Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

256 Reviews

  • Reviewed December 2019
    Terry Knowles

    Wonderful experience

    This was our first organized cycling trip, and it was very enjoyable. The group was larger than I expected (18, whereas I had thought we would be about 12), but everyone got along well and our tour leader, Tung, was very efficient and attentive, friendly, patient and entertaining. There was also more city riding than I expected, through some rather hairy motorbike traffic and roundabouts. Tung and Lee, our tail gunner, shepherded us through them, but it took some guts at first to weave through the scooters and cars and buses. Note that red lights apparently don't apply to motorbikes; they just sail on through. We got used to it after a couple of times and in the end it was rather exhilarating. Some riding on main city streets and bridges, too, and through towns and suburbs. All in all the tour was a bit more urban than I'd hoped. But I suppose if you want to see all aspects of Vietnam... Riding through the rice paddies and the countryside and along back lanes, on the other hand, was quite enchanting. Little children ran out to call "Hello!" everywhere. I see this tour is rated as 3/9 for activity level. I would say more 5/9, and that's without the (very enjoyable, if you're up for it) 10-km uphill ride one day. On the other hand, the bus is always available and there was no shame in taking a day off. We missed the Whale Island tour because of a typhoon, but Tung and Exodus rearranged everything seamlessly. The Halong Bay overnight boat tour was a real delight, as was the overnight train to Hanoi. And Hoi An and Hanoi were wonderful, particularly the pedestrian streets (no motorbikes!) on the weekend in Hanoi. We could easily have skipped the boat trip to the overcrowded beach and hike up to the viewpoint on Halong Bay, however, and the kayaks were uncomfortable, at least for the person in the stern with no back support. The meals were good, even for us vegetarians, the bikes were clean and very well maintained, and there was lots of juice and water and fruit provided at the frequent rest stops. Nice that they didn't insist on handing out plastic bottles of water! The bus was comfortable and the driver and bike mechanic were friendly and very competent. Definitely a 10/10 for organization.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One day they drove us up to the top of a mountain and let us off to ride 35 km downhill. Just fantastic!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tung was terrific. Tireless, funny, patient, informative, enthusiastic and efficient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above regarding the activity level. Take a look at the distances to be covered every day and make sure you're comfortable with that. You may want to bring a small bike bag (e.g. to fit on handlebars or under the frame) for suntan lotion, camera, etc. Padded bike shorts a must, although they provide optional extra padding for seats.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The (very intense) War Remnants Museum in Ho Chi Minh City is worth a visit, and cooking classes in HCMC or Hanoi, if you have the time, are always fun.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Mark Springthorpe

    We didn't have a great experience

    Our experience was that there were a number of significant issues with this Exodus tour; - The tour lead was quite poor and we had issues with poor communication, being rushed from place to place, pressure to cycle quickly and therefore unable to enjoy the sights/views. - Bikes provided were basically 'end of life' and we had issues with poor gear changes. It contains quite a bit of bus time (4-5 hours at a time) and you feel like you are being rushed around all the time - the result is that it isn't very relaxed, and we were frustrated that we didn't have time to enjoy many of the places we visited/went through. We were told that demand for this tour meant that Exodus had increased from 1 to 4 tours/week, but it looks like the bike maintenance/replacement hadn't taken this into account, and possible why we ended up with a Tour Lead who was below par (as they didn't have enough good tour leads). We think Exodus need to take a good hard look at this tour and make sure that the quality is massively improved.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The inspirational moments didn't happen on any part of the Exodus tour, but in the extra days we booked ourselves in Saigon and Hanoi - basically because we had time to relax and enjoy the places.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nice bloke, but very lacking in confidence and lacking the core management skills, e.g. clear communication, managing the group, managing his team etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check before you go what you are going to get in terms of condition of the bikes, and what feedback has been for the tour lead you are going to get - make sure you get the 'A' team. Definately book 1-2 extra days in Saigon and Hanoi if you can - the hotels are cheap, they are fascinating cities and the tour just doesn't give you any time to explore them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Been on lots of Exodus cycling tours, and sad to say that we'd heard great things about the Vietnam tour - just unfortunate that it seem like the tour has become a victim of its own success. Hope Exodus can sort this out.
  • Reviewed November 2019

    Good 'ole Exodus!

