Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Allan Gordon

    Kilimanjaro - Go For It with Exodus

    Very well organised, everyone very helpful and friendly. Guides brilliant and supportive. 13 out of our Group of 14 made it to the very top ,Uhuru Summit. What a team and great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise from Uhuru summit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John Seka was excellent. Very competent, caring and humourous.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Down sleeping bag as the 2 nights above 4,500m were very cold Take Diamox 125mg twice daily Wear very comfy boots as you will be wearing them for 6 days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I could not recommend Exodus Travel highly enough. Trust them to deliver and give you your best chance of summitting.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Mark Latham

    On the roof of Africa

    Review of my Exodus trip to Kilimanjaro in The Herald: https://www.heraldscotland.com/life_style/16237809.travel-trek-to-the-summit-of-mount-kilimanjaro/

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See the above link.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See the above link.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See the above link.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See the above link.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    William Pearce

    Summit fever!wonderful

    Wonderful feeling on reaching the summit after a midnight start !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit! Watching and joining in with the African team final celebrations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT(Justin) was great.more cheer leader than group leader. An inspirational guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Better to hire a jacket , sleeping bag and ground sheet.our trip was very dry and dusty and gaiters were very useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Tanzanians have a structured tipping scheme! So if you are going to contribute make sure you have the funds available
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Mark Davey

    You Never Know What Is Around The Next Corner

    Wow, Just Wow. Our first Safari experience and the whole trip had different and memorable highlights on each day. From seeing Elephants in family groups, Lions, Leopards, Cheetah, Black Rhino, in fact the list goes on and on. At the start of the trip we were shouting out having seen an animal only to find that it was a tree or a termite mound but as the week progressed we were far better at spotting the local wild life. Being out each day on safari helps and ensured we saw as many different animals as possible. At each site we stayed at, we received a friendly welcome and the facilities were excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Far too many to mention, but just a few: Seeing elephants at a water hole at dawn The sounds of the Hippo pool Having Lions walking down the track passing within touching distance of our vehicle

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jackson our tour leader was excellent. He was friendly, approachable and informative and ensured the tour was enjoyable for all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go on this trip I would ensure that you take binoculars to ensure seeing animals further from the vehicle (at least x24 zoom)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A lifetime of memories from just eight days
  • Reviewed March 2019
    David Woodhams

    Kenya & Tanzania Wildlife Experience

    My wife and I had been on this trip previously in September 2016 where we were lucky to see the migration. We thought that it would be good to see the other end of the season and hoped to catch the migration at the southern end, but alas they had travelled further south than we were going. Lake Nakuru NP was more productive this time as well as the Masia Mara with us seeing the 'Big 5' in the first 2 days, the first time that has occurred in more than 24 years of travel! Although the Mara Triangle and the Serengeti were very devoid of animals this was more than made up for by the Ngorongoro Crater, which was incredible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having seen 3 Cheetah in Kenya 24 years ago it was amazing to see 5 together which was made up of 4 brothers and a friend, spectacular. The balloon flight over the Masia Mara was amazing where, with the skill of the pilot we were able to track a pride of 9 Lions and the breakfast afterwards was great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julius promised us from the start that we would see lots of animals and did not fail to deliver. The 'Big 5' in the first 2 days, remarkable. We saw 10% of the Black Rhino population in Lake Nakuru NP as well as Lion, Cape Buffalo, Waterbuck & Impala. The crew, Sam our driver who kept us safe throughout our trip AND provided a free African massage! Nick, our chef who provided some amazing meals out in the bush. Dolly, who was the general hand helping out with many tasks, cooking, tent erecting and helping where ever needed as well as setting up an excellent hygiene regime around the kitchen and food areas. He also kept us entertained with a very jolly attitude and excellent English.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light, be organised as you will be living out of your bag for the first 10 days and often you will be organising your life in the dark, with late arrivals at camp sites and early departures. Embrace the whole situation and enjoy! Make sure that you pack a towel, as this is not mentioned in the trip notes as an essential item.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As previously stated my wife and I did this trip in September 2016 which was an excellent trip with lots of animal sightings. This trip, being a different season offered a different experience, but again with lots of animal sightings, but in different places. On both trips we had wonderful experiences with the big cats, Lion, Leopard & Cheetah. If you are thinking about the balloon trip, although expensive we would recommend it as we did not do it on our first trip and regretted it, so made sure that we did it this time - awesome.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Glen B

    Epic

    What a fantastic adventure summiting Africa’s highest peak with the most amazing and supportive group of people, ever!!!! Easily The most difficult thing I have ever done. The trek was a well oiled machine. Porters were amazing. Tents were were dry and set up by the time we entered each camp. The food was fantastic. The toilet was a godsend. The guides were amazing, supportive, present and empathetic. I never would have summited without the excellent pacing and patience of Seraphine. I never would have made it die without the quick thinking, preparedness and assistance of Seraphine, King Janes, Abraham and others. Of our group of 11 trekkers, 10 made it to Gilman’s point, and 8 of made it to Uhuru Peak!!! I highly recommend Exodus and the African Walking Company (AWC)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The comaraderie of the trekkers. We were so supportive and respectful of each other. The best examples of man’s humanity to their fellow man.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abraham was amazing!!!! I cannot say enough positive things about that guy!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep a positive mental attitude. Bring 5 pairs of pants, sox and tops - dry clothing is the ultimate luxury. Keep them ina plastic bag. Bring and use Diamox. Don’t be a hero, the trek is uncomfortable enough without doing it with a headache. It really works. Wear sunscreen. My face is peeling because I forgot to wear it on the summit run. I’m ten shades darker and my entire face is peeling. Looks like I have a skin disease. Wet wipes. Bring way more than you think you need. Bring candy. Get the warmest sleeping bag you can find!! And mother most important thing to remember: walk slooooooooowly. Speed kills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Tip the porters. They work hard.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Nicola Buchanan

    Amazing!

