Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17897 Reviews

  • Amazing trip

    Having never been to South Africa before, every aspect of our trip surpassed all expectation. From meeting everyone at the airport, all through the trip, it was well organised and our guides were great! Our activities were well thought out and perfect for what we wanted from our trip. The scenery was beautiful and the South African people were so friendly and accommodating. Nothing was ever too much trouble. We loved it, and would definitely do another trip like this.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best part for us was the kayaking to see the penguins at Boulders Beach. It was a great activity and having never done sea kayaking before I, especially, was nervous, however I needn’t have been, the kayaks were easy to operate and the paddling was fine. The penguins were a pleasure to see, and watching them bob about in the waves not far from our kayaks was a real treat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Adonia was our guide and Ernest was our driver and they were fabulous. They were so friendly and helpful and had excellent knowledge of the area and history etc. By the end of the trip everyone felt like family, and we were sad to leave. Also, they were great when, through circumstances beyond their control, they had to make last minute alterations and organise things differently. 5 stars all round, thanks guys!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, it can be very windy! Especially at Cape Point and the Cape of Good Hope, so be prepared. :)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was delicious, and quite cheap compared to UK prices. We didn’t eat a bad meal at all, and the service was efficient, waiting staff friendly. The wines were also great too, I’m now a fan of Pinotage and a couple of good white wines as well! I wouldn’t hesitate to go back to this beautiful country, it was a truly memorable holiday! :)
  • Reviewed March 2020

    A fantastic introduction to Northern India.

    This was a wonderful trip. It needs some stamina as there are a lot of early starts and long journeys. Keep an open mind and take it as it comes, there are many rewards. The group got on really well and we had some great laughs. The tour guide was brilliant and was central to the success of the trip. It's made me want to see more of India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many of these. Some of the hotels were so pretty with gorgeous gardens. I really value this on a busy trip so you have a bit of down time in the sunshine. We saw 2 young tigers in Ranthambore and this was a highlight. They were beautiful .Felt a bit alarmed the number of trucks all scrambling to view them, but they seemed ok and not traumatised. The Taj Mahal is very beautiful and Varanasi is beyond belief, especially the evening prayers which are akin to a scene from Raiders of the Lost Ark.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was amazing. Such a lovely friendly man, had us all eating out of his hand I'd say. He has done the trip so many times and knows every inch of it. He joined in with us and shared the fun. He was organised and gave very clear instructions for the itinerary each day. Was sad to say goodbye.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to love curry, journeying and you need, as on many adventure holidays, patience and an ability to take things as they come. The e-visa service seemed to cause problems at the airport, but it was a difficult time with Covid19. I had a year visa which meant I got through immigration very quickly. Those with e-visas took forever. Take your Powerbank out of your main luggage. Take some warm clothes for the early starts, it takes a while to warm up. No-one was ill, the facilities were nowhere near as bad as you might think they would be, even on the overnight trains and stations. Didn't open my medicine pack. Due to the time of year, I came back with pink and orange hair from Holi, but I'm getting used to it. All but 2 hotels were really good, but you take the rough with the smooth on these trips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go. You'll love it. it was one of my best tours and I can't wait for the world to get going again.
  • Cabarbet & Capers South Africa March 2020

