Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2019
    Mark Latham

    Rediscovering the thrill of cross-country skiing in Norway

    My review of cross-country skiing in Kamben with Exodus in The Herald. https://www.heraldscotland.com/life_style/15812158.travel-after-years-of-skiing-in-crowded-alpine-resorts-mark-latham-rediscovers-the-thrill-of-cross-country-skiing-in-norway/

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See above review.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above review.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above review.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See above review.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Richard mackenzie

    Great holiday

    Had a great trip as a lone traveller I was a bit apprehensive on the food as dairy intolerant but the chef's were really good and the choice for me was really good. The only downside was that some people got jealous of the special desserts they made for me each day (as well as soya ice-cream) We had a great group and had lovely sunny weather although a bit hot on a few days Conditions were great the first 2 days then a bit warm Skiing was harder than a remembered but enjoyable Hardest bit of the trip was knowing what and how much to wear I packed lots of thin long sleeved items and a few bike tops which proved very useful. I found liner gloves were really helpful too

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being out and about each day in the beautiful countryside

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mary and albert were great. Not sure they were too impressed by the groups skiing skills, but they changed and chose a good variety Evening films and entertainment were an added extra, and gave me some knowledge of the region

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Liner gloves really useful as well as a selection of hats Mary had a cap on which would have been helpful to take with me. Buff was also really handy,so have a few of these Accomodstion had a drying room which worked well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nope
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Robert Dredge

    SOME GREAT, SOME NOT SO

    First the good. One leader was beyond outstanding and really showed empathy, knowledge and understanding and really took everyone to a higher level. The food and staff at the accommodation were exceptional. The accommodation itself a bit cramped but adequate. Overall accommodation was very good and not. problem. The ski hire equipment was very old and dated, but worked OK. Transfers were efficient and pretty timely. Now the not so good. As excellent as one leader was the other was beyond poor. No empathy, limited apparent knowledge of technique and minimal interest in teaching beyond follow me and catch up sometime, even if you fall and are struggling-you were left on your own which affected confidence of some less confident people.. Annoying that I was told in answer to specific request to fly from other than Gatwick that it was not possible( as were at least 2 other couples) on arrival in Oslo we waited for others to fly in from Manchester and Edinburgh. Petty but annoying-expectation that all may be required to buy own wax throughout the week . Surely at £1500 it could cover £50 a season for leaders to have this-in the event the good leader did wax skis when out if she saw it was needed. Quite. bit of pressure put on to attend the evening lectures etc-which were variable in relevance and quality.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing with Ilse Alt

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ilse -as above beyond exceptional in all she did, attitude, patience, knowledge and ability to improve me, as well s enthusiasm for country and magnificent guiding. Other leader was simply indifferent at best and seemed uninterested and not up to the job.( a view shared by others). She showed no interest in teaching or looking at individuals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check who is leading the group.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This really was a holiday of 2 halves. Early part really frustrating and unsatisfactory. Change of leader meant 2nd half was outstanding. Staff and food at resort should be commended.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Karol Zemek

    Not recommended for complete beginners

    The trip was enjoyable overall, but as a complete novice to skiing, I struggled. Almost everyone in the group had some experience of either cross-country or downhill skiing, and the pace of the group was understandably set by them. As such, those of us with no experience had to learn very quickly, and I could have done with more practice and training before heading out on the less basic routes. The end of the week in particular was very tough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    -

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a good trip for people with some experience of skiing or for those that can learn quickly.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Cathie Cowell

    Cross country skiiing

    Excellent group, the leaders had extensive knowledge of the area and the sport. Liz was a thoughtful encouraging and inclusive leader. No complaints at all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful, awe inspiring scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not fault her.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go for it.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    DAVID BELL

