Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2019
    colin whitelock

    Good but has potential drawbacks

    Be honest with your physical abilities - this is advertised as a '6' (Challenging/tough)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ascent of My Rysy - good mix of walk & scamble

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good at ensuring group member interests came 1st and were looked after. Coped well considering the large group size (16 people) and their varied demands

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Maximum group size of 16 could be uncomfortably large. With large groups there is the potential for a wider range of abilities/pace This is an issue when there is only 1 leader as the group has to stay together.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unsure how the trip grading is calculated. The Exodus trip TVB 'High Peaks of Bulgaria' is rated as a '5' and for me it felt more demanding than this one.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Robin Hubbard

    ?

    Excellent -but group should have been smaller.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summit of Ryzy

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Great fun - knowledgable - extremely helpful. Maybe a bit controlling but group was large with varying abilities

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit enough and have a head for heights

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Optimal group size 8-12. 16 too large. My only real criticism. Otherwise route activities, huts and leader were all excellent
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Anne Lane

    Excellent

    This trip was a challenging mountain walk with good mountain hut accomodation. Teresa was a great guide with Helena helping us slower ones. A great holiday even if I trailed 15 minutes later than guys half my age!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Rysy in Poland

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa was helpful, informative, attentive and enthusiastic and a great trek leader. Helena helped Teresa as second professional guide . Helena helped me as I was slightly slower to reach the top of Rysy and back down again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be fit and able to trek well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The return flight was late for those having to return to work the next day
  • Reviewed September 2018

    Great Trek with excellent mountain facilities and excellent guides

    Our guides Teresa and Helena were excellent and did a great job of leading the group, encouraging where necessary and making sure the trek went smoothly. The trek was as described in the trip notes, challenging with some great scenery . The mountain huts were of a good standard, with good Polish food to help us refuel at the end of a tough day. The tacks were busier than I had expected, and at times did provide a challenge for the leaders to manage the flow of our party and other walkers up and down the chains. Overall an excellent trek

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Rysy

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent with a great sense of humour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you read the trip notes in advance and are well prepared for a challenging/ tough week of trekking.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Rebecca Smith

    A worthwhile trek in a popular Polish tourist destination

    I had a great 8 day trip with exodus. Thus was my first trip with exodus and I was very impressed from the word go. The walking is tough, but aslong as you're used to long walks with lots of ascent and descent you will be ok. Don't expect to lose weight on this trip, you will eat more food than you thought possible!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Rysy was a great feeling. To reach the summit we had a long steep ascent using chains for part of it, which made the feeling of satisfaction when reaching the top all the more worthwhile. We were lucky that the weather good and so the views at the top were breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa was very helpful and always caring about the members of the group. She was able to organise any tours or visits we wanted for our free day in Krakow. During the trek she made sure she walked with different members of the group and got to know us all. She cared greatly about all members and it was a credit to her that everyone completed all 4 days of the trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    All the mountain huts we stayed in had points to charge phones and cameras so don't bother taking loads of heavy solar chargers. There were great drying rooms, so don't bring loads of clothes, making your bag heavy, just wash your clothes in the huts when you need to! Bring earplugs - we stayed in a 12 bed dorm and one very very loud snorer kept some of the group up for most of the night!!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    david ellis

    tatra mountains & krakow

    the trip was an interesting combination of both hill walking and city break. we were a bit unlucky with the weather, only one day with no rain, so it was waterproofs for most days, at least this made the pack lighter, the huts were very busy, lots of students on holiday in september. we had to miss the big climb at the end of the week due to rain which was snow and freezing conditions at 1800m. Teresa our guide did well to juggle activities in the circumstances. krakow for the last 3 days was a chance to explore the old town, do some of the trips on offer to the salt mine and auchwitz, and just chill with a beer, in the jewish quarter.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    a beer in the hut after a days walk

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very good, considering the bad weather

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    travel out of the university holidays , months

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    a good introduction to poland
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Johnny Corn

