Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Ross Bishop

    A myriad of wildlife in the heart of Africa

    This trip packs in a huge variety of wildlife experiences over a great distance in three scenic and friendly East African countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many highlights. For this trip, the Masai Mara provided the greatest inspiration. Our group was so fortunate to see multiple close up lion sightings, a leopard up a tree and a successful cheetah hunt amongst many other animals. The Mara is totally worthy of its global fame as a premier game reserve. On this occasion, our good fortune in Kenya just pipped the excellent gorilla and chimp tracking days in Uganda.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Kenyan team, consisting of the tour leader driver, chef and camp assistant worked so hard evrry day and did so in cheerful spirit that made them a pleasure to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long drives on bumpy roads, particularly in Uganda. The gorrila tracking involves difficult underfoot conditions and the length of the hike to see the gorillas can't really be predicted in advance. No one in our group opted for the Kazinga Channel boat trip, this didn't matter as the included boat trip at Murchison Falls was outstanding, particularly for birds. Temperatures are generally moderate in this part of the world due to altitude, but Murchison Falls is lower and was therefore hot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've been lucky enough to go on a few African safaris over the years and this one was definately the best. Anyone put off by camping should be assured that the tents are fairly spacious, the camping mats are comfortable and that showers are reasonable at the majority of the campsites.
  • Reviewed December 2018

    A great trip but.....

    We took the trip over the Christmas period and it was a good one, the crew (Jacob, Stoney, Silvia and Dolly) were all excellent and could not be faulted. The organisation was good, the driving excellent, (how Stoney gets that truck along some of those roads is unbelievable) and the food was good and plentiful. There were 11 of us on the trip and we all got on very well which is a good thing if you are stuck on a truck for 2 weeks. Do not worry about charging batteries as the truck has a plug by each seat which can be used anytime whilst the truck is moving. The White Water Rafting Option in Jinja was excellent and the safety precautions couldn't be faulted, you are almost guaranteed to be thrown out at least once but we all felt perfectly safe when we were. The campsites were in some cases very basic with no water in the toilets and cold or no showers but they were adequate and in others there were options for upgrades to rooms if required. On day 8 the trip notes stated a visit to the top of the falls, what they did not say is that it involved a boat trip and then a trek along an uneven trek and a climb up several steps of uneven height, which was a bit testing for some people, although I see that this might have changed now but you might want to check. The big but is that on our trip both the Chimps and Gorillas were unco-operative and people thinking of doing the trip need to be aware that there is no guarantee of seeing either. On our trip some of us trekked 5 miles along tracks and off track just to see 1 Chimp and for the Gorillas we left camp at 4.45am and drove for 3.5 hours to the start point and then split into 2 groups, the moderately hard trek group took 7 hours of hard trekking up and down steep slippery and overgrown hills there and back to see the Gorillas who were up in the trees and not all that easy to see, the easier trek group took 10 hours and 4 of our group needed stretchering out with exhaustion which cost them between $200-$300 dollars each. We then all had another 3.5 hour drive back to camp getting back between 20.30 & 22.30 hours, much to the relief of Jacob our guide. Although this is what happened on our trip, we were told that that was not the norm but.....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the animals were amazing, especially the big cats in Kenya and it only took us 36 hours to see the 'big five', plus many others, ranging in size from Mongoose to Elephants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you do this trip, make sure you are really fit, for us the Leisurely/Moderate 2 rating in the trip notes was very misleading, a lot of the roads are really rough and can be very uncomfortable and the Chimp and Gorilla treks were probably 4 & 5 respectively. For the Gorillas, make sure you take good boots, a lot of water, money and do hire a porter as they can be indispensable. Make sure you take earplugs as you might have to share sites with other less considerate campers and with early starts most mornings (7am & earlier departures) you do need your sleep. As long as you are aware of the above and are willing to 'rough it' at times then you will enjoy this trip.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Anne Murgatroyd

