Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Matthew Butcher

    Food was excellent

    Food was well above the standard I expect. Well presented and varied menu. Lovely views and good company. Shame we had rain on the gorge walk

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking over the snow drifts

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Managed the various speeds of the walker well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking sticks. First time i used them but made life much easier
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Geoff Waters

    Camino - Samos to Santiago

    A great experience, walking the last 100 km of the Camino Frances. Great scenery, good basic hotels with friendly staff and lovely authentic food. You can't beat a three course 'menu del dia' with bread and wine or water for only 10 euro. I walked with a group of 16 and we really enjoyed each others company. It rained for two of the six days but that didn't affect the mood. Longest days walk was 18 miles but with coffee and lunch stops it didn't seem that far. Last two nights in Santiago allowed us to unwind and really enjoy the old city

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving in Santiago with the rest of the group and standing in the square in front of the cathedral, congratulating each other on our achievement. Meeting up again with other pilgrims we had met on the trail, some of them had done the whole walk from St Jean in France. Lighting a candle in the cathedral and quietly reflecting on the trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro was an excellent group leader. His daily briefings after breakfast told us what to expect that day and where the best coffee and lunch stops were. He was very knowledgeable about the history and architecture on the route, and made sure everybody enjoyed the experience to the full. He was always positive and professional and ready to help with advice and information. He also has a wicked sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't wear heavy walking boots, good walking shoes are more suitable. Invest in some good walking socks. The route is undulating not steep on minor roads and tracks and is easy walking if you are reasonably fit. I am 70 and had no problems at all with the walking or my feet.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very impressed with the logistics of the whole trip. Airport transfers, hotels and daily luggage transfer were very well organised by Exodus and the whole trip went smoothly allowing all of us to enjoy the walking and scenery. Would recommend Exodus to anybody wanting to experience the Camino. I have really caught the Camino bug now and am planning to do the whole 500 miles of the Camino Frances next year.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Dave Johnson

    Fantastic experience!

    The Picos de Europa is a great National Park to experience wonderful mountain ranges at a moderate hiking grade. We were very fortunate to have an excellent tour guide in Nacho who really looked after us and filled the days with great facts on the local area and wildlife. The walking group was a wonderful mix of ages and backgrounds and we bonded from Day 1. The hotel accommodation was good but I have to highlight the excellent customer service from Jim/Pillar and their team. The food each night was simply fantastic...4 courses which would grace any London establishment. Also, a great bar to socialise in after the walks! Thanks everyone!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking in the wonderful mountain range of the Picos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was a great group leader...full of wonderful local facts, history and knowledge of the surrounding wildlife.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Terry Brown

    Cow bells and Cuisine......

    This would be a 5* PLUS trip for me, but it has to be mentioned that it does lose a star because the cow bells on the very beautiful but very close cows in the adjacent field kept us all awake half or most of the night which is not helpful when you are mountaineering the following day! It seems Jim the hotel owner can do nothing as its not his field. Having said that the hotel was great, all staff were happy, helpful and always willing to please. The food was really amazing again 5* plus which you don't expect on a walking trip. It was truly one of the highlights. So now what to choose? the wonderful group of people that came together in an inspiring way, all having fun, helping each other, laughing a lot and enjoying every minute of our trip. We were a true team. So what's left? oh yes our wonderful, kind, caring fun leader Ignacio or Nacho to us. He is great and truly looked after us all and was enthusiastic and knowledgeable too. Finally of course the walking! Well, what a place. Glorious scenery, magical walks, varied and interesting. Some were a bit tough for me especially when hot but that was my age and ability rather than the level. I've been on many Exodus trips this one is right up there as a great one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was inspirational - can't pick one. Walks were so varied it's hard to pick. Maybe, just maybe the wonderful G&T's that awaited us at the hotel at the end of each days walking.............

