Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

43 Reviews

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Janet C

    Temples and Tigers

    A very interesting trip covering the highlights of Rajasthan. Some very long travel days and a lot of time on the bus, but the sites were worth it. There were a lot of temples including the Taj Mahal and we were incredibly lucky to see 7 tigers at Ranthambore; including a mum and her cubs very close by.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Playing Holi in Jaipur and being covered from head to foot in paint.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gaj was a great guide, he added a lot to the trip with the additional information he shared with us about life in India. Gaj made it possible for us to stay longer in Jaipur where we could play Holi with the locals which for many of us was one of the highlight of the trip. Gaj organised a trip to see a Bollywood Movie one evening for those who wanted to go; definitely worth it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I traveled on the last trip of the season (March) when the temperatures start of rise and it was very hot some days especially at Pushkar. I had read about the increased risks of being ill when travelling at the end of the season but was fine, however the vast number of people on the trip were ill at some point which impacted the whole trip overall. There is a LOT of time on the bus and it can be very tiring with the bumpy roads, continuous road works and a group of sick travelers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Gaj recommended a couple of additional stops for some of the very long traveling days; the advised stops were interesting and broke up the days. There is not much free time on this trip and where we did have time it seemed to be at the wrong places. The bus driver and his assistant were amazing and worked so hard. They had some long days especially if they drove us out to a restaurant for dinner in the evening.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Clare Harding

    Wonderful India

    A very enjoyable holiday seeing the splenders of Rajasthan. So many wonderful sights and places but for me the highlights must be seeing 7 tigers on the game drives and the Holi festival in Jaipur. I did however find the long bus journies tiring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Playing Holi in Jaipur

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gajrat was very kind and supportive. Each day we were on the bus he gave us interesting little talks about Indian culture and history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink lots of bottled drinks and be prepared for long journeys between destinations.
  • Reviewed February 2019

    India In All It's Glory!

    This was my second trip to India, having been on The Tropical South trip in January 2017, so I knew a bit of what to expect. For my husband it was his first trip. I was overawed by my experiences, the Taj obviously was a highlight - but be prepared for crowds. The Jain temple at Ranakpur was a wonderful surprise - a fabulous building, with an amazing interior. The blue houses in Bundi & the magnificent step well! The tiger safari was a true wild life journey - even if the tigers all hid from us that day - the monkeys, birds and crocodiles were much in evidence! Palaces, forts, temples - we explored and learnt about these incredible structures reflecting a way of life that has now disappeared forever! And not to forget the people - and there are LOTS! Pushy hawkers, shy ladies & children, laughing teens, solemn old men with craggy faces, business men in flash cars, women carrying containers of rubble working on a building site - as the saying goes 'All human life is here!' Sitting here typing this I can't really believe I was there - to experience all of India's diversity - what a lot we packed in, in 2 weeks. The noise of hooting cars and tuktuks, the smell of dust, exhausts, drains, incense, cows ( which really do wander in the streets and across the main roads!) The colour of the women's dresses, the laughing children waving at us from the street as we passed - so many wonderful memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was the sunset cruise on Lake Pichola followed by the visit to the Brahma temple in Pushkar and a blessing by the priest, whereby we were absolved from our sins when we threw flowers, rice & sugar into the water. Being in Ranthambore - we just sat in the canter at one point - engine off, listening to the birds and sounds of the forest - bliss!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Naveen was one of the best tour leaders I've had in all my trips with Exodus. He was always approachable, calm & efficient and met the challenges of the trip in a measured way - and there were several challenges! Protesters closing roads, meant he had to work with our bus driver to find an alternate route from Agra to Ranthambore - one which ultimately doubled our travelling time. He rang ahead to arrange food for us and even managed a birthday cake for one of our group! When our final Delhi hotel was closed (owing to a fire in another hotel, a few days before), Naveen went without sleep to rearrange another hotel in Delhi, plus change all the airport transfers! He was always willing to engage in conversation, especially about his country - about which he knows a tremendous amount. However we didn't suffer from information overload from him (this was sometimes the case with local guides at palaces & forts!) Naveen had a good sense of humour and made us feel like part of his extended family. He always made sure we knew what our itinerary was the following day, that everyone was aware of timings , where to change money etc. The fact he took part in the optional cookery class he'd arranged for some of us, made the whole experience even more special. Naveen is a credit to Exodus, you'll be a very lucky traveller if you have him as your guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Long journeys in the bus on often bumpy roads, but usually lots to watch out of the window - I managed to read my Kindle but it was sometimes a challenge . If you take this tour as your first visit to India - it will take some getting used to seeing the amount of litter everywhere including sacred cows grazing in the rubbish! Child beggars in some of the large cities made some of us feel very uncomfortable, as did the elephants carrying tourists at the Amber Fort in Jaipur. Be sure you like Indian food as there isn't much choice of anything else in restaurants and hotels but omelettes & chips are usually available. The best place to buy souvenirs is Jaipur - bazaars, jewellery shops, fabric emporiums- although my favourite souvenir was bought for 100R (£1) at Fatepur Sikri - a Taj Mahal snow globe!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You need to absorb the whole experience - India is...... so many things - I could use words like amazing, fascinating, shocking, wonderful & India is all those. I think everyone should experience India once in their lives. This trip truly is a sensory experience but one I shall treasure - and it has only cemented in my mind a desire to see more of this fascinating country - I just need to decide where to go next! To anyone unsure of whether to go - please just do it - you are in the most experienced hands with Exodus - they truly know how to show you the REAL India!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Gladys Wheels

