Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    michelle m

    So wanted to love it but just didn’t!

    I had been waiting to do this trip for 4 years and had to put off several times. I thought this was going to be one of those chance of a lifetime moments and for me sadly it wasn’t. Sadly I got sick with flu just as we were hitting higher altitudes this combined with the effects of altitude, lack of sleep, Khumba cough, pounding headaches, constantly being cold. (Weather was worse than expected) I just couldn’t recover and it became a real struggle. I knew the accommodation and living conditions were basic but I was shocked to see actually how bad they were in reality. A lot of toilet conditions are just disgusting. Food is boring and monotonous, if you have any sort of dietary needs then think again. I was gluten free and really struggled. Being told to bring ‘snacks’ is not enough.. Don’t get me wrong scenery is beyond stunning, it does get very bleak the further up you go though. Don’t plan on seeing Everest much either, barely saw the peak from a distance in a couple of occasions. Hoping in time I can look back with fonder memories but just can’t right now.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenery and seeing how local people in mountain regions live.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sukman, Kami and Penba and not forgetting our lovely Yakman Dowa. All great and felt in safe hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really know what you are getting into when you do this trip. No one knows how altitude can affect you, be prepared for this. It’s not fun being sick and living in such conditions. It’s not a holiday and it’s not relaxing so don’t expect either.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Gillian Gould

    A unique experience

    Although the walking was manageable if you were reasonably fit and prepared, the altitude, cold and tummy bugs made it a challenge.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some wonderful mountain walking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very supportive with good leadership skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare well and take plenty of medication for all eventualities.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Louise Parr-Morley

    Excellent but challenging

    This is a great trip but not what you might expect ! !.. the scenery is fantastic, with clear skies, mountain views, green valleys and rushing bubbling rivers. The people are friendly and we saw many happy smiling children wanting to say hello as we walked through their villages.... prayer wheels and flags are a regular recurring feature on all the trails...and watch out for the trains of yaks and donkeys carrying everything up and down the 'very dusty' trails. Long days and in winter frigid temperatures above 4,000 metres when the sun goes down, but the sun warms nicely during the day. A slow steady pace on the way up with constant descents and ascents but on well formed paths.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As you struggle with your 5 kilo pack give time and thought to the locals carrying - fridges down to Luckla for fixing, the construction materials being carried up the mountain for tea houses and the lady carrying 80 kilos of water bottles to stock her shop for the trekkers. The self sufficiency of the small holdings and the constant reuse and recycling of scarce resources to ensure sustainability. This is a lovely country and the people inspire and remind us of a simpler life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As a large group of eleven the leader and supporting guide had a big job to get us all to base camp - but they were friendly, helpful, really supportive on days when we felt under the weather, carried our packs, tried really hard to teach us the mountains, explained the culture, ensured we were fed and overall did a great job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You have to pack light for the transit flight so in winter bring different layers, a fleece is a must for the cold evenings, our RAB Alpines were a godsend. layer gloves and hats as well. +19 down to -30. Layer your down jackets for EBC and Garek Shep lodge, there is no heating.... Check out DIamox before you travel so you are informed - most of our group used it. A merino buff or 2 to filter the dust. hydration packs froze so wide mouth water bottles and socks to keep them warm. Food is plentiful -rice, noodles and eggs ( bring electrolytes or equivalent - mix of water, food and altitude!!) hand sanitiser and toilet rolls are a must, there are small shops all the way up for coke, water, snacks etc....Steps, steps and more steps - constantly up and down, the days are long but it is all perfectly doable..... enjoy :-)
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Sherry Knight

    Amazing!

