Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Harriet van Pelt

    Lovely mix of food, wine and culture

    Lovley holiday. Great overview of many different towns visiting lots of cultural sites. Amazing food and wine, with great tours and tastings. You'll never be hungry or thirsty ;) on this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going up mount Etna, an optional extra but well worth it! Going to buy lunch in the local market was a great experience and visiting the different producers was very interesting. The Etna wine tasting with food pairings was really fun. There were so many great bits, it's hard to pick only one!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rosario was very good! Got us from a-b, fed and watered us. He was very knowledgeable about the local areas and answered any questions or querys with the patience of a saint! What more could you ask for :)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a larger suitcase or sacrificial clothes! There was so many things we wanted to bring home. Nothing too unwieldly though, as there was a few short walks to some of the hotels with some uneven surfaces.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotels were okay, did the job for a night's stay, some were better than others. One night did result in a supermarket supper due to the closure of the hotels restaurant but tbh we were so full from lunch didn't miss it and the bar was still open.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jo Stevens

    Frizzante Sicilia

    A gastronomic delight!. From the hands on cookery class and wine tasting tasting to sampling Sicilian delicacies in the historical Capo market. Plus a big thank you to the team for arranging gluten free alternatives throughout the tour, from fusilli pasta to wheat free desserts, it truly exceeded all my expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Capo market, was a delight, seeing the extensive mosaics at the Roman Villa, the hands-on cookery class, drinking sparkling wine in the square in Ragusa surrounded by beautifully lit architecture and the list goes on...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was very helpful, informative and was keen to ensure we really got the most out of our tour.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Paul Barnes

    Great Trip

    Really enjoyed the trip. A fascinating island, great food, wonderful history. My only criticism is that we tried to cover too much, which at times led to us only reaching our hotel at 19.00.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cooking tutorial

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a pretty hectic tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Rosario was a great host and guide. He very much became one of the group.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Theresa Wareham

    Fabulous trip

    Really interesting, active trip with plenty of interesting food & wine experience, history, culture and lovely group of people. Led by an excellent tour leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cookery demonstration & practice. This was in a beautiful environment & we had excellent tuition in preparing the food for our lunch. And then eating our food in a delightful outdoor courtyard in the warm sun was just wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was great. Really friendly & good fun but also efficient & very knowledgeable. I’d happily go on a trip with him again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do need a reasonable level of fitness. There was quite a lot of walking to do & a couple of the people in our party struggled a bit. It does say about good health & reasonable fitness in the tour details but this needs to be emphasised at the booking stage.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a big thank you to the booking team, to our tour leader & to our wonderful coach driver.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jenifer Knox

    My daughter Jane's and my wonderful holiday

    My daughter Jane and I enjoyed a most wonderful holiday in Sicily last April 22nd to 29th. There was so much to see and do and Rosario looked after us so weii from meeting us in Palermo airport til we said goodbye at Catania. He went to so much trouble to find us lovely restaurants with delicious food. He helped us understand the menu and it was lovely for our group to dine with the local people. Our tour was amazing and Rosario and his colleagues had such a wealth of knowledge about all the wonderful places they showed us and their history. The opportunity to visit the farm and see the cheese being made and of course taste it was wonderful. Also to see the Masala wine being made and taste it. The market, the olive farm the winery and wine tasting was brilliant. The cookery class was amazing and it was great to learn how to make the dishes and then be able to eat them. The hotels were all excellent and Guiseppe was an excellent driver and all our travel was very comfortable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We enjoyed it all. My daughter loved the mosaics at Piazza Armerina. I found Mt Etna breathtaking. I also loved Palermo and the valley of the temples. Taormina was wonderful too. We certainly got our food adventure and the wine to accompany it with the added bonus of seeing the wonderful sights and learning the history of the beautiful island of Sicily.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Rosario was amazing. He was very kind, thoughtful understanding and patient. He had so much knowledge about all the places we saw and explained it all so well. He made sure we had plenty of comfort breaks and opportunities to have coffee granita, ice cream etc aswell as the food tasting which was arranged for us. This was very much appreciated by us all. He arranged for us all to have our evening meal as a group if we wished and that was a great help for us all to get to know each other and made the holiday extra special because we all got on so well. Our sincere thanks to him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear comfortable footwear the streets are beautiful but very steep and uneven.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a wonderful holiday and I highly recommend it.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Helen Betts

    A Disappointing guide

    A taste of Italy covered the highlights of Sicily in 8 days, the concept was admirable, giving travellers the opportunity to return to taste it further. The accommodation was good. The Guide was a disappointment. He was not informative at any level and as we stayed in Sicily for another 10 days, we did receive good information about the country, it’s customs and history when on various day trips. I would not travel with exodus again or recommend the company to anyone else

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Agrigento .. we had an excellent local guide. We also had an excellent local guide at piazza armerina.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were very disappointed in the group leader. See above.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Exodus would like to thank Helen for taking the time to review her trip. We were very sorry to read, however, that Helen was disappointed with the tour’s leadership and did not find Tiziano to be sufficiently informative. Tiziano has been working for Exodus since September 2017 and has always been rated highly by previous clients with an average rating of 4.75 out of 5. We have reviewed the past feedback for him and are very confident that he continues to meet Exodus’ high expectations but we have asked Tiziano to provide as much information as possible to his future groups. Marta Marinelli - Product Manager

