Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Donald Sandeman

    Excellent trip

    There are quite a lot of long drives on bumpy dusty roads but this is unavoidable with a trip that takes in so much of the country. The itinerary keeps you busy with a good mixture of culture and wildlife. Camp sites all had excellent facilities and toilets were first class. Tents were comfortable

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Etosha game park was fantastic and we were able to spot most types of animals. Floodlit water holes were excellent. Dunes, canyon and rock paintings also very interesting

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was excellent. A mine of information on every subject and always trying to please. His ability to spot wildlife from hundreds of meters away was astounding. Cook, Jonas had a lovely personality and created some fantastic dishes over an open fire

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare to get dusty and windswept when traveling

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only disappointment was the design of the truck whereby you were unable to see out the front. Felt that you may be missing some of the scenery
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Nigel Harrison

    Really enjoyable week cycling in rural Mallorca

    Being our first cycling trip, we approached with some trepidation and possible misgivings. We need not have worried. The whole trip was excellent from beginning to end. An excellent leader(see below), generally good hotels, brand new hire bikes (bonus!), beautiful landscapes, routes mainly off the beaten track. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys cycling for leisure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it up the big climb to the Formentor viewpoint and tower on the last day, as I realised that I’d managed the week and I didn’t have to “save myself” to get through subsequent days. Having announced that I had never cycled three days in a row, making it to six days felt a major achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alfonso is a really pleasant young man whose charm and easy-going approach equipped him with an ability to manage the vastly different levels of cycling strength and desired outcomes within our small group. We always made it to the various destinations fairly intact and in good humour, despite Alfonso having to reschedule lunch stops if we had taken longer than anticipated getting to a scheduled restaurant! Mention should also be made of our “support driver” José whose cheerful friendly approach was welcome when he and the van popped up at certain points on the route with water and snacks to be freely dispensed. He was most encouraging and was also helpful in sorting out any bike-related issues

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are really only an occasional leisure cyclist do pay attention to the training plan that is sent out by Exodus. It can appear rather daunting but even if you don’t totally replicate it in your own “training”, take the ideas from it and adapt it to your own needs. It’s certainly worth it, as the mileage and amount of climbing is front-loaded at the beginning of the week and you want to be able to enjoy the whole week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary takes you through some wonderful quiet Mallorcan countryside along routes and through villages which would normally be off the “tourist agenda”: superb. The hotels were generally excellent and comfortable with perfectly adequate breakfasts to help you on your way. We were fortunate in only having a small group making cycling together along the way and descending upon cafes and restaurants more manageable than if we were a full party. Obviously Exodus could not continue with such numbers but it was certainly a bonus for our trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Fred Thurbin

    Through Bali on the road less travelled

    Before the trip is heard from three friends who'd been to Bali. The beeches are poor, was one piece of advice. Well I wasn't going for a beech holiday so that didn't bother me. Visit the temple in the sea. A quick look at the trip notes and yes, tanah lot was in the itinerary. I was looking forward to that. It's too westernised. This feedback worried me. I'd been to Vietnam the previous year and struggled with westernisation there. Corporations and globalisation is turning to much of the planet same-ie As Douglas Adams once wrote, "the past is truly a foreign land, they do things exactly the same there." Call me crazy but I like the idea of people living off the land and going to a restaurant and having the menu dictated by the seasons not demand. Well the parts of Bali we visited were untouched gems. The views were stunning, the people curious and friendly, the food amazing and fresh and the hotels... well stunning. Very unintrusive, at times it felt like you could have been staying in someones home. Not because they were simple, many had all the eminities, but because there wasn't a hotel block to be seen, the all nestled into the countryside organically. Every day I felt like I was in Bali, every hotel and restaurant felt native and the island and people are wonderful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being invited by the locals into their rituals and preys. It was so relaxed and inviting and open. They had ways to sit for preys but we were told the religion is practical and if you can't sit like it's suggested then do what's natural. It was so friendly
  • Reviewed May 2019
    K Badham

    Great Trip

    Therle was no downside to anything about this trip (apart from 38degree heat in Sevilla!) Our guide, Miguel, was so knowledgeable about every aspect of the area, history, flora and fauna, and the itinerary of walks was varied to suit all tastes. He dealt with minor crises extremely calmly and efficiently, and put up with our teasing etc with patience and as if he hadn't heard it all before! thank you Miguel. The Cortijo on a stunning hilltop with beautiful views across the valley and to the village, was comfortable, the food plentiful and tasty, and all staff friendly and helpful. Our driver was very safe and the vehicle clean and well maintained, The group enjoyed each other's company and all had a great time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See above

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Elspeth Bull

    See all of Jordan, whatever the weather.

    This itinerary gave the group the opportunity to see the highlights of Jordan at an easy pace.The cold, wet weather in the north was not anticipated and meant that we did not see some of the sights in their best light. However, the later section of the trip to the Dead Sea Petra and Wadi Rum were up to expectation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to Petra with the anticipation of seeing the Treasury at the end of the siq.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was the weakest part of the trip and the reason for the lower rating. He was inexperienced and did not always communicate clearly what was happening or give much information about what we were seeing. This was not up to the usual standard we have experienced from guides in the past.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The tour flights arrive late in the evening in Amman. This means you do not get much sleep before starting the tour. If you are able to, I would suggest arriving a day or two earlier and seeing Amman in your own time rather than in a rush on the last day. Be prepared for all weather conditions.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Debi Jones

    What an experience!!!!