    INDIAN EXPERIENCE WITH EXODUS.

    Visited lots of lovely places and the tour guide was lovely. Took so much care of everyone. Saw some beautiful palaces, temples and forts in a short time. A fully packed holiday organised with ease for us travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hotels were a wonderful surprise. The stories in all the places we visited. Care taken to make sure we had a wonderful experience of and feel of the country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic. I could not of asked for a better group leader. He responded very quickly each person's needs and supported all in the group. Very patient with everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Print the trip notes and keep them with you. They were very useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A big thank you.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Amanda Patton

    Very aptly named trip!

    A fabulous introduction to India for a first-timer. India surprised and delighted me in so many ways; the vibrancy, the people, the architecture, the culture, the food - I was constantly reminded of the line in Best Exotic - something along the lines of "how could you not love this country, all life is here".

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first sight of the Taj Mahal through the windows of the Red Fort in Agra reduced me to tears - it just shimmers on the horizon and is so incredibly beautiful. But also Bundi, an absolute delight and assault on all senses, and we were lucky with a late Diwali that meant we caught the beginnings of the camel fair at Pushkar which was huge fun!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna was just amazing, his knowledge, enthusiasm and kindness made him the perfect guide. He knew the best places to eat, from a palace on the shores of the lake at Udaipur to street food (and the best samosas ever); he organised fireworks for Diwali, tuctucs in Udaipur, a trip to a Bollywood movie, going out of his way to give us all the best experience possible, and adding in extra elements when he discovered our interests.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take existing clothes to be made up in hours from local material - I didn't know about it so didn't take anything but wished I had! I took a daily pro-biotic but on the one occasion I felt a bit dodgy it was sorted with some charcoal tablets that one of the other ladies let me have.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It really was the perfect introduction to India. The architecture is so beautiful, you think you've seen something that could never be surpassed, until the next palace where there's something even more wonderful and extraordinary. But it's not just the big stuff, there were equal delights in walking through the chaos and noise of the markets, especially after dark; the food (fantastic); the light; the monkeys and cows; the number of people you can fit on a bike or a tuctuc; Ranthambore which even without tigers was a magical place, like being in Kind Louis's palace in the Jungle Book - the list goes on. And the people are so lovely, there's a joyousness to the country which is infectious, and the colours! Just amazing.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Inês Ramalho

    Colours of Rajasthan: colours that keep in my mind

    Travel to India was, since I remmember, one of biggest dreams. I always wished to meet and to know these majestic culture, full of history and contrasts. I learn so much in this trip, but I wish to know more, to do more in these and for these country, that it will stay in my mind forever.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The moment when we had a boat trip in Lake Picchola, in Udaipur, whatching the sundown, slowly and warm. To me, it was the gratest, mesmerizing and most fullfiled moment of all trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My group learder was always gentle and caring about all the group. Always read to help us making good decisions, clarifing our doubts and being a companion in this trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep your mind and your heart open to all the good things you can learn from these country, and for the kindness that everyone gives to you, without expecting nothing in return.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only thing I would like to add is that some of the bus travells could be made by night, for me it would be good and we could spend more time in the cities or doing more activities.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Gordon Edwards

    Colours of Rajasthan

    An excellent trip, very well organised, the guide was fabulous. Some long days and coach rides which make it tiring but saying that we would never have seen as much as we did on our own. Not enough free time to do your own thing, and the free time that was available was not long enough. The hotels were of a very good standard and the guide took us to some excellent restaurants. My wife & I didn't enjoy the buffet meals as it doesn't give you alot of choice and can be expensive if you don't eat much, we wanted to experience the food as well as the culture and a buffet didn't give you that option, we mentioned this to the guide and buffet meals didn't happen again. The local guides were very informative and made visiting the temples and forts more interesting. The trip is described as leisurely but there were two days with very steep walking and every day was very busy not leisurely at all. We both very much enjoyed our trip and have some wonderful memories and photographs to treasure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a few as it was such a great trip. Dawn at the Taj Mahal - spectacular Seeing a tiger in the wild - very emotional Taking part in Holi Festival - alot of fun