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, fun, friendly, caring and not only that he was very handsome!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take ear plugs - they are essential. I'm sure notes suggests poles - not every one used them but I needed them. A fan - it gets hot up there!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really great trip and as always I cannot decide which was better - the group or the walking!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    John Pritchard

    Deep Spain

    I've been on walking holidays in Spain before but I don't think I've ever felt the country's essence quite as much as I did here. The base is a wonderful medieval village full of half-timbered houses where even the tourists are mostly Spanish, and the local saint's day is celebrated with bonfires, barbecues and dancing in the streets. The walks mostly leave from the hotel, are well-paced and lead to spectacular views. The hotel overlooks a leafy square next to the church: the owners don't speak English but are very generous with food and drink and always ready to help. It all added up to an excellent holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to Santo Domingo de Silos takes you along a ridge overlooking the recently-restored Sad Hill Cemetery, scene of the final showdown from The Good, the Bad and the Ugly. Alexis our leader kindly let me take a detour to explore it, which was a wonderful experience, but you could also hike there on your free day, via Retuerta and Contreras.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was a great leader: energetic, well-organised, good-humoured and knowledgeable. He made sure we were all looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I don't normally suffer from hay fever but found my eyes and nose streaming for the first few days of a week in May, so it may be worth bringing some anti-histamine tablets with you.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Lynn Roulstone

    A selection of excellent walks in diverse countryside

    A lovely relaxing week in a charming farmhouse with a pool. The five walks were all very different, and the day 'off' that was spent in Seville was different again. Each walk took you through different aspects of Andalusia, olive groves, holm oak woods, the spectacular caminito del rey. It was difficult to pick a favourite, they all had things to commend them, and the fact that each one featured a bar for a refreshment stop was very welcome. I thought the day in Seville might be long and tiring, but though it was very hot there was enough to do that the time didn't lag, and the lovely gardens of the Alcazar were a good place to relax before the evening's flamenco show. The farmhouse was very comfortable, and the food was good. As a vegetarian I didn't feel I was missing out. All in all one of the best Exodus holidays I've been on.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The flora and fauna. Seeing ibex and coming across a peony in the wild was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael/Miguel was fantastic. He wrote on the board each evening the itinerary for the next day, sot here was no wondering exactly what was happening. He was careful to make sure the walks were carefully paced, with lots of stops in the shade. Michael was very knowledgeable about the area, the history and wildlife and we came away feeling we'd learned far more about the area than we would have if we'd been on our own.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although this is a level two some of the walks do involve gradients and uneven surfaces. Nothing too arduous, but if you haven't done much walking recently maybe a bit of training before you go. The tinto Verano drink (red wine and lemonade) was a very good discovery, ideal drinking after a longish walk in the sun.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although the itinerary seems rather full on, you can opt in and out of any of it. One of the advantages of being based in the same place all week.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Steve Johnson

    Fantastic Holiday!

    The week was wonderful: we had great weather; the comfortable, laid back cortijo is set in an unspoiled Andalucian landscape; our 13 fellow guests were great and amusing company; our guide, Michael, as other reviewers have pointed out was a one of the best we have had on our Exodus trips (highly knowledgeable, caring, supportive and and happy to have a laugh); and the walks were pitched just right. -

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no one outstanding moment. We will remember all of the walks we did with our group (and, of course, the drinks afterwards). Heartfelt thanks to all of you!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was excellent - the trip would not have been the same without him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the walks involved descending down scree and if you are worried about your ankles you could consider taking along with you walking boots with some ankle support. Some of our group found walking poles helpful. Seville was hot (around 40 degrees on our day there) and I think most of us struggled to walk around even though it was mid-May. In hindsight I wish I had done a little research on Seville and targeted exactly what I wanted to see and planned the route. The cortijo owners cater for vegetarians and those with sea-food allergies and so you haven't got to worry about anything on that score. I would say that the walks are level 2 walks although there are some steepish ascents which got the old ticker racing a bit. If hills are a bit daunting it might be worth putting a bit of training before the holiday. There is some wildlife to see on the walks (we saw griffin vultures, golden eagles, hoopoes, shrikes, ibex, etc.) and so you might want to consider bring along with you binoculars for a better view.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you enjoy walking in peaceful and unspoiled landscapes with stress-free evenings then this holiday might be for you.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Nigel Harrison