    What an adventure! We had been planning this trip for a couple of years and it did not disappoint. It was a real test of character - the coldest winter in a long time and -27 at base camp. The views are simply stunning - we had clear skies so every step was a different view. There were times when sat in our icy teahouse room that we questionned what we were doing but it really is a once in a lifetime experience that we will never forget.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting through the Lukla flight! I hate flying so that was one of my biggest fears but all part of the experience. Getting to base camp was surreal ..... still can't believe I have been!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. DB looked after us really well and kept everyone motivated. Always cheerful and had lots of laughs. Kami and Kami worked really hard and woke us up every morning with a big smile and hot 'knock knock' tea!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A reasonable level of fitness is required. Take plenty layers and thermals for winter trips. Dont be afraid to take anti sickness tablets... they worked for me. Take plenty loo roll and chocolate .... more expensive to buy as you go further up. Have a hot chocolate and pastry n Dingboche cafe. Book it!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Susan Barnes

    An experience of a lifetime!

    This was simply one of the best experiences of my life! We were very fortunate that all 12 members of our team got on really well and we had a brilliant leader with a 'dream team' supporting him. The trek itself is hard work, but I never felt that we wouldn't make it to Base Camp. Our leader and the guides did everything to encourage us to "reach our destiny" and did so with professionalism and a great sense of humour. However, at no time was our safety compromised and the pace of the walk was judged to perfection. Some days are very long, with early starts; but well worth it. The scenery is breathtaking. This is definitely a holiday that is worthy of being on any bucket list.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This has to be the arrival at Base Camp after 9 days of trekking. Everyone felt a real sense of achievement and really bonded the group. We were also extremely lucky to have Kaji on our team as one of the Guides. Kaji has summited Everest 8 times and his insight and knowledge was inspirational, which was matched by his modesty, humility and kindness.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can't speak highly enough of our leader, Ajay. He took the trouble to get to know every member of the team and put our health and safety above everything. Ajay has a great sense of humour and is extremely knowledgable, providing answers to our many many questions! If there was a problem with a room or the toilets, for example, he made sure it was resolved. Ajay had great support in Kaji, Cami and Nowoan, who led the yaks, so the success of our trek was really never in doubt. Just to add also (having seen some of the other reviews) that there was no mention of tips until the very end of the trip and, even then, it was only a suggestion, not a demand. We decided among ourselves what we should give to Ajay, as his tip wasn't mentioned at all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the itinerary carefully and make sure you bring everything you need to protect yourself against the cold (especially in the evening) and the dust! You don't have to be super fit to do the trek itself, but it is worth doing some interval training before you go. Don't expect luxury accommodation: it's a bonus if you get an ensuite toilet - sometimes you just have to 'go with it'!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For most people, this is a once in a lifetime trip. Just do it!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Hicham Messaoudi

    EBS Nov 18- Disappointment

    Overall the trip to Base Camp is a great trip however, Exodus spoiled the trip for me and my fellow travellers by a mercenary attitude to money. Demanding a tip of £50 per person all the all the way of the trip. The musty rooms smelled like old socks and it was so dirty that you didn’t want to touch anything. I also slept in a sleeping bag on top of the bed. Not really sure what to say about the TOILETS! they were revolting, if you ask someone to clean them, you will be ignored. There are many other examples of this during. In short, I will never travel with Exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The musty rooms smelled like old socks and the toilets were revolting!

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Hicham and Chris (review below) for their feedback, but we would like to apologise that they felt undue pressure to tip staff during their trip. Tipping is very much a part of the culture in Nepal, especially on trekking trips. Whilst, therefore, tips are of course gratefully received by our tour leaders and local staff, tipping should always be completely discretionary, and no pressure should ever be placed on clients to tip. We have asked our local manager to ensure their leader, Ajay, receives additional English lessons to ensure he is using correct grammar, so that when he is discussing tips with clients, his queries are not conveyed as a demand; we trust this will prevent any misunderstanding going forward. Owing to their remote location, teahouses are basic, but all of the lodges used by Exodus are regularly visited and we always try to select the best available based on accommodation, hygiene and food standards. We are, however, sincerely sorry for the poor conditions which Hicham has reported experiencing during his trip. Jenny Cox – Product Manager.

