.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Playing Holi in Jaipur and being covered from head to foot in paint.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gaj was a great guide, he added a lot to the trip with the additional information he shared with us about life in India. Gaj made it possible for us to stay longer in Jaipur where we could play Holi with the locals which for many of us was one of the highlight of the trip. Gaj organised a trip to see a Bollywood Movie one evening for those who wanted to go; definitely worth it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I traveled on the last trip of the season (March) when the temperatures start of rise and it was very hot some days especially at Pushkar. I had read about the increased risks of being ill when travelling at the end of the season but was fine, however the vast number of people on the trip were ill at some point which impacted the whole trip overall. There is a LOT of time on the bus and it can be very tiring with the bumpy roads, continuous road works and a group of sick travelers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Gaj recommended a couple of additional stops for some of the very long traveling days; the advised stops were interesting and broke up the days. There is not much free time on this trip and where we did have time it seemed to be at the wrong places. The bus driver and his assistant were amazing and worked so hard. They had some long days especially if they drove us out to a restaurant for dinner in the evening.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Condon Corbett

    Amazing Sri Lanka!

    From the private pick up at the airport in Colombo to drop off at the airport things could not have gone more smoothly. The pace of the tour was excellent given its short duration. Accommodations were very good-clean, comfortable and well located. Sri Lanka is a stunning country with friendly people, beautiful scenery and an abundance of wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to the top of Lion Rock (Sigiriya) to view the remnants of the ruined palace and the spectacular views of the surrounding countryside from 200 metres above. Magical!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Suresh was excellent. Very well organised, knowledgeable of his home country, it's history and different cultures which he imparted to us in an interesting and fun manner. I appreciated his somewhat sarcastic sense of humor as well. Schedules were well kept and adjusted as necessary based on the group consensus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take part in all of the included sightseeing and activities, especially the bike tour through the villages where you will be warmly greeted by the local children as you cycle by.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a trip of a lifetime!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Penelope Hansen

    Sri Lanka fam

    The trip was great. Short, but a good introduction to the country. I look forward to going back and seeing more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the day we spent cycling through local villages and meeting locals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was great. He was diligent in assisting passengers whatever hour of the day/night and adjusted our itinerary to adapt to changing circumstances like weather and traffic. Taking hundreds of photos and sharing them with the group (even if some were shockingly unflattering) was a nice touch.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Peter Woodward

    Would I go again? Yes I would.

    From tropical beaches, through steaming jungles to Scottish moorlands Sri Lanka has it all. Where else can you grow where they grow pineapples, coconuts and cashew nuts a few miles down the road from tea, potatoes and leeks? Fantastic scenery, great food and wonderful people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a 5ft water lizard at our first road side stop after leaving the airport. Just a taste of what was to come.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader had a great sense of humour and loved his country. Standard answer to any question was usually "90 minutes" and he wasn't far wrong.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow. Sri Lankans don't like to hurry and preparing fresh food takes time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not quite paradise but not far from it. If you have been you will know what I mean, if not then what are you waiting for?
  • Reviewed May 2019
    ANITA MICHALCZEWSKI

    SRI LANKA - A SMALL COUNTRY THAT HAS SO MUCH TO OFFER.

    GREAT HOTELS, SIGHTSEEING, FOOD, PEOPLE. SRI LANKA HAS ALL OF THIS. OUR TRIP WITH EXODUS TRAVELS WAS GREAT. WE HAVE SEEN SO MANY GREAT TEMPLES, CLIMBED THAT AMAZING SIGURIYA ROCK, OBSERVED MONKEYS AND ELEPHANTS IN THEIR NATURAL ENVIRONMENTS, TASTED SO MANY YUMMY DISHES. OUR BUS DRIVER DARMAN WAS A VERY SKILLED DRIVER (THAT YOU NEED SO MUCH IN SRI LANKA). HIS HELPER SAMAN WAS ALWAYS READY TO GREAT US WITH A SMILE AND ALWAYS MADE SURE THAT WE WERE WELL HYDRATED, AS HE SUPPLIED US WITH WATER THRUOUT OUR JOURNEY. THE HOTELS WERE ALL OF A VERY GOOD STANDARD AND SOME OF THEM DID OFFER A BREATHTAKING VISTAS. MY FAV. WAS THE HOTEL GIRITALE IN GIRITALE AND ALSO THE HOTEL TILANKA IN KANDY, AS THEY HAVE OFFERED MOST AMAZING VIEWS.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    VISITIG A BUDDHIST TEMPLE ON THE BUDDHIST NEW YEAR AND GETTING A SPECIAL BLESSING FROM A MONK WITH A THREAD TIED ONTO MY WRIST. AND ALSO STANDING ON TOP OF THE MIGHTY SIGURIYA ROCK AND FEELING PROUD THAT I WAS ABLE TO GET THERE, AS NOT EVERYONE WAS ABLE TO CLIMB IT.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    SURESH WAS OUR AMAZING WISH MASTER! NOTHING WAS IMPOSSIBLE FOR HIM TO DO FOR US. I WISH EVERYONE TO ENCOUNTER SUCH A GREAT TOUR GUIDE. HE WAS VERY PASSIONATE AND PROUD OF HIS COUNTRY. HE MADE OUR JOURNEY A VERY PLEASANT ONE. HE ALSO SHOWED US HOW ONE SHOULD STAY IN SHAPE, AS HE WOULD TAKE US FOR MORNING WALKS AND WE COULD SEE HIM EXERCISING EVERY MORNING. HE ALSO HAS GIVEN US A HONEST ADVICE WHEN IT CAME TO SOME GREAT SHOPPING PLACES. I HOPE TO STAY FRIENDS WITH SURESH IN THE FUTURE AND ALSO HOPE THAT HE CAN VISIT US IN CANADA, NEXT YEAR, AS HE LOVES TO TRAVEL.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I WOULD SAY: LIVE YOU LIFE AND DO NOT GET SCARED OF SOME POTENTIAL TROUBLE IN ONE COUNTRY, OR THE OTHER. UNFORTUNATELY BAD PEOPLE ARE EVERYWHERE AND I REFUSE TO STOP TRAVELING, BECAUSE OF THEM. SRI LANK IS STILL A RELATIVELY SAFE DESTINATION AND IF YOU FEEL NERVOUS - JUST STICK TO THE SMALLER PLACES AND AWAY FROM THE BIG CITIES - AND YOU WILL BE OK. THERE ARE PLENTY OF THEM IN SRI LANKA.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    THANKS EXODUS TRAVELS FOR ORGANISING SUCH AN UNFORGETABLE TRIP!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kathryn Walker

    Fantastic way to get a taste!

    This 8 Day journey gives you a very quick taste of Sri Lanka. There is so much more you will want to explore. Definitely an experience to remember. There is a reason that Sri Lanka is called ' The Pearl of the Indian Ocean' Full of Biodiversity! Breathtaking truly! The people are amazing, kind & full of pride for their country! I can not wait to go back and explore what else this hidden gem has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Dambulla Cave Temples... Really any temple in general. But the Cave temples were so beautiful and the detail was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was great! He had the information everyone needed and he took care of us. he always made sure everyone was happy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only thing that wasn't up to the standards of the trip was the Cultural Evening in Kandy. I found it difficult to see some of the performances and we weren't sure which one was what based off the brochure we received. not sure If there is an alternative to the location we were at but it was very hot and uncomfortable. other then that! it was fantastic
Call us on 056 631 86 64