Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

12 Reviews

  • Reviewed August 2019
    Mark Latham

    Rediscovering the thrill of cross-country skiing in Norway

    My review of cross-country skiing in Kamben with Exodus in The Herald. https://www.heraldscotland.com/life_style/15812158.travel-after-years-of-skiing-in-crowded-alpine-resorts-mark-latham-rediscovers-the-thrill-of-cross-country-skiing-in-norway/

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See above review.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above review.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above review.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See above review.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    sally nortcliffe

    fab break in the snowy norwegian mountains

    great food , lovely surroundings and even some sunshine

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    being high when it was sunny to have stunning views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent ,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    go the transport arrangements are a bit long winded with a train transfer so you have to manage all your luggage and wait for the train
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Graham Walters

    Great Skiing and Traditional and Welcoming Hotel

    Kamben offers a well signposted and maintained network of tracks, many of the closer ones we used during the week. At each junction there is a good map and posts indicating the direction and distance to the next junctions and further destinations. Our trips varied from about 15 to 25 km each day. Not too hilly either; many tracks were graded blue, some green and red. We skiied up the red ones. The Hotel is excellent, with charming and welcoming hosts, very good food, and a comfortable, traditional atmosphere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I hadn’t skiied for 13 years, but soon felt at home again. The relaxed and accommodating leadership style helped.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert showed a “light touch” to leading. Friendly, communicative and inclusive in style.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The only downside for me was the long travel time back on the return day. I hope Exodus can review the logistics for this. An earlier flight back to the UK would be welcome, even though that might increase the price a bit. I would hope the increase would not be significant.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Paul Curtis

    Cross country skiing Kamben

    The trip could not have better, excellent tour leader, outstanding food and hospitality at the hotel for the whole week. Sunsets and sunrises beyond compare and plenty of route options for the skiing to keep novices to experts content for the duration. I would, and have, recommend this trip to anyone and everyone. Although this was my first trip with Exodus I’m certain it won’t be my last. One very satisfied customer here.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunset on the first day. The colours just kept on getting richer.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was superb. Competent, experienced, knowledgeable and very encouraging. Keen to share his love of skiing and Norway without fuss or drama.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Norway. Book the trip, you’ll have a great time and come back refreshed, energised and raving about the country, the hotel, the food, the skiing and Exodus.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you Exodus for such a well thought out trip.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Kieron Kilgannon

    First class

    Excellent holiday no complaints

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good leadership skills
  • Reviewed March 2018
    ralph weaver

    Kamben

    Versatile terrain with many options

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Descents from the Plateau

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert designed a superb week of activities suiting each one of us and keeping us within grade 2 but also having one or two challenges. Also very good host at dinners in the evenings

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for potentially harsh Norwegian conditions irrespective of when you come but we had beautiful sunny weather - a rare bonus!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just to say what a lovely hotel at Kamben excellent food and so nice to meet such a lot of lovely Norwegian families enjoying their pre Easter holidays
  • Reviewed February 2018

    Kamben, Norway 04 to 11 Feb 2018

    1. Excellent deep snow for cross country skiing and snow shoeing, which during my visit had not shown and sign of previous melting and refreezing, because the local temperature had remained below freezing since well before the last heavy snowfall. 2. Large network of high and low level prepared tracks, known as løype, available, backed up by free maps, which indicate numbered, signposted intersection points, and colour code the relative difficulty of tracks. Really steep bits are highlighted on the maps by red warning triangles. 3. From the hotel, one can ski directly onto the loype network within metres of the hotel. 4. Good standard of equipment available to borrow from hotel. Skis require grip wax but not glide wax. Different sizes of snow shoe available to suit different body weights. Poles available for skis, with top quality telescopic ones available for snow shoes 5. Large variety of tasty, nutritious, and well cooked food at breakfast for breakfast and packed lunch. 6. Good four course evening meals. Beautiful home cooked soups. High quality main course meant dishes with flavour full gravies and sauces, and a variety of vegetables. Desserts sometimes featured top quality ice cream with original flavours such as liquorice and smoky ice cream. 7. In the new section in particular, clean practical unfussy rooms in modern Scandinavian style, with the added luxury of controllable heating in the bedroom/ desk area and underfloor central heating in the ensuite bathroom with shower, which once featured good water flow and easily controllable temperature. 8. The Kamben Høyfelshotel staff are outstanding. Martin, the proprietor, is a bright cheerful host, who is dynamic, hard working and approachable. His standard of English is great, and he can speak German too. I reported a broken stand chair in my room to him, and he had it repaired and back in place within a day. Eili (spelling uncertain), the receptionist and barmaid is bubbly and full of good humour and great patience and good manners. Her English is good, and she wears a smile all day, which is not easy when there are so many guests for whom to cater. The East European waitress, who mostly served at breakfast was as approachable, obliging and cheerful. As hard working, but perhaps a little more self contained, were the Bulgarian waiters and cleaners, both outstandingly talented, academy trained, musicians who entertained us on piano and trumpet in the evening. 9. The hotel has a capacious sauna, with sensible arrangements, 4 to 5 pm ladies only, 6 to 7 for gentlemen only, and 5 to 6 for the less shy of all genders. This is complemented by a big pile of snow just outside along a corridor, so sauna takers can enjoy the full benefit provided by hot and cryogenic muscle and ligament therapy, and have a giggle as well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were two: descending the hill outside the hotel on skis and executing a snow plough left turn to hit the loype straight on, without falling over; and diving into the snow after a sauna with a beautiful mother and daughter from Denmark, all of us laughing with joy, none of us wearing any clothes. This happened twice. There was perhaps a third: the deep long sleep that only comes after 15km of walking with snow shoes. 15km with snow shoes induces the sleep that takers of mogadon, opium and whisky can only dream of in their wildest fantasies.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert is thoughtful, charming, and considerate. He does his homework on the details. He enjoys good relations with his clients, who in turn like and respect him. I have known him on and off for about 20 years, during which time his skiing and his gentle teaching skills have progressed enormously. I like to think of him as an old and wise friend. He is diplomatic with everyone and clearly enjoys a good relationship with the proprietor and staff of the Kamben hotel. He even leads on the nominal rest day, helps with waxing skis, and provides skiers with wax.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit with lunges and squats. Get your weight down. If you don't walk, cycle or run long distances, then try and emulate some of this activity at the gym. Be flexible, treat other travellers as friends that you don't know well yet, and you might love their company for many years into the future long after the holiday is finished. Because the Norwegian highland weather varies such a lot, take fast wicking thermals, polyester T shirts, multiple thin fleeces, polyester walking trousers, and salopettes, and a water/wind proof jacket for blizzards. A fleece hat or balaclava, and a number of Buff style soft polyester neck and head tubes are great. Take lots of polyester socks of different sizes. Sticking plaster for blisters. Small folding pocket knife to dig the ice out of ski boot soles so that you can get them to click back into one's skis, because setting off down a slope and having a ski come off because it wasn't back on properly can only result in a fall, or a spectacularly skilled display of balancing skills, worthy of a circus.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great companionship. Great fun. Great holiday. The only things I miss in Norway which are present in Austria, are those Gasthofs which you see every kilometre where you can sit on a hot central heating stove, and be served sausages, beer and glühwein by a lovely buxom waitress in a Dirndl, while listening to oompah and accordion music.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Martyn and June Cribb