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gaj was very knowledgable, funny, accomodating, thoughtful and gave us great tips on how to deal with certain situations which were invaluable when out and about.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take cash, it is easy to change at the hotels, ATM's are not very reliable. Plenty of hand sanatiser and tissues (most toilets out and about don't have toilet paper) Crackers - in case of a bad tummy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Busy and tiring so be prepared but very worthwhile trip, you just see so much of northern india.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Julie FINLAYSON

    Colours of Rajihstan

    The trip was good, but very fast paced with very little time for any relaxation. We were extremely well looked after and the standard of the hotels were good. The palaces , forts and temples were amazing and we had a local guide to explain all about them, which kept it interesting. The mini safari was good and we had excellent sittings of tiger in the wild. The downside of the trip was the bad air pollution, in all towns, but particularly bad in Delhi . The amount of rubbish in the streets was awful and everywhere which was not good to look at constantly .The standard restaurants and the food in them was very good, and the restaurants were well chosen. The guide we had was amazing and made the trip really good, by putting in little extra options, like palm reading and henna tattoos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Tigers in the wild. The town of Udipur was very beautiful and enjoyed the boat trip on the lake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent, very professional and knowledgeable. He was patient and kind and went out of his way to make sure everything was arranged and timely. He also was honest and humorous. He made the trip excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure to have warm clothes for mini safari as it really is cold in the early morning on the back of open air trucks. Take plenty of hand sanitizer. Take cash to change while over there as it can be arranged very easily in the hotels, a lot of the ATM cash points dont work or are empty and queuing to use them is not great. Take plenty of over the counter medicine with you , in case of stomach upsets, as there are a lot of long drives. Read up on Hindu gods etc before you go as it would make the culture more understandable.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Andrew Baker

    Brilliant experiance for any one wanting to see Northern India

    If you want to see India and experience Indian culture in a small way i cant recommend exodus travels enough, after a lot of searching and investigation i booked my holiday / trip with Trail Finders whom recommended Exodus. I chose the colour of Rajastan tour as it covered everything i wanted to see in a short period of time. I was not disappointed, upon arrival at Delhi International airport i was met by Ronit the Tour leader, he took me to a taxi to take me to the hotel in the centre of New Delhi, explianing that we would leave the hotel at approx 1pm as there was still another flight coming n later, the Taxi driver was friendly and the transfer was included, I checked into the hotel, showered and changed and went for a walk onto the small street outside the hotel, the local shops and market was just 100 meters from the hotel, Met up with the rest of the group at 1 for our tour around Delhi, what an experience, Seeing India Gate, etc. This is a truly brilliant trip, I wont spoil the rest for you but it got better by the day highlighting with the final city of Jaipuir I would recommend this to everyone, however you have to be reasonable fit expect to walk about 2 to 5 miles each day up steep hills and steps, the Indian Roads are not brilliant once off the main highways and can be very bumpy and rough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Amber Fort in Agra is superb a splendid and insperational place to visit. For me personally the whole trip was insperational. Having a meal cooked by our Guide in Jaipur in his home, with his family, it was a very special moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronit the group leader was a brilliant host, looking after out group, ensuring our safety, enjoyment and culture of India, he is a credit to Exodus Travel, could not recommend him enough to anyone. Ronit ensured that all the tips at the hotels, tour guides, travel expenses were paid for ensuring that we could enjoy the experience / holiday with out having to worry about having to tip every one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light, for warm weather, remember to take comfortable travelling clothes as well as sturdy walking shoes, some of the paths and steps upto the palaces, Forts etc are steep and slippery from use Dont take photos when you aren't supposed too, certain forts and palaces dont allow photos in certain rooms and your camera can be confiscated and you may be fined.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go and experience India with Exodus, hopefully you will get Ronit as your group leader
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Sarah Taylor

    Colours of Rajasthan

    A fascinating trip, packed with the vibrant cultures of India. The tour was excellently planned and managed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It has to be The Taj Mahal in the morning light. Also the beautiful countryside between Udaipur and Jodphur.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Harish was the perfect group leader. Very well informed, intelligent and amusing. And very thoughtful too, ensuring everyone was feeling good and enjoying the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there is a lot of travelling on some days but it is well managed. If you want to see the many places in the intinary, it is worth the travelling.