    An unforgettable trip that will live long in the memory. One that I would highly tecommend to anyone in their 30's and 40's who is short on time and keen to dip their toe into the best activities that the Cape has to offer. This was the first ever Exodus Edits trip so it was a step into the unknown. Whats more, it coincided with the COVID-19 outbreak which ultimately led to it being cut short as we had to return to the UK. Nonetheless, the small amount of time spent in Cape Town with my fellow explorers and our fantastic tour guides Adonia and Ernest exceeded my expectations. As a seasoned traveller and regular customer of Exodus, I knew that in spite of the uncertainty that came with travelling overseas as COVID-19 spread, I'd be in safe hands. After discovering on day 2 that the trip would be cut short, Adonia with support from Caroline and John from Exodus HQ who had joined us on the trip, provided regular updates and guidance on the fast-moving situation. This enabled me to make clear decisions on how and when I should return home before borders closed and airlines cancelled flights. While the trip itself was reduced to 5 days, the activities that we were able to experience were hugely enjoyable. Hiking halfway way up Table Mountain in fierce winds and getting some amazing views of downtown Cape Town before (very sensibly) being directed by Adonia to head back down as it was just too risky to hike all the way to the top. Visiting the Cape of Good Hope and hiking up to Cape Point Light House in even stronger winds was quite an experience even for someone who grew up on the windy west coast of Scotland! The accommodation across the 5 days was fantastic and leaned towards the 4 star in terms of quality. In Cape Town, the Grand Daddy Hotel was a one of a kind experience. Very quirky with Airstream style caravans on the top floor. Great rooms and very good breakfasts. In Simonstown, our hotel overlooked the gorgeous bay and offered great views of the sun setting. Last but not least, our farm stay accommodation on the outskirts of Stellenbosch offered great views of the surrounding vin yards and mountains on the horizon. Two separate swimming pools was also a welcome discovery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The natural beauty of the coastline from Cape Town to the Cape of Good Hope will really stick in the memory. The eyes are seduced by the magnificence of the white sandy beaches before being confronted by the dancing white horses crashing into rugged coves. As I gazed out to the horizon and with nothing but churning ocean for thousands of miles to the left and to the right, I reflected on my good fortune in being offered the opportunity to put into perspective mankind’s place on the planet. While I tapped away on my iPhone taking picture after picture of the magnificent landscape, I knew that in spite of all of the technology at my fingertips, mother nature will always have the final word.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Adonia our tour leader and his able assistant Ernest were superb in very way. More so, in light of the challenges they were presented with on an hourly basis as the consequences of the South African Government's decision to impose travel restrictions to limit the spread of COVID-19 became apparent. At every turn, Adonia and Ernest kept us abreast of the situation and the implications on our scheduled activities. Where one activity was cancelled, an alternative was rapidly improvised. Too windy to hike to the top of Table Mountain. Ok, lets visit Signal Hill Nature Reserve instead. Bike hire company closed due to COVID-19? Let’s hike up to Cape Point Lighthouse. Highly knowledgeable, highly engaging and above all highly empathetic, Adonia and Ernest were there for us every step of the way. It really was sad to leave them in such abrupt circumstances.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are travelling on this trip towards the back of the South African summer, pack a windbreaker and a fleece as it can be really windy during the day and cool in the evening. Also make sure to pack a proper pair of waking boots as the hike up Table Mountain is largely on rocky steps so firm footing is required.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Snow leopards found

    If you have ever dreamed of seeing the elusive snow leopard then this is the trip for you. Don't think about it just book it. Ladakh is an incredible region and you couldn't ask for a better guide than Valerie. Been there, done that and probably knows the location of every rock on the mountain. As for the area - if you saw nothing but the scenery you would get your moneysworth, however the team scour the countryside for wildlife - with lammegeiers and golden eagles regularly sighted overhead. As for the snow leopards themselves we had 12 sightings - an extraordinarily good year, some were very distant and only visible with the fantastic Swarovski scopes. However we were also lucky enough to get a mother and cubs sighting and a mating pair at distances under 600m - this isn't a petting zoo - which is clear enough for binoculars and long lens cameras. Photographers with a dslr need to thing 500m or bigger with tripods and teleconverters. It will not be Africa Serengetti encounters, but that makes them even more magical. Failing this kit the guides are adept at taking mobile shots through the spotting scopes - good enough for keepsakes and memories of an incredible trip. It is cold though and involves trekking on rocky trails - so heed the trip notes, get good warm boots and kit and enjoy your complimentary hot water bottle ( after a lovely filling meal) Icing on the cake is the Street Kids tour of Delhi and the inspieational stories of the work done by the charity. Can't thank Valerie and team enough and gladly go and do it all over again - if she can take the stress of getting my mountain of camera kit through customs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a mother and two cubs on the same day we saw a pair of snow leopards above camp. Everyone raced up the hill to the spotting scopes, forgetting the altitude. We were still chatting excitedly over our luck at evening meal, having watched them for 3 hours.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Valerie is rightfully a legend - she knows everyone and even read us local tales from a book. She lives and breathes the region and that in turn feeds into the group and how good the trip turned out to be. She is also widely respected by the local people and staff, case in point one evening a ranger had his own client with an eye problem - first port of call was Valerie to see what she thought.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't scrimp on a warm sleeping bag, proper boots for the terrain and warm layers. This is not extreme terrain but you will enjoy life a lot more if you are comfortable. Take a small bag to leave in Delhi and another drybag of something to change into when you get bag to Leh. Likelihood is you will be wearing same clothes for daysin camp so just be warm.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Probably one of the best experiences I have done. I had thought I'd be lucky to see snow leopards once. To have 12 sightings, a lynx and then high tea in The Imperial just made the trip beyond my wildest dreams. Thanks to Valerie, the crew and my camera porter / assitant photographer Chosgun. Without whom the 600mm lens would have travelled up trails a lot slower.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Borneo Wildlife Discoverer

