Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    S J

    Cycling the Dolomites

    This was a wonderful trip, with many great, long downhills trails through gorgeous green foothills of the mountains. There were a number of ups too, which a few of us had anticipated with e-bikes, but only the weaker cyclists found these challenging. There was quite a bit of gravel to cycle, both downhill and up, which I personally love, but a number of the group didn't. The hotel was luxurious, with us all having very large suites to stay in, two bathrooms each and a 4 or 5 course meal each night. The waiters were also very accommodating and would adjust menus to suit the vegetarian's etc.. The jacuzzi and pool were great, with co-op and bakery around the corner. Probably less cycling than other trips I have cycled on, but much more space to relax or wander along the river.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wonderful downhill cycling where you could really let go and see into the distance that you were safe.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was very safety conscious, great with the bikes and bike checks, great at cycling to and fro to keep an eye on everyone but less great with the pastoral caring for group members. He could also do with just a little checking out of things like numbers and distances of mountain walking routes for days off, bus and train times etc... He could have picked up individual maps and time tables from the very local tourist information and just one page of A4 could have covered questions he must get asked every tour, ie nobody wants to be charged 100 Euros for not validating a train ticket which a stranger told us about. Jon is a young man, but has a middle aged age group who are at an age of being interested in hearing about Italy/Austria, the local impact of the World War, the name of the red hare that we saw (which incidentally is a Belgian Hare not a rabbit) introducing sights along the coach routes etc...but he made no efforts to fill us in or find out when we asked. A little bit of effort on this front, would make a big difference to his overall impression to us middle aged cyclists. I would see this as feedback to other young tour leaders I have had on these group cycling holidays.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Arianna Jakositz

    Cycling In The Dolomites

    My husband and I booked this trip in search of an active vacation with very little planning on our part, and we were far from disappointed. Being our first Exodus trip and our first group cycling trip, we weren’t sure what to expect but didn’t end up worn-out or challenged by any of the rides so all was well there (for reference, we live at a slightly higher altitude and regularly commute via bike). Aside from that, the scenery was BEAUTIFUL. Both of us frequently commented that the mountains and valleys didn’t seem real — how could something so exquisite exist? To top it all off, everyone we encountered was ridiculously nice, Hotel Adler was spectacular, and the dinners each night were delicious (and incredibly filling). It ended up being far more of a pleasant, much-needed reprieve from day-to-day life than we expected it to be.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ride on day 2 had us stopping and admiring the scenery a lot, but our hiking around Helm (reached by gondola from Sesto/Sexten) definitely yielded the most breathtaking views. Get above the tree line, it’s worth it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jon did a great job keeping us all together... and “rescuing” us when we strayed off path accidentally. He rotated between sticking with those of us at the front of the group on rides and those of us at the back, which kept everything feeling cohesive. Jon also was a friendly and funny guy to spend the week with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Maybe don’t opt for an e-bike on this trip? Quite a few rides were on rockier terrain than I expected and it seemed difficult to navigate (especially going downhill) for the one person on an e-bike in our group. We had standard hybrid bikes that even to me didn’t feel like the right sort of bike at times... but maybe I’m just used to riding on asphalt and cement and I can’t be helped there.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Those church bells ring every 15 minutes in Villabassa/Niederdorf. We slept right through them, but others... not so much.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Chris Kelly

    Amazing views clean air

    My second Exodus trip my first was a grade 3 this one was a grade 2 found it a bit easy but the sights were amazing

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    An amazing hotel with great food but inspirational moment was ever time you walk out of hotel and looked at your surroundings

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jon was our group leader who done a great job but would have preferred an Italian guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A very easy trip for beginners no training needed
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Kristján Friðþjófsson

    Good trip to Bick riding from Villabassa

    September 10, 2016 were 7 Icelandic people went on to Italy for a bike ride. we landed in Venice in the late afternoon and welcome us took Jonatan tour guide with a smile. We drove by bus to Villabassa at the hotel Adler. In the hotel the staff took greatly with os. In the evening they offered a dinner. Next morning Jonatan had a meeting about the trip of the week, the rules and our insurance. Jonatan tour guide was a great success and he showed us how we should view the wheels at the start of the trip. These trips had Jonathan great responsibility and that we will not be lost in the path. We, the seven icelandic, give Jonatan 10 stars for his 100% guiding and give os good attitude for this bike trip. We were very happy with this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The landscape and bike routes

