Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17 Reviews

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Tom Banfield

    Menton

    This was another delightful walking trip with a good group. The leader Jessica was born locally and is passionate about the history of her region, so that we now know all about the mountain paths along which the donkeys carried the salt over to Italy. Hotel Mediterranee is very comfortable, and close enough to the sea that we were able to have some lovely evening meals in a variety of French and Italian restaurants. on the front.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The exotic gardens at Eze, and the views over the coast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Extremely friendly and well organised - goodness knows what she put in her huge back-pack each day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not really - the Trip Notes are very accurate and say it all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Already thinking about where to go next year...
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jill Last

    Walking French riverra

    Excellent guide, Sandrine. Exodus must retain her!! Routes, excellent variety, interest and length. Good hotel. Below average breakfast. I had a very good room, but too much vegetation outside window!! Very good roof top bar. Good transport. Flights, don't like late day flights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walks up high in on coastal hills, with views down to sea. Narrow hillside tracks, walking amongst special plants. WWII underground area at top of hill - sitting on top of a gun turret, eating lunch with a 360 deg view, reflecting! Being in and exploring the old towns Day in Monaco. Our guide Sandrine was inspirational in her enthusiasm and knowledge

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding - see above.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Embrace the situation and explore the differences!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Prefer earlier flight times No meals included and quite a pricey holiday
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Karen Todd

    Walking the French Riviera

    Stunning scenery. Walks a little slow as we stopped a lot to look at the flora but sufficiently challenging.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views and visiting Eze which was optional at lunch stop. Medieval streets in small castle, very worth visiting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very helpful, explained everything clearly each day, knew the area well and pointed out all the towns and bays etc.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Bill Kerr

    Walking The French Riviera 2017

    Perfect break away - good capable leader - perfect hotel and wonderful location in Menton. We had a good week and walked to some super places. We enjoyed great meals out in the evening and altogether with the super October weather experienced a truely wonderful holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Repeated moments as walked up to 14km. in a day and was able to repeat this day after day willingly and relatively effortlessly - this was inspirational for future holidays of a similar nature

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was very capable - socialised and communicated well and we felt with her

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Use Exodus - take a fair quality camera - a sunhat and a good pair of stout shoes and UVA & B lotion factor 30-50 even in October

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A lovely location on The Riviera and a great time to go - it seemed like endless summer..
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Martha Beaumont

    Wonderful hiking trip, great guide Stephanie

    The trip was great, really nice group of people ands very knowledgable guide with a great sense of humour. The location was beautiful and the hikes very satisfying.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hike to the Italain border in the hills Overlooking the great views of the sea and the French Riviera and Italy was beautiful and peaceful. Also the walks around Menton in early evening were very scenic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very good. Highly knowledgable and supportive. She had a fun sense of humour and lot's of Stories and history of about the area and the plant life.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lot's of sunscreen and enjoying the lovely French countryside

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall, very good holiday.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Jonathan Boxhall

    La Cote d'Azur est tres belle

    This was my first walking holiday and I really enjoyed it. The Riviera is beautiful. The walks along the spectacular coastline, up in the hills and through the seemingly timeless villages were all excellent. It's hard to believe that some people live there all the time. The other people on the holiday were all nice and friendly, so I should not have worried before booking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably Roquebrune but it was all good. On Saturday morning in Menton I saw Chris Froome, Tour de France winner.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sandrine is a great guide. She has lots of knowledge of the region, was always friendly and cheerful and was always well organised. I like her taste in coffee.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I got a few insect bites but insects love me, so others might have no problems.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Coming home was disappointing. No mountains, seaside or pain au chocolat.
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Louise Lake

    Enjoyed every minute

    My first solo walking holiday surpassed expectations. Every day was different. The walks varied from rocky steep mountain trails to flat coastal paths. The scenery was beautiful. The views of the Riviera from clifftops were spectacular. Wandering through quaint , quiet villages was a delight. An added bonus was the friendly company of everyone in the group and the laughter and different stories about life in other countries at dinner in local restaurants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was very pleased to make the steepest ascent and descent of 460 metres on tricky mountain Paths.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stephanie was always cheerful and professional. I always felt confident as she guided us along many different paths and taught us how to negotiate some difficult terrain. The whole holiday was well organised, including evening dinners . A definite plus for solo travellers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate to step outside your comfort zone and challenge yourself, at any age. Our ages ranges from mid 40's to late 60's . Despite a few aches and pains we all coped well. It is wise to train before hand, including walking up and down steps!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am looking forward to my next holiday and plan to do a slightly more challenging walk next time.
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Christine Middleton

    Walking the French Riviera

    A lovely holiday staying in Menton with the chance to visit Monaco and Italy on either side. Hotel was quiet and clean, very near the beach so always easy to locate. Some lovely walks with impressive views, and visits to picturesque old towns and villages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having packed lunch bought from the local bakers in Menton overlooking fabulous views in the sunshine

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stephanie was excellent, she looked out for things of interest on the walk and gave us lots of information about the area. Exceptionally helpful and organised with very clear instructions when needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would thoroughly recommend the trip, excellent walks and very good food in the many various restaurants in Menton. I went in April and the weather was lovely for the whole week, although raining on the day we left. I found the walks were generally moderate standard and a couple can be done in trainers, however a couple of tricky downhill parts on other walks so bring good walking gear too.
  • Reviewed November 2014
    Anonymous

    Walking the French Riviera

    Wonderful holiday in stunning scenery. Menton is an ideal place for a base - its so easy to visit other places on the Cote D Azur from here. There is a great train and bus service and within an hour you can be in Monaco, Nice or even Italy. The walks are great with some wonderful views of the hills and coastline.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the walk down to the charming village of Eze.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stephanie was great - nothing was too much trouble. She was informative and had a wonderful sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go and enjoy!
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Margaret Watson

    Beautiful Riviera

    I wanted to try something different this year and this certainly ticks the box. It's a much better way to see the Riviera than a tour bus or cruise ship.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Although I've joined the Ramblers, I'm not an experienced walker. It's a fantastic feeling at the top of the hill looking down onto the Riviera. Some of the slopes are quite steep but at the end of the holiday, having managed to keep up with everyone and no scrapes or injuries, I returned home with a great sense of achievement that money can't buy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent. I was travelling on my own and the flight was delayed. I made my way to Menton on the local bus where it was dark on arrival and I was so glad Stephanie came to meet me. On the walks, she was extremely helpful and gave lots of advice. She also explained well the local history of the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I went in September because I thought it would be cooler but it was still quite warm and you need to drink plenty of water. This is not a problem as the water is good to drink and there are plenty of public taps in all the local villages. The route is accurately described as rocky and you need walking boots rather than shoes. Also take a swimming costume as the beach is just across the road from the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed sampling the local cheeses with hotel dinner and there is a small Carrefour near the hotel where you can buy some to take home. Instead of sandwiches, there is an excellent patisserie near the hotel where you can buy lovely quiche for lunch and it travels well in your backpack. Also the local honey is delicious and the soaps sold in the local market is a bargain. On the free day the basilica is worth a visit and the the Cocteau museum is a 'must do' and is just across the road from the hotel. Menton is very easy to find your way around and if you get lost just head for the promenade. There is a very reasonably priced and regular rail service to Monte Carlo or Nice if you want to go further afield on your free day.