Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

27 Reviews

  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    A fabioulous trip in the heart of Switzerland. Could not imagine a better trekking trip. If you have not your mountainerring skills 100% trained, this is a chance to do so. The way is very challenging and demanding route. The peaks vary from 1800 to 2900m above sea level. Views are astonishing and breathtaking if you never visited Switzerland before. (I am on the 5th picture in the "images" section far right with the white-red cap. Dated August-September 2006)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to know the swiss culture, habits and countryside. There is no better way to get Switzerland to know than by trekking. Walking alongside paths in alpine meadow where cows with famous bells chew on their grass was the highlight of my best moments of the trip. No image can describe it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leaders were very helpful in helping me out as my flight was delayed and I missed their booked transport to camping site. Had to stay overnight in Geneve and take a bus trip next day to the group. That's normal by trips like this, few people lost their baggage so plenty of adventure on the beginning.They were well prepared for the journey, walked it several times before, so they knew they way round. Very cheerful, lovely talking to and friendly. Could not say more. Adjusting pace to everyone's needs and helping out as much as they could. It also includes evenings with cooking, tents putting up and so on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be well prepared! I mean, it is murderous trip for your knees hips and toes if you never hiked 15-20km a day! The mountains are steep, narrow and sometimes dangerous. You will get blisters quite for sure after 4-5 days. Shoes are not to be taken new! Always wear them at least 100km or so. Then drying your clothes is a nightmare if you experience bad weather. Always take water containers, sunscreen (30+), sunglasses, lip balm(!), walking pole (can be a simple branch), forehead torch, swiss knife, raincoat or waterproof jacket, winter cap (yes it can be 0°C up in 2800m) and more. You will get a full list once you book a ticket. They are very helpful in letting you know how to prepare.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am very astonished how the price went up. Back in 2006 I paid around £900 just for the trip and flights. With equipment and so on, I may've gotten up to £1500 after all including extra meals, occasional beer. Now it's over £1,750!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    Challenging walking and stunning scenery. I've done a few long distance hikes over the last few years, and would rate this as one of the best - with the Tour de Mont Blanc being the other one. The mountains in the alps are just more human-scale than the ones in Nepal - which I think makes them more attractive, and more accessible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The high passes were indeed the highlights - getting to the top was a challenge on a couple of the days, but once there the views were stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Frank was a good trek leader - allowing the speedy folks to go ahead when it was safe to do so, and keeping an eye out for the backmarkers without making anyone feel like they had to hurry. He was also ok with letting the fitter walkers stride ahead when the route was clear and safe, giving us the space to walk at our own pace.You don't get too many of them to a penny... Breaks were often enough, without being too-much.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some hill-walking exercise before you come and you'll enjoy it more. Climbing hills is probably the best practice, but I think an elliptical bike can also be a good alternative if you can't get to the mountains. This is a good challenging trip - challenging for the long climbs, and the stretches of bouldering on the hut-hut days. It deserves being a grade-higher than the Tour de Mont Blanc, but is still quite acheivable for any (semi-regular) walker.Bring a set of good ear-plugs for the refuge nights if you're hoping to get any sleep. Oh - and just in case you (or someone else) picks up a cough... bring plenty of cough sweets.Take plenty of memory cards + spare batteries for the camera. Power was available most nights at the camp sites with both UK and Euro plugs, although not convenient on the hut-hut section.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was excellent most of the time, although a couple of exeriments didn't pan out that well. If your chef suggests he's going to do a raclette but could only get hold of fondue cheese - suggest a fondue instead! On the positive side - he managed to buy some good local cheese and saucisson for the packed-lunches - which was good.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    Challenging walking, spectacular scenery in superb weather and excellent support.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Matterhorn in all its splendid glory.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Experienced, competent and friendly. What more could you ask for!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a tough walking trip. Make sure you are fully prepared.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would class myself as an experienced walker having completed a number of classic walks over the last 10 years. This was the best for challenging walking and wonderful scenery.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    A fabulous trip over some of the highest and most spectacular parts of the Alps.  The walk was at times demanding but the effort was definitely worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were blessed with some fantastic weather, only a couple of days rain so we had fantastic views of both Mont Blanc at the beginning and the Matterhorn at the end.  As an ex geography teacher I was fascinated by the range of landscapes, geology and glaciers.   We got close up and dirty with lots of glacial features.  The walking was superb with generally good paths but a few steep rocky bits to keep you on your toes (the conversation tended to drop at these points).  The wildlife kept us amused as we tried to spot the marmots that kept squeeking to warn each other of our presance (and yes I fell for a cuddly toy one in Zermatt).  It's hard to say what was my most inspriational moment(there we so many good bits) but probably watching the sun setting over the Alps from the Cabane Mont Fort with a well deserved beer- marvellous!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul our leader looked after us and all our sprains, falls and bruises.  He did a great job encouraging us over the cols. Mark (who cooked and transported our tents) always welcomed us with a cheering smile and most importantly tea and cake!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a spectacular walk but as the grade says, it is challenging.  It's rather like going up Ben Nevis everyday from Fort William (but with no rain and lots of fab views).  I was certainly fit at the end of the two weeks and lost an impress 4 kg but if I did it again I would try and be a bit fitter at the beginning of the walk.  But hey I'm a short fat 51 year old so if I can do it so can you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a really fab holiday - who wants to go to the beach when you can climb mountains, really big ones with glaciers, travel on scary cable cars, get loads of  fab views all with such excellent company.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    Without doubt this trip delivered everything one would expect for a great trek. Great people, group, scenery and memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing each day amidst amazing scenery with beautiful weather conditions and a great group of people to do it with.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was a leader you would trust to guide you  on any mountain. He gave you confidence and you could trust whatever the situation. His sense of humour will not be forgotton.Mark always provided a warm welcome after each days trekking. Kettle always on and was always approachable to ask for advice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a single person, booking a tent supplement was well worth paying extra for. Make sure you pack warm sleeping bag as nights can get chilly in September. Pack as light as possible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If there is one trek you should embark upon, do this one!!! Savour every moment as views are just amazing.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    A very challenging walk, with excellent support.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The amazing panorama of the Matterhorn and the surrounding mountains as you round the final bend on the Europaweg in Mattertal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders did everything possible to support the group achieving the goal of completing the Haute Route and with a relentless sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you are fit enough, particularly having recent experience of strenuous walking uphill. There are days which involve 5 hours of walking uphill!Don't underestimate the possible drop in temperatures with altitude and at night in camp when packing. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A very well organised trip!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    It is tougher than i thought everyone agreed it was a bit like standing on top of ben nevis and then walking up and down another ben nevis every day for a fourtnight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just to have completed it switzerland had the worse summer for twenty years we got snowed off one mountain but in the end we all started and all finished .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Like all tour leaders he did an excellent job it cannot be easy to marshal and look after 15 people on a mountain and be able to engage a wide range of people and try to keep everyone happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take good water proofs and an umbrella it is a lot easier to have to hand if you need a wee in the middle of the night.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If i come across those bloody tents we had i will burn them down easy to put up bloody annoying to put away in the mornings.