    Disappointed

    A very expensive trip that didn’t live up to the perception of the trips notes. We had lots of changes to our accommodation which certainly was inferior and very basic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    That one very special hour with the gorillas, the sights of the Masai Mara, White Water Rafting down the Nile and Murchison Falls.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob our group leader was fantastic . He was very knowledgeable and great to be around. Stonecold our driver also needs a special mention.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If WW Rafting is on your list then check it out as a dam has been built and if open the rafting will be poor. If you really want to see Chimps be prepared for disappointment. Check how many on your trip. If not full then the bag situation doesn’t come into it. Be prepared for some very basic accommodation. After the Masai Mara the parks are pretty disappointing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highlights for me were as above but in hindsight could just have done those in luxury accommodation and better travelling conditions at a much reduced cost.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Anne for her feedback. Whilst we are pleased that she enjoyed seeing gorillas, the sights of the Masai Mara and white water rafting, and that she found her tour leader to be excellent, we are very sorry that she was disappointed with certain aspects of the trip. We regret that Anne's group was not able to see chimps in the Budongo Forest. This was the only departure in 2018 that did not see chimps in this location. Although there were an unusual number of accommodation changes to the trip notes on this departure, the words “or similar” are included in our literature because there is not one specific property that that is always used in each location. Whilst we consider these properties to meet the standard that we would expect,  we will continue to closely monitor feedback regarding the accommodation used on this trip. John Penge – Product Manager

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Elizabeth Eagles

    Simply Unforgettable

    Well where do we begin. This was simply an incredible holiday and our very first safari. The crew of four; Boniface aka Stony the driver; Ken head chef; Raymond aka Dolly head chef in training and Patrick our tour leader were all terrific, great fun and very hard working guys. They know their stuff and helped make our holiday. The trip covers a tremendous amount of miles around 1300 miles in total. Yes there are a few early starts the earliest being around 4.30am to hit the road around 5am but when getting up a little earlier than normal to go and visit the mountain gorillas the early morning start pails into insignifance. The whole itinary is brilliant. We were exceptionally lucky to have seen the big five (elephant, rhino, leopard, lion, buffalo) and so what more could you ask for especially as this was our very first safari trip. The various stop overs were very good with some terrific campsites with options to upgrade to rooms or hotels along the way. The time spent trekking to see the mountain gorillas can vary we trekked for around two hours which went very quickly but do be prepared for a hilly walk and make sure you have the right footwear and waterproofs as you can come across some small brooks and it could be muddy if the rain comes, we were very lucky as the rain came once we returned back to the start. For sure this experience is likely to remain with you for ever. It does mention in the trip notes that helping out whilst not complusary, we believe it can go a really long way to get to know the crew and other members of the group you’re travelling with which adds to the fun around the campfires. The food was fantastic and plentiful each day and the variety was excellent. We thought the trip was really well planned and when things didn’t go quite to plan such as the overland truck breaking down at no stage did we feel concerned and our safety was the crews main concern. Everything was done to resolve the issue in a timely manner. We would highly recommend this trip to anyone with a love for animals you get to see so much it’s hard to put into words. Truly incredible and prividged to see these amazing animals in their own habitat.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Again this is hard to put into words but two things come to mind. Spending an hour with the mountain gorillas has to be up there, they are such incredible creatures. Seeing the silverback and various mums with their 5 month old and 8 month old babies was mesmerising. In addition to this, continuing our game drive with Stony and Patrick as we decided on one occasion not attend a boat trip in the hope of seeing maybe more cats only to come face to face with an amazing bull elephant. This experience was both scary and incredible and again we felt hugely privileged to be in such close proximity to these beautiful wild elephants.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic! Patrick was very knowledgeable had a great sense of humour and made us feel safe at all times. Each evening Patrick would say the words ‘something about tomorrow’ which is when we were given the plans for the following day. Everything was clear, Patrick was very approachable and kept us updated if plans changed throughout the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind, be prepared to get stuck in, make sure you have the right footwear and a lightweight raincoat just in case as the weather can change quickly. There may be some early starts but equally there are plenty of opportunities for down time. Don’t let the early starts put you off. This trip has been very well thought out and worth every penny.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Both early on in the booking and late on we were also able to make some slight changes to flights adding a few days at the beginning and the end of the trip. All changes were made without any issues and the teams were all very accommodating. We would have absolutely no hesitation booking with Exodus again and hope to do so again very soon.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Helen Rome