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Barbara Martinez

    Trip of a lifetime

    This was the trip of a lifetime, words cant describe how amazing it was. Everything went perfectly and smoothly we had zero issues or problems other than very very minor ones. Vincenzo our guide was absolutely amazing and our driver Salvadore as well. They both did everything to make our trip wonderful. I could not recommend this more highly. The food, the hotels, the scenery, everything was perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was brought to tears several times, it is hard to say what was the most inspirational. The whole thing was outstanding. Generally the best thing about the trip was the schedule. It was just so well planned with the right amount of adventure but also enough rest time. Really well done!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I loved Vincenzo!!! He was like a brother to all of us, he put up with our silly questions and helped us in every way he could. He was very professional and knowledgeable. I would go on a tour again with Vincenzo as the guide any time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure to have electrolyte tablets with you at all times. It is very hot and it is easy to get dehydrated. Those tablets saved our bacon a few times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You cant go wrong booking the Italy Food Adventure. It was so well planned, the daily excursions were just right - we were tired some days but not too much and every day was a new and wonderful adventure. We were all ladies in our 50's and 60's and we got along really well in spite of not knowing each other. The hotels were really good, a couple were not the best but certainly suitable, a couple were "OMG gorgeous" and the rest were just really nice. I would not hesitate to recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Wendy Fittock

    Immerse yourself in Sicily!

    Sicily is a fascinating treasure trove of history and beauty. This trip allows you to experience the Sicilian way of life using food as a lure to explore its villages, towns and landscape as you move from one side of the island to the other.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mixture of architecture which display Sicily's history through its Roman, Byzantine, Arab (etc, etc) periods, but now sit harmoniously together - is truly inspiring. Also, the endless mosaics at Piazza Armerina which taught me (both visually & by the enthusiastic local guide!), more about Roman way of life and their amazing feats, than any book or tv documentary ever did! I'm not usually enamoured by "old ruins", but the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento is a sight to behold! Mount Etna - I hadn't expected it's lush rich vegetation and then the contrast of the stark black ash landscape on areas affected by historic lava flow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Vincenzo was extremely knowledgeable and his passion for his home land was infectious. He hit the balance just right in telling us about wherever we were visiting that day, without feeling that you were ever getting "information overload". Always cheerful and polite ... the whole week's itinerary was run efficiently and (it would appear) effortlessly. Given we were changing hotels most nights (which had so far put me off doing this trip), we seemed to blend magically from one resort to the next in a very relaxed manner - ready for the next day's adventure! Also a "shout out" to Salvatore who drove our bus for the week - kind and courteous - who even stopped the bus en route in order to pick some fruits from the trees for our enjoyment!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip not only gives you a Food Adventure, it also gives you a taster of Sicily's many beautiful villages/towns. Though our visit was transient, there's a whole list of places I'd like to revisit .... Noto, Ortigia, Trapani ... where do I stop? There's art and courtyards hidden throughout the land - you need to keep a keen eye out, or you'll miss something!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Martha Chapman

    Sicily Food Tour

    A wonderful introduction to this enormous island, combining the must-see sites (Etna etc.) with wine, cheese, chocolate, gelato and other tastings. A lot of movement with 6 different hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The stunning church at Monreale. Our local guide in Palermo/Monreale, Marina, was exceptional, so knowledgeable and so much fun. And the visits to the markets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very kind and well meaning but inexperienced and her English not good enough for such a tour. (At one point there was almost a mutiny, which was averted when a Spanish-speaking Norwegian group member intervened and conversed with her in Spanish which she was more comfortable with than English.) This was my fourth Exodus tour in Italy and I'd have to say the guide was definitely the low point/biggest disappointment of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be nice if Exodus could include the room taxes, after paying so much for a tour it does seem very "cheap" that we must pay a Euro or two at every hotel. Some dinner suggestions at each stop as we were sometimes "dumped" in a hotel either on the edge of town or not visibly close to any restaurants. Also a farewell dinner inclusion would be nice.
  • Reviewed June 2016

    Sicily Food Adventure

    I went on the trip from the Exodus office to ensure the first departure ran smoothly and to make suggestions for future departures. There will be a few minor changes for future trips, but overall, I felt it was a good introduction to Sicily combined with great opportunities to sample the local cuisine. The balance between historical sights and food tasting was perfect, with a decent amount of free time to relax so you didn't feel rushed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were lots, but real highlights for me were: eating fresh seafood overlooking the harbour in Sciacca, an incredible meal in a restaurant under the church in Ragusa, amazing food tasting in the boutique hotel at Piazza Armerina after seeing the Roman mosaics, wandering through the market in Siracusa checking out all the fresh produce, and plenty of cheap but excellent local wine!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabio is a nice guy and obviously loves his island, although he did sometimes lack the authority needed in a tour leader, perhaps because this was the first time the trip had run and he was not so familiar with the itinerary. His knowledge of Sicily was excellent, especially the geology and geography.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go on this trip, be prepared to eat lots! There was so much good food on offer that you'd never go hungry, and you'll never eat the same thing twice. Try as many of the local specialities as possible, and make sure you have plenty of space on your memory card because there's so much to take pictures of, whether it's the beautiful old towns, the market stalls or the dishes that arrive in front of you at the restaurants.Also, try to relax and adjust to the Sicilian way of life - service in restaurants can be slow and seemingly disorganised, especially in the west of the island which receives less visitors, and drinks are usually served at the same time as the food, not before the meal.
Call us on 056 631 86 64