    An interesting blend of Vietnam from north to south including an o/n sleeper train. The success and enjoyment of these trips is usually down to the blend of fellow travellers and team leader and this one was no different. The weather,early season, was mixed with a little more rain and cloud than hoped for but did not detract from the enjoyment but a little more sunshine would have enhanced the countryside. A read of the brochure and trip notes will give a very accurate picture of the breadth and variety of the trip. The daily riding distances are mainly governed by the fitness of the participants and their ability to cover the miles in a reasonable time and for the first time in my experience of 7 trips we were delayed by some participants who frankly were not cycling fit and I wonder if they had read and understood the pre - trip advice!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What I like about Exodus is that they come up with a blend of tourism and cycling that is inspirational itself. The Viet Cong tunnels from the war and the brief visit to the 'museum' were highly informative as was the knowledge of the tour leader which was outstanding. The visit to Halong Bay was outdtanding too - I'd seen films and photos of the huge 'Rocks' in the Bay but to cruise among them was vividly fascinating - although I could have passed on visiting one of the islands with a tiny overcrowded beach on a Sunday afternoon!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent. An educated, well informed local person. He constantly referred to us all 'as my family' and I think most of us bought into his philosophy. As I noted earlier we had 2 'difficult' participants who were not up to cycling the distance within the required timings but understandingly felt that they had a right to complete the same distance as everone else. A conundrum that requires careful management that took a while to resolve. Presumably Exodus has a policy to address this but it was somewhat absent early on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A really fascinating, interesting and at times challenging trip - BOOK it!
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Chrissie Carey

    Vietnam

    The trip was great and our leader, Lam, was exceptional. With the assistance of his exceptional team he made the trip a very special one. His attention to detail and safety is without fault. A ***** Star experience on wheels! Thank you Exodus and Lam & his team for making this a lasting memory!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling to the top of the pass and Hulong Bay

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lam is an absolute asset to Exodus. I have never met anyone with such dedication. He was always smiling and no request was too much. I felt safe and cared for at all times. What an amazing man. Even arranged a birthday cake for a group member's birthday......now that is what I call dedication!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of sunscreen and keep on taking in liquids!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Lam and his team is AMAZING!!!!!!🤩🤩🤩🤩🤩
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Laurene Tubb

    Another exciting adventure with Exodus

    Another exciting adventure with Exodus. Our trip was at the end of April/beginning of May and it was very hot !!!! I'm told June/July is even hotter. Phew !!!! Despite this I loved every minute of it. It was a very busy trip but extremely well organised. I very much liked the additional drink stops as it was so very hot. Home made chilled lime was just the thing. I also very much liked Lam pre-booking the meals and us all going together. He found some wonderful places and we had delicious fresh food. There just isn't time to find somewhere yourself. This really worked well. We were lucky to be with a super group of people. Everyone happy and smiling and enjoying every moment..................well................except a few of the group who did get a bit sore. Please do get yourself some chamois butter and padded pants. It works a treat. It worked well having all the cycling in the beginning. The train was much better than I had expected and I slept like a log !!! Whale Island and Halong Bay were real treats and I would have loved more time there. But, overall, the trip was perfect for timing as it kept us within the 15 day Visa limit and we saw and did so much. Despite being informed in writing by Exodus that our big holdalls/suitcase stays with us all the time......this was not the case. You do need to have a rucksack or flat pack bag big enough for the one and two night stays (Whale Island and Halong Bay). In fact......it works very well to just take small luggage. Much easier to do once you get your head around it. I found the cycling easy compared with other trips I've done but I do feel it is right to be called a Level 3. Everyone cycles slightly differently and there is always a bit of a mix of abilities........which makes for a good group cycle I think.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved feeling at one with the rural landscape and the villages............although it was exciting to see the hustle and bustle of the cities too.........especially with all their motor scooters. I love their driving system and felt very comfortable when cycling amidst it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lam. Well......what can I say.......such a lovely young man and always happy and smiling. He is the most organised leader I have come across but at no time did you feel you were being organised. He and his crew looked after us extremely well. He anticipated everything and made us feel special. Not always easy to do when you have one group after another after another. I do hope he wins Leader of the Year. He deserves it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do go. It's such fun..............and what an experience !!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Alison Bourne