    Great Trip

    Thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Saw loads of wildlife which was why I went. Everyone on the trip was fun as well and all went well on the whole. The gorilla and chimp walks were good and it is an amazing experience to be close to these animals. The people we came across were very friendly and welcoming. Some of the hotels were amazing, some less so but expected in Africa.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being close to wildlife. Getting close up to gorillas, lions, elephants, cheetahs, and even a leopard.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Jacob and also our driver Stoney were amazing. Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and made the trip successful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long drives and some early morning starts. But the Exodus vehicle is excellent for this.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A brilliant trip, but I feel I was put in an easy walking group to see the gorillas because of my age in spite of the fact that I am fit enough to do a tough walk. I was disappointed in the lack of challenge in the trek and was expecting a much harder walk. Also when accommodation is not where it states in the trip notes and says the name of the place you are staying at 'or similar' this phrase 'or similar' was sometimes not correct. There was one occasion when we were supposed to be in one place for 3 nights. Two of these 3 nights were in a far more inferior place than stated and we were in the place we should have been in for only one night, which was a shame and I felt there was some economising going on at my expense. The holiday is expensive and a certain standard of accommodation and food is expected considering the cost of the holiday.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Helen for taking the time to complete a review of her trip. Whilst we are glad to read that she thoroughly enjoyed the trip overall, we are sorry that some of the accommodation left her feeling underwhelmed. Where our groups stay at Bwindi National Park is dependent on the gorilla permits that we are able to secure. Good accommodation closest to the gate is always preferable to minimise journey times on the mornings of the gorilla treks and this was the reason for the change. I have previously stayed at the accommodation in question and found it to be appropriate for our groups.  I am, therefore, comfortable for our groups to continue staying at this property. I regret, however, that Helen found the property to be of a lesser standard than what she was expecting. – John Penge, Product Manager.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Kay Emblen-Perry

    A trip of a lifetime

    I believe there is nothing better than seeing animals in their natural habitat and this trip gave me the privilege of seeing a family of 10 gorillas in their home. It was a hard trek through the mountain forest (don’t underestimate the difficulty, my trek was 6 hours!) but spending time watching them was awe inspiring and will stay with me forever. The tour is full on with each day adding yet another highlight as we travelled through Ugandan and Kenyan game parks via Lake Victoria. The tour started with gorillas and ended with the migration in the Masai Mara which I saw from a sunrise balloon trip. The tour leader, driver, cook and assistant were fantastic; I have never travelled with such a fun, kind, efficient and professional team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several; spending time in the company of gorillas, seeing lions, leopards and cheetahs in the Masai Mara and seeing elephants and hippos in the Queen Elizabeth National Pearl but perhaps the most thought provoking was visiting the genocide museum in Kigali.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was excellent. He was calm, funny and had a very good ‘bush telegraph’ for spotting animals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Christopher Barton

    Truly wonderful trip

    This was our third camping trip with Exodus and this is almost becoming our preferred trip type - being cheaper doesn't hurt either. We were amazed at the shear number of animals we saw in Kenya and Uganda long before we got to the Gorilla area. We saw the big five, and mostly with babies!, great scenery, wonderful lakes and rivers. Game drives were varied not only in the nature of the country visited but also sometimes in the 'bus' sometimes in 4X4s and sometimes by boat. There were some longish drives but with lots to look at, stops for snacks and toilets, and time to charge cameras etc for the next stop. We felt very well looked after the whole time, and guided through formalities of border crossings etc. We were a smallish group of nine which meant we had lots of space, and we got on well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I guess it has to be the gorillas - being so close and watching while they just got on with their lives. The babies were adorable and the silverback huge, but they seemed very peaceful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was really great, as were the other members of the team - KFC, Stonecold & Dolly. They looked after us really well and bought great calm and humour to the whole trip. In many ways they made it possible for us to have the great time we had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I considered taking my walking gaiters but decided against it - almost the first thing Jacob said was "I hope you all brought you gaiters for the gorilla trek"! In fact we did well using two pairs of socks with the long pair on the outside and trousers tucked into them. It worked out fine. Do use a porter for the gorilla trek, it makes life a lot easier just having your bag carried, and the occasional hand up, but it also brings much needed employment to the local community.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would highly recommend this trip - Go prepared for some early mornings, some laughs, some drives but mostly some amazing sightings.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Pam Bell

    Totally amazing!

