Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Peter Lyne

    MTB Atlas Descent

    This is a. Exodus classic which has evolved over the years . Consequently the quality of organisation and leadership by the experienced guides was first rate . We were unlucky with the weather but nevertheless had a good week with a modified itinerary thanks to the determination and local knowledge of our guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Conquering very challenging wind, rain and hail on day 2 . Also the worst sticky mud I have encountered in 20 years of mountain biking in many different countries ! The resilience of our group was impressive .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant . Coped with at times difficult situations with calm, competent leadership.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Work on your fitness and off road skills . Morocco is not all benign mild weather so be prepared with enough gear to cope with cold, wet weather if necessary including good quality wind and rain proof biking jacket, full finger gloves etc
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Simon Hill

    Atlas Descent

    Second time on this trip and once again it was brill. Great riding, stunning scenery, amazing tour leaders and a good group of fellow riders.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brill! Both Radu and Liz were great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy it
  • Reviewed November 2018
    James Dodwel

    Beautiful scenery, excellent tour leaders and company.

    Our week in Morocco was expertly led by Liz and Radu who were always there to help and sort out any issues. Despite the extreme weather (temperature ranged fro zero to +30 and there was lots of rain at times) and inability to ride some trails (good alternatives were always found) we had an extremely enjoyable week. The company was great as well - even more fun than on the road biking trips!!! The scenery was stunning with some great views. Goats really do climb trees!!! Some bits of advice: It does get cold and it does rain - so make sure to bring plenty of layers and head/ neck wear Bring shampoo as Hotels in Morocco don’t always provide it Some hotels are dry - you may not always be able to get a beer A great trip that I would recommend - even to a mountain bike virgin such as myself

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The group leaders - Liz and Radu - who helped everything run smoothly despite the weather related obstacles. Getting the bikes fit for riding on the last was extreme devotion to duty

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders - Liz and Radu - who helped everything run smoothly despite the weather related obstacles They were both always had a smile and were very helpful Getting the bikes fit for riding on the last was extreme devotion to duty

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is cold and sometimes very wet in the mountains. Bring lots of layers and good waterproofs. Warm Head/neck gear is essential It can be muddy Hotels don’t always have shampoo. Bring your own

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed November 2018
    M. O'Day

    Atlas Descent--fun off-road riding with moments of terror

    Ditto other reviews--lots of fun double track and old roads, beautiful views, lots of camaraderie, many challenges. But I'd like to make others aware that I found some of the technical sections beyond my abilities. I realize that "technical" is a subjective term but I found the riding far more technical than I had expected. Luckily I was able to walk the shorter ultra-technical sections, which were either very steep with large, loose rocks and tight turns or short sections with rocks sticking up 6-8 inches. The others in my group (of ages ranging from 29 to 65) were able to ride these sections so I was definitely the weakest rider--the reviewer who said this is serious mountain biking nailed it. But I just suggest that if anyone is concerned about the difficulty of this tour they contact Exodus and ask detailed questions about the trails. I'm still very glad I went and but did have some days of pure terror mixed with incredible fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding down into the gorges near Ait Mansour full of palm trees. The scenery was incredible and it was amazing to be in a remote part of this beautiful country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was a strong rider and always concerned about our safety. Every day she reviewed our route and any dangers to be aware of. Our guide Alexis was also a strong rider and stayed at the back of the group to make sure no one got into trouble. But riding was just a part of the trip. With Liz' familiarity with the country and Alexis' language skills (he speaks French natively), they helped straighten out any problems at meals or at the hotels. Their communication with our 3 drivers was also excellent and things went very smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The crew always carried extensive first aid kits but I recommend bringing your own Neosporin and some bandaids to do follow-on care at night. It is easy for any wounds to get infected in Morocco. Also, bring Immodium and Cipro to deal with digestive problems. I was the only one in the group to develop problems but these kind of things can impact your enjoyment of your holiday. For vegetarians: I was lucky enough to have Liz as my tour leader, who was also vegetarian. She helped make sure that I got vegetarian meals. Otherwise, be aware that the definition of "vegetarian" is loose in Morocco. It really helps to have someone who speaks the languages well (Arabic or French) to ask the servers what exactly is in the food.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We used Genesis Mantle 30 mountain bikes with front suspension and 29" wheels. These bikes were amazing. I couldn't believe the rocky terrain that I was able to ride over with this bike. Too bad the bike was better than its rider!!!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Alan Thompson

    Atlas Descent

    Forget about enjoying the scenery, there just isn't time. The mountains were stunning, but I couldn't observe a lot until the rest stops. The downhill biking was run at an incredible pace and probably surprised most of us at what we tackled and achieved. The Exodus guys were prepared to go at a pace with which we could all cope and that was amazingly fast. l think I'm still high on adrenaline. There was quite a range of biking confidence and styles but I'm pretty sure everyone had a great time. Radu and John couldn't have done a better job of looking after us, our welfare, our safety and the bikes. My only issue, and that of my fellow travellers, Exodus don't appear to do any more trips quite as good as this. Take you life in your hands, get on the bike and go for it, you won't regret it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 3 a 20k downhill in the most rugged terrain, and at the lunch stop, the overwhelming feeling of what we had achieved.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great - see note above

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate, sign up now

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accommodation was very good but perhaps the room quality could be better in the first hotel in the mountains
  • Reviewed April 2018
    S H

    Absolutely Brilliant!

