Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

125 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Janet Sully

    An exceptionally interesting and varied trip

    This trip exceeded my expectations in terms of the sheer variety of scenery and experiences. Bosnia-Herzegovina and Montenegro are stunningly beautiful countries and, as yet, unspoilt by mass tourism. The Bay of Kotor, with the mountains rising up precipitously behind; the remote valleys and settlements; turquoise lakes and rivers; deep gorges and waterfalls; fascinating towns and cities like Cetinje, Sarajevo and Mostar; monasteries below sheer rock faces; isolated villages offering great hospitality; plentiful food portions; wine tastings; a superb guide who brought the incredible history to life: what more could one want? Although we saw and experienced a huge amount, there were no early starts, and the drives were punctuated by stops at places of interest. It was also good to spend at least two nights at each place apart from the last (Dubrovnik), so that we were not packing up and moving on every day. Our driver, Semir, also deserves a mention - he was always helpful and was a very steady driver, so we felt completely safe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day had several highlights and it would be impossible to single out one particularly inspirational moment, but unexpected sights such as a perfect rainbow over the river in Sarajevo, and shepherds with their sheepdogs and umbrellas up, herding huge flocks of sheep in most isolated terrain and unfavourable weather conditions, caused me to gasp in amazement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I echo the other reviewers' comments about Sabina; she is simply outstanding and I feel very lucky to have had her as leader. Her knowledge of the history and culture of the region is phenomenal and her passion for the environment shone through, yet she never overloaded us with information at any one time. Her accounts of her family's experiences in World War II, under Tito and during the siege of Sarajevo brought the history to life. Sabina has a delightful personality; she was always cheerful, showed a good sense of humour and was very helpful and caring. Her organisational skills were excellent and the trip ran seamlessly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We stayed on in Dubrovnik for three more days after the group trip ended and are very glad we did, as there would have been little time to do justice to it otherwise. Others in the group stayed in Cavtat, near Dubrovnik airport, for a night or two before the trip started, which seemed a good idea The centre of Dubrovnik is much more expensive than anywhere else, but outside the walled town we found prices reasonable. Bring mosquito repellent if you are prone to bites!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a tremendous trip and I thoroughly recommend it if you enjoy beautiful scenery, architecture, history and good food.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Gillian Forbes

    Beguiled by Bosnia

    This holiday gave a great taste of 3 Balkan countries, breath-taking scenery, attractive towns and villages and sobering insights into the past suffered there, particularly Bosnia. A variety of sites, history and experiences were included which made the trip really interesting. The only downside was the over-popularity of Dubrovnik at the end of the trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The resourcefulness of the people of Sarajevo during the siege of the city was illustrated in the tunnel museum, also added to by our guide who, with her family lived through it. The city of Mostar was also particularly beautiful, the fallen bridge having been rebuilt exactly how it was before the war

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Sabena was really good, full of information, caring, sociable and organised

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bear in mind Dubrovnik is really expensive, pay in restaurants in the local currency not euros
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Emily Lever

    I loved it!

    There we’re so many highlights from this trip, it’s hard to pick just one. Even getting rain soaked on day one was a bonding experience! I came on the trip to have some hard cycling and to learn something about a country I’d heard so much about but had very little understanding of. It exceeded every expectation in every way and my only regret is that I can’t go back and do it all again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 26 switch back day and the hill climbs afterwards were the toughest but most rewarding cycling experience. But for me, it was getting to meet so many new people - bee keepers, olive growers, so many cats...and our group was amazing with a lot of laughter.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There are no words for how wonderful Sabina was throughout the whole trip. She never stopped smiling, explaining about the history and culture of where we were and most importantly, having fun with us. It was a dream team with Sabina, Irhad and Eldar, and all three of them made it an unforgettable trip with a lot of laughs along the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t worry too much about currency - you can get Bosnian marks from an ATM when you arrive. Take some euros and kuna for Montenegro and Croatia in advance.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I’d end the trip in Sarajevo and not Dubrovnik. The latter is a beautiful place and a draw for lots of people who haven’t been there before...but I’d say that if you want to the true Bosnian experience and learn more about the history of the country - Sarajevo would definitely be more interesting (and cheaper!!)
  • Reviewed September 2019
    David Richardson

    Two surprising gem's

    This is a fascinating trip and I would recommend you book soon before some of the places you visit become too popular. The trip starts in Montenegro, and you spend a mixture of time in the stunning town of Kotor and out in the wilds of Durmitor NP and Zabljak. The views and walks are beautiful. Onto Bosnia and much learning about the recent war, however the country has far more to offer than this with wine tasting, waterfalls, remote villages and of course the very touristy, Mostar. The trip is paced well, with no really early starts and time allowed for you to explore yourself. Walks are not difficult and the food meaty, whilst accommodating vegetarians. If asked I would say "just book"

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Possibly for me the lunch up in the hills with a very generous and welcoming Montenegrin family, and this was closely followed by numerous "pies" in the wilds of Lukomir following a walk on the hills.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What can I say about Sabina! "Hello, hello" Sabrina's passion for the region was clear and she struck just the right balance of giving us information without overloading us. She always put the group first and tried her best to make sure we had an enjoyable and hassle free adventure. I am proud to say she is now a friend and should she be your guide, she will enhance your trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider a night in Cavtat before the trip starts and extra time afterwards in Dubrovnik if you have never been there before. Otherwise, don't hesitate to book!
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Muriel Mccleery

