Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    E Frances and Nigel Allen

    A Privilege

    It was a privilege to be part of this journey through Kenya and to be able to see the fantastic wildlife there. The number and close views of lion, leopard, buffalo, two types of rhino, wildebeest, mongoose, hyena, elephant, giraffe, various monkeys, jackal, warthog, zebra, various gazelle and antelope, cheetah, croc....( I could go on!) in one week was amazing. We saw maybe 80-90 species of bird that were new to us. The trip was well organised and the guides and accommodation were excellent. The travelling was fine and the vehicles very good. It was easy to take photos from the vehicles. The March weather was hotter than usual and overall the trip was quite tiring, though not demanding in terms of walking. We flew to Nairobi a day early, which suited us. Overall a great trip, leaving us wanting to return.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a leopard at close quarters.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davis and Peter were very helpful and knowledgeable. They took any minor hitches very seriously sorted them quickly and generally were very professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of money as Kenya isn't cheap.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It being an overnight flight to Kenya followed by a long day we recommend early arrival.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    barry tylee

    Kenya delivers

    This was my third trip to Kenya on safari. For me it just gets better. Of course there is a lot of luck involved, but the professionalism and determination of the guides ensures that you will enjoy a memorable safari adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is always a very difficult question to answer, when you are presented with such a variety of sittings. How can you follow seeing Lions, leopard and Cheetah.Not too mention many other species in between. My personal inspirational moment was taking a photograph of a single female cheetah which had just jumped up a tree in front of us to take a look at what might be on the menu for lunch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was, Davis. (Peter was the other guide/driver). I have been in groups with both and Davis comes with a track record which is difficult to surpass. Very competent driver, superb knowledge and a great organiser and communicator. I'm sure that we will meet again in the not so distant future when I again travel to the Massi Mara.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some long drives, comfort stops are plenty. It can be a bit bumpy (so what). depending on the time of the year it can be a bit dusty. Otherwise prepare yourself for a great adventure. Sit back and enjoy it. From your pictures you will relive the moments for years to come.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared. When you arrive in Kenya and are collected you will start your journey and indeed your safari. Your first excursion is a boat ride on the lake. Make sure that you have your hat, sun glasses and sun cream (or long sleeved shirt/.blouse) at hand as the time that you will spend on the lake in an open boat is time enough to get burnt in the African sun.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Diana Howard

    Classic 4WD Safari - Captivating Kenya

    This holiday met every expectation - brilliant safari, comfortable accommodations and knowledgeable, efficient tour operators. I had a fantastic time. There were 2 long drives, but to end up in the Masai Mara was well worth the effort of sitting in the back of the safari vehicle for several hours chatting to my fellow travellers and taking in the Kenyan countryside, villages and villagers. We visited 2 lakeside safaris and stayed in a lovely lodge with a beautiful view, but once in the Mara, the real trip began in earnest. We had ample opportunity to see an enormous variety of animals and birds. Peter and Hassan took us to all the best spots to see lions by the side of the road, a leopard with its prey up a tree, hippos, cheetah, giraffes, elephants, baboons and all the wonderful impala, Thompson's giselle, topi and many many more species all grazing in beautiful herds or hiding out in the bushes and water holes waiting to pounce. There were a lot of babies and young animals in Feb. and not too many other vehicles to contend with while viewing them. The Ilkeliani Camp was magical: spacious comfortable tents with very effecient bathrooms. A Masai warrior escorted you after sunset safely to or from the dining tent or the sitting/bar tent or the tree top lookout. Elijah and Joseph cooked up wonderful dinners with excellent vegetarian selections included. The food was really top notch, especially considering the remoteness of our location. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and took great care to spoil everyone. Our trip included a visit to the Masai village, with a welcoming dance and a fantastic jumping display. It would have been nice to have brought some gifts to the villagers. Perhaps Exodus could include a link with suggestions. There was also a balloon ride which I didn't do. The weather was kind and it didn't rain, wasn't too hot and although I took my malaria pills, there didn't seem to be many mosquitos if any. The tents were all perfectly netted and protected as were the rooms at Sunbird Lodge. If you're travelling alone, I do recommend paying the single supplement for a little peace and quiet and privacy at the end of the busy days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was inspiring to see the numbers of lions and cheetah and all the various big game, and how healthy they all looked. This conservation seems very well managed and I am happy to think that my grandchildren will be able to enjoy seeing these magnificient animals in the wild. I was also inspired to learn that the Masai women receive education and no longer have to marry at 13.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought a lot of our group leader - Peter. He was very organised, very charming and efficient with his evening briefings. I had to change room at the Sunbird Lodge and he took care of arranging this even though they were very busy and it was inconvenient. I could not manage the steep steps down to my room due to some medical issues. On the safari drives Peter found all the good spots to view the animals and was very patient with all the group's individual wishes. He was very knowledgeable about the area, the animals and able to answer all the various questions we threw at him. I had complete confidence in his driving on the long and rather perilous drives to and from the Mara.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need to bring towels, mosquito nets. Pay the single supplement. Read the notes thoroughly for all the good money tips. Bring pencils, books, second hand clothes to gift the Masai villagers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Emily Lyons

    Wonderful trip!

