Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Iolanda Jackson-Johns

    Good

    A very comprehensive tour where you get to see many of the best places in Croatia on the coast and Islands. Beautiful scenery with a picture around every corner. Very busy itinerary both the cycling and the travelling with not much free time so make sure sure you are prepared for this one - both physically and mentally. It was very hot when we were there so you have to factor in that you might be cycling big hill climbs in extreme heat and out in the heat all day, every day. There is a support vehicle if you need it but ours did not have too much in the way of aircon.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling the uphill climbs (up to 10km long) in extreme heat without getting in the support vehicle

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, calm and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit on your bike before you go - not really a tour for those who just cycle to the shops at home

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Proud that I did it and many wonderful memories and friendships - THANK YOU
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jean Hackett

    The not-so-blue Danube

    Temperatures were consistently above 30 deg. C, although we chose early June because it should have been more congenial for cycling. This was quite a challenge as a result. The first point to note is that nowhere on the route did the Danube look blue! It was green at Passau, but thereafter was a sludgy grey, despite the clear blue skies above us. There was a great profusion of wild flowers along the route; the cycle paths were generally segregated from other traffic, which made for pleasant riding conditions, with occasional shared use with pedestrians; even when we were near roads, they were relatively traffic-free. We enjoyed seeing many other cyclists of all ages while we were on the route, and in the towns where we stayed. Austria is an obviously cycle-friendly country, and we could only dream that we might have the same sort of facilities in the UK.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing two river barges going through the locks (one each way) at the hydro-electric power station station near Melk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the instructions and distances quoted with a pinch of salt! The Austrian partners don't seem to have cycled the route recently, and there were many changes from the route notes and maps, as well as some unhelpful or incorrect information. Some of this came at the end of a day, and made finding accommodation a challenge at times.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    John Wallace

    A wonderful country - but an indifferent leader

    The journey, the country, the route, the accommodation, the food and drink - all faultless. However, one relies very much on the tour leader to provide insights, explanations and observations of their native country, in order to bring that country to life and bring greater richness to the experience than mere observation, as a visiting stranger, can rovide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling amidst spectacular scenery redolent of Middle Earth in a time of innocence.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Poor. He did what he had to and no more. He kept a distance from the group, erecting an impenetrable wall comprising his mobile phone and an attitude that clearly communicated that it would be best for us if we didn't trouble him by talking to him more than absolutely necessary. He had no contact with me throughout the trip, and I felt too intimidated to dare to ask him any of the many questions I had about his wonderful country. I have been on many other Exodus trips on which the leader become a friend, adviser, support and encouragement - and all-around hero.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure that they get an Albania guide who truly loves their job - most of the Exodus guides I've encountered have given their hearts and souls to the execution of their duties.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I hope the gentleman in question can be persuaded to give more time to his paying guests and less time to his mobile phone.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Colin Prince

    Feedback

    Excellent trip, great time of year to go. The trip was well put together and the cycling was safe and varied. Would say I thought it was more a 3.5-4 than the 3 it was given.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the views were amazing and the wild flowers were a joy

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giovanni Pasella was one of the best leaders that I have had with Exodus, very knowledgable and did his best to make our trip interesting and relaxed. Marc also was very good and we always had a laugh

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for hills

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to everyone at Exodus and to Giovanni
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Gail Hopper

    Great trip

    A delightful trip from many perspectives. Lovely scenery and interesting places to visit in the south of island. Very good company of lovely people. Amazing food. Hot weather What’s not to like??

