Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

83 Reviews

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Peter Cooke

    One of the best holidays yet.

    My wife and I had an amazing time. The combination of cycling, culture, new friends and fantastic guiding made this truely memorable. Thank you Mchele and Martino, and of course all the other members of our group. One more thing,... was it needing it or was the food fantastic anyway?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing that Vicenza lived up to the description. The dinner in the square with the group, Martino and Michele's family was wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I could not praise Michele enough. I shall be joing him again soon for another trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it!
  • Fantastic Italian Cycle

    A brilliant trip from mountains to sea with something for everyone in between. The route is along well kept cycle paths and quiet country roads. The cycling isn't too strenuous but there are plenty of challenges for those looking to push themselves - and there are a few optional early morning cycles if you really want to go for it. The scenery is spectacular, food is amazing and the guides are inspiring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 4km descent from the Monte Berico hills to the vineyard is amazing. As tempting as it is to keep the head down and enjoy the downhill with out interruption make sure you stop somewhere to take in the views before jumping back on the bike and speeding to the bottom all too soon. Lunch at the Vineyard afterwards is a fantastic spread and well deserved.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Martino were fantastic. They both have a great sense of humor, lots of experience and patience. They were always smiling - whether its at 6am on one of the optional morning rides or gone midnight touring Venice by moonlight. From the moment we were met at the airport to returning us to normality in Venice we didn't have to worry about a thing. Both of them go above and beyond to make sure that everyone enjoys their holiday. Thank you!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like hills say 'yes' to the optional early morning cycle from Trento. It follows part of the Giro route and is definitely a hill. The ascent takes 30 minutes and descent takes 3 minutes! The bragging rights at breakfast are definitely worth it! Our final cycle to Venice was cancelled due to heavy rain but this wasn't a problem because it gave us a full day in Venice. If you're given the option leave the bikes, take the train and enjoy the guided tour of Venice through the back streets away from the tourists.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you haven't booked already do it now!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Alan Knott

    An inspiring and enjoyable trip

    This was one of the best holidays I have had. The combination of cycling, scenery, excellent company and first class leadership has made this a holiday I shall never forget.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The landscape in the Dolomites was breath taking and at times overwhelming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was a first class leader. Always made sure he had time for everyone in the group; had a great sense of humour and his knowledge of the places we visited made their history come alive

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great trip which enables you to enjoy your cycling and at the same time take in some amazing scenery

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Michele went out of his way to make the trip enjoyable. His decision, because of adverse weather conditions, for us to spend a whole day in Venice meant that we able to visit and see the city in a much more relaxed way
  • Reviewed June 2018
    L S

    Fun and fantastic

    This was a fun, leisurely, week-long ride through some of Italy's most beautiful landscapes and cities, full of history, delicious food, and great gelato. I was fortunate that there was such wonderful camaraderie amongst our group, so that there was always lots of laughs, especially when the "easy, flat" sections contained lots of undulations. I would do this trip again if I could!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first glimpse of Lake Garda.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This was my second trip with Michele as leader - he's extremely experienced, takes great care of everyone and everything, and goes above and beyond to make sure you're having a good time. Whether you are being supported up a climb, being recommended a good restaurant, or going on one of his optional early morning rides, if you're lucky enough to be in a group of his, you're in safe hands. He and Martino made a great team, with Martino joining in with all the support, all the laughs, and all the climbs. We were lucky to have them both taking care of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it and enjoy!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Philip Humphrys

    Undulating

    This was my first Exodus cycling trip, it will not be the last!! This trip takes you through some gorgeous Italian countryside, with mountains, lakes and vineyards. In addition you visit some beautiful and historic cities. We were fortunate to have bad weather on the last day which meant that cycling was abandoned in favour of the train to Venice and a full day walking tour of the city!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Travelling with a great bunch of people who were fun to be with, supportive and encouraging. Completing the ‘big’ climbs!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele is an inspirational group leader who goes out of his way to make sure that everyone has a memorable experience, nothing is too much for him. Martino likewise was very supportive especially on the ‘big’ climbs. They made an excellent team

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you get the opportunity to miss out the last day of cycling and spend a full day in Venice take it!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Catherine Stewart

