Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

 

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alison Saveall

    Fabulous Family Adventure

    This was an amazing holiday. We saw so much and it was so well organised - I cannot recommend Exodus enough! This was the first time we'd done this kind of trip with our nine year old daughter - and it was brilliant in the way it combined: having a family adventure, seeing places i'd wanted to visit, but made accessible and interesting for all the family; within the safety net of the trip being organised by someone that it was clear we could rely on. The detail and organisation was so well handled by Exodus and the guides, leaving us to enjoy ourselves, have adventures, watch the world go by, and learn about other parts of the world. I particularly appreciated the thought that went into supporting local people and businesses.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling around Ankhor Wat temples - and because it was super hot (40), Bun and the local guides had thought of everything: drink, fruit, and were mindful that we kept rehydrated, and there was even a back up bus in case we gave up in the heat! We also enjoyed the homestay in Vietnam - and the cycling trip that Phong had arranged for us there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Phong in Vietnam, and Bun in Cambodia & Thailand were amazing. I had complete faith in both of them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is super hot in April, so to be able to spend time outside and enjoy the temples at Ankhor Wat (for example) in more detail, you may be better going in October - December. Having said that, we survived the heat and had a brilliant time. Pack as light as you can. And if you go in March/April, avoid vest tops and 'short' shorts etc - go for long and floaty tops and 1/2 or 3/4 trousers/skirts. Both for the heat, but also to respect the local cultures, and when visiting the temples.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Where to next!!!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Trevor Topp

    Culturally Immersive

    This was my fifth Exodus Cycling Adventure (Sri Lanka, Madagascar, Vietnam, and South Africa: Drakensburg & Kruger). As with my previous Exodus experiences, the logistics of transportation and accommodation were expertly arranged. Leader Rit and his Laoatian co-lead Mr. Sack ensured things ran smoothly and unobstrusively. The bikes were in good repair, though we did our best to put them through their paces. The trip is appropriately graded as a "4" - moderate/challenging....indeed there were a few short climbs that were a bit steep, but were not long, and were doable. Yes, the roads in Laos were rough, but that is quintissentially Laos on pavement! At no time did I feel unsafe with regard to the pavement or Chinese transport trucks. It's a great trip for meeting locals...we got involved in some village celebrations along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Drinking beer with the locals in a village on the edge of the Mekong who were celebrating the arrival of a new baby. We just happened to drop in for a look around....we were warmly welcomed by all!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Nicki Ashenden

    Cycling through Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam

    This was our third cycling trip with Exodus. It was an amazing journey and adventure and we loved every single moment of it. It was a fantastic way to see some ‘highlights’ of three beautiful countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without a doubt Cambodia - its such a beautiful country; cycling through villages in Cambodia and Vietnam; the wonderful night in the homestay; the food and the border crossings!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nut - what we can we say, he is an absolute star and gave us such a wonderful holiday from start to finish. We have been really lucky to have had fantastic group leaders in our previous trips but Nut just stands out there. He has a wonderful sense of humour, makes you feel incredibly safe and well looked after, has such patience when he has to tell you for the third time as you are so tired when and where we are meeting for dinner or the morning, his knowledge is incredible. He’s amazing!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The heat - this has been said in previous reviews about the heat and this cannot be under estimated. We went early March and the cycling in Thailand was tough due to the heat. Nut was brilliant and shortened the distances between refreshment stops due to this but it is hard going. Don’t however let this put you off, the cycling is relatively flat apart from a few rolling hills, take padded shorts, there are plenty of opportunities for washing so pack light. Insect repellent is also a must. Be also prepared for long days - it’s a tiring trip but definitely worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a wonderful cycling holiday - we were a group of 5 and became a “cycling family” very quickly even spending our free evenings together. We laughed our way round and supported each other through three different countries. We can not recommend this trip enough.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mark Walker

    A fantastic adventure!

    The trip was great from beginning to end, the cycling was great, the guides were knowledgeable, the support crew looked after us, the other adventurers were class acts and it was an amazing way to see Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the children of Cambodia cycling to school was amazing, in a country that has suffered so much this was heartwarming to see. Cycling through the rural Vietnam and seeing village life was a privilege and put the rest of the country into context.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Seen was outstanding, his knowledge, helpfulness, caring attitude and sense of humour got us all through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some sun sleeves, they’re like arm warmers but just keep the sun and uv off during the heat of the day, they’re like £6 on Amazon. Drink plenty of fluid, there’s always some on offer, don’t take clip on pedals you don’t need them. (IMO) take something to clean your water bottle and do this every night. Enjoy the company of your fellow travellers and don’t pack to much on our trip the lightest packer packed 6kg and the heaviest around 30kg. I came in at 12 and took way too much stuff.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was nervous about booking this trip, but it was the best decision I’ve made in a year, there was no reason to worry. I did no prep and had a fantastic time.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mark Mills

