Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

112 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2016
    Mark Houghton

    Walking up Mt. Toubkal.

    Great to be able to walk to the highest mountain in North Africa and in the Atlas Mountains of Morocco. No special skills or climbing gear was required for the trip. For this trip you needed to be reasonable fit and able to cope with moderate high altitude walking. The weather was kind to us, but there were numerous clouds around the top of the mountain meaning that our distant views were not clear. Close mountain ranges looked impressive. Lush green valleys contrasted with stark bare mountain tops. A walk well worth doing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Mt. Toubkal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was very good. He had excellent local knowledge, knew the trip tracks and venue well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This walk is not a stroll in the park. I would only recommend it for seasoned walkers who enjoy a reasonably hard walk in mountainous terrain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not recommended for families with young children or for those who usually go for 'strolls' in suburban areas.twp
  • Reviewed September 2016
    David Ellis

    mt toubkal climb

    a very well organised trip, my first with exodus, so not sure what to expect, but the hospitality of the berber people, and our guide hassan, will live long in the memory

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the view from the top of mt toubkal looking over to the sahara

    What did you think of your group leader?

    hassan set a perfect pace, with a break now and then , and even invited us for tea at his home at the end of the trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    go for it, well worth the effort.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Samantha Hopkins

    Mount Toukbal Climb

    My partner and I choose to use Exodus again having experienced a fantastic trip with an amazing guide to the Anti Atlas in October 2014. However we were very disappointed with this trip; on the first night the tents arrived after us: consequently we all got completely soaked despite wearing our waterproofs; our kit bags when they arrived had not been covered properly and consequently some travellers had wet kit; there was a no toilet tent; the tables and equipment were very poor quality. None of these problems had we experienced the previous year. To add to this the guide was very unfriendly, set the pace at that of the fastest walkers (bad mountain leadership)! To summarise we are very reluctant to use Exodus again; pity after such a good first experience. We are travelling to Nepal in February with a rival company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunrise on Mount Toukbal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Poor.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take dry bags to out in the kit bags.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unless Exodus up their game we will not be using you again.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Susan Meehan

    Mount Toukbal in the summer!

    I was concerned about trekking in the Atlas Mountains during summer as I am not very good in the heat! It was very hot but I drank bottle-fuls of water to keep me hydrated. My heart was overworked at times but I managed to complete all the walking plus the optional extras. I was delighted! You do have to love walking to do this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to reach the summit of Mount Toukbal with most of the group after a gruelling walk up on a beautiful afternoon was sensational. The sky was deep blue and the views were tremendous.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was a fabulous leader whose primary concern was for the group as a whole. He runs a tight ship and his approach is meticulous. He inspired confidence right from the start.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We did a lot of walking - about 7 hours each day. On two days we did quite a bit less than this though had a choice of doing optional/extra walks. It is a great idea to take water purification tablets as we had access to water (provided in a jerry can) at lunch and dinner times and could fill up easily and regularly. Drinking tube attachments which you can fit on to water bottles are a great idea as it will ensure that you can continue drinking and hydrating while walking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were looked after amazingly well by Hassan and his support team and wonderful mules. We had plentiful and delicious meals and couldn't have asked for more. I had forgotten that it can get a little hot in a tent! We didn't all sleep throughout the night, but someone we bumbled on!
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Stefano Cernicchiaro

    Mt Toubkal

    So I booked onto this trekk at very short notice (5 days before departure) and was very pleased with the help giving to me by the company in making sure there was space available for me on the trip. From the moment I left Scotland to the moment I left Morocco to come back home I had nothing but an excellent experience with Exodus. The trip was well catered for with fantastic guides who at times gave us abit of knowledge about the areas we where trekking through. This was my first experience with Exodus and would highly reccommend them to family and friends.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me the most inspirational part of the trip was how well the group and staff got on and we all helped each other in different ways during the trekk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader Was excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sun Cream lots of Sun cram!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I
  • Reviewed July 2016

    Kieranwill

    So we started in Marrakech and stuck to the plan of the trip notes (as they very accurate) The trip itself housed some incredible views, experiences and long lasting memories! I personally did it for my 18th and found the trip to be an overwhelmingly positive experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A frankly unbeatable moment in the Atlas Mountains was camping above the clouds with beautiful, Sparkling stars overhead. This could only be outmatched by the high standard of cooking (putting my mother to shame) and the abundance of food leaving us full many an occasion.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had hassan as a group leader. He engaged exceeding well and helped to make the trip what it is (a magical experience). He brought many a laugh to us, kept us safe and cared for us all week. He was also very organised as we reached each destination nearly perfectly on the predestined time he suggested if we didn't beat his time. Abdul was also with us, constant smiling with a warm, welcoming glow. One thing I can safely say is that u will be in safe hands!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring sun cream and prepare to sweat but it is sooo worth it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    10/10 would do again!
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Roger Peck

    Rev

    Excellent trip, well organised. We were all very well looked after (pampered even!) The food was excellent and the camping was very comfortable. Everything was done for us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The summit of mount Toubkal was quite literally the "high point" of the holiday - but the most memorable moment will always be the wonderful hospitality extended to us by the group leader in his home village. Thank you Hasan - and happy Ramadan.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent and attentive and very competent. There was no doubt that we were in safe hands. 10 out of 10.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The swimming pool in the hotel isn't really big enough to exercise in (in case you were thinking of packing trunks and goggles like I did) You do have the option of leaving a bag at the hotel in Marrakesh - something I made use of.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is a certain amount of flexibility built in to the itinerary. So, for example, you actually spend two nights at the foot of Mount Toubkal and have the option, therefore (if you didn't feel quite up to making the summit), of having a rest day in camp instead.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Alan Czaja

    Alan - Toukbal 31st May 2016

    Well organised from day one. Met some great people on the 'team', including the guide and his helpers. I would recommend this holiday to anyone. But please make sure you are prepared for the altitude. This is not just a physical walk, but also mentally tasking as you have to be aware of where you put your feet all the time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was outstanding. And just seeing the relief and joy on the rest of the group when they reached the summit of Toukbal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan. What can I say. If you weren't paying attention to his briefings he let you know and quite rightly. An excellent leader who made sure everyone was safe during the various ascents, resting when necessary for the slower walkers. Always willing to chat about his life and culture, a pleasure to listen to.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As above. You may see some walkers wearing trainers, this is not advisable, especially as a lot of the paths are over lose shale. Walking boots must be worn. A reasonably good level of fitness is required, so don't think a walk around the park with your dog will be sufficient exercise. Go for some long, fast walks with a back pack on.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take a camera, enjoy the scenery, have fun.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Sheila Mach

    Mount Toubkal climb

    Trecking in Atlas Mountains

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching summit of Mt Toubkal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for altitude

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm still on a high a week later
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Miriam Handren

    Mount Toubkal ClimbE

    I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Our guide was excellent. The trip was well organised and the food was delicious. The walks were great - the scenery beautiful and the Berber village fascinating. As I am not as fit as I should be I was worried about the pace but I coped OK. I decided not to do the summit as I found the scree scary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the beautiful shady camp after the first day's climb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous. I felt safe with him. I really enjoyed hearing him talk about Morocco and his family and he took us for tea at his house which was a real privilege.