Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

32 Reviews

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Stephen kemp

    A fantastic way to spend a week.

    Not easy but very rewarding,especially at my age.the ascents were steady and the views fantastic,but the descents were relentless so some training pays dividends.The accommodation was good as was the food.Our guide was superb having to cope with people who walk at different paces is not easy,as everybody has to be kept as safe as possible .Finally the people in the group were fantastic ,very supportive,willing to share food and medical supplies and the evenings were a riot of humour .Cannot wait to go on another trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having sleet and snow on the first day made the views on the second day even better as the peaks were covered in fresh snow as was the Grand Col Ferret,The group made the trip unforgettable,really good company.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide did a great job ,she had time for everybody and spent a lot of time encouraging the slower members of the group without fussing.Her knowledge and organisation were very good so we got to breakfast on time and started our walking on time.She also had a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some training if you are not hill walking regularly.You will manage the ascents but the descent are long and really give the leg joints some stress.Walking poles certainly helped .Take a small lightweight camera,i took an DSLR and hardly used it ,it was easier to use the phone camera which took good photos.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    To have such a diverse range of people in the group really made it for me ,i learnt so much about what other people do.I shall never forget forget this holiday.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Paul Treasure

    Great guide, great company, great trip

    A fantastic trip. Everything I hoped for and more with a great bunch of fellow travellers and a patient, tolerant and lovely guide (Egle)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the many cols in snow and sun, rain and wind. Cold beers at the end and the enjoyable banter!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Egle was excellent. Patient and good humoured at all times

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light but take at least three pairs of socks! Yes you can wash them but we found they didn't dry overnight. Synthetic t shirts are a must. Don't forget fresh clothes for Chamonix. Do take gloves and hats. We had snow! For the same reason good boots essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Budget approximately 150 Euro in cash per person unless you like drinking water only.... More if you're fond of beer and wine! No need for Swiss francs
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Anna-Maria Veckman

    Excellent trip

    I loved this hiking holiday!! We had some serious hiking on this trip. Long days, some days with really high mileage and good ascent. Our hike leader was excellent, she really knew the area very well and was extremely helpful with practical tips throughout the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was realisation of doing all that ascent to reach the top of the mountain
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Tom King

    A Brilliant Week of Hiking!

    This was great trip - we continually had spectacular views of the Mont Blanc massif and the surrounding area. There was a relatively consistent amount of trekking each day but it never felt like a chore. The hiking routes were well thought out and you were never too far from a mountain coffee shop for a well deserved rest. Our guide Egle was excellent and really made the holiday a lot of fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose just one but the passes over from Switzerland to Italy and then Italy into France were phenomenal. The last day hiking around the Chamonix valley was also amazing with clear views of Mont Blanc.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Spending a week with Egle was a real treat. She was knowledgeable, fun and looked after the group brilliantly. She really made the holiday and brought the group together. 10 out of 10.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Plan to make your hiking bag as light as possible, its weight will make real difference to the enjoyment of the hiking. You also do not need to carry gallons of water - there are fairly regular opportunities to refill each day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The breakfast buffets provide a great opportunity to make a nice lunch but I'd recommend bringing some snacks along from home as there are not a lot of opportunities for food shopping.
  • Reviewed July 2018

    The Alps Are Wonderful

    We have always wanted to hike the Mont Blanc Circuit, but didn't want to hike it alone. We wanted to go with an international group as we love meeting new people, especially from outside the US. Our group members were funny and interesting, and we couldn't have asked for a nicer group of people. And the mountains! This trip does a great job of giving you the highlights of the circuit. I'd highly recommend it and do it again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking from Switzerland into Italy over the Grand Col Ferret was one of the most breathtaking views I've ever seen.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter M. was kind, knowledgeable, and a delight as a human being. He dealt with some difficult situations with humor and grace. His knowledge of the Alps and trekking was vast. He managed the snowy portion of the route with excellent guidance and advice. I feel my hiking is much improved over that type of terrain, which previously scared me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We are very physically active and hike a lot in our home state of Colorado and still found the hikes challenging. The elevation gain and loss each day are significant. Also, these are long days on your feet, so bring dependable hiking boots. When Exodus recommends that you bring specific gear, I'd heed their advice as you'll need it. I'd also try to pack as light as possible.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rachel Harrison

    A superb trip with breathtaking views.....