    An amazing trip

    We have just returned from the Cycle Vietnam holiday and had a wonderful time. We were slightly apprehensive having never done a group holiday or cycling holiday before, and I was worried that we might not be able to keep up. However, the tour was so well planned and organised that we were fine. The tour is graded a 3, and that felt right to us. It was challenging at times to us as recreational, 50 something cyclists, but not impossible. Our group consisted of 12 people - two couples, 4 lone men and 4 lone women, and that worked really well. We all got on and had a great time together. Our tour leader, Son, was incredible. He ensured we all had a good time and kept reminding us that we were on holiday and there to enjoy ourselves. He also arranged stops for us in little out-of-the-way places, which we would never have seen otherwise. The heat was gruelling - high 30s but with humidity it felt like low 40s. Someone in our group was from Puerto Rico and he found it too hot, so it wasn't just us Brits! The support truck and bus were there is you needed it - some people chose to only cycle in the morning and get on the bus for the afternoons, and that was fine. The only time I had to give up was on a 10km climb where the heat got to me after 8kms. I was picked up by the support truck which was always there if needed. Also, although the bus usually met us every 20kms with water and fresh lemon juice, on very hot uphills the stops were 10kms apart and at one point 5kms. Cycling through the small hill villages is incredible, all the children shout out to you and some of them want to touch you. Everyone was amazingly friendly. Our only regret is that it was often quite difficult to stop to take photos. As well as the cycling itself, we got to go snorkelling on Whale Island which was lovely. There is no air conditioning in Whale Island so be prepared for hot nights there. However it was stunning. Snorkels and flippers are provided but my husband took his own snorkel and mask. The trip to Halong Bay was also incredible, staying out on the boat overnight under a full moon took some beating. Our group had the boat to ourselves, and the staff on board couldn't have been more helpful. They also made great cocktails! I hadn't realised before we got there that you're not allowed to swim there, which I was a bit disappointed about until I saw the size of the jellyfish and then was relieved! We kayaked in the bay which was really good fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all amazing but for me, the ability to cycle in areas we would never have gone to on a bus or car trip was so special, coupled with the friendliness of the people

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Son was incredible, as were the support team. He spent time encouraging us, telling us the history of Vietnam, negotiating for us with local people, and showing us the hidden side of Vietnam. He was also brilliant about sorting out things like getting our laundry done locally rather than using the hotel laundry, and arranging for us to order pizza delivered to the train for the overnight journey

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the humidity. It hadn't occurred to me that on non-cycling days we might get through 3 changes of clothes in a few hours! Don't eat the food on the overnight train. As well as it not looking very appetising you have to go to the dining car which is the only place on the train where smoking is allowed. It's not pleasant!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thoroughly recommend this trip if you are a competent cyclist, you don't have to be amazing but you probably do need to have a fair level of fitness.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Sharon Burton