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not necessarily inspirational but some really enjoyable experiences. On bike - the challenging climb up to Cavagrande del Cassibile and the wonderful views from the top. Off bike - possibly arriving in Noto or the wander through Marzamemi - really was a picturesque fishing village, followed by Guiseppe’s picnic, relaxation and swim at the agriturisimo

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davida was a gentleman. Totally committed to ensuring we had a safe and enjoyable trip, kind and humorous. We liked his “stories” and his growing collection of English colloquialisms, that he tried to feed into daily conversation. He was well organised, ensuring an early start and finish so we had time to relax, swim or explore at the end of each ride. He knew, was proud of and described his country well. He wanted us to see the best of it ( and we almost did ). Took us to some lovely places to eat, to get the best pizza in Noto, antipasto in Syracuse and gelato and cannoli anywhere. A man with good taste! Giuseppe his assistant was a great supporter/driver/ bike mechanic and picnic provider. He has limited English but we managed to get by and the two made a good team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of how hot it can be in early June. Was 37degrees on day one. Didn’t fall below 30 all week. Davida sensibly had us out early each morning before it became unbearably hot. In some of the rural areas near the coast there were appalling amounts of rubbish dumped along the roadsides. We understood this was a result of political decisions about tax linked to recycling. This isn’t something Exodus are responsible for or able to change ( though I fear it could impact on tourism if it isn’t addressed). So very sad to destroy beautiful countryside.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sicily is very interesting and well worth a visit - lots of lovely places to enjoy on this trip. Would highly recommend it. The accommodation was generally good - even the less smart places had the benefit of lovely hosts and good food. I liked the fact that there were no transfers and we cycled door to door each day, but we also had 2 nights in 2 hotels so didn’t have to pack up every morning
  • Reviewed June 2019
    David Netherwood

    Great trip, but a couple of REALLY tough climbs

    We had an excellent group of five, and Giovanni and Marc our guides were excellent. The scenery, mountains, beaches, cliff tops, historic ruins are wonderful as are the wild flowers and flamingos. The hotels were all of a good quality and most had swimming pools. The cycling is harder than the 3 rating suggests. I've done a number of cycling trips, but days 2 and 3 have serious climbs on them and two of the five of us had to take the van for the last part. Foodwise, I'm a vegetarian and while there was always something to eat, it was more often grilled veg than would have been ideal. We mostly ate in fish restaurants. That said, there were a couple of standout meals that were superb. The bikes are good quality, perhaps a little heavy, and provided with panniers - best to put them in the van on the climb days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Drinking cold beer in a cliff top bar, watching the sun go down after a hard days cycling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, Giovanni and Marc took turns to cycle with the group. They worked together really well and I think we all felt well looked after. They clearly are knowledgeable and passionate about the area, its history and wildlife and were delighted to share this with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you get offered the choice, the wine tasting is good fun - I bought a couple of bottles and it does travel!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    May be a single rating isn't enough, I think this is a 4 on days 2 & 3, and 3 the rest of the time.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Catherine Stewart

    Beautiful country.

    Good routes through some beautiful countryside. Some of the uphills are pretty tough but worth it for the downhills. Excellent choice of restaurants, very well organised and well-briefed. The guide coped fantastically as a one-man team - he really needed support from at lead one other Exodus appointed member to share the thinking and organising. Apart from a 1-hour whistlestop tour of Split for those arriving on the scheduled flight, there was no time for exploring the city and NO TIME for the meal that had been given in the Trip Notes - we had to grab a snack to eat on the ferry. Not entirely satisfactory. Hotels were average.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several: the one day trip to Mjlet was definitely worthwhile, but right to keep it as optional as it costs £50 on top of the holiday costs. Korcula was attractive - would have liked to have more time to explore the town. Good to finish in Dubrovnik though it came as a bit of a shock to be amongst hordes of other tourists after the previous off-piste days! Hotel away from the main drag is a very good idea.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was superb! He has a very mature head and a delightful sense of humour. He is extremely well organised and coped with any eventuality in a calm and measured way. We were well-briefed before each day and were given further thorough briefing on each part of the ride. He certainly had the pressure put on him for this trip as he was the only Exodus representative so had to do ALL the thinking and ALL the organising. He seemed to take it all in his stride but it struck me as a huge responsibility. He was constantly having to chase up the driver who was not familiar with the routes and was there to just drive, not support the group leader as would normally be the case. Marin deserves top marks and a bonus for giving us a great holiday and choosing some excellent restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to see Split, go at least a day before. If you arrive on the scheduled flight, take enough food to see you through the evening as the meal before the ferry doesn't exist. Be prepared for higher prices in Dubrovnik (though the restaurant inside the walled city is definitely worth the extra cost). Prices elsewhere were very reasonable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a huge 'Thank you' to Marin for guiding us through an interesting week and for giving us all great support. The combination of islands that we visited were well planned. It has made me want to see more - maybe another Exodus trip starting in Split and going North?
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Nick Sutton

    Top cycling, scenery and ice cream (in some locations...)

