Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Graham Bacon

    Classic Vietnam and Angkor

    What a fantastic trip, Cong the leader was excellent, always willing to share his extensive knowledge of both local and country wide topics.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cambodia and it's smaller temple's.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, should be inline for the tour leader prize!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Going in March we found that we had taken to many warm clothes. Great time of the year to go.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lucy Pearce

    Amazing Adventure

    Every day provided an interesting insight into the culture

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The bike ride in Hoi Ann's countryside with Zoom Zoom was inspirational, fun and informative. He discussed how the rice fields were harvested, how families acreage was allocated and we visited two locals homes. One where rice wine was made by a Vietnamese injured war veteran who had built a small business from very little and the other home a lady weaved rugs. The people who had suffered so much were kind and gracious.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group Leader for Vietnam, over 12 days, Cons Nguyen was warm, welcoming and exceptionally efficient. The transport, hotels and sight seeing logistics were impeccably managed. He always safely managed people on/off planes, buses, taxis, boats, kayaks and took the group to some pre-booked great local restaurants that we would never have found if left to our own devices. He was very knowledgeable; quickly knew the names of all 16 members of our group, consistently answered queries, always providing proactive information on both what we were doing and what we would be doing next. Our Cambodian Tour Guide, Rous over 2 days was similarly efficient albeit we had one very good full day at the Ankor complex (starting at 4.30.a.m.) with her.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for many early morning starts. However, looking back you fully appreciate how much you pack-in a day!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worthwhile to write a short travel log at the end of each day (I didn't!) highlighting the best bits.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Chris Mcdougall

    A great introduction to Vietnam

    This was my first trip to Asia and the itinerary was excellent. We visited 3 main places Hanoi, Hoi An and Ho Chi Minh city. All very different but fascinating in their own ways. The trips to Halong Bay and the Mekong delta we’re also fascinating and very different. The Mekong delta used basic boats and Halong Bay boat was very comfortable with excellent food and service. We also had a great visit to cookery school where lesson was presented very well and with great humour. The visit to Angkor wat was fascinating and more impressive than anticipated. A great introduction to Asia

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong Bay Angkor wat Food in restaurants and food stalls

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both tour leaders were good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Was glad your reviews mentioned that it is easy and cheap to get laundry done. Saves carrying too much luggage

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotels were of a good standard but one in Hoi An was on outskirts of town. Normally this would be ok but it was difficult to get taxis ( not sure if this was because it was Tet celebration while I was there)
  • Reviewed February 2019

    Fascinating, however..

    Fascinating colourful experience of Vietnam. The trip includes insight into it’s turbulent history, and inspired many of the group to read more about it. I went single, into a group of 16, and with Ngok, one of the nicest and best guides I’ve ever experienced. He was with us in Vietnam, and joined us evenings and for optional tours as well. We had to say goodbye to him before the early morning onward flight to Siem Reap. There we had a new guide, who met us with the unsurprising news that it was too early to check into the hotel – and then took us on a full day program, through to watching sunset over a temple (unfortunately underwhelming on that particular day) – without yet checking in. We arrived at the chosen temple and waited there 2 hours for sunset, tired and travel weary after 2 weeks in Vietnam. The hotel was no more than half an hour away, so we really felt he could have planned the day better for us. We had all been up very early (the previous day too). Half the group wanted to go direct to the hotel and miss the sunset, but the guide felt we should see the sunset because it was mentioned in the original itinerary. The majority of our group were disappointed with the Hotels. Comfortable and clean, friendly staff, but not as good as we expected from a trip advertised as Premium. Exception was the Hotel in Siem Reap, which met our expectations of Premium class. Note, only the hotel in Hanoi was not the one advertised in the original programme, it was supposed to be an 'or similar' hotel. Several of us wrote to our travel agents to complain of its distance from the town centre (shuttle bus ran insufficiently), its proximity next to a road, and general failure to meet expectations. Another point worth mentioning to those who choose this trip having noted that it is classed as leisurely. It wasn’t! There was very little free time, admittedly partly due to participation in some optional activities, and partly due to traffic jams keeping our bus on the road for hours longer than planned. It would help relieve some of the stress if the itinerary could be changed such that we do not spend 2 nights in a hotel, travel some hours for an overnight elsewhere, and then do the reverse travel to return to the original hotel for another night. It happens twice in this itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The colour and hustle and bustle of life in Hanoi, Hoi An and Saigon. The optional street food tour in Hanoi with Thanh (Tony) was worth doing, to see some of the back streets and eat in places you wouldn't normally find. Angkor Wat has to be up there as an inspirational part of the trip, though we hadn't realised there were soooo many temples on the itinerary. Some of the group felt 'all temple-ed out', gave up, and tuk-tuk-ed back to hotel pool and Siem Reap markets on the second day of temple visiting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngok is a lovely, friendly, memorable young (from where I am at 68 years old :-) man, and contributed immensely to the whole trip experience. He was with us in Vietnam, and joined us evenings and for optional tours as well. We learned a lot from him. The evening meals in the Vietnamese restaurants chosen by our guide were really good. He put menus together for us, such that we could try different dishes throughout the trip, though we always had the option of choosing something ourselves instead. Siem Reap guide...very pleasant and keen, though somewhat inflexible. See my summary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get quickly over the fear of crossing the road! Just pick your moment and go, keep the same pace, and focus on the other side! You get used to it :-))

