Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Paola Cassotti

    Walking in paradise

    Two weeks walking in some of the most spectacular scenery of the Alps. Breathtaking views in the many clear days and surreal when walking in the clouds. Varied terrain to entertain all...this is a must for any mountains lover. Excellent arrangements from Exodus as always and great leader and camp manager.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    About every hour of my walking time every day. The scenery was breathtaking. Cheering UTMB trail runners in Chamonix, swimming in an Alpine lake in a clear sky day, eating lunch by a glacier, the Emerald lake, eating my favourite Swiss chocolate when reaching a col, the outstanding views of mountain peaks above a sea of clouds from Cabane Praflouri, snowball fight in the boulders, introduction to trail running to St Nicklaus, walking in the clouds on the longest suspension bridge in Europe, trek to Zermatt with clouds opening over the Matterhorn.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John and Ags made my holiday!!! Inspirational, brave, kind, funny, passionate, knowledgeable, supportive and a good laugh. I always felt safe and in good hands, the food was absolutely delicious. They tended to all group members and really went the extra mile for me...quite literally 😊. I could have not wished for better leaders

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip requires a good level of fitness and stamina to ensure you can enjoy it with the group. Be warned that you will want to return to the Alps the moment you leave

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank to my fellow group members and to John and Ags for inspiring me...I have already booked a Mountain Skill course...I will be back for more :)
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Paola Cassotti

    Walking in Paradise

    Two weeks walking in some of the most spectacular scenery of the Alps. Breathtaking views in the many clear days and surreal when walking in the clouds. Varied terrain to entertain all...this is a must for any mountains lover. Excellent arrangements from Exodus as always and great leader and camp manageress.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    About every hour of my walking time every day. The scenery was breathtaking. Cheering UTMB trail runners in Chamonix, swimming in an Alpine lake in a clear sky day, eating lunch by a glacier, the Emerald lake, eating my favourite Swiss chocolate when reaching a col, the outstanding views of mountain peaks above a sea of clouds from Cabane Praflouri, snowball fight in the boulders, introduction to trail running to St Nicklaus, walking in the clouds on the longest suspension bridge in Europe, trek to Zermatt with clouds opening over the Matterhorn...and the Matterhorn nail polish session at camp 😊

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John and Ags made my holiday!!! Inspirational, brave, kind, funny, passionate, knowledgeable, supportive and a good laugh. I always felt safe and in good hands, the food was absolutely delicious. They tended to all group members and really went the extra mile for me...quite literally 😊. I could have not wished for better leaders. They inspired me so much I have already booked a mountain skill weekend in Snowdonia!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip requires a good level of fitness and stamina to ensure you can enjoy it with the group. Be warned that you will want to return to the Alps the moment you leave

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to John and Ags and my fellow group members for the excellent memories
  • Reviewed August 2018
    MARK FOSTER

    Enjoyable trip high up in the Alps

    Quite strenuous trek high up in the Alps,beautiful scenery with a excellent group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a few moments that stood out.The sunset at Cabane Mont Fort,the high alpine landscapes,walking on snow in August,climbing up the ladders to one of the cols. My favourite days were days days 7 & 8 on the remote stuff.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group was led by John Briggs,he's as good as it gets! Excellent leader,some days we had to start earlier to avoid afternoon thunderstorms,he got us all out on the hill & back down safely without any drama's.Due to the nature of the terrain the group would split but he had everyone covered,we also got some winter skills walking on snow lessons from him. Our leader back at camp was Adz from Lithuania,she cooked some great meals was great company & well organised.You couldn't have asked for more from either John or Adz.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you've done the TMB trek this is definitely harder,but for me it was more rewarding due to the remoteness of the places you were walking through.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's quite strenuous so make sure you train for it.I'm a cyclist so I was doing my regular cycling,usually 60 miles a weekend plus walking as fast as I can for 10 miles without jogging a few times a week,also I used to rock climb so that came in handy for the easy scrambling that you had to do in places. The descent's are steep in places so bring poles even if you never use them at home,your knees will thank you.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    John Halstead