    Really enjoyable week cycling in rural Mallorca

    Being our first cycling trip, we approached with some trepidation and possible misgivings. We need not have worried. The whole trip was excellent from beginning to end. An excellent leader(see below), generally good hotels, brand new hire bikes (bonus!), beautiful landscapes, routes mainly off the beaten track. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys cycling for leisure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it up the big climb to the Formentor viewpoint and tower on the last day, as I realised that I’d managed the week and I didn’t have to “save myself” to get through subsequent days. Having announced that I had never cycled three days in a row, making it to six days felt a major achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alfonso is a really pleasant young man whose charm and easy-going approach equipped him with an ability to manage the vastly different levels of cycling strength and desired outcomes within our small group. We always made it to the various destinations fairly intact and in good humour, despite Alfonso having to reschedule lunch stops if we had taken longer than anticipated getting to a scheduled restaurant! Mention should also be made of our “support driver” José whose cheerful friendly approach was welcome when he and the van popped up at certain points on the route with water and snacks to be freely dispensed. He was most encouraging and was also helpful in sorting out any bike-related issues

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are really only an occasional leisure cyclist do pay attention to the training plan that is sent out by Exodus. It can appear rather daunting but even if you don’t totally replicate it in your own “training”, take the ideas from it and adapt it to your own needs. It’s certainly worth it, as the mileage and amount of climbing is front-loaded at the beginning of the week and you want to be able to enjoy the whole week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary takes you through some wonderful quiet Mallorcan countryside along routes and through villages which would normally be off the “tourist agenda”: superb. The hotels were generally excellent and comfortable with perfectly adequate breakfasts to help you on your way. We were fortunate in only having a small group making cycling together along the way and descending upon cafes and restaurants more manageable than if we were a full party. Obviously Exodus could not continue with such numbers but it was certainly a bonus for our trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    K Badham

    Great Trip

    Therle was no downside to anything about this trip (apart from 38degree heat in Sevilla!) Our guide, Miguel, was so knowledgeable about every aspect of the area, history, flora and fauna, and the itinerary of walks was varied to suit all tastes. He dealt with minor crises extremely calmly and efficiently, and put up with our teasing etc with patience and as if he hadn't heard it all before! thank you Miguel. The Cortijo on a stunning hilltop with beautiful views across the valley and to the village, was comfortable, the food plentiful and tasty, and all staff friendly and helpful. Our driver was very safe and the vehicle clean and well maintained, The group enjoyed each other's company and all had a great time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See above

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alan Gelson

    Unspoilt high mountains and verdant valleys in one of the most beautiful regions of Europe.

    The Sierra Nevada is the highest mountain range in mainland Spain. They remain snow covered well into the Summer and these walks take place in the wooded valleys in their foothills. The sound of running water seems always to be in the background. The bird life is rich and varied and we heard the cuckoo on our first day. Nightingales and golden orioles and eagles and falcons were viewed with awe and delight. The walks are pretty challenging but rewarding. Conditions under foot are variable but generally reasonable.The Hotel art Los Berchules is a place of repose and delight. The food is first rate and the owners and staff delightful dedicated and friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking over a wide valley and listening to bird song and seeing a golden oriole whilst a Bonelli's eagle was being mobbed by a Peregrine falcon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was completely excellent. Reliable knowledgable humorous and dedicated to our safety and enjoyment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are quite challenging but there were opt out points on most days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have been fortunate to have been on many walking holidays mainly with Exodus and nearly all have been highly enjoyable and the Sierra Nevada walk was up with the best we have been on.
Call us on 056 631 86 64