Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    nicole jordan

    good

    The home stay was awful, it would have been good to have an option to have a stay at hotel instead. It's not my idea of a holiday being a strangers house. People nice enough. Some environmental issues that were offensive, think Exodus should be insistent that the locals improve on.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was beautiful and cycling the back waters was magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was good, his english was not brilliant so hard to engage with him but he was attentive, thoughtful and did everything to make us have a pleasant time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a sheet or lining for the home stay and expect the worst and you will ok.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a good holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    nicole jordan

    good

    The home stay was awful, it would have been good to have an option to have a stay at hotel instead. It's not my idea of a holiday being a strangers house. People nice enough. Some environmental issues that were offensive, think Exodus should be insistent that the locals improve on.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was beautiful and cycling the back waters was magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was good, his english was not brilliant so hard to engage with him but he was attentive, thoughtful and did everything to make us have a pleasant time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a sheet or lining for the home stay and expect the worst and you will ok.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a good holiday.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Sonia Athwal

    Well Organized Trip

    Well organized trip. The cycling route was very well thought out by our guide Shibu. The entire team of Shibu, Bevan, and Franklin took extra lengths to ensure we were well taken care of, and safe. Really great people leading us. My group was a good size (11), making is easy to interact and have fun. I recommend this trip to see Kerala up close.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Less inspiring, but more exciting was seeing an elephant up close on the street, taking a stroll as we rode out bike by!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shibu is a top notch guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that it gets very hot. Bring some sort of small pannier, or bum-bag (fanny pack) for camera and small needs. You won't need to carry a back pack - everything is on the bus.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Rex Yetton

    Wow, what a trip

    Wow, I'm still buzzing a week after getting back from this trip. I have done several cycling trips with Exodus and this was my first one solo. The whole trip was amazing, along with a lovely group. We all got on really well and had lots of laughs. The cycling was flat and easy going. Cycling through the crazy Indian towns was surprisingly straightforward. 'Good bell, good brakes and good luck' is the motto! The Indians use their hooters and bells for spacial awareness and are very good at it. The friendly Indian children waving on their way to school has left a lasting impression. We cycled from 8am and only in the mornings. We stopped for tea and samosa, then for lunch. The hotels had lovely swimming pools. Swimming in the Indian Ocean waves on the last two days was lovely. None of us had any tummy issues. Joseph always had nice restaurants and the best seats reserved for us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling with relative ease through the crazy Indian towns. The friendly waves as we cycled along. Seeing the sights, sounds and smells of the Indian culture. Swimming in the hotel pools and Indian Ocean. Coping relatively easily with Indian food. Getting on so well with my group The lovely warm weather.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joseph was perfect. He was very patient. There were various dietary and other issues for him to cope with. He always told us about the Indian culture and food. He would stop along the road and showed us various fruits growing. The back up crew, Bevan, a young lad at the back and Franglin our driver who never gave way for anyone!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to see India and have a relatively gentle cycle ride too, this is absolutely perfect. There is plenty of down time to swim or take it easy. The homestay and houseboat were both an experience. The week just flew by unfortunately. Before I knew it we were saying our farewells and on the flight home.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish it had been longer. The week just flew by. Most of the group stayed on longer or went to other resorts which is a good idea.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Geoff Cooper

    Fantastic trip

    This was a lovely trip showing Kerala at its best. Our guide was simply outstanding which left us with a lasting memory of the beautiful part of India. Very easy cycling with no climbs at all, until a couple of small ones on the optional last day cycling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to Varkala Fort and Lighthouse was a beautiful ending to the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joseph our leader was brilliant. He and his team could not have done any more to make it a great holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are not on the group flight, then you should avoid Mumbai airport as a transit point, at all costs. We missed our 2hr connection due to the chaotic miss management by the local staff.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have done quite a few trip with Exodus and a couple with other providers. We always find Exodus to be the best run and most enjoyable.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Liz Laird

    I loved every minute of it!

    Just before I went I was getting apprehensive that I was spending 8 days with 13 other people I had never met, to share a room with someone I didn’t know, to cycle for 6 days in an unknown country and stay overnight in 5 different locations! I don't know what I was worried about, I had the absolute time of my life! The people, the country, the food, the guides, the scenery, the accommodation, the cycling; everything was perfect!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whilst we were there a strike was called in Kerala; a state-wide bandh after two women entered the Sabarimala Temple. This meant that nobody was able to work from 6am - 6pm so we would have to cycle 55 miles instead of 25 miles as there would be no buses, plus we would not have our support vehicle and water, tea and lunch stops could be an issue. Shibu our tour guide was amazing as he still managed to sort out stops for us and as a group we all rallied together and were so supportive that the 55 miles were not an issue. Plus the upside of the strike was the roads were quiet! What a day and one I will always remember for the camaraderie, experience and laughs!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shibu was fantastic as were Sherga who rode at the back and Franglin in the support vehicle. We couldn't of had better guides.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Kerala it is amazing!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have written a Blog about our trip; https://www.realbuzz.com/blogs/posts/1460620/what-a-way-to-see-the-new-year-in-cycling-along-the-tropical-keralan-coastline
  • Reviewed January 2019
    miny j

    A fabulous trip!