    Cycling across Cambodia and Vietnam

    The trip took us through some rural scenery in the Far East. It was a treat to see the real country as well as the big cities. I was pleasantly surprised by the level of back up from the support team. They seemed to have thought of everything.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It had been a bucket list thing for me to visit Angkor Wat. It was a serene moment when we first set eyes on the temples and even more so when a buddhist monk blessed our cycling team.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Seen was outstanding. His professionalism, helpful nature and positive attitude was inspirational. Does this man ever have a bad day?!? He handled the situations presented by our group with discretion and efficiency. I give him top marks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My best advice is to pack only the basics. The bikes are suited to normal street shoes/trainers and there’s only a need for one water bottle on the bike as there are plenty of refreshment stops along the way from our snacks kitty. They even supplied electrolyte powder for the water. I took a tumble in Vietnam and destroyed my crash helmet in the process. Thankfully, my skull survived.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I’m glad that the Exodus philosophy to responsible travel extends to home stays and stopping for lunch with local families. It’s great to support these communities with our custom. As a bonus, the food was delicious and authentic. I hope that you enjoy the experience as much as I did.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Marie Longworth

    Great trip!

    Great opportunity to see 3 countries! Great leader!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    While sad it was wonderful to bear witness to the relatively recent history of both Cambodia and VIetnam and also great to see the lovely welcome we got!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I returned from Sri Lanka in October and thought the legendary Suresh was thee best Guide ever, Where to start with Is!! She was just fabulous! She looked after us so we’ll and was always one step ahead in organizing everything. At the border crossings she brought pens for filling out the forms and even spelled out the names of the hotels that we had to put on the forms. She stopped the traffic with a firm hand which made us feel very safe but she was always very gracious in her acknowledgment of those that stopped! Her Tinglish (English) was excellent and she was never off duty. She never stopped and was unfailing courteous at all times! The support team in the three countries were great too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat! The cycling was very doable but oh soooo hot!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Bob Fitzs

    whats a review title

    Exodus should seriously consider cancelling this venue as a cycling holiday. The road conditions in Laos are so bad that they should be considered as dangerous. In our party of 18 there were 5 cycling accidents, one serious enough to require hospital treatment and cancellation of the remainder of the holiday. With the arrival in the country of Chinese financial input and the construction of a new rail link, the small poorly tarmaced roads of Laos cannot cope. The road surface is being destroyed by heavy lorries bringing in construction materials and equally big lorries taking fruit out of the country for export to China. Many times during this trip, we were cycling in thick clouds of dust being churned up by these lorries. I understand from our guide that they took the decision to change the cycling route on the last day because the road conditions were impassable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day when we weren't cycling. The boat trip down the Mekong

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Rit is one of the best guides I have ever met. What he has to cope with in Laos considering the above detail on the road conditions makes him outstanding as a guide. He has to do far more than other guides I have ever met.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go cycling in Laos until the road conditions improve. This will not be for at least 5 years while they finish the railway. Only by finishing the railway can they take the trucks off the road and start to replace the road surfaces.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    I would like to thank to thank Bob for his review, although we are very sorry to read that he was left disappointed with the cycling on this holiday. Further to client feedback, we have now adjusted some of the route on this itinerary to avoid most of the heavy traffic. We trust that these changes will improve the itinerary in terms of overall client enjoyment and safety. We remain sincerely sorry, however, that Bob felt Laos was not a suitable country for a cycling holiday. Kelly Reid – Product Manager

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Philip Morley

    A must for new travellers to this region

    As a second time traveller to this area I had seen many of the sites by coach. Cycling is so much better allowing time to absorb the many natural wonders and culture with the wind through your hair. Our tour leader, nick name IS, a fully committed Thai lady, gave 110% to everything for the group, including the 2 boarder crossings that looked like something from a James Bond film!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having seen many of the natural wonders previously, and an appreciation of the countries history, for me the stay over in the Mekong delta Homestay was my highlight. This was tailored for our group only and included a ferry transfer, evening cooking lesson and traditional entertainment with musicians and dancers; an evening of great memories.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader ,”IS”. Was inspirational. As said, she gave 110% commitment to the group ensuring everything was in place, put in place or corrected where found wanting. I can’t sing her praises enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, please check with Exodus shortly before departure that all travel documentation is in place, particular if flying with Malaysia Airlines. We had trouble at check-in and we’re not allowed to board until we had signed an Airline Waiver of no responsibility; this caused some angst and was embarrassing holding up other travellers in the check-in queue.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Apart from the issues at check- in on departure, everything ran extremely smoothly; this was due to the efficiency and committment of the tour leader. The only other point is that some hotels outside of the main cities were wanting! Mainly due to plumbing issues, i.e. blocked toilets and flooding bathrooms. We had to change room once and others in the group similarly.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Virginia Morris