    A fantastic journey through Vietnam

    This has to be a trip of a lifetime. Cycling through a country that is unspoilt, dramatic countryside, mountains, lakes, coast, busy, manic towns and cities where the traffic stops for no-one. It is a country like no other and needs to be experienced to be believed. Be prepared to never come up for air. The people are so friendly and helpful and the food so delicious. Our group bonded well which made for the trip and our support team looked after us well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Whale Island and being blown away by its remoteness and uniqueness Cycling up the Hai Van Pass. Cycling 30km down a mountain pass where the temperature ranged from feeling like being in a fridge to feeling like being in a sauna. Finally, Halong Bay Cruise. Cycling through the craziness and mayhem of towns and cities but being expertly guided through safely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tong was good fun, very knowledgeable and knew his stuff. He was also very fit and cracked the whip every day. He was also very motivating and inspirational and kept us on our toes. He also looked after our health and safety implicitly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long days in the saddle, intense heat and to get very sweaty. Please try and get fit before you travel as it would be a shame to miss even 1 hour of cycling. The scenery is so varied, the towns are manically busy so be prepared for some hairy moments but the guides ensure you are safely taken through the craziness of it all. It has to be seen to be believed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You will not be disappointed with this trip if you go with eyes wide open. It certainly exceeded my expectations. I didn’t expect the cycling to be so difficult and I am a fit person so it helps to even do some cycling before you go. Be prepared to see a lot of rubbish as the country doesn’t seem to have got its head around recycling yet and it’s a shame to see the countryside and coastal areas littered with rubbish. However, that is a minor criticism in what is a beautiful country. My memories will live with me forever from this trip.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Bob Adams

    Cycling Vietnam

    This was a brilliant holiday which exceeded all my expectations. So well looked after by our leader, Toan Dao, this was a chance to see the real Vietnam. There were so many other activities included in the trip as well as the cycling and the accommodation was faultless. Great group of fellow travellers who felt like old friends by the end of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling the Hai Van pass

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it. You won't be disappointed.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Mabel Plesse

    Amazing Adventure!

    This is a great cycling adventure and a wonderful way to visit Vietnam! In addition to cycling through beautiful cities, villages, mountains and ocean landscapes, other memorable experiences included a wonderful relaxing overnight on Whale Island eco-lodge, overnight on a sleeper train, cruise and kayak in scenic Ha long Bay. Our enthusiastic tour leader Tung did an excellent job leading and keeping our group safe. I appreciated all the behind the scene logistics traveling from Saigon to Hanoi and seamless coordination of all activities on the tour. The support team driver Nhan and mechanic Trieu also did a fantastic job keeping us hydrated and fueled with fresh fruits and local snacks. We had a fantastic group of cyclists that made the trip even more enjoyable. The Vietnamese people were very friendly and inviting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling Hoi Van Pass. Visiting the beautiful city of Hoi An. Cruising and kayak on Halong Bay. Island stay at an eco-lodge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tung was excellent. He kept the group safe and took great care of accommodating everyones need. He prepped us well with the days activities. It was also nice he shared his personal history and experiences with our group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Would totally recommend the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not only did our mechanic Trieu help support the maintenance of our bikes, but he did an excellent job taking care of our refueling needs. His friendliness, helpfulness (wetting our personal towels, filling our water bottles, ...) and pride in supporting our cycling group shined especially in the way he lined up our bikes in the beginning and end of the day as well as the rest stops. Impressive!!!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Beatrice Chachel

    Want to bike through Vietnam - choose Exodus

    Our experience booking a trip with Exodus was great. From the time of booking the trip to our return flight, after our trip, was working out perfectly. Thanks to a wonderful, amazing tour guide, mechanic, truck- and bus driver we had a well organized trip. Not once did we have to wait for a connection. The hotels were wonderful, the bikes we had, were in perfect shape and the mechanic, on a lay-over day, changed all our chains. Lunches we ate were supporting smaller restaurants in many rural settings. We highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    While riding along the street, many kids would come out of their houses and call out "hello"! Kids riding their bikes home from school would great us with a friendly "hello".

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi, our group leader, was amazing, helpful, genuine, caring, organized, engaging, knowledgeable, punctual and many more wonderful characteristics. He was not only a great group leader, but you could see that the support team (mechanic, bus driver and truck driver) respected him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the ride from Saigon to Hanoi. Not the other way around