    The wildlife was amazing, the guide was the best, and we were very well taken care of at the lodges and campsites. It was a trip to remember (and maybe go back someday).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hot air balloon ride was definitely a highlight of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was great at finding animals and had a wonderful presence.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sara Johnson

    Excellent experience

    Fabulous trip watching the wonderful wildlife. The roads are bumpy but that just adds to the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the animals up close and in the wild, especially getting within feet of a leopard. Also loved ilkeliani camp-made for a magical experience. My husband really loved the hot air balloon ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lovely guys and who were respectful of the wildlife, unlike other companies Who we felt got far to close and were intrusive of the animals around them. Everything we asked of them they delivered, I even jokingly asked for cheetah chasing a wildebeest which lo-and-behold they delivered!! We saw every animal we wanted to see. Thanks guys!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some early starts but these are totally worth it. There are no toilets in the mara, it's behind the bushes only so take handgel and anti bac wipes. Take extra spending money for the gift shops and don't be afraid to haggle-Start at least 50% of what is quoted and don't be afraid to walk away. Water is provided in all hotels but only one bottle each a day so buy some water on route to Nakuru as its far more cost effective. Lastly, don't go with a fixed idea of what u want to see- this is nature and there's no guarantee. Be open minded and you'll love it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would say 10 people is the max for this trip- 5 people each van. The hotel in Nakuru didn't really understand my diet, however this was not exodus's fault as they forwarded the details to them (Kenya is very much a meat eating nation) but luckily I had taken food with me. The food at ilkeliani camp was fantastic and more than makes up for it
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Elizabeth Guard

    Unforgettable week

    A truly memorable week packed with up-close animal encounters in their wild and free environment. Really helped us understand animal behaviours and the urgent need to preserve their precious habitats.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing 7 male cheetahs together in a group- even our guides were amazed!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders very friendly, knowledgable and respectful of rules of the reserves.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take large SD cards! It’s a full-on week, game drive from the day you arrive . Some in our group went to Nairobi 2 days early to rest and acclimatise to the heat .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Small size group (ours was 11) is perfect
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Gail Madeley

    Classic Kenya 4WD Safari - Brilliant

    This was my 22nd trip with Exodus so I had no worries in embarking on tented accommodation, it makes a change from being pampered in a hotel. All the staff were very friendly and looked after us very well. It was a perfect time to experience the Masai Mara - by going in the low season you avoid the crowds the migration draws and you have a better view of the wildlife in the low grass.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a cheetah with a kill, zebras fighting, giraffes necking and a leopard (never seen one before in the wild). The variety of wildlife was amazing including the young that had been born prior to the wet season.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Peter and Davis were great. Very well organised, kept in constant touch (almost!), everything ran to time. Peter said each day would bring us something special and he was true to his word. I couldn't believe how each day gave us scenes that got better and better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We travelled out to Nairobi ahead of the main group. This was due to the night flight followed by a long journey to the first hotel which we have experienced in the past. As there is so much to see en route it is a shame to miss it due to tiredness. Take a sink plug as there is no plug in the tented accommodation. Take plenty of insect repellent - although I had a variety, which was well used, I was still bitten over 100 times, but not by mosquitos. Be prepared to put on weight as you get little exercise apart from the rush of adrenaline and the massages provided by the seats of the landcruisers!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thorough recommend this trip to all animal lovers, but be prepared to see some sights you might not like, for example you may witness a kill, but this is natural in the circle of life and the locals do not treat their donkeys with respect.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Petrina Buckley

    Classic Kenya Safari

    This trip exceeded my expectations.We were travelling at the end of the season,just as the long rains were due and I was a little anxious about "what" we would manage to see.We were looked after so well,and everyone did their utmost to ensure we had a perfect and memorable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The smiling faces and generous hearts of the people we met. The utter beauty of the landscape and unimaginable privilege of seeing wild animals in their natural habitat. Watching from the " observation platform" as torrential rain poured down , after our last game drive was over .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter and Davis were our guides/ drivers.They were awesome.They were friendly, fun kind and thoughtful.Both were a mine of information about anything and everything. They kept us safe,informed and entertained and worked tirelessly to ensure everyone had a perfect trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Loose,comfy clothing that you don't mind getting dusty/ dirty.The trip notes are are little unclear and don't tell you that you will want to consider tipping at both venues - the lodge staff and the camp staff,they only allow guidance for your drivers/ guides and one set of staff. We found our multi plug useful at the lodge as there was only one socket in the room.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Considering all that is included in this trip,it is excellent value.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Terence Lee

    classic kenya

    I have been to africa many times, and this holiday was up there with the best. A excellent trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think seeing 7 cheetahs, and a couple chasing wildebeest. Also watching a leopard pass us by. and then following it along , brilliant

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Peter , very good, in fact top marks, and his assistant another peter also

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just sit back and enjoy spectacle, no better show on earth

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only minor thing flying back to UK, via Amsterdam. Over 3 hours waiting at airport, put bit of dampener on it. I heard BA fly straight back for same price. But would have to fly to fly to Nairobi day earlier, which would have been ok for me. Perhaps it could an option. Otherwise another great trip , Exodus. My 10 th trip with you , each one memorable!
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Colin Baigent

    Classic Kenya Safari

    We had been on several Exodus trips before in Africa and the Caribbean. We didn't have enough spare time for one of the longer trips so chose this one. We expected that the guides would be able to find animals in the parks and give advice, including on birds. They exceeded all expectations and more than once we located Lion, Leopard, Cheetah, Hyena, Jackal and Rhino. 194 bird species was exceptional, even though we didn't take a lot of time out specifically for birds. The two locations are brilliant in different ways. Lake Elementaita Lodge has a resident Spotted Eagle Owl. Ilkeliani has a resident Maasai wildlife expert, including copying bird calls!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Leaving a place with a male lion very close and out in the open, to drive quickly to a female leopard and cub which had just lost a kill to a hyena, that was still eating!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The two guides were exceptional. Very knowledgeable, helpful and humorous.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a good camera and some wildlife reference books.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We like to go to different places, but after this trip we are thinking of getting back to this area on the next one!
Call us on 056 631 86 64