Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sarah Parkes

    A jam packed week

    This is a very full trip that means you see the most amount of things in the least amount of time so be aware of this before you book if you’re expecting a leisurely trip! The coach was of an excellent standard, clean spacious and had air con which was essential for some long drives! Plenty of stops too for snacks and to stretch your legs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra lived up to my hopes and then some. I had my reservations about the night in the desert but it was good fun, especially the camel ride and the food was excellent. The mud on the last day at the Dead Sea was great fun too and nice to end a hectic trip on a relaxed note.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was friendly and funny and got us where we needed to be. He was very knowledgable on the history of the areas and gave us time to ourselves. He sourced the most amazing falafel sandwich for 1 dinar that we raved about the rest of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take Sea shoes for the Red Sea Prepare yourself for a long tiring day on day one after your flight. Petra by night gets a bad rep but we went and enjoyed it, certainly helps to be there early though. If I had my time again I’d have extended the trip by one day to relax and enjoy the Dead Sea A’s by the time we arrived and checked in it was 4pm and the pools etc close at sunset and we had an early flight. It was a lovely hotel and would have been nice to enjoy it more.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was reassuring to be met the other side in the airport by a representative who sorted out our visas. I’d be willing to have paid more for a hotel in the Red Sea with a pool as it’s extremely hot... too hot to go to the sea until the evening so we had a lovely rare free afternoon but with not a lot to do so a pool would have been good. Minor point though.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Colin Billings

    A great week in Jordan

    A very busy week however we saw a lot in the limited time

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two days in Petra , the treasury then the monastery and the high places ab

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was excellent Very knowledgeable, organised and sociable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Next time i would take my own mask and snorkel for the Red Sea to make sure it fits properly . Take advantage of the donkeys and horses available in Petra , they save a lot of walking
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Joanne White

    Great week packed with fabulous experiences

    All the highlights of Jordan in one week - it is a very busy week with full days and relatively early starts but it is worth the effort. Not a dull moment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved the 2 days hiking in Petra, there is so much to see. However, we felt that Wadi Rum was perhaps more inspirational ....if only the dust clouds had behaved and allowed us to have a sunset.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was excellent. Very friendly and knowledgeable and really understood how to manage a diverse group without being heavy-handed in any way at all. He struck the right balance of being informative without overloading us with facts. He is a real asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The climb to St Catherine's monastery is pretty daunting at 800 steps in hot weather but don't allow this to put you off the trek on day 2 at Petra, which is easier and spectacular.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is a lot squeezed into this trip and you feel ready for some R&R at the end of the week. It was quite a long drive to get to Aqaba and felt a lot of effort for just a couple of hours on the beach. I would not have been disappointed if Aqaba was not in the itinerary.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Grant Sykes

    The full Vietnam Experience

    This was a great trip, taking in a multitude of sights across the length of Vietnam, right from Hanoi in the north down to the Mekong Delta in the south. The guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly, helpful and funny. The food was amazing, the hotels all comfortable. The sleeper train is quite an experience. Don't expect luxury - just a hard mattress and a bumpy ride. My group were well looked after the entire time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just walking around the cities and seeing how people live a totally different lifestyle half a world away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very knowledgeable, friendly. Helpful, always ready to give recommendations on food options, restaurant choices or optional sights to go and see.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't book unless you can cope with high heat and humidity, and don't expect comfort and modernity from the sleeper train. Be prepared to go for some periods of time without access to a shower and for long walks. But it's all worth it to see the sights.
  • Reviewed May 2019

    Vietnamese

    This trip lived up to what it promised from the start to the end. It was excellent value for money and provided a real insight into this wonderful country and it's people. Our group consisted of 16 people, some couples, some travelling independently with a range of ages from the UK, USA and Spain. By the end of the two weeks we were all good friends. The weather started pleasantly warm, although very cloudy, in the north and steadily became hotter and sunnier the further south we travelled. Our group leader Anh Tran, who we knew as Viet, also helped to make this trip special as he worked hard throughout to provide us with information and guidance about the places we visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the Vietnamese traffic in Hue was daunting but very rewarding once we had survived unscathed. This was due to the support of the additional leader and Viet who ensured the group were able to safely negotiate the large number of scooters and other vehicles which weaved their way around us. The visit to the Cu Chi tunnels was also fascinating and it was good to hear about the Vietnam War from a different perspective and witness the conditions that these people had to live in. Seeing the good nature of the Vietnamese people and how they make the most from the limited resources they possess makes you realise how fortunate we are.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Viet was full of enthusiasm and was always keen to share his extensive knowledge of his country and it's culture to the group or to individuals. As we travelled from place to place Viet had everything in place at the right time ensuring the smooth running of the trip. He even provided us with additional hand written notes of recommended places to visit or eat in our spare time. Throughout he displayed a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The train was a really good experience and although the noise and movement of the train was not an issue we did find the beds were very hard and the day that followed very long,

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only things that we thought could have been better were that after the meal on the boat in Halong Bay, it would have been good to encourage more socialising with some music or card games... This was also the case after the meal at the homestay on the Mekong Delta. The long day after the train journey could be better arranged. Perhaps, after going to the Citadel, it could be arranged to go to the hotel to relax by sitting around the pool or going for a swim as it would not be possible to check into the rooms at that time. Then have lunch at the hotel before going to the other places of interest later in the afternoon. The optional family meal could then be switched to the following evening. This would make it less tiring.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    sarah strachan

    fine

    Excellent week. Really well organised interesting sites.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was exceptional as a guide. Really friendly, knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He worked really hard to make our trip run really smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for Ibrahim as a group leader

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was such a good mix of ages in the group everyone got on really well. Thank you
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Louise Mattison

    A wonder of the world, sun, sea and sand - this trip has it all!

