Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

133 Reviews

  • Reviewed July 2018

    Amazing trip in an incredible country

    Had never been to Morocco before and I must admit it took me by surprise. I'm not sure what I expected really but it was so much more than my expectations; I'll certainly be back. I arrived in Marrakech the evening before the normal arrival day, Exodus booking me into the arrival hotel and arranged transfer from the airport which simplified things. Climbing Mount Toubkal itself is a fear challenge in such a short time and I was worried about my fitness. Abdul, our guide, though insisted we all took it slowly; which we did, and we made it. It's tough, but entirely doable. Loved the stay on the mountain in the mountain hut, though didn't sleep much, which meant the 3am rise was actually a relief. Heading off in the darkness, with just the small patch of light created by your head torch is an amazing experience, only beaten by standing at the summit. The quality o food on the trip was amazing, given we were on the side of a mountain. Lovely, fresh food and lots of it; believe me you will need it on summit day. After the long descent we'd have eaten most out of house and home, but there was more than enough to satisfy us all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Setting off in the darkness, in my own little bubble of my head torch light.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was incredible. Always smiling, chatty and proud of his country. He talked to us about his country and its customs, his life but was also interested in ours. He couldn't do enough for us all throughout the trip. Dinner in Marrakech on the final evening was amazing and he's a pretty good singer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A water bladder is very useful; I actually had a bladder and a water bottle, the bottle I regularly topped up whenever possible. Head torch is essential for the early morning climb. A wide brimmed sunhat, or something which covers your neck, and suncream also. I would also recommend walking poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great first experience with Exodus, it won't be my last. Very smooth and using local guides really gives a feel for the country, which in my view will always make it a better experience.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Miquela Riley

    Fantastic four days of climbing

    I loved everything about this tour. Our guide, Yves was fantastic (and seemingly everywhere on the mountain for our group of 10 riders). He is also a man of many talents... translator, support car driver and bike mechanic to name a few. The tour is exceptionally organised and allows you to go at your own pace, despite being in a group. I'd recommend itto anyone who wants to challenge themselves who has a good level of fitness.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to the top of Mt Ventoux...twice! Brilliant!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring layers - warm gloves, head warmer and jacket for the descent
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Jeff rogers

    Ventoux Cycling Weekend

    If you like the mountains this is a superb trip with wonderful scenic riding and fantastic views! The Gorge de la Nesque and Le tour route to the summit of the ventoux was a fantastic days riding. Great guide, superb food and cycling to die for!! Thanks to exodos for some special memories!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gorge de la Nesque ( Fantastic place}

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding! Nothing else to say

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train hard at home in the hills before you go to enjoy the most of your trip! That said you don't need to be a tour winner!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Maybe make it an extra day and fit another wonderful days riding in ! just a wonderful area to be on the bike
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Julia Porter

    Brilliant weekend

    A brilliant adventure, and all in a weekend!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Obviously getting to the top, but the walk through villages, drinking tea in small hostels along the way, and the views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hesham was a great leader, tolerant and friendly who would go that extra mile for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Exodus as usual took care of everything, so much to pack in to a short space of time. I wondered if the tour of Marrakesh would prove too much but was really interesting, again so much to see but makes me want to go back!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Anne Bonham

    Simply wonderful

    Best light show I have ever seen with the Northern lights not dissappointing us, getting better each night of the 4 nights that we were there. Highly recommend this trip and though Northern lights are the main attraction, the rest of the trip has much to offer which felt like the bonus. -Orca and Sperm whales; beautiful and serene scenery;wonderful hosts and terrific fresh food; comfortable accomodation and ideally placed to see the lights from; catching a fish with a simple rod; walks in wonderful snow. The trip felt longer than the 5 days with wonderful sunrises, sunsets and the northern lights ensuring that every part of the day had something different to offer. And there were a lot of daylight hours! This is by far the best chance of seeing the elusive northern lights which was well worth waiting for. And though seeing them is never guaranteed, you would be very unlucky to see none over the 5 days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    flashing, shimmering and expanding rich green northern lights dancing in the night sky

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An expat with the accent to prove it settled in Norway with his norwegian famiy, and together focussing on providing an all round high stndard of care and service to their customers. Very good and wonderful traditional local cooking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mini bus got cold particularly around the feet so be prepared with good socks, shoes and clothes. Phone cameras will not capture the Northern lights but any basic camera with a selection of settings will get something , even if grainy. And you will want a photo to capture the experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip did not dissappoint. And being Norway was of a high standard.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Anne Bonham

