Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jean Hackett

    The not-so-blue Danube

    Temperatures were consistently above 30 deg. C, although we chose early June because it should have been more congenial for cycling. This was quite a challenge as a result. The first point to note is that nowhere on the route did the Danube look blue! It was green at Passau, but thereafter was a sludgy grey, despite the clear blue skies above us. There was a great profusion of wild flowers along the route; the cycle paths were generally segregated from other traffic, which made for pleasant riding conditions, with occasional shared use with pedestrians; even when we were near roads, they were relatively traffic-free. We enjoyed seeing many other cyclists of all ages while we were on the route, and in the towns where we stayed. Austria is an obviously cycle-friendly country, and we could only dream that we might have the same sort of facilities in the UK.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing two river barges going through the locks (one each way) at the hydro-electric power station station near Melk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the instructions and distances quoted with a pinch of salt! The Austrian partners don't seem to have cycled the route recently, and there were many changes from the route notes and maps, as well as some unhelpful or incorrect information. Some of this came at the end of a day, and made finding accommodation a challenge at times.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Charlie Miller

    Very beautiful and easy

    A wonderful trip on perfectly manicured cycle path and very very flat, short hops each day and its an ideal beginners trip, a couple of bike ferry crossings which break the day up and the ferry goes when you get there and if you miss it then its back in ten minutes. Hotels were of a good standard and a real mix and match and you just never sure what you going to get or if any of the people whos on your trip will be there or not as they seem to put everyone in different hotels if possible. weather wasn't great when we were there and some nasty wind and rain, and i imagine this would have been even better in nice weather, Please note its self guided and not run by Exodus travel and the company werent even to sure who Exodus were, but it still all went smooth.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sights and sounds and the photos dont do any of it justice, Melek Monistray was really pretty amazing, but so was it all really, it was like turning a page in a book and everyone ones as good or if not better than the last.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not Applicable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you look for an easy run then do this as there is nothing taxing or difficult about this and the cycle paths are perfect.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Diarmuid Mulherin

    Beautiful scenery, safe cycling

    The vast majority of this trip is in cycle paths separated from road traffic with some lightly trafficked roads and only very occasional roads with significant traffic, and even then you are usually separated from them by a barrier of some type: in fact, if none of the above applies, you're probably 'lost' although that, too, is really difficult to do as the river is hard to lose and the signage is excellent! A large proportion is on a Euro cycle path from the Black Sea to the Atlantic and it is very well maintained: UK councils could learn a thing or two about maintaining safe cycling environments from the Austrians. The scenery is at times spectacular and varies from day to day as the river meanders across Austria. The accommodation we got was generally very good and there was usually somewhere good to have dinner in the evening. Lunch stops were a bit thin on the ground but we usually found somewhere. The bicycles were heavy but in very good nick: the route is mostly flat and any slight downhills outnumber the uphills - which often related to gaining the altitude required to cross over the bridges over the river rather than anything else. There are churches in abundance, from big to small and most towns have a schloss (castle). There are some spectacular monasteries and when you get to Vienna, it is clear that it was the centre of the world for quite a long time with monuments and buildings to show for it! The distances are manageable - on the last day, you can get a train to cut the distance down to about 50 km but we decided to cycle from Krems to Vienna (about 90 km) and we survived!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The abbey at Melk is very impressive, and the old castle (ruins) at Hinterhaus are worth a visit for the view (takes about 30-40 minutes off saddle to walk up to it just before Spitz).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not applicable
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Nigel Forrest

    Excellent trip

    This is an easy ride; and the route is varied and very attractive. Virtually none of the cycling is along roads with motor traffic; and I appreciated how the sign-posted Danube cycle path diverted, from time to time, away from the river bank to go through fields, woods and quiet villages. The hotels, baggage transfers and logistics worked very well. I was impressed by the quality of the accommodation -- and its variety.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The steep valleys and remoteness on the first two days. The Donauschlinge resort at Schloegen is lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not applicable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you don`t have a GPS app or device, be wary of the (sometimes thin) written instructions for getting into and out of some of the towns, as supplied by the Radreisefreunde local organisers. You are given maps as well as written directions, at the briefing meeting at the beginning. The maps were generally excellent; but they don`t always correspond to where you`re staying (they provide for multiple overnight accommodation alternatives -- and in some cases none of those apply to your particular itinerary). I found difficulty getting out of Melk on the right track; and into the right place in Vienna on the final day. However, overall, navigation was easy and trouble-free.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Ian Hill

    The title of the trip was appropriate.

    The organisation worked well. Trip notes and maps together made route finding easy. The route was varied and interesting; opportunities for eating and drinking were many. The quality of hotels was good, though only two provided tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The bikes were well-maintained, but are rather heavy, so it was a good job the route was mostly flat. There were no bottle cages provided, which made stopping for water a bit of a faff! Overall, a very enjoyable week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    too many to mention.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    not applicable as it was self-guided.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have ridden a bike a lot in recent times. Savlon helps with saddle soreness. Learn a bit of German, particularly to do with food and drink. Being able to read a map is essential if you miss the direction signs, though they are generally pretty clear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't think so.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Andrew noble

