Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Ruth Durbano

    Wonderful trip

    A wonderful experience, very varied with a generally good standard of hotels. Excellent guide, bus driver and helper.Fantastic places visited, which combined historic places,temples,Ashram,caves and nature reserves where we saw lots of birds and animals. Also had a little time free to soak up the feeling of the areas and of course some retail therapy, ending up at a beautiful seaside resort to relax for the final day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beauty and tranquillity of the stay on the fabulous houseboat in the backwaters in Kerala, would have liked another night ! Also the whole experience of Mahabalipuram.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lukose was amazing, very knowledgeable, very helpful and always looking out for everyone.He went the extra mile on so many occasions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a full on trip with amazing sights,food and nature full of wildlife.Quite a few hotels don't have fridges,hairdryers or safe boxes in the rooms.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wasn't over impressed with cookery demonstration. I could have done with a little more free time,but overall an absolutely brilliant holiday and experience.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tim McGrath

    Wuc

    Fantastic trip helped by very knowledgeable and helpful guide + driver

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Birds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. He did have to go over things more than once but only because certain people preferred to talk rather then listen

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately we had a really unpleasant single woman who found time to complain about everything. She was always late (even missed cab to airport), complained about her room, the guide, other tourists and that she had to pay a single supplement. She couldn’t have read the tour notes because she expected something more cultural, had on bins or waterproofs.She upset most of the group on numerous occasions, other tourists, Costa Ricans and especially our poor guide.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tim McGrath

    Wuc

    Fantastic trip helped by very knowledgeable and helpful guide + driver

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Birds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. He did have to go over things more than once but only because certain people preferred to talk rather then listen

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately we had a really unpleasant single woman who found time to complain about everything. She was always late (even missed cab to airport), complained about her room, the guide, other tourists and that she had to pay a single supplement. She couldn’t have read the tour notes because she expected something more cultural, had on bins or waterproofs.She upset most of the group on numerous occasions, other tourists, Costa Ricans and especially our poor guide.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Wendy Duckett

    Awe inspiring.

    A land of so many sights, warm people and the impressive Andes mountains almost throughout.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Atacama Desert. Its forever changing scenery. The Lagoons, The Wetlands and Flamingo's, Geysers over 80 in one area. Sand dunes and forever rock formations. The long long roads and starry nights. Unlike any other desert I have visited.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was brilliant. His charm, smile and funny stories, seeing us all through some very long days. He was Informative throughout the trip. His observations and empathy were outstanding. Great fun and ensuring everyone's needs were met. A calm and unstressful gentleman. Would be great to have Nacho on every Exodus trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Chile felt to be a very safe and friendly country from the moment if arrival. This did not change or alter throughout. Happy walking around alone. Don't expect your International adapter plugs to work. I borrowed one and some bought some locally. The 2 circular pins were much smaller. I believe it was the European pinned one that works.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A boat trip to through the Fjords would be a great addition to this trip. As would a few hours at one of the vineyards when driving right through them.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jacqueline Ramplin

    Exceeded all my expectations

    A wonderful week jam packed with sights, activities and wonderful experiences. It started with a fantastic trip to Jerash, an amazing Roman Town, and just kept getting better and better. The two days spent at Petra were outstanding, and the trip to Wadi Rum exciting and so memorable. The last couple of days spent at the Red Sea and then the Dead Sea were the perfect ending to an unforgettable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the time spent in the desert, learning about the Bedouin way of life, and will never forget the camel ride to watch the sun rise - really worth getting up early for. That first glimpse of the Treasury at Petra as I emerged from the canyon is also one of those moments that will stay with me for ever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim, our leader was just perfect. He had a huge knowledge and an understandable pride in his country - we all learnt so much from him. Nothing was too much trouble and he always went out of his way to make sure that everything was as perfect as it could be for all of us. He had a fantastic sense of humour and helped to make the trip an unforgettable one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take some warm clothing as it can get cold at night, particularly in the desert. Jordanians are really welcoming and friendly and I felt completely safe travelling throughout the country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A truly wonderful holiday. My only disappointment was seeing all the rubbish/plastic at the sides of the roads - such a shame in such a beautiful country.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Sue Dean