    Cross Country Skiing at Kamben, Norway

    This is a great activity holiday in a beautiful part of Norway. Staying in a lovely hotel overlooking snow covered slopes and tracks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole week was a great experience. We had stayed in the hotel 10 years ago and it is as good now as it was then and in fact the food is more varied and of a very high quality. Great skiing in very good snow on very well sign posted tracks which are probably the best signed we have seen anywhere. A highlight would be skiing through heavy snow and ending up in a hut with a roaring log fire over which we cooked sausages. Yummy!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader is a very good skier and extremely knowledgeable about the area and its wild life. Extremely sociable he worked hard in an unassuming way to build a group identity that enabled everyone to get on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The essential thing is to be as fit as you can and as flexible as possible. This way you will get the maximum out of the holiday and enjoy the skiing to the maximum. It can be very cold so having the right kit and being flexible and adaptable to the weather is essential to your enjoyment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a holiday for all ages if you mastered the basics of cross-country skiing. There is ample opportunity for individual practice.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Helen Bailey

    Winter wonderland

    Kamben Hotel provided a lovely base for cross country skiing. Food was well presented and plentiful. Enjoyed the fact you were served your evening meals. There were always plenty of options for packed lunches at the breakfast buffet, although some mornings this could feel a little busy when the hotel is full and everyone descends at the same time. The bedroom allocated was large and clean ( in the newer section). Underfloor heating in bathroom was a treat. December-January weather was kind and very light wind meant temperatures were ideal (-7-12).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hearing my skis and poles squeaking in the cold crisp snow, such a lovely sound.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert the ski lead was good company and very gentle with his organisational skills. He organised routes each day to cover different areas. These routes also took into account the weather conditions, to enable the clients to see Kamben at its very best. He produced a couple of night time quizzes to satisfy the competitive streak amongst us. He sorted out my broken kit and differentiated the day when there was a need.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only concern was the quality of the ski equipment and lack of promised snow shoes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Label your flask before you go. Amazing how many silver coloured flasks there are at breakfast! Sauna was available everyday foc. Drinks....beer was reasonably priced for Norway (£5-7) per small glass. Wine expensive (£35 per bottle). Hot drinks only available free at breakfast and evening meal, at any other time the room was charged.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Paola Cassotti

    Excellent skiing and accommodation

    Excellent holiday with many ski routes available to take making each day different. The location is absolutely wonderful. Accommodation at Kamben is very comfortable with varied meals, tasty and substantial. The soups are different each night and all delicious. Ellie, Martin and the team look after all guests with a smile and attentive service. A guest was playing the piano each night and it was so soothing after a day out skiing. I can't wait to return.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise outside my room in the morning, 26km day in the sunshine with blue ski and an Oreo ice cream stop :), eating lunch outside with no soul around us... true outdoor life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert is charming and entertaining, taking in consideration the different needs within our group and always supportive. Every day he planned a different outing for us depending on the weather and what excellent choices. I hope he will be our leader next year as well!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Layers, mitts for after lunch on a cold day!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to Albert, the team at Kamben and fellow group members for a great week!