Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

133 Reviews

  • Reviewed April 2016
    Margaret Newland

    iceland 4 nighttrip

    good varied program

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing the northern lights on a beautiful clear night and then viewing a photo of same to really see the colours.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibi was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    make sure you have warm, windproof clothes

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had expected better accommodation for the price of the holiday. Hotel Laki was very basic. Our group had the worst rooms. Should have had 3 course meals included in the price
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Maureen Stenner

    Iceland Northern Lights

    This was a four night tour that really packed a punch. As well as the chance of seeing the Northern Lights we saw glaciers, ice caves, geysers, lagoons, waterfalls, the black beach etc, etc

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a number... a double rainbow over one of the waterfalls, walking on a glacier (complete with ice axe and crampons), the brilliant ice blue and white of the lagoon with seals basking in the sun, getting soaked by an unusually large spurt from the geyser, the meals out with the complete group. Scanning the skies on the rooftop on the hope of seeing the Northern Lights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Petur was totally brilliant. He certainly went the extra mile for our group. Arranging meals for us - and then joining us to eat with us. Taking us on unscheduled 'detours' to show us even more of his beautiful country. He was extremely knowledgeable about Iceland, the history, the people the geology, the landscape and he delivered his knowledge with a sense of humour. He managed the perfect balance of narrating the tour but giving us space and peace to enjoy it for ourselves.. There was a lot to fit in so he was also very good (in the very nicest way) at keeping us 'on schedule' for our various stops. Thank you so much Petur.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is so much more to see in Iceland than the Northern Lights. Sadly we didn't see them on this trip but I had a truly amazing time and I would recommend this trip to anyone who has a love of the 'great outdoors' and the natural world.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Being in a small group meant that arrivals and departures at hotels and the various sights were manageable. It was very worthwhile to travel across to the black beach and Jokulsson.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Noreen Woodcock

    The Northern Lights

    I booked this holiday purely as I got a weeks respite for my sick husband. This was all I could find to fit with my dates. Well it was meant to be!! There were 15 of us in the group and as I was travelling alone I was a little apprehensive to say the least. The group was fabulous,the leader Ibi, was superb.she took us to all the places in the itinerary which were all super and we were so well informed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was exciting, from waterfalls to geysers to glaciers, to film shows, museums and tomato growing !! I was inspired the way Icelanders seem to be so innovative. In 2010 we worried about the ash cloud disrupting our flights, look what happened to them and how they have moved forward.......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Ibi was the best!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go,go,go...
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Katherine Sandford

    Excellent wintery weekend!

    I absolutely loved this weekend, it's non stop fun and adventure! From husky sledding, snowmobiling, relaxing in the sauna and seeing the northern lights, we covered every wintry activity going in Finnish Lapland!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were 3 main highlights of the trip for me, which were: 1. Seeing the Northern Lights for 2 nights on this 3 night trip! Our guide Darren told us that the aurora borealis had not been seen at all for the last month prior to our arrival. We were obviously very lucky as on our 2nd night, we went out on the snowmobiles and saw them. Wide green arcs spread out across the sky that changed shape and glowed brighter and fainter as we watched them, it was very exciting and we stayed out until 12.30 pm in minus 27 degrees celcius! We saw them again on our 3rd night at the wilderness lodge from the frozen lake. A beautiful sight that I will never forget. 2. Husky sledding - this was so much fun! Our guide was great and clearly very passionate about his dogs and making sure they are well cared for. The dogs are so excitable and have so much energy! 3. Relaxing in the sauna and then rolling about in the snow afterwards. This was great fun and very relaxing!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not walk away from the path during your time at the wilderness lodge. One did in our group and she ended up knee height in snow and the men in our group had to go and rescue her!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend anybody who would like to experience the arctic wilderness to book this weekend. I was just disappointed that I couldn't spend longer there, I will be back!
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Jennifer Wain

    Finland Northern Lights

    An exciting trip. If snow-steeped Lappish landscapes, huskies, reindeers and adrenaline-pumping activity appeals, then this is a great option for you. We were fortunate enough to gaze at the Northern Lights (magical!!) which will stay with me forever. With some more closer care and guidance re safety this would be an Excellent trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the Northern Lights near the cabin by the frozen river. Husky ride comes in second.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a good guide overall. He provided excellent advice for snowmobiling, warned everyone against drinking and his presentation on the Northern Lights was first rate. However, it has to be said, I was disappointed when I later learned of his response to being woken after the group heard me screaming for help outside our cabin in the wilderness on the second night. He mentioned, “oh, she'll be ok", and immediately went back to sleep. Did he not care that I might have been injured? I had walked along the wrong path to the cabin from the river and started sinking rapidly in snow. Although not his fault, I was extremely scared (my torch wasn't working) as the route I followed was unstable, metres high in snow in places. I sunk nearly up to my waist alone in the dark and screamed for what seemed like an eternity, while holding on to a tree, not far from the cabin, before eventually a lady went to brush her teeth and heard me. Then two men from the group came to rescue me. It was so dark I didn’t know what to do, but then again, even with a light, I wouldn’t have dared to move far in the snow… I was so relieved to have been found. I had been screaming for at least 30 minutes and didn't know whether I was going to freeze during the night or potentially drown. I think Exodus should make more effort to warn travellers in advance about basic safety trips which may be obvious to locals and Winter travellers but not necessarily so to others. For instance, the hazards of walking in snow around the cabin locations should have been made clearer and your company could do with sharing survival tips in the unlikely event of ending up alone after an accident etc. I subsequently learned that a snow cave could prevent you from freezing to death during the night and I’ll never forget this and the other tips shared by one of the men from our group who had been in the navy. It was -25 degrees Celsius outside. I could have died!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Absolutely essential - stick with your group. The wilderness can be treacherous. Make sure your torch works a few times before using it! Also, avoid keeping your gloves off for too long to avoid frostbite. Get camera-friendly ones instead. Have fun, just don't take your life for granted...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The huskies were the best. I didn't want to leave them.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Jennifer for her review, although we were concerned to learn of her experience at the wilderness cabins. We are in touch with Jennifer on an individual basis and our health and safety specialist has followed up on her experience with our local manager.