    This is a superb trip. Fitness tested but did improve as the week went on. A "fast and light" way to achieve the Tour du Mont Blanc with only a weeks leave. I enjoyed it from start to finish. Many thanks Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking down into Orzieres and finding our quirky little hotel with a friendly manager and lovely food. A beer in the local cafe rounded off the day. Waking up in Italy to bright blue skies and phenomenal views that we hadn't seen the day before. The coffee in the refuges was a highlight and a welcome pit stop. This is a challenging trek and completing each day left you tired but happy (and nursing the odd blister!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nick was an excellent leader with extensive alpine knowledge. He looked after the group well, altered plans as required and kept us entertained!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light! The hardest bit is carrying 10 kgs on your back. You really do not need much. I managed to wash a tee shirt and trousers and they dried (just) overnight. If your feet are at all vulnerable, protect heels and toes with tape (zinc oxide/kinesio tape - learnt from my fellow travellers) as walking with open blisters can be very challenging!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent trip. Made all the more fun by a really great group of people who got on well and supported each other.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Claire Swarbrick

    Tour Du Mont Blanc Week

    Great people and beautiful scenery on a challenging but very enjoyable trip. Shame about the poor Exodus admin prior to the trip and the failure of any Exodus representative to meet us upon arrival at the airport (as promised).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being in the mountains with such magnificent views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There were 11 in the group and only 1 leader. At times the leader seemed oblivious to the fact that some members of the group had fallen so far behind that they could no longer be seen.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a wonderful trip but I was quite disappointed in the service provided by Exodus as I had heard many good things about the company and this was my first time on an Exodus adventure. One of the ladies on the trip arrived at the airport to find that she hadn't been booked on to her flight and had to make last minute arrangements herself. This has put me off travelling with Exodus again
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mark Thompson

    Great exercise, top food and an excellent guide

    The Tour surpassed my expectations. The days can be long and the climbs can go on, but it's worth it for the incredible views, excellent food and the stories and jokes along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dropping from Switzerland into France and having an espresso next to a glacier. Stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nick was excellent. He knew the name of just about everything we pointed at - and we did a lot of 'what's that' pointing! He was also excellent at describing the regions' nuances and accommodating requests. With a relatively large group, you're going to have people of different abilities and fitness levels. Nick did a great job of making sure everyone remained part of the group while letting some people have moments to run off on their own or have a breather.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light. You don't need that extra t-shirt. Just take a bottle of travel detergent and use the sinks and showers to refresh your clothes. After 30 minutes walking you're going to be sweaty anyway!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mark Hooper

    Fantastic week!

    Fantastic week! The whole week was brilliant from start to finish, the hotels were cosy and welcoming. The food was lovely especially the surprising stops that were sometimes at the top of a col. The scenary was beautiful, we especially loved seeing the snow capped peaks! We were very lucky to have a small group and we got on very well. We also had amazing weather, sunny everyday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday was so different, we loved seeing the differences when walking through Switzerland, Italy and France. The final day views of Mont Blanc were spectacular!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rupert was a great leader, he was so knowledgable and passionate about the trip. He always made sure everyone was happy and okay. We especially enjoyed his games and local knowledge of where to get the best cheese from! He really did go above and beyond!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack lightly as you do need to carry everything and you can wash things in the evening. Most hotels have shampoo and shower gel so you don't need to carry much. You have two nights in the same hotel at the end so you can take extra clothes for those nights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Absolutely loved this trip, was one of the best holidays that we have had!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Barbara Rausch

    Tour du Mt.Blanc

    As a newcomer to Exodus travels I was pleasantly surprised how well structured and organised this trip was. The team John B. (our intrepid hike leader) and Emily S.( camp organizer and chef par excellence )was exceptional with their cheerful ,easy going approach yet professional on every level.I so appreciated the smiles and jokes- even in adverse weather conditions . Their engagement made this tour through this magnificent landscape even more memorable.Thanks again to both !!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To experience the peace in magnificent surroundings and the friendship of like minded people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was at all times aware and attentive. He is very knowledgeable and was helpful in all questions that came up. John made the hike enjoyable in knowing when to motivate and lead by example with a cheerful calmness.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have clothing for all seasons and try to swim in some of the pristine lakes !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I will use Exodus in the future ,