    This is a great overview of Malaysian Borneo with stays at many varied national parks. Its great to see the wildlife, birds, plants, insects and forests and also stays in the towns. The food was generally very good. It was interesting to hear some of the history and to learn about the tribes of Borneo. I am really pleased that I chose this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed all of the holiday and stays at all of the national parks, seeing all the wild life eg the orangutans, monkeys, birds and plants. I enjoyed the contrast between the different national parks where we stayed and also making the most of short stays in the towns.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manuiel was a great group leader he worked extremely hard to identify and to show us wildlife, insects, birds and plants. He worked very hard to ensure that the trip went smoothly and was very organised and we always knew in advance plans for the trip. He is sociable and has a good sense of humour which benefited us all . He was approachable so you could ask questions. He helped us on our free day in Koto Kinabalu to organise the boat to the island.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take a head torch and wet weather poncho for rain and leech socks for Danum
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Patagonian Highlights

    This trip covered Torres del Paine National Park, including a hike to the base of the Towers of Paine. Los Glaciares National Park, Fitzroy Massif hike and Cerro Torre. We then travelled down the Ushuaia - the world's most southern city and took an optional boat trip out to penguin island before travelling back to Buenos Aires.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fitzroy & Torres Del Paine hike are difficult but the views when you get to the top are amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Xavier was an excellent guide - one of the best I've had. He was very knowledgable about the history of Argentina in all the areas that we visited. He was always upbeat & calm - especially during the COVID-19 outbreak he ensured that we were well informed for our travel back home. The whole trip was very well organised with no disappointments!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hikes are long and difficult, Be prepared for all weather; take good gear and be prepared to use it! There are some long travel days which can't be avoided if you want to experience the best of Patagonia so bring a book or download some movies / music / podcasts in advance for the coach journeys.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    A wonderful trip taking in a wide variety of locations and experiences.

