Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Karen White

    Tanzania Classic Safari

    This was my second time on this trip. I did it in June 2016 and decided to try a trip in February instead. Yet again, it didn't disappoint. Accommodation was great - especially Rhino Lodge and Tarangire Lodge and we saw a multitude of wildlife - much close up. I came home with about 3000 photos again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many but perhaps it was the small herd of elephants having a mud bath right by the side of our vehicle. The youngsters didn't want to get out! Two lionesses with a very recent kill was also a first. Or perhaps it was the wonderful pride of lions having a siesta on some rocks on the Serengetti where we were able to get close and get some wonderful photos. And last but not least herds of zebra as far as the eye could see and beyond including a youngster who entertained us playing a game of dare running to and fro the track in front of us, skipping, jumping and showing off until he got told off by his Mum! Then again my first ever sighting of an African wildcat - although in the distance was still good enough for a photo and another exciting memory. I could go on!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jackson was great. Knowledgeable and very attentive. He was always checking that everyone in the group was OK. He was also very friendly, had a sense of humour and made sure he spent time with everyone in the group. Our drivers - Julius and Alex - were also great. Their driving was second to none. I was in the vehicle driven by Julius and I was also impressed by his ability to spot animals miles away and he was also very knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy! Make sure you have large memory chips in your cameras! A pair of binoculars is a must for those sightings that are just a bit too far away for a photo. Keep your eyes pealed at all times and enjoy not just the stunning wildlife but the beautiful scenery as well and also the friendly people at all the camps and lodges.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having now done a few safaris with Exodus staying in a variety of tented camps (my favourites) and lodges, I would never visit Africa and stay in a hotel! The tented camps make you feel a part of it all and laying in bed at night listening to the sounds of Africa is magical and exciting. And whenever you get a chance, talk to the local people - they love learning from you as much as you can enjoy learning from them. I cannot rate Exodus enough. I have had some fabulous holidays with them so far and hope to have many more. As a solo traveller I feel completely safe with Exodus. I'm already pouring over the latest brochures to decide where I am going in 2019!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Mike Canham

    So Many Animals

    Have to rate that trip as excellent everyone needs a bit of luck on these trips and we had it by the barrow load though this was bought about by the staff.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hmm difficult to say maybe the Sea Eagle relieving a Maribou Stork of the fish it had just caught or the mating lions in Tarangire or the up to one hundred Elephants in the afternoon at the same place or a pair of male Cheetahs and three Leopards or the Rhino at Ngorongoro or a female lion draped over a branch of a tree sound asleep her three cubs practising the same trick a Zebra under the tree no longer taking part in life or sleepless at 4 am walking outside with a lion a few hundred yards away quietly proclaiming that he is the boss. So many lions some just laying by the trackside invariably full up and sleeping, thousands of Wildebeest on the move. Maybe the best was the young Elephant charging around probably alarming his owner even had the cheek to rush our vehicle, a few minutes later a much larger character did the same. The Crater is an amazing place all the animals, except Giraffes, in a relatively small space. Very good time to visit so many young animals moving around.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jackson keep him, unfailingly polite and helpful which i can guess can be a little bit difficult at times, Alex was an excellent, driver, spotter, and a mine of information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    DO NOT forget the torch and the loos are good all the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take the pain and spend the money.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Michael Bicknell

    My fourth Exodus safari !!!