    A fabulous trip - full of variety

    A superb trip with great variety - coastal scenery, mountains, rivers, lakes, canyons, the city of Sarajevo, and then all the history, culture and peoples of the Balkans. It was a very easy trip with comfortable travel, unhurried and yet lots seen and done. I really enjoyed travelling with the group - always someone to go out with for meals or a drink and yet plenty of time to do your own exploring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery - the Adriatic coastline of Perast and Kotor, Tara Canyon, the journey from Zabljak to Sarajevo (thank you Semie for your excellent driving skills) and all the history of the region. Sarajevo has lots to see and do and has so much more to offer than just its war history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sabina Sirco was an excellent leader - she certainly deserves a nomination for an Exodus tour leader award. She was passionate about her country and through her family history was able to bring the history of the region alive. She put a lot of personal energy and time into ensuring that each of us had a really enjoyable trip. She was always friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, organised and with excellent English and communication skills. This all led to a relaxed and fun filled trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You will need to go on a diet at the end of this trip - the food was excellent and abundant.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Sarah Morrow

    An interesting tour of the Balkans

    This is a very interesting and varied trip through Montenegro and Bosnia Herzogovina, covering countryside, mountains, culture and history. A lot is fitted into a relatively short time, so it involves quite a bit of travelling, but the countryside is stunning and our driver was excellent, so it was really worth it. The mountains are reminiscent of the Dolomites, but without the crowds. The cities are medieval and very quaint, but still bear the scars of the Balkan war of the 90's. The war exhibition in Sarajevo is particularly thought provoking and well worth a visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sarajevo

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was young and enthusiastic
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Bruce Pryde

    When things go wrong

    I enjoyed the mix if this trip. Old walled towns, wonderful coastline, and flower meadows as you like to think they were in the UK in the past. Even the coach journeys through the countryside were worth the time spent doing them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was inspiration to be found in almost everything we did. The journey from Zabljak to Sarajevo was particularly wonderful. The wild flowers were stunningly beautiful particularly where we had a coffee stop, as were the views to and the journey in the Piva gorge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alen was an engaging guide full of useful information imparted with clarity. Always ready to help he came into his own when I slipped and broke my leg! He handled the situation in a very calm manner with excellent first aid skills. Moving on with the rest of the group Alen arranged support for my wife left in Sarajevo. What a guy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have travel insurance!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were impressed by the friendliness we encountered especially considering their recent history.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Bev Wickham

    Exceeded my expectations

    An amazingly diverse trip taking in wonderful UNESCO world heritage sites. From cities to isolated mountainous hikes, swimming at Kravica waterfalls and lunches in out of the ordinary hidden gems. I now have a much greater knowledge and understanding of the war in these countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As a wild flower and especially Orchid lover, the Flora was breathtaking. The unspoilt countryside, meadows and alpine regions were packed full of so many species. Swimming in Kravica waterfalls was an experience never to be forgotten. The walk towards the Rakitnica canyon,views and lunch with one of the main village families sitting out in the open is a memory that will stay with me for a long time

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alen our group leader was over and above anything I could have asked for. He was extremely knowledgeable, interesting and great fun - even his jokes!! Nothing was to much trouble for Alen and he went out of his way to make this a truly memorable holiday. One of our group unfortunately broke his leg at the end of a hike. Alen’s knowledge of making a temporary splint, staying calm and organised and still managing to make sure we were all looked after was very impressive. What a guy and a man of many talents.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do make sure you have suitable foot ware for rougher terrain. The walk down to the Rakitnica canyon was rugged in some parts and some of the cobbled streets are slippery with so much footfall especially Mostar. We made the mistake of arriving at Kotor on day one after a long journey from Dubrovnik and crossing borders etc and went out exploring immediately. This wasn’t necessary as we had a guided tour the next day. It may be a good idea to walk up the steps to St John’s Fortress for panoramic views. This needs to be done earlier or later in the day because of the heat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All the hotels were what I expected. They were clean adequate and the staff were all friendly. Our hotel in Zabljak had a chained up dog which woke us with it’s barking through the early hours as we were at the front of the hotel. When we arrived in Mostar it would have been great to chill out for the afternoon instead of going straight out for a tour in the heat and crowds. We had a fantastic driver Sandy. He was great fun, and a very safe driver. Truly memorable holiday
  • Reviewed June 2019
    William Edginton

    Bosnia and beyond

    This was an enjoyable and illuminating trip, very efficiently run. Almost all places visited were worthwhile, with the possible exception of Budva. A mixture of lovely scenery (especially the Montenegro mountains), comfortable travelling and towns/cities attractive in themselves but with an extra layer of history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sarajevo - walking its streets, visiting its museums and mosques, taking views from its hills and remembering what they were used for, sampling its food and its vibrancy. But there were other highlights such as the view over Kotor Bay, the pleasure of seeing Mostar's restored old bridge from various angles including the top of a minaret and the traversing of a spectacular mountain road only just made passable through snowdrifts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can only echo the plaudits given to Sabina in other reviews. She just makes you happy to be in her country/region.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The group hotel in Dubrovnik is on the outskirts of the new town and a bus (approximately hourly) is needed to get to the old town. Don't know about taxis but reception seemed to want several hours notice for a taxi to the airport. The old town is small and almost overwhelmed by visitors. Seasoned walkers may find the walks undemanding (can't speak for the walk outside Sarajevo - truncated because of the weather)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just for clarity, because of poor weather I chose to stay in Sarajevo rather than go with the group to Lukomir and so saw more of the city but none of the countryside. An extra day based in Sarajevo is the solution.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Chris Bridges

    Bosnia and beyond

    A great trip, scenically a good mix of coastal and mountain scenery, local culture well explained & a great introduction to this part of the Balkans.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Sarajevo & learning of the history. Seeing the spectacular mountain scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sabina was wonderful, her passion for her country & for tourism & conservation came through very strongly. She was well organised & a lot of fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please do this trip & learn about Bosnia & see the spectacular scenery.