    Excellent week in Dobbiaco

    A great week's cross country skiing in Dobbiaco. Sunshine and blue skies were great but the snow was getting thin by the end of the week. Hotel was very good. Excellent breakfast buffet and plenty of choice for the evening meal. Wellness suite was great to stretch the muscles after a good day skiing. Efficient bus service to get to different ski areas each day and only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The skiing was very good every day but my best memory will be having a coffee by the lake above Dobbiaco which is very beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 leaders as this was a Level 1 and 2 holiday. Alex led our group and I found the pace and the teaching perfect. He knows the area very well and was able to choose good skiing every day despite the worsening snow conditions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of thin layers as the start of the day may be cold but once the sun gets up so does the temperature. A close fitting light rucksack is very useful to carry water, suncream and the layers you remove.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our third ski week in Dobbiaco and the scenery is so beautiful I hope we will be back again.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Pete McLeod

    Away from it all

    The snow conditions for the week I was there were not conducive to great cross-country skiing - deep powder and rising temperatures, which made for arduous progress. Even so, we were taken on full-day tours on every day and the visibility was usually excellent, so we got some wonderful views of the area. I hope to be able to return in the near future to ski up and explore the beautiful mountains surrounding the lake. I have to make some mention of the catering at Mosstrond: it was quite simply wonderful and despite the daily exertion I am pretty sure I have lost no weight!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the quiet location and the informality of the set-up at Mosstrond. A truly unique place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Neil and Philip have a great love for the place and considerable knowledge of the area, which they are happy to share. They both gave freely of their time to those of us there and went out of their way to make sure we were both well looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a wine box or a few beers! There is no other way to get a drink at Mosstrond.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having come from a background of hut-to-hut ski touring in Norway and Sweden (over many years), some of which have been self-organised and others with hut-to-hut tour providers, I was surprised not to be asked by Exodus about my previous ski experience when I booked this trip. The grades provided do give some idea as to what skills are expected, but this self-vetting appears to be the only check on suitability. I can appreciate that client choice is important, but groups need to have a fairly similar range of skills and stamina for group day tours to be a success for all.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Stella Thompson

    Off track cross country skiing at it's best

    This is some of the best off track cross country skiing you will ever find. A wonderful wild environment, with varied terrain and a variety of challenge, the best leaders you can ever meet and a great place to stay with a lovely friendly atmosphere. It is very special. I would have given up years ago if I hadn't come here and have been coached to steady improvement over the years. I have been on other holidays with other leaders, but no-one has ever come up to the standard of Ilse and Mary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting high up on a bright day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you get the grade right for you!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jim Watson

    Fantastic two weeks. I could have stayed longer!

    This was my fifth trip to Dobbiaco, the first as an absolute beginner. The trip was as enjoyable as my first. The first week was grade 3/4. The second was grade 2/3. A hard first week with long days. The second week was more relaxed with more time for a hot chocolate and a sauna on returning to the hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing down the Kreuzburg Pass. A really interesting 5k snowplough.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz and Ingrid were both excellent as usual. A great combination of providing instruction at an appropriate level and good encouragement. They looked after the health and safety of the groups while at the same time encouraging the participants to stretch themselves. They are both relaxed and sociable: They are good to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! Dobbiaco is the ideal location for beginners with the Arena complex the ideal location to begin skiing safely. More advanced skiers can stretch themselves to their full ability in a variety of different locations. If you can manage go for two weeks. You will want to stay for longer as you become immersed in the culture of the area. Make sure you go for a hot chocolate in the cafe across the road from the hotel. My favourites were the white and the chilli versions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is excellent with a fantastic spa. The hotel staff are relaxed, friendly and efficient. They even provided good porridge at breakfast! Perfect for a Scotsman.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Louise Holstein

    XC Skiing Norway

    Really great trip thanks. Lovely location, excellent guides who were terrific hosts as well. I feel transformed physically and mentally after this fantastic break.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Ilsa's proud face as I skied down my first big slope

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing and inspiring

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Come ready to be tired and happy at the end of each day
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106