    An excellent holiday to a fabulous country, great cycling with a brilliant guide, plus swimming in beautiful locations, stunning scenery and lovely food. Plus, the opportunity to stay in an Eastern block hotel in a great location.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Winning the yellow jersey, though I won't bang on about it...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan Skulic, our guide is a great guide, top man and was superb. He is passionate about his country, cycling and made some great food recommendations in the restaurants, so I ate well (-thanks Alan). He is also not bad at cycling and almost kept up with me!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The optional trip to Mijet is worthwhile, a gentle cycle and swimming in a beautiful location. We went on 8 June and it was in the 30's, which was exceptionally hot (for me), particularly in Dubrovnik. For those who don't cycle much, I think it worth getting some practice in, the first couple of days are challenging. The best ice cream shop is in Dubrovnik, near the Serbian church. Go early to do the wall walk in Dubrovnik and don't get stuck behind Americans or Japanese tour groups, or the urge to push them off the wall will take over!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd be inclined to book my own flights and come back in the morning, or early afternoon of the last day, rather than a 9pm flight. You can see Dubrovnik adequately in the evening and one full day, it therefore felt like a wasted day, hanging around for a late evening flight. I think the tour could be improved by say an additional day in, or around Split, or an island, rather than the two days in Dubrovnik.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sally Sanders

    Beautiful Croatia!

    We found this trip to be a great way to experience this stunning coastline and enjoy our first visit to Croatia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the first day’s 10km climb and enjoying a lovely cold beer. Lunch at the konoba Mate on the island of Korcula was a delicious experience and I don’t think we would ever have found this lovely rural restaurant on our own. Really enjoyed the wild flowers and butterflies. Being a part of and sharing so many great experiences with our group ‘The Bruised Peaches’!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was ace - he looked after and encouraged us, and with his cycling expertise, local knowledge and sense of humour helped to make this trip well organised, interesting and great fun too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend some hours in the saddle and do some training before you go - your bottom will thank you! Don’t expect great hotels but we found them to be adequate for this trip as not much time was spent in them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Will definitely visit Croatia again and will I am sure be booking another cycling trip with Exodos in the future.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jan Challis

    Beautiful Croatia

    Lovely mixture of cycling; some long hills but beautiful views from the top, fabulous coastal roads through pine trees and little villages. Travelling in June we cycled through wonderful flower meadows with the heady smell of rosemary in the air. Hotels are basic but adequate. Food and drink are about the same as UK prices. Our guide pick some great restaurants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional trip to Mljet - very relaxing and peaceful once you get there (getting on the ferry with the bike is a bit of a mad scramble). The optional dinner in Korcula at the agrotourism was fabulous - amazing setting and great food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was a brilliant tour leader - knowledgeable, safe, friendly and great fun. He made sure everyone was included. Our driver was a nice guy but pretty useless - he did very little apart from drive the minibus so Marin ended up doing everything else. He worked exceptional hard the whole week. Unfortunately one of our group had an accident on day 5 but Marin handled the whole situation extremely well and very professionally.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I wish I'd been able to have a extra day or two to explore Split. We had a 1 hour whistlestop tour and then had to get straight on the ferry. Buy or take food for the ferry as there isn't time to sit and eat a meal in Split.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    With a group of 16 people there should been a second leader, or at the very least a driver who had some knowledge of the trip and provided the leader with competent backup. Our driver had no idea where to go; often we would get the meeting point to find he was parked somewhere entirely different. This really put a lot of unnecessary pressure on our leader and wasted time. The driver wouldn't help rope up the bikes, he had no idea how to detach the trailer and was difficult to contact (his phone was often switched off).
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106