Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

100 Reviews

  • Reviewed April 2017
    Louise Todd

    Land of the Tiger -India

    This was an amazing trip! Lots of Tigers (including cubs), lovely fresh food, a great group leader and of course sunshine!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Tigers were by far the best part for me. They are beautiful and we were so lucky to see 18 including some cubs too. The rest of the wildlife was also really good from leopard, sloth bear, Peacocks, monkeys dear, and countless birds! For me the countryside was lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna was our group leader and he definately made sure our holiday was a great one. He was very knowledgable and couldn't do enough for us. He arranged extra game drives, joined in with the group and gave us plenty of information along the way! Excellent guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although this is stated as a leisurely holiday, the early starts make it a long day but well worth it!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Mike Segal

    A great trip to see tigers in the wild

    Three tiger reserves, 15 game drives in total. We saw about 15 tigers of different ages and sexes, lots of very good clear and long sightings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being charged by a huge male tiger who clearly wasn't pleased at our attentions. He really wanted to scare us off!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hemal was very good in all respects, all the organisation and logistics went perfectly and he was very clear in his briefings and explanations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1.This is not a trip for people who suffer from a bad back. The jeep rides are very rough and bumpy, especially when the drivers hurry to get to spots where they think the tigers may be. 2. Patience is essential. We spent very many hours seeing nothing, but the rewards of a good sighting are worth the wait. In some parks you may see nothing at all, in others you may have several good sightings in a day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Both the accommodation and the transport were better than expected. Very comfortable lodges with spacious rooms and excellent food most of the time. All the long drives were in modern people carriers rather than a coach.
  • Reviewed April 2017

    Wonderful trip to see tigers in the wild

    Very well organised trip to three parks where chances of tiger sightings are high and we were delighted to have many good sightings

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When a tigress strolled out of the scrub and walked towards us followed after a few minutes by 2 of her 3 cubs. The train trip was interesting and exciting, and very organised by our leader. All the driving through the countryside and trying different snacks and buying in the markets was brilliant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hamel was very well organised, helpful and friendly and went out of his way to make our trip memorable in so many ways.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel as light as possible. Don't t expect the Taj to be peaceful and serene, it is very popular with tourists of all nationalities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Tourist Board should be made aware of the litter problem in the actual tomb area and the surroundings.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Patricia Sayers

    Land of The Tigers delivered the goods

    Good trip that delivered the goods eventually! We had one far off sighting in Pench, nothing at all in Kanha but my goodness did Bandhavgarh deliver with interest. One tiger drinking in a water hole, one tigress and 2 cubs walking out straight in front of our vehicle and one tigress drinking from a water hole and then turning and backing into the water to lie down and cool off. The overnight train to Agra was an experience ... and I'll leave it at that! The Taj Mahal and the Red Fort at Agra were worth seeing, but we were upset at the amount of rubbish in and around the Taj Mahal, it really could be better looked after.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Tigress and her cubs walking across the road in front of the jeep was exceptional but every Tiger sighting was inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hemal was a good leader, and helped us in so many ways. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he worked hard to make sure we were all comfortable and happy in our surroundings. He even managed to supply a birthday cake for me at dinner on my birthday and had the others in the group each sign the back of one of a set of coasters as a present (a wonderful memory of our trip and a complete surprise)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    All of the parks are very dusty, do take something to cover your nose and mouth while doing the game drives. Also Bandhavgarh in particular has a very red dust which stains so don't wear anything white or light coloured as the stain doesn't come out easily (have had to throw a few things away)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's tiring getting up at 4.45 am day after day, it's hot and it's dusty ... but you'll forget all of that on your first sighting of a tiger! Well worth the effort.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Judith Hulse

    Land of the Tiger

    Wow! what an fantastic experience, just the right balance of safaris and leisure time. Our guide Vijay was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for him, he even managed to book an extra game drive for us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Tigers in the wild is very exciting, we saw 9 tigers and a leopard over 16 game drives plus numerous other animals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vijay was really excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very cold in the mornings in February. Getting up at 5am and sitting in an open top jeep requires layers of clothing, the lodges provide blankets but you need hat, scarf and gloves plus a warm coat! The train journey was "intresting" I personally was dreading it but actually it was quite fun, we were on the train around 14 hours, when we got to Agra we had plenty of time to shower and get changed before the afternoon visit to Agra fort and the Taj Mahal.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you love wildlife this is a holiday not to be missed, highly recommended
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Gail Mccluskie

    Land of the Tiger

    A really good trip, with lots of game drives and tiger spotting potential. The 3 parks (Pench, Kanha and Bandavgarh) are all quite different. Guides variable, some excellent. We were lucky enough to spot a number of tigers, as well as a couple of leopards, Indian wild dogs and a sloth bear.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One particular tiger sighting where we came upon a huge male tiger lying in a stream just beside a bridge. It was also inspiring and very encouraging to see the dedication of most of the drivers and guides, and the evident pride they take in sharing the sights and sounds of their fantastic workplaces with visitors.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna was a really good tour leader. He was fun to be with and has a great knowledge of the wildlife. I think some of our best wildlife encounters were as a result of him and the guides working together to decide where we should go.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more clothes than you think you will need, at least in January. It was freezing, especially on the morning drives. Don't expect to see the number of animals you would see on an African safari