    I hoped for a lot, but expected nothing (especially in the Amazon) but we saw more wildlife than I knew there was! And as for the Galapagos.....Sensational. Holiday of a lifetime and would recommend to anyone. Truly brilliant. Am delighted to have managed to have whittled my photos down to about 650 (and 35 videos!). The Napo Lodge was stunning with fabulous staff but the Cachalotte was possibly even better (though cabin much smaller and less glamorous than lodge). The memories will be something I treasure forever. The organisation from beginning to end made everything so easy and I will definitely be travelling with Exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snorkeling with sealions, a turtle and penguin (never having snorkeled before!) And the animals and birds just being truly fearless and natural I could go on....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very pleasant and efficient

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try snorkeling at home first! I panicked the first 2 times in the water (although it was a deep water snorkel) but after an hour's practice in the shallows I took to it like a penguin to water. And take lots of SD cards!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just GO!!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Andrea Minney

    Two wonderful cities

    I loved the trip, just the right length for me, very busy with lots of walking but that was what I was expecting. Nice balance of free time and group excursions. Minimal additional payments required. Not too many early mornings. I was very impressed with the standard of accomodation. We ate as a group most nights and I enjoyed all of the restaurants selected, although we did not have to eat with the group I found it easier than researching my own places. The only part I would do without would be the overnight train, having done many overnight train journeys, I find they just make people tired, it is not an experience I ever enjoy. I would recommend staying longer in both cities before and after the tour, something I wasn't able to do, there is simply so much to see and do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved St Basils Cathedral, well worth going inside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I liked Eugene, he was very organised and tried his best to keep our group together which was difficult at times. It was easy to say that you were going to do something alone rather than with the group and Eugene was helpful with suggestions of where to go. I liked this as we did not always want to go with the group. He was one of the best tour leaders I have had. He managed to get us around the majority of the sights despite the public holiday and road closures making it very difficult for him to arrange our schedule. The local guides were good but I found it very difficult to hear what they were saying as well as taking photos, it was impossible to do both, so I found I missed a lot of information. We used ear pieces in The Hermitage, which was much easier.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lot of walking, there is a lot to see in a short space of time and walking is the best way to see most of it. Avoid booking around the Russian public holiday on May 9th, there are many road closures around the centre of Moscow on three days for practicing military parades, then for the actual parade on May 9th. Red Square is also closed at these times, it means that some attractions are not accessible making planning of the tour very difficult. St Petersburg also has road closures over this holiday, meaning we took a different route into the city missing some key sights and activities had to be crammed into a shorter time period. I would have avoided these dates had I known.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alan Gelson

    Unspoilt high mountains and verdant valleys in one of the most beautiful regions of Europe.

    The Sierra Nevada is the highest mountain range in mainland Spain. They remain snow covered well into the Summer and these walks take place in the wooded valleys in their foothills. The sound of running water seems always to be in the background. The bird life is rich and varied and we heard the cuckoo on our first day. Nightingales and golden orioles and eagles and falcons were viewed with awe and delight. The walks are pretty challenging but rewarding. Conditions under foot are variable but generally reasonable.The Hotel art Los Berchules is a place of repose and delight. The food is first rate and the owners and staff delightful dedicated and friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking over a wide valley and listening to bird song and seeing a golden oriole whilst a Bonelli's eagle was being mobbed by a Peregrine falcon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was completely excellent. Reliable knowledgable humorous and dedicated to our safety and enjoyment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are quite challenging but there were opt out points on most days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have been fortunate to have been on many walking holidays mainly with Exodus and nearly all have been highly enjoyable and the Sierra Nevada walk was up with the best we have been on.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Brigitte Schneeloch

    Cycling in Sicily

    An excellent cycling trip, for me in a less well known area of southern Sicily. The cycling was good, and the hills were more than manageable with my very dependable ebike. Our leader made sure that we also packed in as much sight seeing as possible, so we learned a lot of cultural background to the places we visited. All were very interesting, but ending up in Syracuse and having plenty of time for eating wonderful food, and sight seeing, was a surprising bonus. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip and would recommend it to anybody!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As above: visiting Syracuse, and seeing the Baroque town of Noto Two very beautiful places

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was just wonderful! Full of knowledge, helpful, guiding us safely through traffic, And up the hills. And down again!!! Lots of fun, always on the lookout to avoid any potential problems. He and the very patient van driver guided us safely on the road sections And they excelled at making us wonderful picnic lunches on 3 occasions!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to see Sicily, then go for this trip! Depending on the season, it can be chilly . Be prepared to cycle some significant hills!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Gill Denyer

    Turkey review

    We visited all the places that we booked the trip to see and our excellent guide Ali also took us to a number of smaller less well known places. Although some of the coach journeys were long, they were split up as best as possible. A few times lunch and dinner were much later than expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the candy mountains at Pamekalle and paddling in the warm spring water.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ali was very informative amd knowledgeable about the history of all the places we visited. He was always considerate towards all the members of the group and treated us all equally.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear long sleeves and long trousers for the Lycian way walk in Kas and be prepared for a spot of mountain climbing!
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106