    The highs of the High Tatras

    Had a wonderful week of walking and sightseeing here in Poland. A great leader in Teresa, a good group, wonderful walking and Krakow after to unwind after a challenging few days walking. Brilliant accommodation with great food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sadly due to weather it was not getting to the top of Mount Rysy but we nearly got there! Mind you Auschwitz was an experience I will never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa was brilliant. Years of experience in the mountains and her great sense of fun and humour made her one of the best guides I have been led by. She was well liked and respected in all the places we stayed and by othe guides and local people we met along the way. Whatever we wanted she saw we got it!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a challenging trip so read trip notes and seriously decide if it is for you or not as the last day is tough and several people in our group I think were secretly relieved that the weather was bad so they did not have to go to the top!!! The chains were not something that some people were expecting!!! Take ear plugs! Pack light- ask the guide what to take! I took two books and never read a page! Use walking poles! Do not bother with a second pair of shoes, maybe just flip flops for shower!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Erik Baijards

    High Tatras

    Good trip for a short but strenuous holiday not far away. The views are fantastic. It is not a remote area and it was busy on all trekking days. The school holidays where still on and after some weeks of bad weather in the area we were lucky we had a week of good hiking weather so there were many locals on the tracks as well. The huts are OK.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day to the summit of Rysy was long and tiring but to reach the summit .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was nice and enthusiastic. Most important she took very very well of our safety when we climbed Rysy and had to use the chains. Counting was a very weak point and made things chaotic. When you ask who wants tomato soup when the group is not complete and you don't give the second option you cause a lot of confusion and the question has to be asked another two or three times. These sort of moments happened nearly every time we had coffee, tea or a meal.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have time it's worth to extend your stay in Krakau to have enough time to visit Krakau, Auschwitz and the salt mines.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Irene Smith

    Tatra mountains

    I have just returned from a fantastic trip to the Tatra Mountins.. Did not realise what a beautiful country Poland was and we were really lucky to have had great weather. Getting to the top by useing chains was great it was very busy but it was a beautiful day and like all exciting summits when the weather is predicted to be good everyone comes out to catch a good day.the huts were the best I have ever had on a trek and there was always loads of food so no one needed to go hungry. The showers were immaculate and some huts even had drying rooms luxury. Our guide Teresa was amazing full of enthusiasm and knowledge of her country. Yes we did leave one of the party behind at the airport but that was sorted out and she apologised many many times. She was very encouraging to everyone and I felt I could go to her anytime for anything. To anyone who is looking to do this trip I would say go for it you will have a wonderful adventure

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the summit on such a beautiful day the views were spectacular and I think all our group were feeling very proud of themselves.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa was amazing. She was so knowledgeable and proud of her country and wanted to share that with us. She was always smiley full of energy and great fun, and always always approachable for any problem anyone had. One of the better leaders I have had on a track.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great trick if you like a bit of a challenge go for it you will not regret it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take some gloves for the chains as they can be hard on the hands.
  • Reviewed September 2017

    Trek the Polish High Tatras

    This was the worst trip I have experienced with Exodus. I could not recommend it to others. I had not realised how busy the area would be. When we climbed to the top of Rysy it felt like being on the top of a termite nest. The chains were very busy and queues up and down. Every path was visible with a line of people heading up the mountain. The majority of Footpaths were tourist tracks, ie they were white laid rocks, which could be seen for miles. Accommodation was better than expected, although we had issues with lack of drinks. Huts only provided one drink per meal, no top ups and usually no water jugs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    **

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader was abrasive and managed to leave a client at the airport due to not being able to head count. The leader also made mealtimes stressful as she was unable to organise teas and coffees etc, which needed numbers! Not sure she knew which name went to which person by the end of the week. Felt that we were bullied and shouted at throughout the trip. Leader was safe on the mountain and knew the route, but had no client rapport.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you decide its for you.....take hut slippers, none are provided. If you have special dietary needs take plenty of supplements they are inflexible with meals and have limited options.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Helen for her review, although we are sorry to hear that she did not enjoy the The High Tatra mountains as a destination and we regret that some aspects of this tour fell below her expectations. As this area is close to the second largest city in Poland and the weather was good, there were a lot of others enjoying the walking trails on the mountains when Helen was travelling. We were also sorry to hear that Helen was disappointed with aspects of her tour’s leadership as her tour leader is incredibly experienced and has been leading for Exodus for over 10 years. In that time, she has received very good feedback with an emphasis on how safe clients feel with her. Due to group sizes increasing, however, we will be running this trip with two leaders from 2018.

    Simon Clifford - Product Manager

Call us on 056 631 86 64