Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jan Strasser

    A Great trip to celebrate a milestone birthday!

    We had a fantastic time with a great group of people walking along the beautiful hills of Tuscany - visiting quaint hilltop villages - viewing spectacular scenery and partaking in wonderful food and wine

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to name just one! I loved the hilltop villages but I also love Florence - something incredible to see around every corner!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz Proctor was our group leader and she is amazing! She knew so much about every single place we visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy walking and great food and wine I highly recommend this trip
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Dave Johnson

    Fantastic experience!

    The Picos de Europa is a great National Park to experience wonderful mountain ranges at a moderate hiking grade. We were very fortunate to have an excellent tour guide in Nacho who really looked after us and filled the days with great facts on the local area and wildlife. The walking group was a wonderful mix of ages and backgrounds and we bonded from Day 1. The hotel accommodation was good but I have to highlight the excellent customer service from Jim/Pillar and their team. The food each night was simply fantastic...4 courses which would grace any London establishment. Also, a great bar to socialise in after the walks! Thanks everyone!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking in the wonderful mountain range of the Picos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was a great group leader...full of wonderful local facts, history and knowledge of the surrounding wildlife.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Phyllis Ryan

    An Excellent trip, in every way

    From the moment we set foot in Bali, I had the most wonderful time. We were a party of eight, six women and two men, and we all got on very well together. Our guide was Wira, and from the start he was so friendly and helpful. The walks were varied and very interesting. I particularly enjoyed the Mt. Batur 3-crater summit. It was a little scary, but exhilarating. We were rewarded afterwards with a dip in the local hot springs......wonderful!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Mt. Batur, and walking around the rim. Also, climbing the 1700 steps to Lempuyang Temple, and having the privilege to attend a blessing by the local priest. This was the second Hindu blessing we had on the trek.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wira, our group leader was the perfect choice for us. He was friendly, helpful, and full of fun. If any of us found something difficult, he was there to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of the fact that, although this trek is not at high altitude, there are a couple of challenging climbs.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Malcolm Phillips

    Don't understand question

    Lovely trip. Excellent guide. Mixed hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Pass

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. V organised. V well informed about the subject of the trip. Pro active. Sensitive to clients requirements. Friendly, humorous. Well done Eva.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Earplugs, particularly for Athens hotels. Noise usually from other travellers. Try and find an alternative to Lakonia Hotel, Sparta. Spartan room (ha ha), v hard bed, paper thin walls. Olympic Village Hotel, I think it has a four star sign as you enter. This is a poorly maintained hotel 3* max. My room had a cracked sheet of glass covered by a safe deposit box. It would have taken 5 mins to remove it and make the area safe. I had to unplug the fridge at night it was so noisy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Day 8. Visit to Arachova - a complete and utter waste of time. Nothing to see or do. Would have preferred more time at Meteora and an additional visit to a second monastery. Most travellers on this trip didn't need two full meals a day. No need for lunchtime restaurants all the time, coffee shop would do for a snack.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Thalia Milton

    Physical beauty at its best.

    The majority of this trip is thankfully off the main tourist trail. The trekking included walking along the top of narrow concrete walls, which held back the water for the irrigation of the rice fields; scrambling up and down muddy paths between rice fields; walking through forest; crossing bamboo bridges; plenty of steps both up and down at various temples; climbing up Mount Batur in the dark with head torches and then walking around the caldera. The accommodation was of a good standard and most of the hotels had a pool for a relaxing swim at the end of the day. The food was excellent, with delicious lunches provided and good choices of restaurants for the evening meal. The physical beauty of Bali is stunning and coupled with the attention to the daily offerings at the numerous temples and shrines, it is a truly magical place to visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was different and provided a different challenge- I was inspired by all of it particularly the physical beauty of the rice terraces.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wira was a star and was not only our leader, but an integral part of the group. He imparted his extensive knowledge with enthusiasm and genuine interest. Whilst trekking Wira was always available to help if anyone was struggling with the terrain as well as insuring the local guide was assisting also. He constantly checked that we were all okay when arriving at our accommodation and at meal times. We were invited to Wira’s family home for lunch one day, which was a particularly special occasion. When on a walking / trekking trip the leader is always more involved with a group due to the nature of the trip, but Wira appeared to go one step further - our ‘good-byes’ were to a friend who had looked after us and supported us for two weeks!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for wet feet! I wore sandles most days which had toe protection. This meant wet feet were not a problem and I could rinse my feet at intervals in the copious amounts of water flowing above and between the rice fields. It can be very hot and humid so shorts and tops which can be easily washed and are quick drying can be useful. There are mosquitos day and night, so plenty of protection is sensible, although the little blighters always seem to mange a bite here and there! Swimware is a must since there are many opportunities to swim or just cool off. Walking poles were useful at times, but they tend to be a personal choice. Ear plugs can stave off barking dogs, noisy cockerels and of course any snoring! Bring an open mind and lots of enthusiasm, be prepared to slip and slide, be amazed and enjoy whatever is thrown at you! It’s a great trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go whilst the countryside is still unspoilt by tourism. Whilst trekking we saw very few other tourists - bliss!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Terry Brown