    This taster of the tropical south of India offers the traveler a wide variety of locations and experiences, and while some may be more appealing than others there is always something to appreciate and enjoy every day. There are sharp contrasts between the manic street life of cities like Madurai and the peace and calm of the more rural locations such as Munnar, Periyar, and the backwaters of Kottayam. The pace of the trip varies and some days are more full-on than others, but there are opportunities to recover from the more strenuous periods and sufficient optional activities for those with the energy to keep going. The itinerary takes in plenty of interesting diversions, and more than a few extracurricular surprises. At the end you will be amazed by how much you have packed into the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many unforgettable moments, it is very difficult to select just one. The trek through the tea plantations at Munnar was an early highlight, although the mists and low cloud obscured what should have been stunning views. The whole experience at Madurai was amazing: a constant wall of sound, with crazy drivers (and a rollercoaster of a tuk tuk ride at night), an unmissable early morning heritage walk (with such a diversity of activities unfolding), followed by a visit to the wonderful Meenakshi Temple, and dining out on street food in the evening. The stop off at the spice garden was informative and offered an opportunity to sample and buy the local products. The cookery demonstration at Thekkady got everyone involved and was highly entertaining (with some tasty food as the end result), while the homestay gave us some of the best food of the whole trip. The houseboat experience was possibly the most inspirational moment, so peaceful and relaxing and a splendid way to wind down towards the end of the itinerary.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We could not fault San in any way. He was an exceptional leader with excellent interpersonal skills, and he organised the whole trip in a professional and responsive way. His knowledge of all aspects of local Indian life, culture and society was amazing and he was always ready to offer just the right amount and level of information, whether explaining what we were experiencing or answering questions from the group. His sense of humour engaged with the group and helped to make us a unit. We were aware he was having to deal with a number of issues behind the scenes (the spread of coronavirus was a constant concern) but he managed them calmly and kept us informed about everything we needed to know. We were always confident that he was acting in our best interests and giving us the best possible experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to take a travel plug for the basins if you want to use them for washing or shaving, as few - if any - of the rooms have them. Make sure you take plenty of hand sanitizer and apply a rigorous hygiene regime at all times, to avoid any unwelcome bugs; if you are careful you should be fine. Take a travel toilet roll or tissues out with you as outside of the hotels few toilets have any toilet paper. There are plenty of opportunities for laundering clothes during the trip and they are very cheap. Using them could reduce the amount of clothes you need to pack.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don’t expect much from the visit to Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary: it really is a matter of luck if you see any wildlife, let alone elephants (our guide tried valiantly but in vain to locate them), and you won’t see much from the boat cruise on the lake there unless you are seated right on the outside or the front. Day 6 in Madurai was very full-on and some in our group found it too tiring towards the end, after an early morning start for the heritage walk followed by visits to the temple and palace before a long evening out sampling the street food. All of these events offered wonderful experiences, however it might be better to have the street food walk on the previous evening (Day 5) to allow for a more leisurely end to Day 6.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    2 weeks in the desert and Etosha

    A 2 week tour to a beautiful country. Everywhere we went we saw spectacular scenery, met interesting and friendly people and stayed in lovely lodges. I won't forget the elephants, pronking springbok, dancing ostriches and roaring lion.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The main reason I went to Namibia was to see the Namib desert and the petrified trees in Dead Vlei and it did not disappoint. We had plenty of time to see and experience the desert environment. I did a 2 hour flight over the area we had driven through the previous day and it brought home to me how huge and empty this desert is. Seeing an elephant at the water hole in Etosha is a close second, followed by the roaring lion.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was an excellent group leader. He has a good knowledge of the country, it's natural environment and he animals we saw in Etosha. His communication and organisational skills were very good and he made the whole trip run smoothly. He was also a good driver, making me feel save in the vehicle.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some long driving days, but the scenery is beautiful and there are frequent breaks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip to anyone who is interested in different environments and nature. The game drives in Etosha were very good. We were lucky enough to have good sightings of animals and could spend time observing their behaviour.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Cuba

    Have just come back from a Taste of Cuba trip. What an amazing time we had, Rayselis the guide was so passionate about her country and so knowledgeable. We visited local community run projects, got to eat in local restaurants and generally have a good time with the Cuban people. I would recommend this trip if you want to see Cuba rather than just sit on a beech. Cigar rolling, rum drinking, salsa dancing , pottery throwing, amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Cuba in the raw, old Havana is amazing, seeing local Cubans going about there everyday lives, happily singing and dancing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rayselis is an amazing, passionate guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind, and enjoy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was not bland, there was plenty of variety, vegetarian meals were available, the Cuban Hosts were lovely, the Casa' s and Hotels were lovely and so clean.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Cuba

    Have just come back from a Taste of Cuba trip. What an amazing time we had, Rayselis the guide was so passionate about her country and so knowledgeable. We visited local community run projects, got to eat in local restaurants and generally have a good time with the Cuban people. I would recommend this trip if you want to see Cuba rather than just sit on a beech. Cigar rolling, rum drinking, salsa dancing , pottery throwing, amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Cuba in the raw, old Havana is amazing, seeing local Cubans going about there everyday lives, happily singing and dancing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rayselis is an amazing, passionate guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind, and enjoy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was not bland, there was plenty of variety, vegetarian meals were available, the Cuban Hosts were lovely, the Casa' s and Hotels were lovely and so clean.