    Brilliant Trip

    This was a trek that was harder than I expected for the walking, but there are no altitude issues at all. It was professionally led by John Briggs and coked for by a lovely Lithuanian lady we all called Ads. Most days we walked up to a col with fantastic views and then back down to the next camp site or other hut style accommodation. There was a fair bit of walking on snow and ice, but the presence of the snow really added to the scenery and I was not uneasy about it at any time. I lost 7lbs which was slightly disappointing (I lost 21 lb on last year's 3 week trek in Pakistan) but the food was irresistible, and wine and beer were available at modest prices.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our first view of the Matterhorn was amazing. Utterly majestic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very professional says it all. A good leader in control of the group at all times and offering help and advice when needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some training. Not just in the gym. I visited the Brecon Beacons for four two day stints in the weeks before I went. It really paid dividends, not only being able to take the walking in my stride, but being able to enjoy the trip rather than suffering from tiredness. Be prepared for steep ascents and descents over several hours.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Always accept the guide's judgement. If he decides to turn back or take a detour because he considers a section unsafe, he is probably right. Don't question the decision.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Frank Kennedy

    TWH: 827 Mont Blanc to the Matterhorn

    A Memorable Trek This trip had everything, meadows, mountains, snow, rock and the thrill of the great outdoors. However, the trip wasn't just about the wonderful scenery and hiking, a large part of its success was the team spirit that was fostered by our leader John Briggs and camp manager Egle.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several highlights, however, I very much liked the steady ascent to Villa and Col Torrent. The panoramic views of the vast mountain range were wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John Briggs is an outstanding leader, multi-talented. His practical instruction on how to proceed on difficult terrain was most helpful. He was always prepared to go the extra mile to ensure each day was a success. Overall John displayed exceptional leadership skills. I have no hesitation in nominating John for the annual leader awards. John was ably assisted by Egle, together their pleasant manner added greatly to group bonding and the forming of new friendships. On returning from a trek, Egle would have tents set up and coffee and biscuits at the ready. The delicious, wholesome 3 course meals were cooked on a gas stove. in the middle of nowhere, (magic) and all done with a smile.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On our trip in early July we encountered several snow fields. I found it useful to have a light set of walking crampons.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is strenuous and at times challenging. There is a definite need to train and get into good physical condition. This will ensure you are not under pressure on the trek and can enjoy it to the full.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Russell Tullo

    Excellent tour of the Alpine highlights

    A thiroughly enjoyable, challenging and stunningly beautiful trip across the French and Swiss Alps.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s hard to distill all the best bits of the trip into one, but the combination of stunning scenery, personal challenge and top quality leadership and support makes the trip a jewel in the Exodus crown.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John Briggs was a top rate leader. Hugely knowledgable, impressively fit, patient and kind and an all round great guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is challenging in parts but that should not deter you from experiencing some of the best views in the Alps, and spending time with a great bunch of fellow travellers. It’s hugely enjoyable and well worth it.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Dorian Moss

    Two wonderful weeks of high cols

    My second Exodus trek in the Alps, and the Haute Route deserves the challenging grade, definitely tougher than TMB. Very well organised by Exodus, excellent leader and camp manager, and a great bunch of 12 trekkers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of the third col of the day between Mont Fort and Prafleuri mountain refuges, the Col de Prafleuri (almost 3000m). This day 5 of the walk stayed over 2500m all day, we were fortunate to have a fine day for it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John is a natural leader, highly skilled in mountain technique but also very sensitive to the different abilities and interests of group members. He quickly gauged the correct pace, and knows when to give extra support to people who need it, e.g. with tricky parts of a steep descent. He kept our spirits up on the days with poor weather, and on fine days allowed the fastest members of the group to go ahead (but then wait at junctions). He has an excellent knowledge of Alpine geography and trees, which he was ready to share. Having been led by John on TMB in 2014, I was delighted to meet him again on arrival at Geneva.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is not for those who lack fitness and stamina. Several days wth 1000m or more ascent and descent, one after another: there is no rest day until after 6 days walking. Do this trip if ready for a challenge, otherwise consider the Tour du Mont Blanc TMB.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our camp manager Egle deserves full credit alongside John. She managed to perform wonders on a basic cooking stove, very imaginative menus, and the large portions one needs on such an energetic trek. The whole Exodus camp set up is very well thought out, including the design of tents, mess tent and all the auxiliary equipment like facilities to charge phones etc. I would suggest that the tents used are absolutely fine for one person but I would advise anyone travelling without a partner or very good friend to pay the single supplement. The two mountain refuges were an interesting experience of living close together, unavoidable to complete the route. Most of the campsites very well equipped, Exodus do not hide the fact that two others have very basic facilities.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jo Cuttell

