Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alan Gelson

    Unspoilt high mountains and verdant valleys in one of the most beautiful regions of Europe.

    The Sierra Nevada is the highest mountain range in mainland Spain. They remain snow covered well into the Summer and these walks take place in the wooded valleys in their foothills. The sound of running water seems always to be in the background. The bird life is rich and varied and we heard the cuckoo on our first day. Nightingales and golden orioles and eagles and falcons were viewed with awe and delight. The walks are pretty challenging but rewarding. Conditions under foot are variable but generally reasonable.The Hotel art Los Berchules is a place of repose and delight. The food is first rate and the owners and staff delightful dedicated and friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking over a wide valley and listening to bird song and seeing a golden oriole whilst a Bonelli's eagle was being mobbed by a Peregrine falcon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was completely excellent. Reliable knowledgable humorous and dedicated to our safety and enjoyment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are quite challenging but there were opt out points on most days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have been fortunate to have been on many walking holidays mainly with Exodus and nearly all have been highly enjoyable and the Sierra Nevada walk was up with the best we have been on.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jacinta Ashworth

    Peace and beauty

    Just returned from a wonderful holiday in the Sierra Nevada mountains. This tour has been part of the Exodus programme for many years, I understand, and deservedly so. The walking itinerary and accommodation are both excellent. We experienced Spring unfolding as our week progressed - the temperatures rising, the leaves and flowers emerging, the warmth of the sun! The walks were varied - 3 ascending from the village, in cool fresh air, following irrigation channels and gorges and one to the snowline, whilst 2 descended to explore the local villages and cultivated slopes with blossoming almond groves, olive trees and vineyards. We saw wild ibex in the remote Berchules valley. We walked through herby scrub with the intoxicating scent of sage, thyme, rosemary and lavender wafting up as you brushed through it. We viewed the snowcapped peaks and Mulhacen. The staff at the hotel were exceptional - Wendy, Alejandro, Csila, Omar - so friendly and good service. Rooms cleaned immaculately daily, and the meals were lovely - hearty and tasty. Amazing breakfast buffet - no stale rolls here! Chat with Wendy and you will catch her enthusiasm for this area - she is the lychpin - so classy to meet us to chat at breakfast and at the end of our walks, with genuine interest to hear of our adventures each day. And well, as for Granada....what can you say - except book your Alhambra tickets well in advance. The Alhambra is a special place indeed - beauty in architecture and the gardens, with peace (if you pause away from the crowds) and spirituality of a bygone age. Dan our guide helpfully took us to a lovely meal in the city, a fantastic flamenco show and gave those who wanted it a guided walking tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think the Sierra Nevada doesn't offer up its secrets easily. It doesn't shout at you with spiky peaks and chocolate box chalets. But it draws you in subtly if you stop and breathe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I can highly recommend this trip. Go, and let the mountains gently reveal their secrets to you....
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Gaby Naylor

    Beating expectations

    From the lovely hotel family, who went the extra mile for me when my case was smashed by Ryanair, to the delicious and plentiful meals ,and the comfortable hotel with its great fire this was the perfect base for our superb trek. Great varied walking with Dan as guide who was a fount of knowledge of all things floral, trees, history, people. Just go for it .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The winding path down to the Roman bridge at the bottom of the gorge and then back up to a crazy restaurant in the village.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, inspired catering for those with long legs and also those with shorter ones and those under the weather. Very knowledgeable and friendly with everyone. Gsoh.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take wet weather clothing
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Steve Braysher

    Top Autumn Walking

    There is a lot of enjoyable walking to be had on this trip, varied routes and tantalising views of big ridges and high peaks. There is also wildlife a plenty but it does need looking hard for. There are some steep ups and downs in places but the paths are considerably better than I had expected and are all very 'doable' if you have a reasonable level of fitness. The hotel in Berchules is a comfortable and very friendly base to operate from, Wendy and her staff couldn't do enough to help and they serve up some appetising food too; tThe packed lunches are perhaps the best I have had anywhere. If you have an interest in avaiation history ask Wendy about the Royal Air Force Asscoiation plaque that is on the bar! Granada is a complete and very enjoyable contrast, a city with a really nice 'feel' to it. A different but decent hotel. The Alhambra really is a must - it would be a shame to not see it if you are in the city.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are no truely stunning or inspirational moments but spending time walking in the relatively empty mountains of the Sierra Nevada with the possibilities of wildlife spotting and the sun on your back (or face) is pretty fine stuff.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dan is a Yorkshireman - and he is a good bloke (high praise). The sort of leader that that gives a group confidence. Punctuality and organisation were pretty much his trademark, his knowledge of the local area, its history, wildlife etc was detailed and his skill with gaffer tape was impressive. Would be very happy to go into the mountains with him again

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To get the most out of it a reasonable level of fitness is needed. Poles are useful for some of the descents. If you have tickets for the Alhambra you do need to be at the right place at the right time or you won't go in - we witnessed some interesting conversations at the entrance point - if you end up with a bit of paper that says 'this is not a tick' which has to be exchanged for a ticket at the box office make sure you have your passport with you - or you won't get your ticket!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another excellent Exodus trip, made not only by the walking, venues, accommodation and guide but by the smashing bunch of people who were also on the trip.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Loretta Kinsella