    Exodus needs to do better

    Overall this was such a disappointing trip. Highlights - Golden temple in Amritsar; Wagah border ceremony; optional excursion to Taj Mahal; Viceroy toy train from Shimla to Kalka. Hotels - four out of the seven we stayed in were below an acceptable standard and were barely acceptable. In particular the Hotel Raj Mahal in Shimla was filthy and cockroach infested. Others were very cold, damp and smelled of drains. The other three hotels and the homestay were satisfactory. I felt that as a single traveller sharing a room I was often given the worst rooms in hotels and asked for room changes on three occasions. Itinerary - uninteresting for the most part although it sounded very interesting on paper. We were unable to visit several places as they were always closed on those particular days. Travel time between hotels was grossly inaccurate and we spent many more hours travelling than was scheduled.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Golden temple at night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Asif was polite and helpful however his diction was sometimes difficult to understand and he did not demonstrate a real passion for the role and his culture.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't book this trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did not come to this holiday as a naive Westerner who was expecting Western standards. I have previously travelled in India so knew what to expect. The tour did not offer value for money and is grossly overpriced. The standard of hotels was overall completely unacceptable for the price of the holiday and were more akin to backpacking hostels.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Nicola Jenkins

    Excellent

    A great trip for those interested in the wildlife of the country, with some walking but also boat trips and viewing in the grounds of the lodges.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I'm not sure that I can pick a single moment as every day threw up wonderful sights and interesting animals. However the view of a moving sloth in the wild was special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Coped with everything that the group presented him with and very proactive in dealing with any problems.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do check that this is the trip for you. It is not hiking but spending time, sometimes in one place looking for the special view.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Amanda Stevenson

    First time snowshoeing

    I'd never actually heard of snowshoeing before so thought I'd give myself a change from my usual hiking/trekking holidays and was so glad I did. The scenery, food, location and walks were fantastic. I thought snowshoes would take a bit of getting used to but you soon master the technique and are able to walk through the most amazing trails. It was a fantastic week, helped by the weather, and a change to the usual walking holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day's planned walk took you through the most spectacular landscapes. We were blessed with good walking weather which enhanced the experience. Scaling the top of the mountains gained you a great sense of achievement, especially the ones which were quite steep and took some effort. You were rewarded with the most fabulous views at the top and Sara, our tour guide, always ensured there was enough time for photo opportunities and to catch your breath!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull was so full of energy, enthusiasm and her love of the mountains was obvious. She was a wealth of knowledge and her guidance on using our shoes was clear and helpful. Sara made the whole experience so enjoyable and was always on hand for guidance and advice. It seem't that nothing was too much trouble and she's so much fun to be around. She kept the group together and made sure that every day ran smoothly. She's a great tour leader and so committed to her job. I was amazed that she ran a foot clinic each morning prior to the walk to address any issues the group were experiencing as a result of the walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are aware of potential foot problems that may occur through wearing snowshoes. I didn't experience any discomfort but a few of the group suffered blisters and rubbing sores. Sara's advice was to soak your feet in surgical spirit prior to joining the trip to harden the feet up. Some feet were really sore and this could really have spoilt the holiday experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel Adler is a great base. The hotel is friendly and very well equipped. The menu and food choices were delicious. The food is of a very high quality. The breakfast and lunch selection are extensive which all adds to the quality of the holiday. I certainly didn't come back having lost weight! With the spectacular walks, the location of the hotel and the hotel facilities and, of course, the excellent tour guide, this is certainly a memorable holiday experience.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mark Walker

    A fantastic adventure!

    The trip was great from beginning to end, the cycling was great, the guides were knowledgeable, the support crew looked after us, the other adventurers were class acts and it was an amazing way to see Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the children of Cambodia cycling to school was amazing, in a country that has suffered so much this was heartwarming to see. Cycling through the rural Vietnam and seeing village life was a privilege and put the rest of the country into context.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Seen was outstanding, his knowledge, helpfulness, caring attitude and sense of humour got us all through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some sun sleeves, they’re like arm warmers but just keep the sun and uv off during the heat of the day, they’re like £6 on Amazon. Drink plenty of fluid, there’s always some on offer, don’t take clip on pedals you don’t need them. (IMO) take something to clean your water bottle and do this every night. Enjoy the company of your fellow travellers and don’t pack to much on our trip the lightest packer packed 6kg and the heaviest around 30kg. I came in at 12 and took way too much stuff.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was nervous about booking this trip, but it was the best decision I’ve made in a year, there was no reason to worry. I did no prep and had a fantastic time.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Samantha Cook

    Taj and Tigers!

    If you're short on time but want to see the key 3 of the Taj Mahal, Tigers and Varanasi this is the trip for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two very big highlights - the beautiful Taj Mahal at dawn and being lucky enough to see 7 tigers in Ranthambore NP.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Naveen is an excellent guide and just a genuinely nice person. He dealt admirably with our mixed aged group and it felt like he was one of us and not just the tour leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a fast paced tour! It's not a physically demanding trip but in order to see Varanasi, Agra, Tigers and Delhi in such a short space of time there are many hours spent in a coach and many early starts. However the rewards and sights you see are definitely worth the effort!
Call us on 056 631 86 64