    Our action-packed week was a wonderful way to explore this beautiful region. Going along on a bike allowed us to experience colours, sights, smells and sounds so much better than if we had traveled around by coach. It allowed us to spontaneously pop onto the beach, visit temples and sample local delicacies. And cycling in the hectic traffic proved no great problem, just keep ringing your bell!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was most touched by the warm welcome we were given everywhere as we travelled around. The people we met could not have friendlier and that is what really stands out for me when I think back. And of course all the delicious meals. Kerala is not only paradise for vegetarians, there is plenty of tasty fish and seafood too, as well as meat dishes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our groupleader, Safi, was a great guy, well organised, friendly and a font of information on all things local. An experienced cyclist himself, he gave us great confidence in managing the traffic. We went at an easy pace, well suited to the heat and humidity. With Kamaru and Santhosh the three of them made a great team, always making sure everyone was fine and every thing was in order.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will find the week flying by as each day brings new sights and experiences. I enjoyed the variety of activities during the week. You do not need to worry too much about what to wear on the bike, even Lycra seemed to be acceptable. Just make sure you are well protected from the sun and the insects. We usually did the cycling in the morning, leaving the afternoons for walks or a dance performance, beach, the pool, lazying on the houseboat or doing some shopping. if you get a chance do not miss the martial arts performance in Cochin!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    David Hindley

    Cool trip

    Loved this trip. Well organised. Shibu was a very likeable trip leader. Shogar and Franklin as supporters were excellent too. I guarantee you’ll fall in love with the smiles of the people of Kerala. Great activities. Very flat cycling! Only hills on the last day around Varkala, and then not serious. Only disappointment for me was the very poor quality of room at the Deshadan Hotel in Varkala.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the more remote towns as people waved and shouted “Happy New Year”.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shibu was very likeable and dependable. He always did what he said and took good care of use.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are not a fan of hot and spicy food, like me, I’d suggest taking some small sealed containers of butter, jam, pate, etc to flavour rice, bread etc. If you like hot and spicy, you’ll be in food heaven!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Most of those with cleats fell of or nearly fell off at some point. The traffic in towns and sometimes precarious surfaces does mean that you have to put your feet down often. Unless you are a total pro, go with firm trainers. They are short distances, covered at a gentle pace, so cleats does not give much advantage.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Michelle Etheridge

    fantastic country and people

    Just returned from this trip over Xmas and loved it. The pace and distances were just right, allowing us to soak in the atmosphere of the Country. Safi, our guide and his team were brilliant in every way. Patient, knowledgeable and helpful. The bikes were of very good quality and made it easy to cover the distances without too much effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the House boat trip, so peaceful and relaxing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Safi was fantastic and helped to make the trip so enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is ideal if you've never done a cycling trip before. The distances and pace make it achievable for most people with a small level of fitness and most of it is flat, so no scary hills to tackle. Be aware that when staying at the homestay and on the boat, there is no hot water, so no hot showers, but don't let this put you off. The experiences of staying on the boat and at the homestay more than make up for the lack of hot water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you're thinking of doing this trip but not sure.... do it, you will not regret it.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Lesley Skelly

    Loved this trip it will be hard to beat!

    This was a most fabulous trip - a fantastic mix of cycling and sampling local culture. We had a really good guide Shibu and his team. We loved Kerala and the mix of experiences on this trip. We liked the level which was leisurely /moderate - ideal in such a hot country we wish there were more trips available at this level. We loved the food and have had withdrawal cravings on return to the UK from such delicious fare! We had a great group of people on this tour they also helped to make it a brilliant experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many lovely moments. Cycling through the beautiful countryside with periods of cycling along the coast. Enough time to enjoy the scenery. Music which we could hear as we went past churches and temples. It seemed mystical. Sunrise on the backwaters. Cookery lesson at the home stay. Our guide always finding us a table in the evening with the best views!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gorgeous person. He helped to resolve a dental emergency in a calm and efficient manner. Always supportive - we felt very safe under his guidance. Loved the dancing he arranged for us on the boat in the backwaters! He had a great team too who looked out for us in the areas with more traffic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely need good insect repellent - two of our group got caught out on the first day and their bites were a nuisance. We were very conservative in our dress and perhaps strappy tops and shorts would have been OK in most though perhaps not all places, as was cycling in Lycra. I found my baggy shorts a bit hot for cycling in this setting. We spent very little money during the trip - thanks to the wisdom of our guide. We added on to our trip - staying at the final hotel for extra days - that was also very enjoyable. Wine is quite expensive in Kerala - would be worth choosing another drink. You can always get on the bus if you are having a bad day!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were worried that it may be too hot or too hard for us weekend cyclists. Definitely this was not a problem. Another fear of getting a bad stomach did not materialise for any of our group of 14. Go for it - it is a brilliant trip!