    I have now travelled twice to both Tanzania, and also to Kenya. On this particular trip we were so fortunate to watch a large pride of, (about 20) , adult lions in the Ngorongoro crater. It was disappointing though, that despite seven full days here, driving hundreds of miles criss-crossing the country, we did not see one solitary rhinoceros at all. We were told that the Tanzanian Rangers had put some of their rhinos into private reserves to protect them from poachers. However, we had several lengthy sightings of leopards during the week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perhaps because the Short Rains started early this year, in October, the Great Migration also began sooner. We were all really surprised to see thousands, maybe tens of thousands, of wildebeest and zebra nearly every day of this trip. We also photographed plenty of giraffe, cheetahs, elephants, and the very scary Cape Buffalo.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Leader, Jackson, seemed a little introverted at times, but he did his job well enough. Our Driver however, Julius, was full of local information, and always keen to point out seemingly hidden animals, and beautiful birds, also fabulous flowers and trees. Thanks Julius, you were just so enthusiastic about Tanzania.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take torches, a head torch is really useful. Take hair shampoo, it is not supplied in the two very basic permanent tented camps. Also essential were sunscreen, and mosquito repellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is my second visit to Lake Manyara National Park, and on neither occasion have I seen the very elusive tree climbing lions. We were told that they had not been spotted at all this year. Plenty of baboons, and hippos here in this park, though. Later on during this trip we were really lucky to watch a large Monitor Lizard.
  • Reviewed October 2017

    So many elephants!

    This was a wonderful safari covering 3 great parks with supported camping.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the elephants bathe in Manyara.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He had great knowledge of the side roads and where to find the more elusive wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The dust will get everywhere- there is no avoiding it!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Julie Kersey

    Julie Kersey

    This was not only our first trip with Exodus but our first safari and we were not disappointed. We were well looked after and our leader and drivers were extremely knowledgable which made for a very enjoyable and interesting trip. It was a busy schedule visiting four different areas, Lake Manyara, the Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater and finally Tarangire Safari Park, each one slightly different. Our group were in two Land Cruisers on Game Drives every day, we could sit and enjoy the scenery and stop to watch an amazing amount of wildlife. It was a privilege to see the wildebeest migrating it was amazing to see them across the plains on the Serengeti as far as the eye could see; a photograph just couldn't capture the image, you had to just spend time looking at the view. I would certainly go on a safari again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing all the large animals elephants, giraffes and the big cats in such close proximity for the first time was amazing. If I had to say which of those was the most amazing I think it would be looking at a leopard in a tree, he was beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jackson our group leader was very helpful and friendly, he did his job wll.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When travelling on a safari or any other holiday where you are packing and unpacking frequently it's quite useful to buy some packing cubes for some of your clothes. To my husband and I they were a godsend, they kept things well organised.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Neil Presland

    Tanzania tented safari

    My overall experience of this trip was 'satisfactory' only because I saw lots of animals. Our Landrover though was ancient, slow and needed stones behind the wheel to hold it when parked. We were in a group of 3 vehicles and the petrol tank fell of off one and meant that 7 people had to be accommodated in the other 2 for 4 hours on very rough roads. The breaks on another were so questionable it had to be replace (with another old vehicle) None of the drivers were in charge and because of this departure times etc were chaotic because different drivers have different instructions and would only travel together. The Exodus rep on arrival was poor, reading out the trip notes and giving no additional information. She was more concerned in us appointing a leader who would collect all tips straight away for the whole trip (thousands of dollars) - we refused. We were in tents five nights not four. One of the tents (2 nights) had seen better days. Packed lunches were left for hours in the sun. We spent hours travelling on roads - exacerbated because of the age of the vehicles which could not travel at speed - we were overtaken constantly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no inspection allowed moment though I did see lots of animalsDAiRA

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was a poor representative of Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are happy to be in old vehicles, don't mind long and bumpy but slow journeys and are happy for there to be no leadership from the trip organisers then book this trip - you will see lots of animals which is the whole purpose of safari

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This experience of an Exodus holiday is so different to 3 years ago when I couldn't have praised them enough. I doubt I will travel with them again following this holiday.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Neil for his review, although we were concerned to learn of the issues this group experienced with their vehicle; following this unfortunate and one-off vehicle breakdown, Exodus undertook an audit of all the safari vehicles used  on this trip.  The vehicle in question has not been used on an Exodus trip since this date in 2016.  As well as the drivers/safari guides who accompany this trip, we have now appointed an Exodus tour leader who handles the general logistics of the trip and is better equipped to deal with any queries from the group.  We are confident these improvements have made this trip an even better experience.