    A relaxing diversion, with interesting things to see on the way

    My wife has been keen on a trip through vienna for a while. We chose the passau to vienna trip as other reviewers rated it higher than the similar vienna to Budapest. Both follow the danube. The best thing about this trip is that being relatively gentle paced it allows time to visit places on the way, which is really the whole point. We saw a WW II concentration camp (utterly horrific) , visited a trappist monastery and tasted their beer and spirits, saw an awful lot of other churches, monasteries and gardens. The whole cycling route is dotted with pleasant cafes. The route plan recommends good restaurants and we were not disappointed. Austria is accustomed to vegetarian and vegan diets. The palaces and museums of vienna are spectacular, the kaisers crypt is worth a visit. We recommend a great veggie restaurant in vienna called Tian. The guide notes are very simple but in a good way. I recommend having a phone with Google maps or similar when you get to the cities though... Much easier to navigate the busy streets. The bikes on hire are a good standard, though we like to bring our own saddles and pedals. We took the option of an extra few days in vienna, I knocked a star off because the information on this part was not so well organised. We were given turn by turn instructions but no accompanying map and there was some confusion about whether we were supposed to have a vienna pass. (this would have saved us a lot of money it turned out later)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The thing that will stay with me is what we saw in the mauthausen concentration camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take in the sights on the way. A set of waterproofs and overshoes were useful on our only wet day.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Alex Burgess

    A fantastic Austrian Experience

    This trip was perfect. From forests and mountains to wine producing valleys this stretch of the Danube provides stunning scenery and lovely villages and towns such as Grein and Melk along the way. Well sign-posted purpose built, smooth cycling paths made this trip effortless and friendly, comfortable hotels along the way made this trip one I'd highly recommend if you are looking for an easy-going trip. As there are only a few stretches on quiet roads and a couple on paths alongside busy roads (the rest on quiet cycle tracks) and the distances are manageable you don't need to be a confident cyclist to enjoy this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the former concentration camp at Mauthausen was a chilling reminder of the atrocities carried out by the Nazis in World War Two. A very worthwhile visit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go for it! It couldn't be simpler. We flew in to/out of Vienna and took a train from Vienna Airport to Passau but you could also fly in to Munich and take a train from here to Passau if you wanted to. Don't pay for entry to Melk Abbey (you can walk up to the Abbey and wander around the courtyard without paying).
  • A excellent first self-guided cycling trip

    We cycled this route in May 2016 and we had a wonderful time. The cycle route is well maintained, the navigation was very clear with the resources provided and the scenery was spectacular. Vienna was a suiting end to a very scenic trip.  A great first self-guided cycling trip to try. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the cycle route to Krems. Passing through endless fields of vineyards and green farmland with the Danube river in the background was a great experience. There were castles and majestic palaces atop the Austrian hills and we passed many local wine producers and quaint villages on this cycle day. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We cycled independently however the introductory briefing on the first day was informative and friendly. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We booked our train in advance from Vienna to Passau and a first class upgrade was cheap for the 3hr train journey. The Mauhausen Memorial is approximately 5km off route (uphill!) but it's well preserved and definitely worth a visit. The memorial is on Day 4 between Linz and Grein. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first self-guided cycling trip and it is a excellent introduction. Cycling through Austrian countryside along well-maintained and traffic free paths was a brilliant experience. The hotels are all excellent quality and I would highly recommend this trip! 
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Roger Dyer

    Cycling the Danube.

    What a great trip, we had great weather for the cycle ride, we met some lovely people too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at each destination at the end of each day without getting wet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When you get to Vienna airport, walk across to the railway station and get a direct train to Passau. They run every two hours and we were not told of this service.
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - PASSAU TO VIENNA

    My partner and I did the self guided ride and enjoyed it very much. It gave us the chance to feel we really experienced the lovely Austrian scenery, pretty villages and towns with a sense of achievment to have done a 300 +km ride. My partner is 79!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved riding through the fields of corn, through the vineyards with the vines laden with grapes and through the dappled light in the forests. The Danube was always  a source of activity and interest and we crossed it many times on the quaint little wooden ferries .The towns of Grien and Melk were particularly lovely places to stay overnight.There were some interesting side trips offered. Luggage transfers went smoothly. All the hotels were of a good standard and Hotel Nibelungenhof in Traismaure was really excellent with wonderful warm hospitality and superb food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were on our own

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can google the map on your phone Im sure it would be a big help as the Trip notes let us down on several occasions. Dont worry about the bikes, they are excellent and almost ride themselves. Stefan who set us up with the bikes in Passau was most helpful and accomodating.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were only given one set of trip notes and one bag and we found this difficult. Please issue these to all riders. We would have preferreed to be accomodated in a smaller town than Linz. It was the small towns that were an important part of our enjoyment of the trip, Grien, Melk and Traismauer were lovely.The trip notes were obscure at times and this combined with our not so hot navigational talents meant we rode many more kms than necessary.For example Linz- Grien We could not find Werksstrasse after the Mittenkirk Bridge.Pg 21 of trip notes. says "take care" re the branching road.. It would have been simpler to say follow the Donauradweg signs turning right on the path before the fork in the road. This lead us to do 8 extra km on out longest day. Melk - Krems Traismauer. The trip notes say simply "continue" to Hotle Nibelungenhof. We needed to know which way to continue. We got lost again. Traismauer- Vienna. We had been given train tickets from  Traismauer  to Tulln but when we got to the station at 9.30am we were told there are no trains, we gathered they only depart at peak hour. This was frustratiing as we had anticipated riding 40km, not 80 that day. Arriving in Vienna. This turned into a nightmare and we took 2 hours from the outskirst to our hotel. Pg 34 says "turn right at the JV Schemmeri Bruche" It is very hard to see the name on this brige- and we missed it- however there are 2 huge lions on it. It would have been helpful if we were looking for the lions not an small obscure name. Try and simplify the directions to hotel Donauzentrum. We took nearly 8 hrs to ride that leg and were exhausted at the end.It would be helpful if you gave the full addresses of the hotels, at the end of the day you want all the help you can get to arrive there!We felt that the trip was maybe a lillte pricey when we discovered the accomodation costs.  
Call us on 056 631 86 64