    The last week of March 2018, I met with 10 other cyclists and 2 Exodus cyclists. Weather was great all week. Mountain biking was just that - real mountains, middle of nowhere, old rocky tracks; most just about capable of 4x4 - which is just as well as we had two Toyota Landcruisers as back up along with a transit minibus leapfrogging. Day 1 - Straight into a long and exciting descent - a real test of skill set - shale surface to huge rocks, all just about manageable by all of us. Excellent - Exodus guides and back up drivers Good - Hotels and food - as described in brochure/web - cleanliness with food handling a major factor throughout Excellent - choice of routes, camaraderie, bikes, excitement, social evenings, views and natural scenery. Excellent - leadership and cycling knowledge by both guides; both at the very top of MTB cycling but not bragging or showing off. Really mature characters. Climbing - yes there was plenty of uphill cycling - if you wanted to - there was always a choice of a back up vehicle if you didn’t fancy a particular climb. All aspects were clearly explained - the distance of the climb, the steepness and the choice of cycle or not. Never an issue at all. Other positives - evening meals, small cycle challenges (ride on the blue rocks, ride a single v steep rock) It was such great cycling that I’m going to return - not something I normally would consider. It was a truly exciting, seat of the pants, on the edge cycling experience. By the way - everyone was tucked up in bed before 2230 - happily worn out! Well done Rad and John. Stuart

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Plenty of factor 50

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    .
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Emma Dart

    Fantastic Trip

    Plenty of uphills in this Atlas Descent!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being immersed in the hugely diverse scenery which changed daily from red rock sandstone to barren mountains to lush palm oases to alpine meadow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jon was excellent; unflappable, organised, hardworking, always going the extra mile, down to earth, approachable, knowledgeable and spending time with each member of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went on the trip in February and were glad of our layers, thermals and waterproofs!! It rained some days and the temperature felt near zero at some of the higher altitudes. Some of the sections were muddy and some of the descents / ascents were fairly technical, some parts were similar to red graded UK trails. The bikes all seemed to be tubeless and were very well maintained. None of the group had a puncture so we wouldn't have bothered bringing spare inner tubes in hindsight. We did bring bags with platypus type bladders but in hindsight bottles are better because you can then leave your bag in the jeep.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try to visit the souk in Agadir, sights / sounds / smells were amazing. Also don't miss the walk to the Cascades in Immouzer.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Ania Sroka

    Atlas Descent

    A fantastic way of getting to know Morocco from a saddle. The holiday was far better than anticipated and has reignited my sense of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Retracing routes that in some cases have been used for years. Feeling the support of everyone both guides, drivers and fellow holiday goers. Feeling part of a great team. Feeling included regardless of ability or age.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Radu was wonderful and I loved the fact that he was sooooooo patient and answered most of my very curious questions with enthusiasm. John was such a support both on and off the bike. Both guides filled the holiday with fun and laughs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have a solid pair of cycling shorts that can withstand all sorts of cycling both on and off road. Some people used buffs to cover their faces especially on the off road downhill sections as it could get quite dusty. Be prepared to get a couple of bruises preferably on the bike.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved the holiday and the atmosphere was great. I thought that we would all be spread out and never see each other because we all had different abilities. As it happened, everyone was supportive of everyone else which made the holiday for me.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Sarah Walker

    Great trip with stunning mountain views

    A great mountain biking trip, nothing too technical but loads of fun ups and downs. The scenery is just epic, huge mountains as far as you can see. Combined with blue skies and great guiding a perfect new year start!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The variety of inspiring scenery we cycled through - all in the middle of nowhere. And amazing stars at night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget to change money back before you go through passport control on your way home.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Keith Hunt

    atlas descent

    Great trip Challenging off road cycling with great scenery. Pretty basic accommodation much of the time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fantastic scenery in the Atlas mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Radu was excellent. Always thinking ahead,He had great attention to detail and understanding of the preferences of the individual group members.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is very cold in the mountains so bring enough warm clothes - the sort of things you'd wear cycling on a winters day in the UK.
Call us on 056 631 86 64