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great responsibility and that we will not be lost in the path.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To go on this trip to Villabassa

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We, the seven icelandic was happy with this trip
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Larry Dacunto

    Disappointing

    We just returned from the Exodus bike trip (MED) "Dolomites Center Based Cycling" and it was disappointing compared to 18 others we have experienced in Europe and another dozen elsewhere. First and most serious is the fact that Exodus was the ONLY company we have ever experienced that did not provide, at least to every other person, any kind of written directions, map, or strip map. We were totally dependent on the tour guide and his oral instructions from time to time. Second, Exodus was the ONLY company we have experienced that did not provide, at least to every other person, a spare tube and tire levers. Again, we were totally dependent on the tour guide to repair even simple punctures. The rental bicycles were the worst we have ever experienced. They were fairly new and clean, but our 16 riders had more problems due to poor maintenance than all the other rides we have experienced put together --- several with gear issues, loose electric wire, seat quick-adjust fell off, chain ring guard fell off, many under-inflated tires, etc. Finally, Exodus plainly ripped off customers who booked thru their North American office versus their London office. The Exodus price in their printed catalogue was 899 UK £ which converts to less than $1400 US. The website which appears to North American customers indicated the same tour was hundreds of dollars more per person after making the exchange rate. On the good side: The hotel was excellent, though full of flies even in the dining room, and the food was particularly fine. The routes chosen were beautiful. The van support was timely but for one occassion. The tour guide worked very hard at keeping us organized and moving. Overall, this tour was a poor experience and we will not again choose Exodus nor recommend Exodus to anyone, especially those outside the UK subject to discriminatory pricing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing Cimabanche, an Alpine pass.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Worked hard keeping 16 people together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring flypaper to the hotel.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Justine Patterson

    Stunning Scenery

    This week long trip is a great cycling holiday set in a stunning part of the world. The scenery is breathtaking and we were lucky to have had warm sunny weather. Each day's ride took us in a different direction, to explore new places, towns, and revealing scenic vistas along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On our free day some of us walked up to and around Lago di Braies which is a magical place despite its popularity. Cycling to and into Cortina d'Ampezzo with its surrounding peaks was a high point (pardon the pun!).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Radu was great. He approached his role with a balanced mix of fun, flexibility and organised structure. In acknowledgement of this holiday being a new offering for Exodus, he was keen to include us in the decision making during the daily rides and actively sought our feedback. Radu skilfully managed our group of 12 to make the trip a positive experience for every member.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although the trip is classed leisurely to moderate, the cycling and pace is very leisurely and not at all taxing. You may need to adjust your expectations, sit back and enjoy the scenery!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was good to enjoy a centre based cycling holiday, more relaxing than having to 'pack & transfer' every day. We had a good mix of interesting people in our group, not just Brits!
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Brigitte Schneeloch

    Dolomites Centre-based Cycling

    Brilliant, wonderful, exciting, awe inspiring! A most inspirational week in the Alpes. Very good planning avoiding the cycling becoming too taxing, as daily transport was arranged to supply us with very manageable cycling. We found everything as described in the tripnotes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me personally, although being a passionate cyclist, the best day was our free day which my friend and I spent walking up to the summit of Monte Helmo ( after catching the gondola lift to 2000 m ). The view from there and the buzz from the achievement was breathtaking!! I would recommend this to anybody

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Radu, with the help of Jon, made a great team. Radu was a very knowledgable and caring leader, had good communication, humour, and was always available for advice. A lovely person to be with!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For me it was the best cycling trip I have had with Exodus in Europe! We were lucky weather wise!
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Unni Vester-Hodgson

    Dolomites centre- based cycling

    The trip was a success from beginning to end. Hotel Adler and staff made us all very welcome. The terrain was, in my opinion, a true leisurely/moderate taking us through the most breathtaking terrain at a comfortable pace. We were, therefore, able to take it all in and enjoying the scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through this spectacular terrain and riding by fast flowing rivers and the Dolomites all around us meant a real connection with nature. On the free day I can strongly recommend a trip to Helmhaus.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader: Radu Man was just superb - definitely a strong contender for the leader of the year. His personality, people skills and organisational skills were ace! He is a great asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As always, ensure to bring clothing for hot and cold weather enabling layers. Weather these days are so unpredictable - don't be fooled.
Call us on 056 631 86 64