    Having just returned from Jordan and reflecting back on my week away, I feel it has been one of the best trips of my life so far. The tour has been created to have a very varied, yet well balanced itinerary consisting of the capital, Petra - a new wonder of the world, the desert, the Red Sea and the Dead Sea. It cannot be argued that this is a relaxing holiday, there is a lot of travelling and a couple of long bus days (though nothing too overbearing and always well broken up with plenty of stops and sites along the way) and the number of included activities means you will fill like you've seen the whole country in a week! But it's brilliant fun, and the opportunity to see all the main sites and the stunning scenery will mean you'll be happy to rest once you get home! Jordan is a fabulously and I feel underrated country. Despite being situated in an area of the world which has had some problems, Jordan is forunate to be a safe and easy to travel country. As a solo female traveller I didn't have a single moment of my trip where I felt uncomfortable or unsafe. The people were welcoming, the weather was perfect (not too hot but sunny every day) and the sights far surpassed my expectations. If you are considering visiting Jordan, you can't beat this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two days to explore and hike Petra. It's such a fantastic and fascinating site, and far, far larger than I expected. I'm glad the itinerary permitted two full days here as one day would have felt rushed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a brilliant leader. Clearly very experienced, he was enthusiastic, knowledgable and most importantly looked after us and made us feel very comfortable. I've done many similar group tours over the years, but never with Exodus before, and I think he was one of the best leaders I've had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a solo female traveller some of my friends and family were surprised when I told them of my decision to visit Jordan. But I couldn't have felt more comfortable. Exodus take care of you right from the moment you step off the plane, and the people I met and travelled with couldn't have been lovelier. I was in a group of 20, a mix of ages, both couples and single travellers and we are got along brilliantly, having group dinners every night and staying in touch post trip. Ibrahim, our leader, was fantastic and took brilliant care of us. I can honestly say I have no issues and the trip couldn't have gone better.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Carol Nolan

    Amazing and hot!

    Vietnam is everything you think it may be and everything you can never imagine! So opposite to your life in the western world, the country is a beautiful, absolutely chaotic, in your face and also serene at times. This is an extremely well organised trip and you will definitely get a flavour of Asia. Food is beyond amazing and our tour guide was unbelievable and a wonderful human!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On a boat travelling down the Mekong river wearing traditional hat and savouring the quiet!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joilee was beyond wonderful and professional and was also pretty funny! She cared for us in the group like her own and she was the most wonderful representative for her country of Vietnam

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring lots of loose clothing, laundry wash as you will be changing your clothes a lot! Don’t bother with any make up or stuff for hair, within a day that all goes out of the window! Enjoy your rest afternoons relaxing, the tour is pretty full on and will get tired otherwise. And close your eyes at times, savour what you are experiencing

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it! The price is very cheap for everything you get to see and experience and spending money is even hard to spend as everything is so cheap. I loved this country and it has set off my new love of adventure!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Peter Woodward

    Would I go again? Yes I would.

    From tropical beaches, through steaming jungles to Scottish moorlands Sri Lanka has it all. Where else can you grow where they grow pineapples, coconuts and cashew nuts a few miles down the road from tea, potatoes and leeks? Fantastic scenery, great food and wonderful people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a 5ft water lizard at our first road side stop after leaving the airport. Just a taste of what was to come.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader had a great sense of humour and loved his country. Standard answer to any question was usually "90 minutes" and he wasn't far wrong.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow. Sri Lankans don't like to hurry and preparing fresh food takes time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not quite paradise but not far from it. If you have been you will know what I mean, if not then what are you waiting for?
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Katherine Lucarotti

    A marvellous trip crammed into a week

    A wonderful trip with a fabulous guide and great travel companions. I wasn't sure about doing a tour as I usually travel independently. This time, I didn't have time to plan logistics, learn Arabic (though most do speak some English), or manage/research all the destinations, and I only had a week of time off, so I decided to try a pre-organised trip with Exodus to a place I've always wanted to visit. So glad I did. I learnt about Roman cities by walking amongst the pillars, I marvelled at mosaics away from the distractions of the 9-5, I climbed up rocky out-crops formed of incredible reds and oranges, I learned about the Nabateans and the Mamlucs and the Bedouin and the history or a tumultous region steeped in history for thousands of years. Not only do you get to explore Petra and Wadi Rum, float in the Dead Sea, snorkel in the Red Sea, admire Jerash and Madaba and Karak Castle and the flowers in the desert (in April) (thanks to our guide for hunting out the end of season black irises), but you get to taste local food (delicious Shawarma and Falafel) sip delicious mint concoctions, and hear about day-to-day life in world full of refugees, intense politics, history and conflict on all sides. Things come to life when you are in the landscape. Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting on a sand dune in the desert of Wadi Rum watching the light change.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous group leader - highly recommend Jihad.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really look at the weather forecast before you go. It can be cold and wet in Jordan (North and Middle) in Spring, even though it will also be hot in Aqaba, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Recommended for people who want to cover a lot of ground in a short time. It is quite an intense itinerary so not the right trip if you just need to relax or potter about. It's great for people interested in civilisations, nature and the Middle East. Even if you don't know a lot about history, this place brings it to life. It is spectacular.
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106