    Highly recommended

    Delightful route through some beautiful countryside and staying or passing through towns oozing with italian atmosphere, history and wonderful architecture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lunch and tour of a winery - just like out of a film set! With the most delicious home-made/home-grown food, and wine, was a definite highlight. That, after swimming in a mountain lake in the early part of the trip. And the icing on the cake was being taken on a tour of Venice by our guide who was able to take us away from the crowds to discover parts of the city only locals would know, including nosing out restaurants where the locals eat!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Michele is hugely experienced in looking after cycling groups. His enthusiasm for his work and love of his country is infectious and makes the whole thing so much fun. There is no substitute for local knowledge... Martino provided very helpful back-up and worked hard to make sure everyone in the group was looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared with an additional picnic for your journey from the airport to the hotel on the first night if you want to avoid having to eat dubious motorway services food. With so much good food available in Italy, it is not the most attractive introduction to the week but probably unavoidable in view of arrival times and the local tradition in that part of the country to eat early.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our ride from Padova to Venice on the last cycling day was curtailed because of heavy rain. This turned out to be a huge bonus as that leg would not have been through particularly attractive countryside and would have taken up all of the morning and probably more. Going by train straight into Venice first thing gave us a full day there, with our guide, which made it a memorable day and a brilliant finale to a most enjoyable trip.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Rae Leach

    Cycling trip

    Great cycling through wonderful scenery.Visited some beautiful cities with their amazing buildings and history

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ride down to Lake Garda and the clean cities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good with great local knowledge

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Disappointed that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in any of the hotels,should be a standard commodity!!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    David Morton

    Superb week away!

    This was my first cycling trip, and the week was fantastic! On the morning of Day 3 at breakfast, we were commenting to each other that we could not believe we had only been cycling for 2 days. Seeing the history-packed cities of Verona, Vicenza and Padova briefly during the day and staying only 1 night, we promised to return to each city for at least a few nights in future.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the most dramatic part of the trip, despite not being actual cycling (though that was good overall), was taking a catamaran ferry from the top of Lake Garda at Riva del Garda southbound to Desenzano. Being on the water is always wonderful, and this 3-hour trip calling at gorgeous lakeside towns I had never heard of, let alone visited, was captivating. One could tell at a glance that these were all and each extraordinary places of beauty and resonance that have crafted lovely summer memories for thousands of visitors over at least a few centuries.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was a terrific leader and host for the week. Being a native of Vicenza, he knows the entire Veneto region very well and his high energy levels, good cheer and ready smile kept us all motivated and made for a wonderful trip. Martino's friendliness and support from the van was much appreciated. We enjoyed time with both guys during stops for delicious Italian food at lunchtime.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make yourself go and do at least a few cycling days of 30miles/50km in the several weeks before you go! I thought, "No problem, I'm in reasonable shape and this just a #3/moderate rated trip" and didn't do much pre-trip training. While the trip was still pleasant overall, as per Exodus' advice, one will appreciate it much more having been "in the saddle" for at least a moderate period, and significant daily duration, before travelling.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was such a wonderful week, and great experience. I loved it. So much packed in a marvellously distilled week. I will never forgot the intoxicating blasts of jasmine scent from the blossoming hedges everywhere we cycled during this first week in June! Like many more experienced fellow travellers on this trip, I am certain that I will be booking many more Exodus cycling trips over the coming years!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jane Hoskisson

    Loved every minute....even the rain!

    This trip was to celebrate a big birthday for a dear friend, and it was truly one of the best ways I can imagine to usher in a new decade. We are casual cyclists so it was great there was nothing too daunting in terms of distance and elevation - and I was so distracted by the stunning scenes that I did not mind the odd view stop on the steeper bits.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I will never forget turning the corner and seeing beautiful Lake Garda - truly magical, and I thought it could not be topped - that was until Michele took us to look at the roof tops of Venice. Breathtaking!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Martino were a great team, and I think Michele's local knowledge shone through in terms of his recommendations for restaurants every evening. He's a passionate Italian Ambassador, and for sure the trip was greatly enhanced by his local knowledge and passion for this beautiful part of the world.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a sense of humour if it rains!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was really pleased the weather was poor on the Friday as it meant we did not cycle and were able to get into Venice earlier than planned. I think the trip would benefit from a full day in Venice on the Friday rather than cycling!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    A D

    Historical towns and cities in Northern Italy

    Exceptionally high standard hotels, copious German-style breakfasts, excellent cuisine throughout the trip and sunny days have made up for the rather uninspiring group dynamics and somewhat repetitive scenery for the most part of the journey (river, vineyards, fields) . Great cycling infrastructure, long distances on mainly flat terrain, a few climbs albeit nothing that would pose a challenge to the casual cyclist (except day 4).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the challenge day that gave me a sense of achievement

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michaele has great organisational skills, is humorous, knowledgeable and always prepared to go the extra mile (quite literally)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great itinerary if you look to see several historical towns and cities in the Northern Italy while dusting off the cycling cobwebs after the cold season.