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pench Jungle Resort wasn't as nice as the other 2 lodges. The rooms were dark, dingy and very cold. There was no terrace to relax between morning and afternoon game drives, only a communal area where you had to dodge noisy kids kicking footballs at you. Some of the food was a bit bland, and Krishna admitted that he had asked kitchens to take the spice level down. We even had a dish marked "boiled vegetables" one day. For me, one of the reasons for travelling is to taste local food, but I feel that most of the food we had in the hotels was bland, tourist food.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Colin Newton

    land of tiger trip

    Once we got to India the trip was great. Pity we missed the first 24 hours due to fog delaying our flight to Heathrow. Disappointed that the Exodus team did little to help us try to 're-book our flights and when they did it cost us over 1600 pounds.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    viewing tiger's and the Taj Mahal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna was excellent and went out of his way to make this trip enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    depending when you go take warm clothes.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Stephen Lawther

    Land of the Tiger

    a great trip, but tiring, it is billed as leisurely, but getting up at 4.30 every day and bumping around in a jeep for eight hours takes its toll. Seeing a tiger makes it all worthwhile. Beautiful scenery and lovely sunrises. The lodges were lovely and the food superb. A nice group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a tiger at close quarters. What an adrenaline filled moment, I was shaking so much my husband had to hold on to me so I could take photos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vijay was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for him, everything ran to time. The only thing he couldn't organise was the Tigers to appear. We went in October, but are told that April/May is the best time for tiger sightings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The early mornings in October were really really cold, blankets were provided by the lodges but you need warm clothes, we brought a fleece as advised but needed to buy more to go on top, layers are best as it warms up mid morning. One of our group had thermal undies, believe me you need them!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Taj Mahal is a beautiful building outside, sadly the number of tourists inside pushing and shoving, taking photos and videos despite it not being allowed and the guards trying to spot offenders, blowing whistles and arguing whilst trying to confiscate cameras spoils the atmosphere of what is a tomb, a monument to love and we felt that the inside should be closed to the public and left in the peace it was intended for.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Sophie Smither

    Elusive Tigers!

    So much down to luck and timing, it was like looking for an orange needle in a large haystack! We certainly saw a lot of the land where tigers are but the animals themselves are not so easy to see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Undoubtedly the first (and for me only real) tiger sighting. From a large growl in the undergrowth that made everyone jump to despair as the unseen animal disappeared into the dense vegetation. Then further along the track, just round the corner, she finally emerged and crossed the road and went and climbed a hill and sat on a rock to enjoy the morning sun. Far away but she posed magnificently and stayed in place until we had to leave.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vijay was excellent and very enthusiastic and knowledgeable and did his best with the range of problems thrown his way! Particularly impressive herding of 15 people on and off a very crowded train!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, heed the other reviews with regards to expectations! This is not like other wildlife holidays and in particular very different from an African safari. Tigers are shy and solitary and very hard to see. You need a lot of patience and some luck, or that was certainly the case at this time of year. Be prepared for a lot of nothing - waiting for an alarm call, frustration as tracks disappear where you cant follow and hope that you just happen to be in the right place at the right time! Other than tigers it is mostly deer and monkeys to look at but even they aren't that abundant. Also don't be fooled by weather forecasts - you will want a fleece or jumper for the morning game drives even if the temp is supposed to be 19 degrees!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food was really good. Go with low expectations of the train and you might be surprised! WiFi available at all game lodges. Summer supposedly a much better time for tiger sightings (but gets very hot). Based on our experience in Delhi, maybe the local office should check status of hotels before confirming bookings!
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Christine Paterson

    Land of the tigers

    We had a great experience on this holiday. The lodges were all free wifi, albeit a bit slow. 2 of the 3 had pools, great for the free time between 11 and 2.30 between game drives. At the 3rd lodge the pool was being renovated which was a shame. Saw 6 tigers ncluding a fleeting glimpse of 3 cubs on 4 of the 16 game drives we experienced.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First tiger sighting was magical, the second when we followed alarm calls and got there before anyone else very special. Last sighting of single tiger also magical as it was our last included drive and we were about to leave the park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vijay was fantastic. Nothing too mch trouble coped well with hiccups, my luggage was taken by someone else at Mumbai. I was panicking when we met him at nagpur he calmed me down and sure enough my luggage arrived at the lodge 48 hrs later. local game park guides bit hit and miss. Drivers more dependable. Everyone anxious to give you the experience of seeing a tiger.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a fleece. Mornings are cold, maybe socks too! Insect repellant a must for Kahna. Use it as soon as you arrive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Train journey an experience. Despite our worries, the los were clean, the sheets clean and our compartment quiet. P4E 68