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was very good, in spite of negative comments I've made. I experienced Vietnam and the temples in Angkor, and was not disappointed. However, it was not an excellent trip. Perhaps if I were considerably younger than 68 it would have been easier, but I chose this trip because it says the pace is leisurely and hotels are premium. So I was disappointed, as were the rest of the group. (14 of the 16 in our group were age around 55 to 75, and there were 2 under 30.)
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sue Bowler

    Classic Vietnam and Angkor

    Experience the sights, smells and sounds of Vietnam, a bustling culture with life on the streets. Take your life in your hands as you cross the busy roads, where confidence is key and the traffic will avoid you, well I lived to tell the tale! From the stunning natural beauty of Halong bay, which would make a good set for a dragon movie, to the quaint and colourful Hoi an. The cookery course was a fantastic addition, set in the wonderful surroundings of the red bridge resteraunt. Siagon was not my scene but showed us another side of the politics and country and we were lucky enough to stumble upon a lion and dragon dance display when walking to visit the geen pagoda. To top off the trip we finished in Cambodia at Angkor Watt which was very high on my bucket list and did not disapoint. I personally would have preferred one day less in Saigon and another day in Cambodia but that is just a personal view. An extreamly enjoyable holiday with a good bunch of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up Ti Top island in Halong bay for the stunning view of the islands. Seeing the sun rise over Angkor Watt.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Efficient but a little distracted by new year!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would take a face mask for Han oi the polution was horrendous and really affected my throat.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Alison Barltrop

    Amazing Vietnam

    Very interesting experience for my first time in Asia. Excellent variety of sights and experiences. Met a lovely group of travellers who made the trip memorable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise at Angkor Wat . Worth the early alarm call.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ms Nga was so enthusiastic and charming. For a 25 year old to organise 16 middle aged people with such patience and a smile was truly superb. She was so proud of her country and wanted to show us as much as possible. Viet Nam should be proud of her. An ambitious young lady who I am sure will go far.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can , go soon. We noticed along the coast from Da Nang to Hoi An that large hotel chains are buying up plots and it will get more commercialised.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel we were based at for Hoi An was not of the quality we were expecting and being outside the town meant one couldnt just explore on foot. I took a taxi to An Bang beach one afternoon , and the return cab charged over twice as much as he didnt know where the hotel was.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    D A

    Classic Vietnam & Angkor

    Great Trip, some fantastic sights. A lot of early mornings, which means that you will probably feel more tired by the end of this trip, but you see a lot. Local guides were fantastic and very knowledgeable, and food absolutely fantastic both in Vietnam and Cambodia - of which we had plenty of. I was with a much older age group on this trip and it would have been nice to have had some people of similar age group on the trip as well. Perhaps something that Exodus can consider as a suggestion. Over all this was a well worth fantastic trip with the highlights of Vietnam and Cambodia, some more time in Cambodia would have been great however, as only 1 day spent at Angkor Wat in reality.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Angkor Wat Hoi An markets & tailoring

    What did you think of your group leader?

    fantastic group leader in Vietnam

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    check age group you are travelling with, may affect which trip you will attend.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    more details on internal flights on luggage allowance would have been useful, as this is only 20kg for a fairly long two week trip.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Tracey Armstrong