    Cow bells and Cuisine......

    This would be a 5* PLUS trip for me, but it has to be mentioned that it does lose a star because the cow bells on the very beautiful but very close cows in the adjacent field kept us all awake half or most of the night which is not helpful when you are mountaineering the following day! It seems Jim the hotel owner can do nothing as its not his field. Having said that the hotel was great, all staff were happy, helpful and always willing to please. The food was really amazing again 5* plus which you don't expect on a walking trip. It was truly one of the highlights. So now what to choose? the wonderful group of people that came together in an inspiring way, all having fun, helping each other, laughing a lot and enjoying every minute of our trip. We were a true team. So what's left? oh yes our wonderful, kind, caring fun leader Ignacio or Nacho to us. He is great and truly looked after us all and was enthusiastic and knowledgeable too. Finally of course the walking! Well, what a place. Glorious scenery, magical walks, varied and interesting. Some were a bit tough for me especially when hot but that was my age and ability rather than the level. I've been on many Exodus trips this one is right up there as a great one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was inspirational - can't pick one. Walks were so varied it's hard to pick. Maybe, just maybe the wonderful G&T's that awaited us at the hotel at the end of each days walking.............

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, fun, friendly, caring and not only that he was very handsome!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take ear plugs - they are essential. I'm sure notes suggests poles - not every one used them but I needed them. A fan - it gets hot up there!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really great trip and as always I cannot decide which was better - the group or the walking!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Lily Surgeon

    Our Baltic Cycle Was The Best!

    There were only seven of us on our trip but we all felt this was a perfect number. Our guide Minda was wonderful. He was patient, flexible, had a great sense of humour and was full of information. He answered all our questions and had so much knowledge about the history of the Baltics. We rode in May and it was cool when we started in Estonia but warmed us as we went south. The added bonus was we were doing it before the season really started so we didn’t have the crowds. We all enjoyed the varied itinerary and have learned so much from our experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many wonderful moments. It is difficult to pinpoint one!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Minda was wonderful and is an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour leader.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Lily Surgeon

    Our Baltic Cycle Was The Best!

    There were only seven of us on our trip but we all felt this was a perfect number. Our guide Minda was wonderful. He was patient, flexible, had a great sense of humour and was full of information. He answered all our questions and had so much knowledge about the history of the Baltics. We rode in May and it was cool when we started in Estonia but warmed us as we went south. The added bonus was we were doing it before the season really started so we didn’t have the crowds. We all enjoyed the varied itinerary and have learned so much from our experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many wonderful moments. It is difficult to pinpoint one!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Minda was wonderful and is an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour leader.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Hayley Kennedy

    Fabulous! Holiday of a lifetime!

    Fabulous trip. Great Guide (Bikash T, TNT190427) great staff. Great adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching base camp as I’d been doing the trip for charity so felt such a sense of achievement

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Legend! Fab guy! Had a great team around him as well!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more money than you need, electricity, wifi etc are expensive Train hard and get fit, you will enjoy it more! Work as a team to Ensure you all get there and achieve together.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent adventure.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    andrew goodwin

    Undiscovered Trails of Cape Verde

    A good combination of walking and culture. Spectacular mountain scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the walk from Cha de Morte to Alto Mira was my favourite, but all walks were very good. Also enjoyed the visit to the guitar maker, plus the musical recital.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alveno was very enthusiastic and obviously enjoyed his job. Very aware of the environmental issues, as you would expect.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a strenuous walk in very hot weather.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The live music during meals could be intrusive and make conversation difficult.
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106