     

    Emma Garrick - Product Manager for Tanzania

  • Reviewed June 2016
    Karen White

    Classic Tanzania Safari

    Best holiday I have ever had! Wildlife in abundance and closer than I could have hoped for and landscape was breath-taking. Great organisation; brilliant guide and fantastic travelling companions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from ALL of it (!), getting close to two cheetah brothers under a tree; being surrounded by elephants on more than one occasions and being surrounded by a herd of zebra was surreal - to be honest, there are too many inspirational moments to list!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Godsun was amazing. Friendly, great sense of humour, nothing was too much trouble for him. He went out of his way to give us a great holiday and his knowledge of the wildlife and culture of Tanzania was brilliant. I couldn't have wished for a better guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have large memory chips in your camera - I took over 3000 photos - so much to see! Be prepared to be overwhelmed and take each day as it comes because I found every day threw something at me that was even more amazing than the day before.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I never thought a holiday would top the last 3 I have been on with Exodus but this did (and the previous 3 have been excellent)! The abundance of wildlife at close quarters, the varied and breathtaking scenery all blew me away. I have never said "WOW" so many times in a day! Would I go back again? Definitely! Thank you Exodus!
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Simon Millward

    Terrific Tanzania!

    This trip offered an amazing wildlife spectacle! It definitely boosted my photography porfolio which was my objective. Listening to lions roar at night was amazing! Seeing Cheetah, Lions and Leapords all before breakfast was something I will never forget.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me this has solidified my ambition to work with animals and has prompted me to go back to studying. Hard to pick just one moment. However, when about 40 elephants walked within a hands reach from my safari truck, each one of them looking at you was simply fantastic!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My guide was Julius he was brilliant at spotting the animals for us and had a good knowledge! Juma out camp chef cooked up a storm with only torches to go by and sang Swahili songs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to your guides, live every second and build a fantastic memory!
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Sarah Turner

    We saw the big five!

    We had a fantastic guide/driver, (Julius), who was a great animal spotter. We saw the big five! However, seven people in one vehicle meant we had to take turns to take photos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing both the animals in the parks and also the Maasai people around the parks, hearing their cattle. We saw young boys with painted faces, ready for their circumcision ceremony.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fabulous.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack your kit in a bag with squash able sides as the vehicle has a limited amount of room for luggage. Try to give any leftover lunch to the locals to avoid waste. Never feed the animals. Take mosquito repellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A maximum of six clients comfortably fits into one 9 seater vehicle, with the driver, as its inns proprietor to sit in the front seat for game viewing, and it's not easy to see much at all from the middle seat in the back.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Chris Adams

    CLASSIC TANZANIA SAFARI (Lodge Departure)

    A brilliant trip from start to finish. I was amazed at how much we saw on the drives. There was nothing that we didn't see. Everything from Lions eating, to a Leopard relaxing up a tree, to Elephants rolling around in mud. Not to mention scores of Zebra, Wildebeest, and Giraffe and even a well hidden Cheetah.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming so close to Lions, they were literally feet away from us, but so engrossed into tucking into their dinner that they barely noticed we were there. Also waking up early morning and seeing a couple of Zebra grazing just feet away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders on our trip were excellent. They were very knowledgeable about everything we saw, and knew all the best areas where we would see things. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and they always had a smile on their faces.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make saure you take plenty of camera memory and spare battery. Even if you're not an avid photographer you'll be surprised at how many pictures you will take! Power is not always available for charging things, so its a good idea to have back up batteries.Pack for all weather as well. It can get very hot in the day, but also quite chilly at night and early morning.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The majority of camps where you stay are located in the parks themselves, and so a lot of the time you're surrounded by wildlife. This adds an extra sense of adventure and you never know what you might see! If you're looking for a trip where you're virtually guaranteed sightings of animals big and small, from Lions to small colourful birds, then this is the trip for you.
Call us on 056 631 86 64