    Mont Blanc to the Matterhorn 505A

    A great walk with fabulous scenery. The group was very supportive and friendly and this added to the enjoyment of the holiday. The food was amazing, delicious and filling. The camp manager was brilliant - very efficient, and a great cook.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the col after climbing up the ladders at the Pas de Chèvre. I've never done anything like that before. Exhilarating!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader really added to my enjoyment of the holiday. He was very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area and pointed out interesting plants that I would have missed otherwise. We even saw an eidelweiss on the mountainside. He also shared his interest in the geology and history of the area which I found interesting and helpful in understanding the mountains. He was a thoughtful leader and took time to help people who needed support over the more difficult terrain. His route finding was impeccable and when bad weather came in the group felt complete confidence in him to get us to the campsite.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an inner sheet sleeping bag for the night in the huts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a great holiday- get fit and do it.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Michael Farnan

    Mont Blanc to the Matterhorn

    This was my first ever trek so I was anxious at first. I quickly settled in to the group and found the trek a great adventure and experience. The guide we had was excellent in terms of gaging the groups abilities and leading us. The support member of staff was also relaible and provided a good service. It was a hard trek at times but very rewarding. I am already looking to plan my next trip with Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The groups support for each other. I can't name one moment as there were many. Everyone had different strengths and abilities and were able to inspire each other at different times.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very knowledgeable, supportive and friendly. He was a great leader and I had every confidence in him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    None that has'nt alresdy been provided in the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No further information to add.
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Brian White

    Excellent, Tough Trip but Very Rewarding

    We did this trek in July and had perfect blue sky weather every day, but rain on the last day for the walk into Zermatt. The trek for us was one of the best European treks we have done and was very challenging/tough but extremely rewarding with stunning and changeable scenery every day. We really enjoyed the camping although the mountain huts and auberge were a little close for comfort but manageable once you got use to the idea of sleeping closely with other people!! This trek had it all for us. High col passes, snow walking and bum sliding, steep ascents, steep descents, rough terrain, boulder jumping, chains, forests, gushing rivers, waterfalls and lakes and absolutely stunning snow capped mountains and scenery. However, we were a little disappointed that the itinerary was not followed on the first day of walking and we missed not starting from the teleferique at Plan Praz and also the high level contour walk with ladders and chains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at a col each day at just under 3000 metres after a long, hard ascent and the stunning blue sky views that awaited us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As a result of Simon's background he was a fast paced, no-nonsense leader which, on occasions, was necessary due to the challenging/tough nature of this trek. However, a slightly slower pace to meet the total group needs might have been more appropriate as those who were at the back every day struggled to keep up and we had to keep waiting for them to catch up. Conversely, you really need to be a good and very fit mountain walker to get the best out of this trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On your first day off at Les Bossons, Chamonix (the warm-up day), do the ascent and descent from the campsite to the Refuge de Bellachat at altitude 2152 metres. This will give you a good feel for what the daily ascents and descents are like, whilst warming you up nicely for what is in store most days. If you make it, try the delicious omelettes at the Refuge and the views are also very stunning. For the huts and auberge take a head torch with a red light so as not to wake people up with a bright LED and also ear plugs. You only need to take a sleeping bag liner in your day pack and no flip-flops for the huts as croc shoes are provided. You will need to take a towel and soap etc as you can have a shower in the Mountain Huts at a cost of 5 Francs and they are free in the auberge. The long descents can be very arduous on your knees - definitely take and use two poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As the trip notes state this is a challenging/tough trek and you need to be more than a fell walker, capable of walking at altitude. You must also be capable of walking at a moderate to fast rate each day sometimes over very uneven rocky ground, otherwise you will probably be the one at the back holding the group up every day and preventing them from achieving the daily challenges e.g. ladders and high routes thus causing the leader to 'water-down' the itinerary. This will affect the dynamics of the group and also put you under pressure and potentially prevent you from enjoying a wonderful trek.
Call us on 056 631 86 64