    The stunning scenery and the awesome wildlife were just two factors making this one of the best trips I have ever experienced. The four man crew were what made it extra special. The Masai Mara went well beyond expectations, with clear access to all of "the big five." Plus many many more species of birds and animals were on display throughout all of the national parks visited. The accommodation was clean and pleasant, the truck spacious and comfortable even over rough roads and on long journeys, while the meals were always made from fresh ingredients, very tasty and excellent quality.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountain gorillas were awe-inspiring, well worth the climb up to see them. The optional chimp safari was also an amazing experience. The close proximity to lions, cheetahs, giraffes, rhinos, elephants - the list goes on and on; was extraordinary within such beautiful surroundings. I felt very privileged to share the pristine environment with them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was an excellent leader; professional, extremely patient and efficient, always friendly and caring. His knowledge and enthusiasm was enhanced very ably by the other crew members; Albert, Stone Cold and Raymond (Dolly). All four created a wonderful team whose one wish was to make our holiday go smoothly and be unforgettably enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The padlock for the personal locker on the truck needs to have a thin, but long shank.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Everyone should have this experience once in their lives. Thank you guys.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Alan Long

    A voyage of discovery.

    Having been on many trips of discovery with Exodus, I had never been on one that offered so much. The itinerary was exactly right. The starting point is Rwanda were we met our leader for the tour Jacob, as usual a friendly face after a long flight out from the UK. After a nights rest, the next day we visited the Museum to the genocide which took place in the mid nineties, the museum has graphic pictures of this terrible time in Rwanda`s history. A reminder of how the west turned it`s back on the suffering of a whole group of people. Onto our first highlight, the mountain Gorillas. After a long trek up into the foothills of the Parc National des Volcans we met our first Gorillas after about an hour of walking through mud and clothes clawing undergrowth and overhead vine. This first encounter was unbelievable, such gentle creatures given the size of the alpha males. We spent an hour with them and they just carried on eating/ playing and sleeping as if we were not there. On into Uganda, no problems with crossing the border and onto Lake Bunyonyi. With the lake there are opportunities to take boat rides on the lake or hire canoes for a leisurely paddle. On through Uganda with it`s abundance of wildlife, mammals and bird life.We had our first encounters with the real wildlife in all their natural environment. Adrenalin seekers will love Jinja as the site we stay Adrift, were you can do white water rafting on the Nile or perhaps bungee jumping.Or you can just take a stroll around the local are to veiw the many and varied bird life. On into Kenya, this is when they asked to see our Yellow fever certificate, other than that it again was straight forward. Due to adverse weather we had miss the village camp, however not to worry, onto the Masai Mara. Arriving at lunch time we enjoyed yet another great lunch prepared as always by Wilson and Ester. We then had a half day taster into the game park. Nothing could have prepared me for what I was about to encounter. All you ever see on TV was there in front of you in all it`s splendour, to many to list. The next and last full day of the tour(excluding travel days) you again go into the park for a full day`s game drive. Amazing experience, so well organised and lead by the team, from the leader through the driver and cooks who took so much care of us. Thank you .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is not an easy choice, but it has to be the Gorillas, so human like.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob, I have been on may trips with Exodus and all the leaders are excellent. Jacob`s leadership and ability to adapt to required changes puts him at the very top of the top leaders.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to visit Africa and this appeals to you then do the same trip(reverse) it seemed to us who travelled together the best itinerary. Gorillas first then working your way though to the Masai Mara to end your trip.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    simon cappin

    Gorillas and Masai Mara

    This trip is an absolute must for any animal lover.The diversity of fauna that we saw in 2 weeks was absolutely incredible.The gorillas were absolutely adorable and it was fascinating seeing them so relaxed in a really beautiful setting.The rafting on the White Nile was absolutely increible and I would recommend this to anyone who is not scared of the water and is a confident swimmer as the likelihood of coming out is very high.I came out twice !!The Masai Mara was absolutely stunning and within a few hours had seen leopard,lions and cheetahs.The setting itself is also very dramatic.Our guide was absolutely brilliant.He had a great sense of humour and constantly had us in hysterics during the trip with his banter.The food was excellent and I am sure I have put on weight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing gorillas so relaxed in the wild

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Overall absolutely brilliant.Enthusiastic,very informative,caring and had a brilliant sense of humour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have time in Narobi visit the giraffe sanctuary and elephant orphanage
Call us on 056 631 86 64