    Fabulous adventure

    This is a packed, full on tour that provides something for everyone to experience Vietnam and Cambodia. There is a real variety of activities, from a cooking course in Hoi An to a visit to see the embalmed body of Ho Chi Minh in Hanoi. It is city based. The cities are busy and bustling, which can be a shock to the system to start with. Once you get used to how the traffic works with all the scooters on the road, it becomes exciting and exhilarating. The local people in both Vietnam and Cambodia are friendly and welcoming. We didn’t once feel threatened and there is little in the way of being hassled to buy things. Hanoi and Saigon are very different cities, but there is so much to see and do in both of them. Not to mention the history in both cities. Hoi An is wonderful. Very much set up for tourists, but special with the lanterns in the streets and on the river. We also loved Siem Reap. Different again, quite a party city. There are a lot of early mornings, but we didn’t mind because it meant we got to experience so many different things by getting up & making the most of every day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Angkor temples were beyond my expectations. Breathtaking. Cycling in the rural areas across the river from Hoi An was a great experience. We stopped at a school & chatted with the kids, which was wonderful (even though it was Saturday they love school so much they still went in).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In Vietnam Phat was exceptional. Very funny man. He made sure we were all happy all the time. Phat even somehow made us grateful to get up really early. He is very organised. Everything ran really smoothly all the time. Phat made that look effortless, which I am sure isn’t the case in Vietnam. I cannot praise Phat highly enough. Sokhom in Cambodia was also an excellent leader. We were only there two days so we didn’t get to know him so well. He took us to the quietest places in the Angkor temple complex. I felt very humbled by his childhood stories.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a busy schedule, including a lot of early starts and several flights. It’s the only way to make the most of the trip. Make sure you’ve got an overnight bag for the boat on Halong Bay & the Mekong Delta. Take plenty of insect repellent & you won’t get bitten at all. You can get washing done but pack plenty of lightweight clothes. However save room for anything you might buy in Hoi An.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For us this was a wonderful adventure packed with moments we’ll never forget. Enjoyed every moment.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    James Harmes

    Well organised, with excellent guides

    The trip was efficiently organised and the guides - especially Trung - did all they could to make the tour a well-informed and smoothly-run experience. The hotels were comfortable and a couple were positively luxurious, though taxis in the evening in Hoi An were difficult to obtain. We were not overly impressed with Saigon and would have preferred, instead, to have spent more time in Hoi An or Can Tho. Cambodia was wonderful..

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The temples in Cambodia. We visited five and Ta Prohm - still covered in vegetation - was mind-blowing, even before we arrived at Angkor Wat. Visits do not always live up to expectations but dawn over Angkor Wat was everything we could have hoped for and more.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Trung went far beyond what could be reasonably expected. He was full of energy, well informed and quickly established a warm relationship with the group. He certainly earned his crust.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring dollars. Essential in Cambodia and welcome in Vietnam, where they are easy to exchange for local currency in hotels. Bring plenty of changes of light clothing; it can get very muggy. Our guide organised a group kitty for tips, which made life easier for all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Halong Bay is beautiful but is clearly suffering from the high number of visitors.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Ann Pike

    An excellent adventure

    My husband and I enjoyed the whole trip. We were with a group of 16 and we all got on fabulously. The Vietnamese people are very resilient and hard working. This trip is well suited for active seniors and it does have a lot of free time if you want to explore on your own .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The War remnants museum is a very sombre experience but it teaches you a lot about the whole war experience from the Vietnamese point of view . Ha Long Bay is a must see but be prepared for the plastic garbage floating around. The cave system was something else. Hoi An was my favourite place to stay....it is a smaller town but lots to see and buy! We did a cooking class here which was a lot of fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cong was our guide in Vietnam. He was very amiable and very knowledgeable...he kept us on track and went at our leisurely pace. He recommended where to eat and except for 1 meal in HCMC , all food was good. He took good care of us especially when crossing the very congested roads! Our guide in Cambodia , can't remember his name, was also very knowledgeable and obviously loves his job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be afraid to go out of your comfort zone when eating and drinking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel we stayed in in the Mekong Delta, can't remember the name, accused one of our group of stealing a towel...make sure you count the towels when you enter the room! ... Fortunately, the towel was miscounted by the staff, but it wasnt fair for our fellow traveller to be accused. Cong was with her all the time while this was sorted!
Call us on 056 631 86 64