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Simon Owens

    Awesome and Inspirational Trek!

    Great credit to our Exodus leader Jaite (Ajay) and Kaji and Cami and the rest of his great team. Lead by example and really looked after the group in our quest to conquer reaching EBC. The trek from start to finish was an amazing adventure with like minded friends In our group that made the trek even more enjoyable amongst a beautiful landscape. But also at times not to be taken in small measures because it can be forgiving when unexpected on the terrain and challenge in front of you but amazing experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first sight of Everest from afar on the trek and then thinking “that’s where we are heading” mind blowing! Reaching EBC the physical attributes and reaching a new altitude for the first time. Into the thin air!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A leader with great attributes to making sure that the safety and welfare of the group were always at the forefront of his mind by the constant checking along the way on the trek. Always had time for the group and was very very funny and liked to sing his own little melody that we all adopted by the end of the trek! Jaite and his team were a pleasure to be with on the journey!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, prepare yourself well whatever time of the year you go! This trek is an amazing one to complete and tick off the list, but make sure that you have all the correct gear to cope with the cold mostly at nights and early morning starts. Lastly - “go for it”I would recommend this trek for all its iconic mantra and challenge. “Superb”
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Frances Leff

    Fantastic, once in a lifetime!

    Hard, but a wonderful experience. We became a great team - the group and our guides. The key to making it to Base Camp!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to Base Camp. One of our guides Kaji had summited Everest 8 times, it was amazing having him with us. It was fantastic being able to ask him so many questions. An inspirational man. Coffee/lunch in Namche Bazaar was a lovely treat on the way down.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb, we all had total trust in him. He looked after us incredibly well. He made us into a great team. Nothing was too much trouble. He also had a great sense of humour and was a lovely man.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's very, very cold at night in late November/early December. Don't expect luxury - you are in a remote location!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go!! It's an incredible experience.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Chris Powell

    Mercenary Approach to Money, Shameful!

    Overall the trip to Base Camp is a great trip and well arranged. I've done it three times now with different operators. Overall however, Exodus spoiled the trip for me and my fellow travellers by a mercenary attitude to money. Demanding (not suggesting or recommending) a tip of £50 per person for example. Insisting it be paid immediately when two members of the trip decided to leave early (ironically in part due to the mercenary attitude towards money, what an irony!). There are many other examples of this during the trip. In short, I will never travel with Exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to Everest Base Camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    His organisational skills, helpful explanations of Mountains and wildlife were excellent. However he let himself and the group down with his attitude to money. Very disappointing. We are people trying to enjoy a holiday, not commodities to be exploited and milked for money.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Everest Base Camp is a wonderful trek. It is inspirational and borderline life-changing. However when choosing a tour operator try to choose one that has the interests and the enjoyment of the traveller at the forefront of the agenda. I'd suggest that Exodus do not share these values.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would love to think that Exodus take the comments that I have made on my survey form and here seriously, and do not bury them. I hope moreover that they learn from them and use them to improve the customer experience for future travellers.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Stuart Elks

    Stuart Elks - Wells Cathedral School

    Our trip to Nepal was wonderful. We were hosted incredibly well by Pasang and his team right from the airport where we were met and transported to the Royal Singi Hotel. All movements, interactions and correspondence throughout the trip were excellent!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the local Nepalese people who live in the Himalaya and exist in such hardships.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pasang was outstanding! He was incredibly perceptive, understanding, communicative and showed true leadership by keeping all of us from any of the problems that he encountered along the way. I would definitely recommend him to others. He is a true professional and a brilliant ambassador.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To bring vitamins and dry fruit bars as the food available in the foot hills is incredibly carbohydrate heavy. To bring sun cream, a light coloured, thin buff. To bring lip salve/sun block. To make sure that you have enough local currency to pay for things each night. The ATM's in Namche did not work.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely recommend EXODUS!
Call us on 056 631 86 64