    Paolo Bonato - Product Manager for Finland

  • Reviewed March 2016
    Josephine Ayoubi

    Iceland Northern Lights

    Iceland is an amazing place and I'd recommend a visit. But disappointed as we didn't see Northern Lights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking across a glacier, seeing the blue glaciers from the bus window, seeing the icebergs on the black beach.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Ipi was fantastic, she couldn't do enough for us and made sure every single person was OK.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was a great trip, but you're tied to the pre-planned itinerary around the south coast of Iceland. The days were very full, which was great, but would have liked more flex to get to better places to see NLs, as they are the main attraction of the tour. Bring your own shower gel - both our hotels were surprisingly primitive on the toiletries side. Also towels provided tended to be very thin, one pillow each, and thin narrow duvets.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Vanessa Arnell Cullen

    Wonderful Adventure

    I took my 21 and 16 year old daughters on this trip in feb 2016 and what a fabulous adventure we had. Finland is truely beautiful in the snow and Exodus yet again know how to pack your time full of wonderful activities. We saw the amazing Northern lights 2 nights in a row and what a magical appearance they made however I purposefully booked this weekend in case the lights did a no show; you would have a wonderful time even if they didn't. Some things you need to know - It is cold v v cold (-30) however the equipment provided FOC is excellent quality and you'll have everything you need. - The trip isn't for the faint hearted driving a snow mobile across the wilderness with your daughter on the back took concentration however, leading the huskies was easy peasey and so amazing ... book it, you won't get better

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sharing the wilderness and northern lights with my daughters to inspire the adventurers within them. However what made this trip is the choice of activities, venues and area Exodus chose for us to experience and the travellers in our group we shared the experience with (building the log fires for the sauna in our wilderness night cabin and jumping in the snow during our sauna was great fun) Thanks Exodus for yet another AWESOME adventure

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Darren worked hard to organise and provide all that was needed

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a full on weekend and the cold weather
  • Reviewed March 2016
    David Issitt

    Arctic Adventures

    Didn't think you could cram so much activity and fun into such a short period of time! A fantastic taster of a variety of Arctic activities and the chance to see the Northern Lights twice!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When our group walked out onto the frozen lake next to the wilderness cabin and saw the aurora borealis for the second night running - especially as the lights had not been in view for the previous month.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A very knowledgeable guide who looked after us well and made sure we got the very best out of our Arctic weekend. The whole team at Harriniva was good, but especially the dog sled leader we had; his enthusiasm was boundless and we all learned lots.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take good thermal gear to wear under the excellent kit they provide. Several pairs of socks (that are not too tight) are essential. Take your own head torch - they was a limited supply from the guide. Expect to be busy - it was non-stop, but that made it all the more special.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were very lucky to have seen the Northern Lights - they hadn't been seen for the previous month - and our guide ensured that we were in the best position to make the most of our luck; he even arranged for a professional photographer (who's photos of the Aurora are second to none) to help us with camera settings.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Katherine Fisher

    Magical Iceland - trolls and elves optional

    Iceland is the most magical and enchanting country - the landscape is truly haunting and beautiful. The miles covered gave our group a constant backdrop of magnificent mountains, tiny, isolated churches - a flash of their red roofs amongst the white - and brave little Icelandic horses clustered in snow-covered fields. The country is an unforgettable visual feast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wrecked icebergs strewn along a black, volcanic beach illuminated in a multitude of glassy shades - a magnificent sculpture park sparkling in the sunshine. A truly memorable experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide could not have been better - humorous, knowledgeable, capable and thoroughly good company. Ibi is an exceptional person (a member of the Icelandic volunteer search and rescue service - who could ask for more?). I felt in thoroughly good hands and Ibi made the trip a brilliant experience for all the members of the group. She provided constant and interesting information at the appropriate moments, was a brilliant driver on roads which were, at times, quite challenging. She has great skills, both organisational and interpersonal. She gave us a wonderful insight into her country, both historical, geological, botanical, political - the list goes on and on... Thank you Ibi!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lot of driving - but every mile is worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The museum at Skogar is brilliant and should not be missed.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Christine Gau

    Amazing lights

    With Northern Lights you are always cautious, and I went knowing that we may not get them, but we we very lucky and had lights on each of the 4 nights. So if that happens don't expect any rest. The location of Andoy Friluftssenter is great, you have options of either staying close to your cabin and nipping back in side during a beak in the lights, or a couple of places down on the waterside with no more that a 10 min walk giving you plenty of options, and then if on one of Paul's groups as we were the ability to go further afield in the minibus. The days are filled, as well so don't think this will a restful break. The Andoy Friluftssenter is great, the location, the cabins, the host and the food. A great weekend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the Northern Lights, they are magical and you do need to remember at some point to put down your camera and watch what is happening around you, as at times for us is was a full 360 degree view.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul is passionate about getting you in the right spot so not for the fainthearted as he works tirelessly to get all of you there.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you know your camera, and are confident that you can make changes to the settings in the dark. Wrap up warm - you can be out there for a long time so layers are important.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great long weekend, packed with activities so that even if the lights don't appear you will still have things to do.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Please note this review refers to the Photographic Special departure with Paul Goldstein. This has a slightly different itinerary to the regular trips, which Paul does not lead.