    What a hard, rewarding experience... although Kili is not the prettiest of mountains it is certainly a mighty challenge... and withholds its beauty till summit day sunrise. The porters enabled summiting to be possible with their tireless support and encouragement.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit after 8 1/2 hrs of climbing...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abraham was brilliant, quite guenounely we could not have done it without the support and care of the porters. I know Abraham has done this many times but he rejoiced in our success.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Respect the impact of altitude and weather... I have done many treks and knew this would be tough. When nothing else was left it was a mental strength that’s got us up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take hand and feet warmers! Make sure waterproofs are just that or pack a cape!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    kim simkins

    High density of game, higher density of tourists

    If you want to see a wide variety and abundance of game without roughing it, this trip could be for you. However if like me you prefer to watch animal behaviour without another 17 tourist buses jostling for position, then try somewhere else. Having done other safaris, this left me rather cold, even felt claustrophobic at times.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots of amazing wildlife encounters to choose from. 1.close encounter with a fledgling eagle owl at Kia Lodge (not part of group itinerary). 2. Ostrich mating dances 3.Hyena and vultures on a kill 4. Manyara tree climbing lions 5. Leopard in tree (apart from 17 other buses) 6. Cheetah hunting on Serengeti 7. Very close encounters with lion and elephant 8.Tarangire safari lodge, wonderful sundowner viewpoint over the plains and river teeming with game

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jackson was very good on the whole, he remained calm despite several problems with group sickness, the vehicle breaking down and getting stuck in sand. He was polite and helpful although didn't feel he was hugely knowledgeable about the game. Moodi our driver was very good, he was careful, thoughtful about his passengers and a good game spotter. The same could not be said for the replacement Daniel in Ngorongoro on the day we had to have another vehicle whilst ours was repaired. He seemed disinterested, left us to do most of the game spotting ourselves, we had to ask to stop to take pictures and he seemed blissfully unaware of how driving through potholes at speed was adversely affecting his passengers! Alex our driver who picked us up after the axle broke on our truck was in a hurry to get us to our lodge before dark, but it was rather uncomfortable driving very fast round wet and twisty dirt roads, had to take evasive action twice to avoid a large lorry and an elephant crossing the road.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Think very carefully about what you want from a trip, I much preferred previous Botswana and Zimbabwe trip last year. Having seen a lot of Africa, it didn't really do it for me and I won't be rushing back to Tanzania. I prefer a less commercial experience

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    6/10 of the group had severe stomach problems which all came on at the same time so we assume was food poisoning. There are a lot of long and bumpy drives on dirt roads in relatively cramped vehicles. Take warm clothes, the rains had come 3 wks early so I was short on waterproofs and fleeces. It can get cold at 2200m in Ngorongoro crater especially You won't be able to leave your tent unescorted at night as you are in the game areas and animals wander freely through camp, there were 5 lions at Tarangire only metres from the lodge entrance. Good visibility in the truck as the top opened and you could stand up, everyone had a window seat. I accept that a broken axle on the truck was just one of those things, and we had a laugh whilst stranded waiting for rescue with a hyena 100yds away. However, having welded the axle to get our vehicle back for Tarangire, we had not been told that they had not re-engaged 4WD. We then had to get rescued by passing vehicles twice having got stuck in sand in the park. There were 2 vehicles being used for our group, I was rather cross that if they knew we had no 4WD, that the other vehicle had gone ahead and left us knowing we could have a problem. If they had kept close together, we could have been pulled out by them!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Vicky Waller

    Kilimanjaro Rongai Route - October 2018

    Exodus Travels were an excellent company to deal with whilst arranging my recent trip to Kilimanjaro. I felt like I had my own personal travel agent to help me every step of the way. They answered every question and query I had knowledgably and efficiently. Everything about the trip ran smoothly and to plan. I would definitely use Exodus again for a future trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people of Africa were the most inspirational for me on this trip. Everyone was so nice and friendly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I had 100% faith in the guides we had on the trip. They were knowledgably and made you feel at ease.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would definitely recommend that you extend your trip by 1 day at the beginning of the trip as the flights are long and its a good idea to have a rest day at the hotel the day before you walk.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Lauren McCabe

    Do it, and do it with Exodus!

    Made memories for life on this trip. Summit day was torture but our guides made getting to Gilmans Point (before getting to Uhuru Peak) an incredible moment. The team of guides and porters are exceptional. This is our second trip with Exodus and will use them again for future ones because we trust their ability to take care of us, from booking to the itinerary and guides

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming up to the last ten minutes before reaching Gilmans Point, we’d been hiking for seven hours in the cold and dark uphill so we’re exhausted. The sun was rising so we had a spectacular view and out of nowhere the guides all start singing. It made reaching that point honestly one of the best experiences of my life!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Makeke was fantastic, he took such good care of each and every one of us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect summit day to be tough, be prepared to dig deep to get to the top, it’s worth it! Take ear plugs for sleeping! Be prepared to donate some clothes to the porters at the end of the trek. The clothes they wear are all donated.