    Simply wonderful

    Best light show I have ever seen with the Northern lights not dissappointing us, getting better each night of the 4 nights that we were there. Highly recommend this trip and though Northern lights are the main attraction, the rest of the trip has much to offer which felt like the bonus. -Orca and Sperm whales; beautiful and serene scenery;wonderful hosts and terrific fresh food; comfortable accomodation and ideally placed to see the lights from; catching a fish with a simple rod; walks in wonderful snow. The trip felt longer than the 5 days with wonderful sunrises, sunsets and the northern lights ensuring that every part of the day had something different to offer. And there were a lot of daylight hours! This is by far the best chance of seeing the elusive northern lights which was well worth waiting for. And though seeing them is never guaranteed, you would be very unlucky to see none over the 5 days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    flashing, shimmering and expanding rich green northern lights dancing in the night sky

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An expat with the accent to prove it settled in Norway with his norwegian famiy, and together focussing on providing an all round high stndard of care and service to their customers. Very good and wonderful traditional local cooking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mini bus got cold particularly around the feet so be prepared with good socks, shoes and clothes. Phone cameras will not capture the Northern lights but any basic camera with a selection of settings will get something , even if grainy. And you will want a photo to capture the experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip did not dissappoint. And being Norway was of a high standard.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Martin Sutherland

    Amazing scenery and views from the summit

    A brilliant three day trek through the mountains which was a winter wonderland whilst we were there. The summit climb isn’t too tough (think Ben Nevis plus a bit) and the views from the top are just amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the summit. Great views over the Atlas Mountains and beyond.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was a cool and calm leader, great fun, with lots of local knowledge. He really connected us with the local environment and people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check that your group has avalanche transponders with them. We didn’t but another group from exodus did. Given it had snowed heavily for the week before and that we were one of the first groups to make the summit for a while I think it’s worth carrying them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Memories of this trip will last forever.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Hannah Gibbs

    A proper winter wonderland!

    This trip outdid all my expectations - a brief yet action-packed weekend of winter activity topped off by a spectacular Northern Lights show outside our wilderness cabin. It was remarkable just how much we seemed to do in the two full days we were there - dogsledding, midnight snowmobile riding, reindeer sleigh ride as well as learning a bit about traditional regional culture and spending the night in a cosy wilderness cabin.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed all the activities but had particularly hoped to see and get some photos of the Northern Lights. The forecast hadn't looked too good but we were surprised to see a very faint glow on the first night after arriving at the hotel, a slightly more visible (albeit brief) show whilst on the snowmobiles, and finally a good hour's worth of lights dancing around the skies above the cabin and snow-covered forest on the final night. I may have been close to getting frostbite (it was up to -30 degrees) whilst trying to set up my camera but it was totally worth it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Becky was excellent - knowledgeable, capable, and enthusiastic to share her love for the region. It helped to have a really great group of fellow travellers too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Due to bad weather at Helsinki and some flight delays, our luggage did not arrive until the evening of the day after arrival. It might be a good idea to pack a set of thermals and a few basic items in hand baggage as a precaution as although you are provided with full outer clothing, you will still need the base layers. There is a small gift shop at the hotel that sells thermals but the range may be limited. I would also echo the advice given by Exodus re photographing the aurora - to get decent photos it helps to have some knowledge of using manual mode and long exposures, and a remote shutter release is also recommended. Mobile phone batteries also tend to die very quickly in the sub-zero temperatures.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were very lucky with the aurora but even if we hadn't had an amazing light show there is enough packed in to the weekend to make it worthwhile. I'd definitely recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    JUDITH Hulse

    Finland northern lights adventure!

    The most fun its possible to have in a few days, fast paced dog sledding, snow mobiling in the forest at night, staying overnight in a wilderness cabin and seeing the beautiful northern lights! Wow, life does not get much better!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Northern lights each night but especially on the third night at the wilderness cabin. I just lay in the snow and watched them, a very exciting and exhilarating sight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Becky was an outstanding guide. From giving us a talk about the Northern lights, leading us on a snow mobile tour through the forest at night to cooking our delicious dinner and breakfast at the wilderness cabin, her knowledge and enthusiasm for Finland could not be faulted. She is truly an asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wrap up warm! Get hand and foot warmers as your fingers and toes will feel the cold first! Several layers of thermals, head torch, walking pole, and your driving licence for the snow mobile. The kit provided is very good but you may prefer your own liner gloves and balaclava. A

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An outstanding trip. If you are even considering this holiday my advice is BOOK IT, you will not be disappointed!
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Lucy -

    Mount Toubkal over New Year 2017/2018

    Excellent short trip to climb Mount Toubkal. If you've done a generous amount of fitness training and hiking in advance of arriving in Morocco then you'll be fine. Prepare for a VERY long day on the day when you climb Toubkal!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Realising on the way back down when we looked behind us just HOW much we achieved in climbing Toubkal. Awesome sight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of layers to ensure you are protected from the cold - even the waterfalls we saw were frozen solid! Make sure you pack a head torch as this will be essential for the early morning start. Ensure you have worn your boots in fully before you get to Morocco. The last thing you need is blisters from new boots when you have walked for 3 hours and have another 9 hours to go. Enjoy every step.... it really is amazing!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great first trip with Exodus.