Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

112 Reviews

  • Reviewed May 2016
    Terry Saul

    Fantastic Experience with a Wonderful Group

    I was not really sure what to expect from the trip having not experienced a trekking holiday before but this turned out to be a truly enjoyable trip. The group was sixteen people and a complete mix of backgrounds and ages which made for entertaining conversation over the week we had together. Unseasonal cold weather meant a last minute change to the planned itinerary which was unfortunate but entirely unavoidable and the weather prevented us scaling the second (optional) 4000m peak but the alternative local Hammam experience was a great substitute for our tired bodies.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The truly fantastic vista from the top of Toubkal will stay in my mind for ever!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was a credit to Exodus and to his country in general. His local knowledge and his willingness to share his experiences and snippets of his cultural heritage and religion made for both and enjoyable and highly educational week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you struggle to close the kit bag provided you have packed too much kit for the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food on the trip surpassed all my expectations. How someone can cook for a party of 16 all week with only what can be carried on the packs of a mule and yet make it so varied and enjoyable is nothing short of genius.
  • Reviewed May 2016

    Amazing value for money

    A fantastic all round experience of Morocco. Sampling both the buzzing city of Marrakech and the idyllic Berber villages of the high Atlas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Toubkal, despite difficult conditions will stay with me for a lifetime.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Hassan Zbair was a credit to Exodus. Cool, calm, confident and resourceful. Hassan went above and beyond a number of ties during our trip. A wealth of knowledge about Morocco and the Berber way of life. Hassan spoke several languages and was able to make everyone feel comfortable and relaxed. We had extremely wintery conditions for a May summit and Hassan quietly and calm reorganised the sleeping arrangments and trek route to ensure we all got the very best experience we could. Hassan made sure that we got the final summit in the bag in the face of 2 feet of snow and very strong winds whilst at the same time making completely sure we were all safe. I'd gladly be guided by Hassan again on any mountain trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, if travelling in early May, you may need to consider that it might still be snowy and should pack winter kit, just in case! You need a good pair of water resistant walking boots, period. Also useful might be a pair of crampons for poor weather (but these can be hired at the refuge for 200dh). Take toilet rolls! Finally, don't use the currency exchange in the airport (its a rip off) use an ATM instead, there are loads near the hotels in Marrakech. 2000dh is plenty (150 sterling) for water, snacks and a few souvenirs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is absolutely incredible value for money. The whole experience was fantastic and well worth every penny. When travelling with Muleteers/portage Exodus will send you (free of charge) a brilliant kit bag. Very hard wearing and was able to get all of my kit in it comfortably (i had 14KG) and it survived the flights and the beating the trip the trek demands. I'll definitely use it again.
  • Reviewed May 2016

    mt Toubkal climb

    Excellent trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The summit, wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An Amazing trip
  • Reviewed May 2016
    gary george

    Mt Toubkal Climb

    Excellent experience ! May time, Base camp it's snowing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lovely day, hard slog, the summit superb experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan experience leader & humble man.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mt Toubkal Climb, go for it !!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My group, friendly bunch of people :-)
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Sarah Saunders

    Fantastic experience!

    An amazing trip with a fantastic bunch of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When we got within metres of the summit - the entire group waited and we all summited together! True team spirit all the way. It was sad to all leave each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic Hassan kept us all organised, was a mind of fascinating information and really good fun. Lovely guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was really nervous about doing this trip as it was the first trip I had done alone. From the moment I landed, I was never alone. An amazing spirited group of new friends to share a fantastic experience with. We are already talking about our next trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thought Exodus were great. Very organised and took all of the pain of holiday planning away.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Alison Gospel

    Mount Toubkal

    Generally the week was good, marred by the shortage of guides and the poor organisation on the first night on the mountain when our tents arrived after we did. This meant all the mattresses and bags getting wet, and us all standing in the rain. Also we had no toilet at all the first night despite being right outside a village where children would play. The toilet facilities for the other nights were very poor (a very shallow or non existent hole in ground with a tent on top). Food was good, the people friendly, and the mules lovely.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the sun rise over the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well experienced local man but short handed, having to do everything himself. This meant on the first night some of the team had to put up the tents themselves (when the tents eventually arrived).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Put all your luggage into dry sacks. The exodus bags are fairly water resilient, but not 100%. Take toilet paper and dog poo bags. Do not be squeamish about toilet facilities. Wear good boots. The ground is very rough and stony.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The tents and tables for eating were falling apart. Perhaps a new set needed for future travellers.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Alison for her feedback, but we are very sorry that she was disappointed with the first night of her holiday and with the quality of the tents. We would like to apologise that the toilet tent was overlooked on the first night; this was due to the late arrival of the muleteers, but we realise that this is not acceptable and our local manager has assured us that this will not happen again. Whilst all the tents were fully checked prior to departure, we acknowledge that some could be replaced and this has been brought to our local managers attention.

    Simon Clifford – Product Manager for Morocco

  • Reviewed September 2015
    Angharad Morgan

    Atlas Mountains

    A really good trip. It was great that we had options each day as it made it a challenging climb

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day of the walk was fantastic. Myself and 6 others did the second highest peak which was so much fun and a real challenge

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very knowledgeable and really helpful. He answered our questions and helped members f the group who were struggling

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take small notes and change to buy water and lots of snacks!
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Camilla Weich

    Mt Toubkal climb

    I really enjoyed this Exodus trip and found the staff very helpful with regards to answering my questions beforehand. I'd recommend anyone going on this trip to pack walking sticks - as it can be a difficult terrain, particularly when going downhill - and warm clothes for the evening. Plus toilet paper!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to the top of Mount Toubkal!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very nice and thoughtful.
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Martin Webster

    Ascent of Mt Toubkal

    The holiday was well balanced to allow a slow build up to acclimatise for altitude and help build up fitness before the final walk up to the Mt.Toubkal summit. Optional climbs were included for the more energetic, but there was no pressure to do these if you felt your energy reserves would be better expended on the summit climb. (Particularly if due to advancing years you have to be careful what you use up your energy on!)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Mt.Toubbal was the highlight of my trip. The view from the top was spectacular and the weather gave us excellent visibility.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan, our leader was always cheerful and willing to impart his extensive knowledge. He always set a steady pace which suited the whole party.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to do a few hill walks before you go. The paths are quite rough and it helps if you are used to sliding downhill on scree.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A well balanced holiday for anyone with the determination to get to the top of a mountain which does not require any technical climbing experience.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Allison Feast

    MT Toubkal

    This was a fantastic experiences, well organised with friendly supportive staff waiting for us at the airport. Nothing was too much trouble.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Aguelzium pass (3550) taking in the panoramic views of the Toubkal Massif. The climb had been heard but the results were worth it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic knowledgeable and approachable. Did a bries at the end of the day on what we had done and what was for the next day in terms of timings, food etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be mindful of altitude, it can affect you sleep. Also I have been eaten by mosquitoes so repellent might be useful. The pool at the hotel had strong chlorine but a great to relax after the expedition.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy take nothing but photos and memories, leave nothing but footprints.