    Wonderful contrasting country cycling

    This tour gives a great overview of the 3 countries visited with differing food, landscapes and people. Our group was small (only 9: Brits and Americans) which gave us a very close bonding time together and our leader 'Is' was outstanding in her warmth, compassion and sense of humour. The pace was faster than expected and yet although we cycled further than I have experience of, it was completely manageable and I was never tempted to get on the bus. It's hot and sweaty but virtually flat the whole way. There is more traffic and car fumes than anticipated and it felt a bit risky at times, but 'Is' had her eye on us the whole time with help from the crew. The food is wonderful and as a gluten free vegetable lover I was in heaven. There really is no need to bring anything extra except perhaps a bag of muesli. The cycle snacks are never ending and delicious. Culturally, we were indulged in many new tastes, sights and sounds from spiders, silk worms, frogs, rats and snakes to be eaten in the local markets to fabulous home cooking in the home stay. We toured Angkor Wat in its splendours over 3 days and enjoyed the boat ride in Cambodia and the homestay in Vietnam. Entering Vietnam, we experienced the New Year celebrations in a riot of colourful flowers and local costumes and decorations as well as some evening shows. We enjoyed every aspect of the trip and followed straight on to the Exodus Cycle Vietnam trip. This was totally manageable and I recommend it as a way of enhancing the experience if you can manage that amount of time and expenditure (see my review for that trip too). We loved the time spent in Saigon and also had a few extra days in Bangkok at the start to acclimatise to the time zone difference and the weather. The hotels along the way can be basic but all are clean and comfortable and most have swimming pools. Laundry is easy to do. Leave space in your suitcase for shopping. There are lots of possibilities along the way for cheap and colourful clothing, crafts and food items. The history of war can be hard to digest and the visits in Pnom Penh quite devastating. But we were taken for lunch to a community restaurant project rehabilitating street children, which was so uplifting that we could see how the people have moved forward from their dark history with quiet hope, endurance and humility. We have so many great photos and memories but are already thinking about where to go on our next adventure. A big thanks to 'Is' and Exodus for this great holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hearing about the Cambodia history and seeing how the people have forgiven though not forgotten all their strife.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic in every way

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No need to take snacks along. Don't take too much clothing and leave space in your suitcase.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Grant & Paula Reed

    First multi day cycle trip & certainly not the last!

    This was an excellent trip which has certainly encouraged us to look at another cycling holiday. Our guide, Rit, who was with us from Bangkok to Saigon was excellent, forever patient, informative and professional, he was a pleasure to be with. As we entered Cambodia & Vietnam we were joined by local guides for the journey through their country & they were also equally professional, as were all members of the support teams. Their humour certainly assisted us through some warm days.The cycle days were split quite well, with timely stops with lovely snacks & drinks supplied in some memorable settings. The trip covers some of the iconic places to visit in all three countries but also includes quite a bit of low key mixing with locals which was equally memorable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whilst Bangkok, Ankor Wat, Seim Reap, Phnom Penh, Mekong Delta & Saigon are certainly places to tick off a ''must visit'' list, some of the cycling through villages, stopping at local establishments & the general friendliness of the locals was equally inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit was brilliant, as were the local guides who assisted in Cambodia & Vietnam. The bus drivers were always where they should have been & the cycle support team were very supportive! We appreciated the Exodus leaders more so after joining another trip with another company immediately after this & had a very poor, disinterested leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We would both consider ourselves fit despite being in our 60's. However don't underestimate the first three days; 28 miles, 55 miles then 52 miles is quite a challenge especially in warm conditions, fresh onto a new bicycle. Put the miles in before you go & you'll benefit. DEFINITELY take cycling shorts!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Whilst we did have free evenings, some group members mentioned that another couple of free evenings (without an organised meal) wouldn't go amiss. Everyone mixed well & we met some lovely folks but being together from first thing in the morning to last thing at night on so many days could have been cut back slightly.
Call us on 056 631 86 64