    Spain

    This is a wonderful combination of walking in the lovely Sierra Nevada mountains and then staying in Granada, although we extended our trip to give us 3 days in Granada, which meant we could explore most of this interesting and beautiful city.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the wide expanse of the mountains and the family run hotel in berchules was just perfect, the staff could not do enough, so friendly and lots of lovely home made food. Granada is a wonderful city to explore, churches and Alhambra amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knew the mountains well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Many of the walks involve rivers and river crossings, so waterproof boots and some agility needed. Food is very plentiful so be hungry! Well worth extending stay in Granada we stayed in same hotel. Perfect

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another brilliant exodus holiday
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Sioned Jones

    Berchules, Sierra Nevada, Spain

    Another great holiday thanks to Exodus! This was my 13th walking holiday with Exodus and one of the best, thanks to the varied walks, excellent leader, great scenery, wonderful family run hotel and good weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Following the Moors waterways into the hills and enjoying the long varied walks along the rugged landscape and through pretty little villages. We covered 9 miles, 10 miles, 9 miles, 10 miles, then 12 miles during the week, which was challenging enough for a Grade 3 walk. It was great to be out for a full day, before returning "home" to the wonderful, family run Los Berchules Hotel. Our hosts were Alejandro, his wife Csilla, the lovely Wendy (Alejandro's mum) and Omar. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much bother for them. Alejandro cooked us fantastic, locally sourced food, whilst Csilla and Omar waited on. Wendy made the excellent home made puddings and gave us a warm welcome "home" each day front of house.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dan was a great leader. His local knowledge of history, the way people live and wildlife was second to none and his Yorkshireman sense of humour added to that! Dan allows you to walk on at your own pace, but has control of the group is an unassuming, professional way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Having exhausted most of the Grade 5 centre based options over the years, we were looking for a more challenging Grade 3 walking trip and this one surpassed our expectations in terms of terrain, scenery, length of walks and accommodation. I would highly recommend this holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We are used to a large group of 14 to 16 people, but on this occasion, there were only six of us. That did not detract from the holiday at all, in fact, it added to it as we all got on so well. Thanks Exodus for another fantastic walking holiday!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Sioned Jones

    Berchules, Sierra Nevada, Spain

    Another great holiday thanks to Exodus! This was my 13th walking holiday with Exodus and one of the best, thanks to the varied walks, excellent leader, great scenery, wonderful family run hotel and good weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Following the Moors waterways into the hills and enjoying the long varied walks along the rugged landscape and through pretty little villages. We covered 9 miles, 10 miles, 9 miles, 10 miles, then 12 miles during the week, which was challenging enough for a Grade 3 walk. It was great to be out for a full day, before returning "home" to the wonderful, family run Los Berchules Hotel. Our hosts were Alejandro, his wife Csilla, the lovely Wendy (Alejandro's mum) and Omar. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much bother for them. Alejandro cooked us fantastic, locally sourced food, whilst Csilla and Omar waited on. Wendy made the excellent home made puddings and gave us a warm welcome "home" each day front of house.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dan was a great leader. His local knowledge of history, the way people live and wildlife was second to none and his Yorkshireman sense of humour added to that! Dan allows you to walk on at your own pace, but has control of the group is an unassuming, professional way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Having exhausted most of the Grade 5 centre based options over the years, we were looking for a more challenging Grade 3 walking trip and this one surpassed our expectations in terms of terrain, scenery, length of walks and accommodation. I would highly recommend this holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We are used to a large group of 14 to 16 people, but on this occasion, there were only six of us. That did not detract from the holiday at all, in fact, it added to it as we all got on so well. Thanks Exodus for another fantastic walking holiday!
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Jane Firth

    Loved it!

    Our first Exodus holiday and it will certainly not be the last. Everything ran smoothly even though we had to have a replacement guide due to illness. Dan, our guide, had a great sense of humour and was knowledgeable about the region. The walks were varied and the scenery was beautiful. Hotel Los Bérchules was comfortable and very clean. Wendy, Alejandro, Csilla and Omar made us all feel so at home. The food was super, tasty homemade bread and marmalade at breakfast, satisfying packed lunches and generous portions at dinner with always a homemade pudding. Finally our fellow travellers were a great group of people, so interesting and full of fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to keep on walking whatever the weather threw at us!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dan is a great leader, calm and confident with a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an extra day for Granada, so much to see, so little time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No complaints at all! 😊
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Des Cassidy

    Great time

    Stars aligned for this trip, Outstanding Lead, Landscape, hosts and crew. Our guide Dan, had a bit of style and swagger. instilled confidence in all the group making all the walks of Sierra Nevada a stroll in the park. Hotel Los Berchurles a welcome retreat full of charactor and warmth. Wendy, Shelia, Alejandro and Omar,all served us well. Our fellow guests was the final part in the alignment and it was great to share anniversaries, quizs, horse wrestling with them all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great restaurant recommendation for Granada and what a beautiful city. Be warned one day does not do it justice.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Top of the tree, lucky to have Dan

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Extend your break to take in Malaga and Granada. take a earlier/later plane

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Well done Exodus.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Des Cassidy

    Great time

    Stars aligned for this trip, Outstanding Lead, Landscape, hosts and crew. Our guide Dan, had a bit of style and swagger. instilled confidence in all the group making all the walks of Sierra Nevada a stroll in the park. Hotel Los Berchurles a welcome retreat full of charactor and warmth. Wendy, Shelia, Alejandro and Omar,all served us well. Our fellow guests was the final part in the alignment and it was great to share anniversaries, quizs, horse wrestling with them all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great restaurant recommendation for Granada and what a beautiful city. Be warned one day does not do it justice.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Top of the tree, lucky to have Dan

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Extend your break to take in Malaga and Granada. take a earlier/later plane

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Well done Exodus.
Call us on 056 631 86 64